Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Advanced Series (GBA toolbox)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #226    
Old July 16th, 2011 (12:09 PM).
~Anbuja's Avatar
~Anbuja ~Anbuja is offline
Let's Keep It Simple
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Snorlax Stomach
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 320
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Anbuja
Quote originally posted by iRossy:
I try importing Serperior's Sprite (64x64) into Venasuar's place, the sprite's colors are all messed up so I click "Synchronize palettes" and it gives me this error:

"Unhandled exception has occured in your application. If you click Continue, the application will ignore this error and attempt to continue. If you click Quit, the application will close immediately.

Index was outside the bounds of the array."

I click "Details" and it gives a long error list or something that says:

Code:
See the end of this message for details on invoking 
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.IndexOutOfRangeException: Index was outside the bounds of the array.
   at Sprite_Editor.EditSpriteDialog.SynchPalettes()
   at Sprite_Editor.EditSpriteDialog.SynchButton_Click(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mevent)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4961 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v2.0.50727/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Advanced Pokémon Sprite Editor
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 1.0.0.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Users/Account/Downloads/Pokemon%20hack/AdvancedSprite/Advanced%20Pok%E9mon%20Sprite%20Editor.exe
----------------------------------------
Microsoft.VisualBasic
    Assembly Version: 8.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 8.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.VisualBasic/8.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.VisualBasic.dll
----------------------------------------
System
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4957 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4961 (win7RTMGDR.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/2.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Runtime.Remoting
    Assembly Version: 2.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 2.0.50727.4927 (NetFXspW7.050727-4900)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Runtime.Remoting/2.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Runtime.Remoting.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
    Assembly Version: 3.5.0.0
    Win32 Version: 3.5.30729.4926 built by: NetFXw7
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/3.5.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.
This didn't happen with Snivy or Servine's sprites... they're all 64x64
Well that means serperior have more than 16 colours!
just click continoue and update sprite pallete after u press syncronise and continue than it should work after advance series kidna index it for u coz it's not indexed thats why it shows this error.

Quote originally posted by fallkitten:
When I'm trying to insert bulbasaur b/w sprite in game it shows like this:





What to do?X)
after u edited it right and clicked okay and than write to rom there shoudl be a window where it shows an starting offsets kinda put there for example 900000 and than find free space and write to rom.
and try again

Quote originally posted by Shinypoliwrath:
These tools have been a massive help since I've started.
For some reason UNLZ hates me and never seems to work right, but the advanced series tools are really easy to use, and haven't messed up yet.

By the way, is there a way to change trainer sprites using the advanced tools? If not, are there plans to create such a feature?
Uhmmm as far as i know u cant change trainer sprites through advance series:\
for this u have to use unlz or NSE.
__________________
  #227    
Old July 16th, 2011 (12:43 PM).
Shinypoliwrath's Avatar
Shinypoliwrath Shinypoliwrath is offline
RMXP Noob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Quote originally posted by Anbuja's_BlooDY:
Uhmmm as far as i know u cant change trainer sprites through advance series:\
for this u have to use unlz or NSE.
Ah, well that's a shame. unlz keeps messing me about every time I try it, I'm following every guide I've read to the letter! >.<
I'll have to try NSE
  #228    
Old July 16th, 2011 (12:46 PM).
darklugia23 darklugia23 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
Quote originally posted by demondismon:
anyone have or make a sapphire ini for this i really need one?
i too need a sapphire.ini i only have ruby and fire red and emerald but no sapphire
  #229    
Old July 17th, 2011 (08:21 AM).
Daylight Savings Time's Avatar
Daylight Savings Time Daylight Savings Time is offline
Fall back, spring ahead.
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 6
I second ShinyPoliwrath's desire to see a Trainer sprite editor as intuitive and well-crafted as these programs.

These have been completely invaluable to my own hacking, and saves the infinite headaches that UN-LZ can cause.

