The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old July 31st, 2009, 05:59 PM
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExitWound View Post
I don't understand... I was trying to insert this sprite I made from scratch:



But when I find the pokemon in the wild, the screen just stays black...
You must have made some tiny hang up somewhere... :\
Mine is scratch too, and everything works, attacks and location etc, but my sprite is showing up as the ? mark missingno. Strange, but no ones had an explanation yet...

I suggest just starting over from step one and trying again. It MIGHT help, or will at least give you some practice while waiting for a better answer.
__________________

---
Supporter of:


Reply With Quote
  #102    
Old August 1st, 2009, 06:04 PM
ExitWound's Avatar
ExitWound
Boggle
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by JerisEnigma1337 View Post
You must have made some tiny hang up somewhere... :\
Mine is scratch too, and everything works, attacks and location etc, but my sprite is showing up as the ? mark missingno. Strange, but no ones had an explanation yet...

I suggest just starting over from step one and trying again. :( It MIGHT help, or will at least give you some practice while waiting for a better answer.
Well it's the second time I've tried it =\
Last time the rom didn't even start up. But this time I didn't change any of a Pokemon's stats and stuff, I just replaced the sprite of Farfetch'd with mine.

BTW, Maybe you didn't set the missingno.'s sprite offset to the offset that you inserted your sprite?
__________________

+====================Supports====================+


+====================Supports====================+
Reply With Quote
  #103    
Old August 5th, 2009, 05:48 AM
pkmntrainerpaul's Avatar
pkmntrainerpaul
New account: P-Sign
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 18
Gender: Male
tpravetz,you're great!
This Tutorial really helped me!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old August 6th, 2009, 03:54 PM
JerisEnigma1337's Avatar
JerisEnigma1337
Rocket Recruited Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by ExitWound View Post
Well it's the second time I've tried it =\
Last time the rom didn't even start up. But this time I didn't change any of a Pokemon's stats and stuff, I just replaced the sprite of Farfetch'd with mine.

BTW, Maybe you didn't set the missingno.'s sprite offset to the offset that you inserted your sprite?
No, I used the Free Space Finder to get me an open offset to use... And I always add 10 extra bytes to be sure it won't overwrite something else. It wasn't acting glitched or anything since attacks etc were working, which was nice, but now I'm wondering where MY sprite went off too...
__________________

---
Supporter of:


Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old August 7th, 2009, 12:29 AM
Taichi's Avatar
Taichi
The Keyblader of The Future
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Gender:
Nature: Calm
I tried to put a Gible in the my FR. I think I succeeded, but i'm not sure/
Now for some reason my whenever my I try to open my ROM up, the vba stops reponding all of a sudden. Help?
__________________
The Fake Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days Commercial
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old August 7th, 2009, 01:02 AM
Late's Avatar
Late
Pokémon Artist
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: "We all live in a Pokémon World!"
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
So many has problems and I have too, but I didn't get answer... I haven't hacked for a month because of that.

Here's my text from page 4. Can somebody help?
Spoiler:

This thing has worked fine (as it should be), I have inserted Turtwig and Grotle to my game. A couple of times I have got messed up sprites but I have fixed those without help. Now I have a problem. I have Torterra's sprite, when I see it in game it's black and I don't know what helps me to get it's colours back again. I think it's palette's fault but what can I do? I have tried different offsets and everything that comes to my mind, but something's still wrong. Can somebody help me?
__________________

Please feed my Pokémon and warm my eggs.
Thanks for everyone who have clicked these, you've helped me a lot

