Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] A Beginner's guide to inserting d/p sprites into a gba rom(No need to outline)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old February 13th, 2010 (03:43 AM).
PastaPen PastaPen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Excellent tutorial. Bookmarked. :D
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #77    
Old February 13th, 2010 (12:06 PM).
super poke master's Avatar
super poke master super poke master is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
How to make it works? Image of inserted Pokemon is terrible.
Reply With Quote
  #78    
Old February 14th, 2010 (02:14 AM).
PastaPen PastaPen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Super poke master are you doing it correctly?
Have you followed all the steps correctly?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #79    
Old February 14th, 2010 (03:32 AM).
super poke master's Avatar
super poke master super poke master is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Yes, I am. I can show you, but I can't post URLs.
Reply With Quote
  #80    
Old February 14th, 2010 (09:24 AM).
PastaPen PastaPen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Erm, try and PM me. I'll try, host the images of how you're doing it and link me to it. Or you can try and do what he done and do EXACTLY what he done, like using torterra and replacing Venasaur in fire-red. Just to check you're doing it correctly...?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #81    
Old February 23rd, 2010 (06:22 AM).
Luster's Avatar
Luster Luster is offline
Form changing script (HINT)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: In a skip behind Lidl.
Gender: Male
Nature: Rash
Posts: 28
Quote originally posted by Sophidius:
just one question. How do u change the NAME of the Pokemon?
I use yape, though pokeamp works good too. theyre both somewhere on the tools section. these can also change attacks, evolutions, stats etc but you need egg move editor to change egg moves.
__________________
Can't post my website URL everywhere anymore
Thanks to HackMew and JPAN for ASM tutorials!

>>>I SUPPORT<<<
Spoiler:








>>>DESPARATE HELP NEEDED<<<

Spoiler:
IF ANYONE HAS THE OFFSETS FOR WHERE POKEMON STATS ARE STORED, PLEASE LET ME KNOW. ANY HELP IS GOOD, AND YOU WILL BE WELL REWARDED. THANKS.
Reply With Quote
  #82    
Old March 24th, 2010 (08:59 PM).
RavenZX13 RavenZX13 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
can you show me how to do this with castlevania aria of sorrow please? id like to change the sprites of the main character Soma into Alucard from castlevania dawn of sorrow..... so far theres no tutorial to do so and i do hav a sprite sheet ready to be used
Reply With Quote
  #83    
Old March 27th, 2010 (10:52 AM).
psyduck6199's Avatar
psyduck6199 psyduck6199 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 57
Quote originally posted by RavenZX13:
can you show me how to do this with castlevania aria of sorrow please? id like to change the sprites of the main character Soma into Alucard from castlevania dawn of sorrow..... so far theres no tutorial to do so and i do hav a sprite sheet ready to be used
i made this solely for pokemon gba games...but i dunno you could try unlz-gba with castlevania i think
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #84    
Old March 28th, 2010 (11:30 PM).
DingoDD's Avatar
DingoDD DingoDD is offline
I'll Import your Sprites
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kanto
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 10
OMG! This is like my 10th tutorial I've tried. And they all end in the same result. I follow everything and then it says the image is not indexed!!!!!! WTF!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #85    
Old April 7th, 2010 (04:05 PM).
zmajevi's Avatar
zmajevi zmajevi is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Posts: 8
What stealing?
Every good hacker knows how to do this but you don't even have to use the depixelize
(turn them to bubbles in photoshop and shrink without lost of quality).
Reply With Quote
  #86    
Old May 12th, 2010 (03:14 PM).
FireFox's Avatar
FireFox FireFox is offline
Dialga Fangirl
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Age: 28
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to FireFox Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to FireFox Send a message via Yahoo to FireFox
Hi folks, I've got a small problem and the solution is probably right under my nose!

After following the steps shown, I get this:


But when I move to another image and go back, I get this...



I do believe (and hope) I indexed this correctly.
What have I done wrong? :(




Thanks in advance for your help.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #87    
Old May 12th, 2010 (10:49 PM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by FireFox:
Hi folks, I've got a small problem and the solution is probably right under my nose!

