The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Technology & Internet
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Technology & Internet The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 7th, 2004, 12:20 PM
AZSupraT's Avatar
AZSupraT
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Age: 28
Send a message via AIM to AZSupraT
Okay, my PC is messed up bad, it obviously has somthing wrong w/it!

First of all I cannot see my little 'start' bar at the bottom of my screen, it just dissapeared! And no, it is not somthing w/the settings!
Also, I cannot Copy or paste and thing (txt or images).
Last, a few errors come up in a few programs and then shut down!

Anyone have any idea on how to fix this?

btw, i lost my windows xp disk so i cannot reinstall it!

So basically I cannot work on VRoad, or my homework, until this is fixed! NEED HELP NOW!
__________________
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W R X Y Z
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old September 7th, 2004, 12:27 PM
Kayleigh
Pokémon-de-Superb
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Ah, sorry but I know nothing about computers, so I can't help you out. But I do know that this belongs in the Computer Help and Discussion forum. ; I hope that someone can help you get it fixed soon.

*moved*
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old September 7th, 2004, 12:34 PM
Pokedragonfire's Avatar
Pokedragonfire
ph34r |\/|y 1337 n1nj4 5k1||z
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Squark.
Age: 11
Gender:
I have no idea. Go check system hardware devices or whatever its called and check and make sure everything is okay. Try restarting it (restarting fixes everything hehe...) Run virus scanners, you could have a virus, or some evil spyware. Maybe the registry is bugged or messed up, if that happend you would have to reinstall windows I think. That's all I can think of.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old September 7th, 2004, 01:05 PM
aaaaaa
Guest
 
And rebooting obviously didn't fix the problem? The possibility of a system restore may be one to consider. Do you know how to access the System Restore function?
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old September 7th, 2004, 01:07 PM
AZSupraT's Avatar
AZSupraT
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Age: 28
Send a message via AIM to AZSupraT
Nope, but i forgot to say that the icons on the desktop wont 'move' also. Im trying a few of these things, but who knows
__________________
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W R X Y Z
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old September 7th, 2004, 01:16 PM
aaaaaa
Guest
 
Reboot again.
If the problems are still there, reboot and start up in safe mode, by pressing F8 just before the Windows Loading logo appears.
When you get into Safe Mode, it'll ask if you'd like to use System Restore, or keep using Safe Mode. Instruct it that you'd like to use System Restore, and follow the wizards.
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old September 18th, 2004, 05:21 AM
ArchAngel's Avatar
ArchAngel
I also answer to "Hey sexy"
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: .:In the basement:.
Age: 22
Gender:
Nature: Mild
Send a message via AIM to ArchAngel Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to ArchAngel
I'm getrting errors in programs to like IE then they "magickly" shutdown!
hmmm.... it may be a system error and it's 2 gad you don't have the re-install pack.
__________________

I've been gone for a while, BUT NOW I'M BACK!
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old September 21st, 2004, 04:32 PM
Maca's Avatar
Maca
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In Iraq NOTE: too all gullible people disregard the previous message
Age: 22
Gender:
Send a message via AIM to Maca Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Maca
Okay guys being a computer genius myself this is easy.
1.If you get a "shutting down" prompt open up Command Prompt and type in "shutdown -a" that should cancel the shutdown.
2.Go online search for Spybot Search and Distroy "the free one" download it
3.run a check
4.Delete everything except the WMA thing.
5.If none of that works you need to dump your memory to do this
-Open a emulator or a other program and put your computer to sleep for 1/2hr.
-unplug EVERYTHING from your computer and let it sit for 5 mins
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old September 21st, 2004, 06:24 PM
salamenceruler04's Avatar
salamenceruler04
Advanced Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: In my house..come find me!
Age: 23
Gender:
Send a message via AIM to salamenceruler04 Send a message via Yahoo to salamenceruler04
I know some about computers...and I would say its either a virus, spy wear..which is what spybot is for ...are some type of add-ware..its a program that installs itself specifically
to screw things up..kind of like a virus....so I would do wat Maca said..download spybot, get some virus protections and if that does not work, try add-ware.''

Hope it helps
__________________
Friends: Latios Master,Kairi, Pokemon_Veteran,
Satoshi-kun, toothache, Shadow
Don't PM me to be here.





Big thanks to Pokemon_Veteran for the great pic!!

here the link if you want one like me!!
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=17328


Hey, if you are from Louisiana please PM me are IM me on my screen name austinseh09. Thanx.
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old September 21st, 2004, 07:03 PM
Dark Magician's Avatar
Dark Magician
The Black lightinig
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Skatopia
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Dark Magician
No problem, go to lavasoft.com and download the ad-aware, my PC had a virus and it took it off in around 7 minutes.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Your signature is 92 pixels too tall. Limit is 300 pixels. Resize it.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old September 22nd, 2004, 12:15 AM
aaaaaa
Guest
 
Maca, for the second time, this is not an RPC exploit.
Okay, I think you really need to understand that a -program- shutting down, or a computer spontaniously rebooting due to an Auto Reboot on BSOD setting, is very different to RPC exploits.
Please sit down, know your place, and only offer advice if you know what you're talking about.
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old September 22nd, 2004, 12:56 PM
Maca's Avatar
Maca
Booted out - don't be like me!
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In Iraq NOTE: too all gullible people disregard the previous message
Age: 22
Gender:
Send a message via AIM to Maca Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Maca
i do, it was only in the case
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:02 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.