Thank you! :D
  #230    
Old August 11th, 2011 (05:45 PM).
Thappyface16 Thappyface16 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Can anybody help me out with this? I'm trying to put this mario sprite over wartortle. Obviously, I want to get the result that is in the "shiny" section on the top, but every time I sync the palettes, the colors get messed up and the result is the images turn black. I've tried several methods of trying to fix this, like changing the palettes, background color, different indexing with GIMP and Irfran, but I can't figure it out. Help would be much appreciated
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png‎ (319.0 KB, 52 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #231    
Old August 27th, 2011 (10:56 PM).
iMissDawn iMissDawn is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 1
Quote originally posted by fallkitten:
When I'm trying to insert bulbasaur b/w sprite in game it shows like this:
*Edited because it won't let me post URLs*



What to do?X)
I'm having this exact same problem. It happens with every sprite I import.

Here's an example of what I'm importing:

(See attachment, because it won't let me post URLs)


No matter what I do, whenever I Write to ROM, it always shows the sprite as a jumbled mess of blocks and lines. I've tried importing in so many different ways, using multiple different ROMs, and nothing seems to work.

I've kept the start offset to 0x0 and clicked Find Free Space. Then I clicked OK. I've also started it at 0x0, clicked free space, and wrote the offset that showed up underneath into the Start Offset section.

I honestly have no idea what to do, because no matter what I do it always shows up with this blocky mess.

Any help will be greatly appreciated, thanks. <3


(Also, I've followed exactly what Anbuja's_BlooDY said to do, yet it STILL does it. )
Attached Images
File Type: png 007.png‎ (2.6 KB, 36 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #232    
Old August 28th, 2011 (02:04 AM).
Rayziken 2's Avatar
Rayziken 2 Rayziken 2 is offline
Beginning ROM Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 222
I love the Icon Editor! I've made some custom icons, but I do have one problem; the icons are placed too high. I know this isn't your fault, but how many pixels down should the first one and second one be if I simply want my icons to move up and down?
__________________

  #233    
Old August 28th, 2011 (02:41 PM).
jvpski3 jvpski3 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: 739 Long Street, Eterna City
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 177
Nice tools, but please do some debugging, please, or else it is a virus.
  #234    
Old September 7th, 2011 (06:13 AM).
unknownism unknownism is offline
UnKnOwN oNe
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Bloody Black Abys
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 5
These tool are top notch when you get used to them, but does anyone know if it would be possible to insert larger sprites because sprites in newer games reach like 80x80 & I am not very good with resizing or recreation of a sprite... Otherwise does anyone know af a program that can shrink the sprites without to much of a glitchy outcome?
  #235    
Old September 7th, 2011 (07:29 AM).
DavidJCobb DavidJCobb is offline
RESIDENT RAAAAAAAAAAAAGEMASTER
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by unknownism:
These tool are top notch when you get used to them, but does anyone know if it would be possible to insert larger sprites because sprites in newer games reach like 80x80 & I am not very good with resizing or recreation of a sprite...
Nope.

I recall someone asking if Poke sprites in the GBA games could be expanded past 64x64px. I also recall the answer: no. The GBA apparently can't show images larger than that size without using "tilemaps", which would be quite inconvenient to use for the Pokemon. There is also the problem of the GUI (stats screen, Pokedex, etc.) only being designed for 64x64px sprites, and needing to edit ASM in several different parts of the game engine to use the new size.

Even if those weren't an issue, changing the size would probably break compatibility with this program. :\

Quote originally posted by unknownism:
Otherwise does anyone know af a program that can shrink the sprites without to much of a glitchy outcome?
There's no program that'll resize them for and fix artifacts for you. My best recommendation is to simply get better at doing small pixel edits; usually when you resize, it's only lines and crosshatching that you'll need to fix anyway.

Tip: Windows XP's MSPaint works better than Windows 7's MSPaint. There's a way to get the former if you only have the latter, but I'm not sure how.
__________________
  #236    
Old September 12th, 2011 (08:02 AM).
unknownism unknownism is offline
UnKnOwN oNe
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Bloody Black Abys
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 5
[QUOTE=DavidJCobb;6839459]Nope.

I recall someone asking if Poke sprites in the GBA games could be expanded past 64x64px. I also recall the answer: no. The GBA apparently can't show images larger than that size without using "tilemaps", which would be quite inconvenient to use for the Pokemon. There is also the problem of the GUI (stats screen, Pokedex, etc.) only being designed for 64x64px sprites, and needing to edit ASM in several different parts of the game engine to use the new size.