Anyone has Club Nintendo codes that you don't need? I want those.
If you have one code for me I can trade you my Explorers of Sky code as I can't put it because I have registered already one. (Registered my brother's game and now I can't register mine...) Someone have same thing? PM me.
I know there's nobody who wishes to do this xD
I'm talking about Club Nintendo of Europe.
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old August 8th, 2009, 07:12 AM
crdm
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender:
it doesn't work for me.. :o
when i did it for the first time it worked (i replaced a spheal) but now it doesn't!
when i look at my number 673, it is still a charmander!?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old August 9th, 2009, 04:57 AM
Taichi's Avatar
Taichi
The Keyblader of The Future
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taichi View Post
I tried to put a Gible in the my FR. I think I succeeded, but i'm not sure/
Now for some reason my whenever my I try to open my ROM up, the vba stops reponding all of a sudden. Help?
Nvm, I just found out that it was Poke edit pro that makes my vba not respond. I still have no idea why.
__________________
The Fake Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days Commercial
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old August 9th, 2009, 05:21 AM
iPooP-On-[Arceus]'s Avatar
iPooP-On-[Arceus]
AZN's AZN
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
I have the solution okay when you open unLZ-GBA you try to start from 500 at the GoTo button if its still messed up go to 1000 1500 2000 onwards until you find a proper sprite if you enter 500 and a pokemon is there already it might even start on a lower number so find it...
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old August 11th, 2009, 02:45 AM
willj016's Avatar
willj016
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Gender:
I Need Your Help With Something.

I Follow The Tutorial To the Letter but when I Insert the sprite and save with the new offsets on a clean Rom. I go to a different sprite then return to the sprite i have changed and it goes back to what sprite was there before?
__________________

Click here to feed me a Rare Candy!
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old August 11th, 2009, 03:58 AM
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Im comin' home...
Community Supporter Tier 1
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Quote:
Originally Posted by willj016 View Post
I Need Your Help With Something.

I Follow The Tutorial To the Letter but when I Insert the sprite and save with the new offsets on a clean Rom. I go to a different sprite then return to the sprite i have changed and it goes back to what sprite was there before?
The reason it does this is because you are not removing the old image, you are just telling the game to not look at it anymore. Don't worry, the Sprite is inserted.
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old August 16th, 2009, 05:52 AM
willj016's Avatar
willj016
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by 0m3GA ARS3NAL View Post
The reason it does this is because you are not removing the old image, you are just telling the game to not look at it anymore. Don't worry, the Sprite is inserted.
Thanks i tried again and the sprite worked in game thanks for your time :)
__________________

Click here to feed me a Rare Candy!
Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old August 20th, 2009, 09:39 AM
lunos219
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
does anyone here know how to add new attacks to your new custom pokemon?

i already have advance attack...
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old August 22nd, 2009, 03:33 PM
trebornosliw's Avatar
trebornosliw
Learning
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote:
Originally Posted by Taichi View Post
Nvm, I just found out that it was Poke edit pro that makes my vba not respond. I still have no idea why.
When you use Poke Edit Pro, you can't have the rom open with any other program, it's a sharing issue.
Hey, I'm having an issue here...
I inserted Dialga in the slot right after Celebii, but when I make someone give him to you, I get an Illumise instead. Also, I can't edit Dialga's pokedex entry. Anyone know what's up?

Oh, and to add new attacks, you first need to delete some from other Pokemon, then you can mess with your Pokemon's attacks with Poke Edit Pro or YAPE. Although I think you can also create a new attack offset with poke edit pro, so that you don't have to delete anything. I only just figured out how to make poke edit pro work with Vista, so I'm not entirely certain...
__________________
Credit for my avatar goes to the Lego company.
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old August 29th, 2009, 11:22 PM
ME0W's Avatar
ME0W
Still busy working on my hack.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Thanks dude! The tutorial worked.
Now I am just gonna work on its back sprites!


-The Chansey is always right!
Get your own Chansey
Reply With Quote
  #116    
Old August 30th, 2009, 02:25 AM
romhacking
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
thanks but i got a little problem
i put chimchar as starter (i added the sprite from back and the normal)
when i choose im he is in normal sprite (i mean not back like in battles)
but when i battle he still normal sprite too... i don't see his back
why? (i added both)
Reply With Quote
  #117    
Old September 2nd, 2009, 01:23 AM
Corpsefire's Avatar
Corpsefire
I. Like. To. Kill. Things.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: You stalker :[
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by romhacking View Post
thanks but i got a little problem
i put chimchar as starter (i added the sprite from back and the normal)
when i choose im he is in normal sprite (i mean not back like in battles)
but when i battle he still normal sprite too... i don't see his back
why? (i added both)
Did you put the Backsprite offset in the right field in Pkmn Edit Pro?

also, the pallete offset for your backsprite needs to go into the "Shiny pallette" field.