After following the steps shown, I get this:


But when I move to another image and go back, I get this...



I do believe (and hope) I indexed this correctly.
What have I done wrong? :(




Thanks in advance for your help.
Did you repoint the image? If you did, then the old sprite will still stay in the ROM, but would be unused. Simples.

But, I would check one thing. From noticing the colour order in the pallette, your background isn't the 1st colour.

The way I'd use is with Irfanview. Open Irfanview, save the image as a gif, with the option to select a transparent colour on (you pick these when saving the pic), and select the background after you have clicked Save.
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #88    
Old May 13th, 2010 (02:55 PM).
FireFox's Avatar
FireFox FireFox is offline
Dialga Fangirl
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Age: 28
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to FireFox Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to FireFox Send a message via Yahoo to FireFox
Ugh! Why do I find this so difficult!

Ok, let me tell you the steps I took:
1. The sprite wasn't indexed so I opened it in Photoshop and indexed it there, no problems.

2. I open Irfanview and change the 1st palette to the BG palette.

3. I change the old BG palette to the colour that was in the 1st palette.

(There's alot of black sections in here compared to the original tutorial, this is where I think I've messed up!).
4. I save the image.
*5. I then import the image into FireRed. Again, no problems here.
6. When I go in game, the background is visible but there is transparancy around the actual sprite.

*When I try to do the bit where you copy/paste the original image over the one from Irfanview, it became un-indexed. Even when I indexed it back I still got the same issue.

I followed Banjora Marxvile's suggestion to save it as a GIF but even this still produced the same issue.

H-help! :(
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #89    
Old May 15th, 2010 (12:23 AM).
Banjora Marxvile's Avatar
Banjora Marxvile Banjora Marxvile is offline
Oui Oui Si Si Ja Ja Da Da
 
Join Date: May 2008
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 3,444
Quote originally posted by FireFox:
Ugh! Why do I find this so difficult!
Quote originally posted by FireFox:

Ok, let me tell you the steps I took:
1. The sprite wasn't indexed so I opened it in Photoshop and indexed it there, no problems.

2. I open Irfanview and change the 1st palette to the BG palette.

3. I change the old BG palette to the colour that was in the 1st palette.

(There's alot of black sections in here compared to the original tutorial, this is where I think I've messed up!).
4. I save the image.
*5. I then import the image into FireRed. Again, no problems here.
6. When I go in game, the background is visible but there is transparancy around the actual sprite.

*When I try to do the bit where you copy/paste the original image over the one from Irfanview, it became un-indexed. Even when I indexed it back I still got the same issue.

I followed Banjora Marxvile's suggestion to save it as a GIF but even this still produced the same issue.

H-help! :(
Look carefully at the last picture you have. The Black moved itself to the background, and as that is no longer the transparent colour, that explains the background.

I only use IrfanView, I recommend you Google it, and download it, and then use that, Decrease Color Depth to 16 colours, save it as a GIF, select the background as the transparent colour when it asks you to, and voila, indexed and ready to insert.

EDIT: I said use IrfanView, as it allows you to select the transparent background option when you save it (a little check box), so that is why it didn't work!
__________________

Man of Steel
He harbors no shame
Got cut a raw deal
But he holds no blame
Gone and forgot to feel
Numb for pretentious pain
As he spins the wheel
There's no loss nor no gain...


Nerves o
f Steel
He must remain
Even if it kills
To remember my name
A view to a thrill
Like Campari and Champagne
I'm on the rocks
Please tell me, What Is My Name?

