Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page What are the best settings for DesmuME???

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old September 24th, 2009 (03:09 PM).
tifaluv's Avatar
tifaluv
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
It runs slow for me no matter what! Everytime I start a game I can't get above 40 FPS when the game starts, every Pokemon game I try goes very slow. I see other people with it running normal speed, HOW???

No$GBA runs great, I'm trying to do the same with DesmuME now
  #2    
Old September 26th, 2009 (05:22 PM).
NickAlert's Avatar
NickAlert
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
click 3d settings on one of the tool menu things. then click the drop down and select softrasteriser. that helps a little bit.
  #3    
Old September 27th, 2009 (04:15 AM).
hoone's Avatar
hoone
Anyone over 20? Dang.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Nature: Calm
Desume only uses one CPU, no$gba uses multiple.
I'm going to take a wild guess and you are running on 2.0's Ghz Duo PC? that means with desume you are running on a 2.0's Ghz computer (which is too slow to run any game except phoenix wright)

Possible Solution:
if you get 75% (40 FPS), change frame skip to 2~4
50% (30 FPS) 4~5 and so on
No it will not run smoothly but it will run in game time.

Alternatively, if you have an old PC with 3.0+Ghz non-duo/quad, play on that.
  #4    
Old October 5th, 2009 (08:43 PM).
jintrigger
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Terra City
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Hold up if you can play on nocashgba why are you trying to get the other one to work
  #5    
Old October 6th, 2009 (05:14 PM).
Superkid11's Avatar
Superkid11
Covered in Shroomish
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
Yeah, I don't see why you're trying to get it working with Desmume. Desmume isn't really ready for it yet.

The only thing I can think of is you don't like No$GBA's apparently bad colors. Go into Emulation Setup and change GBA Mode to VGA (poppy bright) and Solar Sensor Level to Bright Sunlight. I don't know which of these actually does it, but it fixes the colors right up.
__________________
  #6    
Old October 6th, 2009 (09:45 PM).
Maxzeroedge's Avatar
Maxzeroedge
Ready for simply anything
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: In my home?
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Yahoo to Maxzeroedge Send a message via Skype™ to Maxzeroedge
Well one thing can be its size....
When I tried it on my PC earlier it was of normal size (half screen length) and the game ran smoothly (and that's why I love it). But then my friend cam and he increased the size and I found that the game ran a bit slower.......So.......u got my point eh?
__________________
Life is simply awesome
  #7    
Old October 14th, 2009 (10:23 AM).
jellotime91
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Dudes the reason why people play with DesMume is because the window can actually be resized. I don't see why this feature is still missing from No$GBA. It's actually ridiculous that you can't resize the window. And not everyone wants to change their resolution every time they play Pokemon. I play Pokemon while watching a movie on the same screen so I'd like to leave my resolution normal. :/
__________________
  #8    
Old October 18th, 2009 (09:26 AM).
Superkid11's Avatar
Superkid11
Covered in Shroomish
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Lax
That's what No$Zoomer is for. ;)
__________________
  #9    
Old October 21st, 2009 (05:26 AM).
Chaos Uxie's Avatar
Chaos Uxie
Spreading Chaos....
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Dark Void OF Chaos
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote originally posted by jellotime91:
Dudes the reason why people play with DesMume is because the window can actually be resized. I don't see why this feature is still missing from No$GBA. It's actually ridiculous that you can't resize the window. And not everyone wants to change their resolution every time they play Pokemon. I play Pokemon while watching a movie on the same screen so I'd like to leave my resolution normal. :/
u are wrong if u think people play with DesMume is because the window can actually be resized???thats not true since Desmume has lot of features that no$gba does not have for example the save type is accurate as the real ds,able to make own cheats.debugger funtions,microphone,hotkeys,movie recording,screens,gba slot, etc.the only thing desmume is down is because it is slow in 3d renderung but that can fixed with manual frameskip which desmume0.9.4 is better then no$gba since martin is now dead and there wont be any new release of no$gba
__________________
  #10    
Old October 21st, 2009 (09:49 AM).
tifaluv's Avatar
tifaluv
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Gender:
it isn't better than No$GBA because slow computers can't run DesMuMe but they can run No$GBA
  #11    
Old March 26th, 2012 (05:28 PM).
faospark's Avatar
faospark
web Developer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: some where in space
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Quote originally posted by Chaos Uxie:
since martin is now dead and there wont be any new release of no$gba
Is he really gone? I dont think he is dead I think he just gave up and practically left his own project. Unlike Yop Yop , the original creator desmume,whom had the magnanimity to release the source and desmume and let other people work on it
__________________

"Generating codes from Pokesav Does not earn you a title of a coder!!!
"
Action Replay Code Archive
  #12    
Old November 3rd, 2013 (10:56 PM).
ClydeWood
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Superkid11:
Yeah, I don't see why you're trying to get it working with Desmume. Desmume isn't really ready for it yet.

The only thing I can think of is you don't like No$GBA's apparently bad colors. Go into Emulation Setup and change GBA Mode to VGA (poppy bright) and Solar Sensor Level to Bright Sunlight. I don't know which of these actually does it, but it fixes the colors right up.
Thanks for sharing information.. I know thread is bit old but I am facing similar problem and now I will be able to solve it out.....
  #13    
Old November 4th, 2013 (06:24 AM).
Team Fail
Fly with me
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Mods don't like it when you bump old threads, but to help you out, grab the latest version of Desmume from their site and toy around with the settings. One you should pay attention to is the Dynamic Recompiler. Enable it, then give it a block size of 100, and you should be able to play most games really smoothly. I'm running Black and White 2 with absolutely no lag whatsoever.
__________________
| | | | |
PM | VM



Do the best with whatever you can today.
Then tomorrow, you will have surely progressed.

  #14    
Old November 4th, 2013 (08:21 AM).
Livewire's Avatar
Livewire
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sunyshore City
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Livewire
A three year bump then a one year bump. >___o

Closed
__________________

BSS | D&D | PM | VM
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:23 PM.