Also also (xD) Does anyone have any idea how to import and edit an icon for your pokemon?
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/signaturepics/sigpic171332_2.gif

Last edited by Corpsefire; September 2nd, 2009 at 12:40 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #118    
Old September 6th, 2009, 01:57 PM
GoldGizz
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Gender: Male
This is not working for me. The pokemon wouldn't show up in the game. I tried this whole thing twice and it didn't work neither of the times.

Last edited by GoldGizz; September 6th, 2009 at 01:59 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #119    
Old September 7th, 2009, 08:53 PM
Corpsefire's Avatar
Corpsefire
I. Like. To. Kill. Things.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: You stalker :[
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldGizz View Post
This is not working for me. The pokemon wouldn't show up in the game. I tried this whole thing twice and it didn't work neither of the times.

What is it exactly that you are having a problem with?
__________________
http://www.pokecommunity.com/signaturepics/sigpic171332_2.gif
Reply With Quote
  #120    
Old September 27th, 2009, 09:49 AM
Deucalion
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Yeah, I'm having a problem. I can import a sprite to Pokemon Ruby without problems, however, if I try importing a pallete, no matter what offset, etc, I use, the game always uses a bizarre pallete for the entire screen upon encountering that Pokemon, then crashes. The only way I can get anything to work is by only importing the sprite and then using a pre-existing pallete, but this has too many limitations.

Help plx?
Reply With Quote
  #121    
Old October 4th, 2009, 08:35 AM
firekoopa
Combat the Infinite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to firekoopa Send a message via Yahoo to firekoopa
Omg, u recieved Misty!
Epic Tutorial. But you don't really add them. You replace them..
Reply With Quote
  #122    
Old October 9th, 2009, 06:32 PM
saison's Avatar
saison
Black Knight of Dusk
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I'm there.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Sorry, I wasn't able to reply to this in quite a while, but I have a question about the space in the ROM.
I've decided to say forget FSF because it will always give me space, but when I use those pointers the sprite comes out all corrutped, so for the backsprite's image I'll use 00x800000 for that part, but I'm never sure how many lines of data it will take up depending on the sprite's amount of bytes. So, for the palette I ended up jumping to 00x810000. That works, but I will end up leaving a ton of empty space unused.

So, my question is how would I determine now many lines of hex I will be using up, corresponding to the amount of bytes for the image I'm using. I don't need help with how much space the palette is going to take though.
__________________
~It wasn't fate. Just the turn of a card.~
~Pokemon White FC: 0948-1520-8911~
Reply With Quote
  #123    
Old October 14th, 2009, 12:34 PM
Darthenia
Learner Hacker
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London, UK
Gender: Female
Nature: Impish
Hey, I followed the instructions to the letter, everything seemed tickety-boo but when I encountered him in the wild he was fragmented. you can still see that its the correct palette.. just all lines and gaps???
(I tried to include screenies but it says I havnt posted enough yet soree)
Any help would be muchos appreciados :D
Danka,
xxDarthxx
Reply With Quote
  #124    
Old October 15th, 2009, 05:35 AM
ShadowForce_G's Avatar
ShadowForce_G
Endless learning...
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emerald of the Equator
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to ShadowForce_G
This always works for me, but the shiny palette...

Yesterday I made Giratina sprite and used the wildbattle script, and then, IT IS SHINY with odd palette... T.T
Reply With Quote
  #125    
Old October 16th, 2009, 07:30 AM
CookieDough's Avatar
CookieDough
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nice tutorial =D This will certainly help me if I would add custom Pokémon!

(Notice: At step 10 you wrote: "Add ten to it and right it down." Shouldn't it be "write"? O_O Sorry, just noticed )
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:26 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.