Reply With Quote
  #90    
Old May 15th, 2010 (03:53 PM).
FireFox's Avatar
FireFox FireFox is offline
Dialga Fangirl
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Age: 28
Gender: Female
Nature: Timid
Posts: 58
Send a message via AIM to FireFox Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to FireFox Send a message via Yahoo to FireFox
Whee! That did it! Thanks for the help :3
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #91    
Old May 25th, 2010 (05:52 PM).
Xirr0 Xirr0 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 26
Um...now my ROM isn't starting at all...
Reply With Quote
  #92    
Old May 27th, 2010 (05:08 AM).
Urwaldbewohner's Avatar
Urwaldbewohner Urwaldbewohner is offline
Guy
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 52
Is it my or why does my unLZ-hacked doesn`t got thus abort if image is to big thingy...?
__________________
GSC Monotype Challenge:
Normal
Ghost
Rock and
Grass
See my Sprites: http://www.pokecommunity.com/album.php?u=177501
Reply With Quote
  #93    
Old May 27th, 2010 (05:54 AM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
STOP HIM SAM, HE'S GONNA TELL US A STORY!!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 691
Quote originally posted by Urwaldbewohner:
Is it my or why does my unLZ-hacked doesn`t got thus abort if image is to big thingy...?
You must have the hacked version. Hackmew made it so it always aborts if it's too big, and removed the button.
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #94    
Old July 1st, 2010 (11:53 PM).
pkmntrainerpaul's Avatar
pkmntrainerpaul pkmntrainerpaul is offline
New account: P-Sign
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 442
I followed the tutorial, and then I get this:
What did I do wrong?
I guess it has something to do with the size, but the Torterra sprite of the tut wasn't resized too, so...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #95    
Old July 2nd, 2010 (10:10 AM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
STOP HIM SAM, HE'S GONNA TELL US A STORY!!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 691
You inserted an 80x80 sprite. You apparently didn't read this good enough.
Oh, if you select all, then stretch and skew, It keeps the original pallet, and turns out cleaner
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #96    
Old July 8th, 2010 (05:23 AM).
zommy08's Avatar
zommy08 zommy08 is offline
Crimson Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Opelucid City
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 217
It says Error: Image is not indexed
__________________
me being online after pretty much not being online since 4th gen lolwat hi
Reply With Quote
  #97    
Old July 8th, 2010 (06:55 PM).
animationfreeek animationfreeek is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
does anyone know how to change the pro. oak and pro. birch in the beginning intro to when you first start your game?

cause i've tried with no luck. the only thing i could change was the nidoran sprite that he shows you :/.
Reply With Quote
  #98    
Old July 10th, 2010 (05:07 PM).
FireGod121 FireGod121 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 13
wow thanks for the help =)
Reply With Quote
  #99    
Old July 19th, 2010 (07:52 PM).
ComedyQuest's Avatar
ComedyQuest ComedyQuest is offline
Noob Hacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Tempe, Arizona, Earth
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 70
What about for a small sprite like Chimchar? I try to look for a full size sprite everywhere, but there all 80x80. And for those sprites, Chimchar turns out too small. Help much?
Reply With Quote
  #100    
Old July 20th, 2010 (08:28 AM). Edited July 22nd, 2010 by porkiewpyne.
porkiewpyne porkiewpyne is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 17
Hi, I am really new to all this. I happen to have the same indexing problem like some previous posters though I still haven't found the solution yet. Most if not all have solved it but none actually mentioned how.

Every time I try to import the image, it still says "Error: Image not Indexed"

I have followed every single instruction and use the same tools. I tried saving in GIF format as suggested by someone. That took away the indexing problem but it is no longer too big to abort. In the end, my sprite sorta looked invisible.

Anyway, this is still a really helpful guide. Thanks.

EDIT: I think the root of the problem (for me at least) lies in pasting the original unindexed pic over the indexed one. I mean, wouldn't the pic revert back to being non-indexed if i pasted the original over the indexed pic? And for some reason, even after I exported my palette, the image in the game (or when re-opening unLZ) is different. Tried all sorts of methods (will try indexing using Photoshop soon) but still cannot solve this.

EDIT:

SOLUTION: Make sure you are not using Paint for Windows 7. For some reason, it just refuses to open the indexed pic as an indexed pic (and I think it changes it back to being un-indexed). Use Paint which came with Windows XP. One (noteworthy) thing though, I can't seem to save it under a different name but it's no problem actually. Not too sure about the one for Vista. Hope this helps as it worked for me.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:20 AM.