Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] [Tut] How to map...

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old July 26th, 2009 (08:59 AM).
SharpPoint's Avatar
SharpPoint SharpPoint is offline
Suicune used Surf!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Stalker...
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 479
Quote originally posted by lutek14:
Very good.
But what program did u use?
Most likely Advance Map.
-post2short-
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old July 26th, 2009 (05:44 PM).
Chimchar 9's Avatar
Chimchar 9 Chimchar 9 is offline
(:
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England, Southampton.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,621
You going to make new maps?
To improve the Tutorial.
__________________
Pokemon Green Diamond
Status: On Hold.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old July 29th, 2009 (10:53 AM).
joshay's Avatar
joshay joshay is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 35
Great tut :D this could come in handy
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old August 1st, 2009 (07:56 AM).
Mkmaster2400 Mkmaster2400 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 13
Ok how would I do this? I'm trying to make a cave In the middle of route one. I made the entrance already, but how do you make it so you don't walk on top of your cave? And How do I edit the inside after I make the entrance to the cave from route 1?
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old August 2nd, 2009 (08:58 PM).
Hedgehogger's Avatar
Hedgehogger Hedgehogger is offline
Learning ASM, but struggling
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Somewhere near a box.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 204
Quote originally posted by Mkmaster2400:
Ok how would I do this? I'm trying to make a cave In the middle of route one. I made the entrance already, but how do you make it so you don't walk on top of your cave? And How do I edit the inside after I make the entrance to the cave from route 1?
Once you actually finish your map, (In Advance Map, right?) Then you should go to the tab that says "Movement Permissions View." All purple blocks with "C" on them mean that it's an open space for you to move around freely. The red block with "1" on it would be what you would use for a wall. Place the "1's" over the cave you made (Just not the small hole you'd enter the cave through), and it should be solid.

And to edit the inside, if you've already put a Warp on the cave's entrance, you can just follow the warp to get to the map you'd like to use as a cave. If you haven't put a warp yet, or don't know how, I'm sure there's tutorials around somewhere for it. But you can still edit whatever Map you'd like to use as the cave's interior by either finding one used by the game, or making one from scratch.
__________________


Pokeymenz Am-nee-shaaah Beta 4 Released!
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old August 3rd, 2009 (03:35 AM).
Collen Collen is offline
I have returned.
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 71
Thanks for the turtorial. Now i just need to find out how to get past it screwing up with me. The thing at the end of this video keeps on happening: youtube watch?v=2w57DPqUHHw
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old August 6th, 2009 (12:29 AM).
3n3rGyZ 3n3rGyZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
I have a little problem, I have connected and created the map successfully...But when I tested it out during gameplay, this is what happened.

img98.imageshack.us/img98/8021/advmaperror.jpg (URL)

Anyone know how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance,

3n3rGyZ
__________________
3n3rGyZ's PokePet

GrandSlam the level 99 Metagross!
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old August 6th, 2009 (01:56 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by 3n3rGyZ:
I have a little problem, I have connected and created the map successfully...But when I tested it out during gameplay, this is what happened.

img98.imageshack.us/img98/8021/advmaperror.jpg (URL)

Anyone know how I can fix this?

Thanks in advance,

3n3rGyZ
You need to change the border tiles.
(Up in the top-right corner, above all of your tiles, there should be a 2X2 square, just make that the right kind of tree (The kind with another tree above and below it) and this problem will be over.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old August 6th, 2009 (03:05 AM).
3n3rGyZ 3n3rGyZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
Thanks alot 0m3GA ARS3NAL
__________________
3n3rGyZ's PokePet

GrandSlam the level 99 Metagross!
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old August 6th, 2009 (05:22 AM).
Mages4ever's Avatar
Mages4ever Mages4ever is offline
Looking for a Challenge!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 380
Quick question.
I'm not sure if I made this up in my mind or something, but is there a tool in Advance Map that you can make something like a tree once, and you can place that tree with a click, instead of tile by tile. (When I think about it, I thought it was called "Big Block Editor" or something). But yeah, is there such thing as that, and if so, how do you access it.

[Sorry for sounding like a total fail right there, but I'm trying to get back into mapping.]
__________________

►Waiting for LBP2.




Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old August 6th, 2009 (05:30 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Mages4ever:
Quick question.
I'm not sure if I made this up in my mind or something, but is there a tool in Advance Map that you can make something like a tree once, and you can place that tree with a click, instead of tile by tile. (When I think about it, I thought it was called "Big Block Editor" or something). But yeah, is there such thing as that, and if so, how do you access it.

[Sorry for sounding like a total fail right there, but I'm trying to get back into mapping.]
Hold the control Key, and click-drag across the tiles you want to use.
(Easiest if you build one tree in the map, and then just select it, and paste it wherever you need it.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old August 6th, 2009 (09:16 AM). Edited August 6th, 2009 by Mages4ever.
Mages4ever's Avatar
Mages4ever Mages4ever is offline
Looking for a Challenge!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 380
Thank you.
It surprises me that it's not in any menu or anything..

Edit:
Got it.
You didn't mention to right click, not left.
__________________

►Waiting for LBP2.




Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old August 6th, 2009 (09:47 AM).
Korronensu's Avatar
Korronensu Korronensu is offline
Scrap Punk
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Age: 25
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 153
Send a message via AIM to Korronensu Send a message via Yahoo to Korronensu
I can't see anything. Your spoilers are all acting like they are empty.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old August 6th, 2009 (09:59 AM).
Mages4ever's Avatar
Mages4ever Mages4ever is offline
Looking for a Challenge!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 380
@Korronensu
They work fine for me.
Try refreshing your page/restarting your browser?
__________________

►Waiting for LBP2.




Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old August 6th, 2009 (08:15 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by Korronensu:
I can't see anything. Your spoilers are all acting like they are empty.
What browser do you use?
If you use a browser that does not support the spoiler tags well, you may have trouble.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old August 7th, 2009 (12:37 AM).
3n3rGyZ 3n3rGyZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
I'm having 2 problems at the moment, one may be slightly off-topc...but here goes.

img195.imageshack.us/img195/5676/advmaperror1.jpg(URL)

-This is a border problem, wonder what the problem is o.0

2ndly the warps are NOT working at all in the new map for some reason...

img38.imageshack.us/img38/1152/advmaperror2.jpg(URL)

If someone could help me out I'd greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance,

3n3rGyZ
__________________
3n3rGyZ's PokePet

GrandSlam the level 99 Metagross!
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old August 7th, 2009 (02:38 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by 3n3rGyZ:
I'm having 2 problems at the moment, one may be slightly off-topc...but here goes.

img195.imageshack.us/img195/5676/advmaperror1.jpg(URL)

-This is a border problem, wonder what the problem is o.0

2ndly the warps are NOT working at all in the new map for some reason...

img38.imageshack.us/img38/1152/advmaperror2.jpg(URL)

If someone could help me out I'd greatly appreciate it!

Thanks in advance,

3n3rGyZ
First off, yeah, border problem, you already noticed it, I take it you know how to fix that.

For the warping problem, you can't use warps on those particular tiles.
(You'll notice in the block editor, on a tile that you CAN warp on, (Like the red rug that indicates a door when leaving a building.) Have the parameter "Arrow down => warp under block".
This tells the game that THAT tile, should display a down arrow, and to use the warp.

You would have to make a new tile (Just copy the one you want the warp to be on onto a blank tile.) And have it set to "Use warp" (Unless you want it to have an arrow display, then just choose one with the arrow...)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old August 7th, 2009 (02:45 AM).
3n3rGyZ 3n3rGyZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
Quote originally posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL:
First off, yeah, border problem, you already noticed it, I take it you know how to fix that.

For the warping problem, you can't use warps on those particular tiles.
(You'll notice in the block editor, on a tile that you CAN warp on, (Like the red rug that indicates a door when leaving a building.) Have the parameter "Arrow down => warp under block".
This tells the game that THAT tile, should display a down arrow, and to use the warp.

You would have to make a new tile (Just copy the one you want the warp to be on onto a blank tile.) And have it set to "Use warp" (Unless you want it to have an arrow display, then just choose one with the arrow...)
Ok, thanks for the tip on the warp issue.

But the border problem is really weird since it is black on the side but during game-play I get that weird blue colour. =[
__________________
3n3rGyZ's PokePet

GrandSlam the level 99 Metagross!
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old August 7th, 2009 (02:48 AM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by 3n3rGyZ:
Ok, thanks for the tip on the warp issue.

But the border problem is really weird since it is black on the side but during game-play I get that weird blue colour. =[
The reason it does that is because you are telling the game to use a completely transparent tile, so it does not know what to do.
If you want a completely black tile, you will have to make one out of some pure black blocks in the block editor. (There are many transparent ones, it is YOUR job to tell which are which.)
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old August 7th, 2009 (02:52 AM).
3n3rGyZ 3n3rGyZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
Ohhh. Thanks alot again mate
__________________
3n3rGyZ's PokePet

GrandSlam the level 99 Metagross!
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old August 7th, 2009 (02:53 AM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,989
You shouldn't use black borders anyway. 8D

Houses use a different tile which actually has a black block.
__________________
Brony represent.
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old August 7th, 2009 (02:56 AM).
3n3rGyZ 3n3rGyZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
Quote originally posted by Ninja Caterpie:
You shouldn't use black borders anyway. 8D

Houses use a different tile which actually has a black block.
I don't if this is why but, I mixed 2 different tile sets, one from a gym (23 or something) an also 0.

After I changed the 1st one to 0, the border got messed up as shown in the image...
__________________
3n3rGyZ's PokePet

GrandSlam the level 99 Metagross!
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old August 13th, 2009 (06:46 AM).
NarutoActor's Avatar
NarutoActor NarutoActor is offline
The rocks cry out to me
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brooklyn/Marlboro
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 1,975
Send a message via AIM to NarutoActor Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to NarutoActor
I think its a good tutorial but your route is a lil empty
and the final map were theres a lot of dirt it should not be that big overall everything eles was a perfect exsample of a good map
__________________
~There are those people who understand hex, F the rest
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old August 13th, 2009 (09:31 AM).
Live Update King Live Update King is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 399
Send a message via Yahoo to Live Update King
Which tileset do you use?
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old August 18th, 2009 (10:20 PM).
shadow ripper shadow ripper is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
no tutorial to create a forest
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:35 PM.