Ok, well I certainly do thank you for informing me of the "tilemaps" because I was confused on why sprites from another GBA game were much larger. I will just have to get better with sprite making, I'm still new to hacking so I appreciate your help.
  #237    
Old September 12th, 2011 (08:32 AM).
kringlur's Avatar
kringlur kringlur is offline
Velkominn í heim POKéMON!
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 90
Quote originally posted by Thappyface16:
Can anybody help me out with this? I'm trying to put this mario sprite over wartortle. Obviously, I want to get the result that is in the "shiny" section on the top, but every time I sync the palettes, the colors get messed up and the result is the images turn black. I've tried several methods of trying to fix this, like changing the palettes, background color, different indexing with GIMP and Irfran, but I can't figure it out. Help would be much appreciated
Ditto. I was replacing the sprites with RBY ones though.
__________________
RBGY: Compilation file with headers, how to edit, et cetera. Please message me with fixes/additions/whathave you. Newest version is 6th March 2011.
Tutorial: Replacing Fire Red tiles with RBY tiles in Advance Map
  #238    
Old October 3rd, 2011 (03:05 AM).
iRossy iRossy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 80
Hey, whenever I add a sprite, sometimes the colors are a bit messed up, like they have a black/dark blue streak across them in some areas. Usually it's like on their eyes or on a horn or something, Anyone know how to fix this?
__________________
  #239    
Old October 3rd, 2011 (03:20 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
ModeratorCSGT
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,569
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Well, horns and eyes tend to be white, so are you sure you're not making the white colour transparent?
As a rule of thumb, you should make the sprites' background a sort of teal colour, or a colour that isn't in the sprite (ie a green colour for a Latias sprite).
__________________
  #240    
Old October 4th, 2011 (01:08 AM).
iRossy iRossy is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 80
I'm sure It's not the sprite, but I tried this and it fixed the sprites! Thank you! But will the background show up in-game?
__________________
  #241    
Old October 10th, 2011 (05:28 PM). Edited October 10th, 2011 by Kazemisu.
Kazemisu Kazemisu is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Gender:
Posts: 2
Has anyone figured out a way to get this program to work on Leaf Green? It seems like it should be simple enough, and I made a "leaf green ini" by changing the game code to BPEE, but the changes I make are not reflected in the game, and some sprites appear in mid air in the game whereas they don't in the program, and vice versa.

Quote originally posted by BlazingMagmar:
I have created a LeafGreen.ini for those of you who are looking for one, because sharing is caring :D
Attachment 60458
I was just glancing through the thread after making my post, and would like to absolutely thank you for being an amazing person!

Thanks for the .ini!
  #242    
Old October 24th, 2011 (10:34 AM). Edited October 24th, 2011 by Gimic.
Gimic Gimic is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ostrava, Czech Republic
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
I have a little problem with loading Sapphire rom, in the INIs folder there's no file for it... Does anybody know, where can I find it?

Cannot open Ruby/Sapphire ROMs.... Wrong INIs
__________________
I don't care for EV training, I don't breed my own perfect Pokémon, I just leave them as they are, with their own stats and personality... I play, for their sake...

Don't cheat, it kills the game
  #243    
Old November 12th, 2011 (10:25 AM).
Hackrex Hackrex is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender:
Posts: 35
hi, good work. But you forget the Inis for German Roms.
I hope it´s ok that I have made them.
German people can find it here
hxxp://board.romresources.net/board6-romhacking/board19-romhacking-tools/10088-inis-bookmarks-f%C3%BCr-feuerrot/
__________________
Temporarily not available
  #244    
Old November 12th, 2011 (10:32 AM).
markis markis is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 14
AWSOME DUDE!!! I was searching this for ages. Thanks a lot. I'll try a bit later.
  #245    
Old November 22nd, 2011 (09:44 PM).
ShadowGrey's Avatar
ShadowGrey ShadowGrey is offline
Graphix Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 49
Would be grateful for news on any new ini, specifically EU FireRed rom. Also any advice on making ini.
  #246    
Old January 3rd, 2012 (02:24 PM). Edited January 3rd, 2012 by pipdeath.
pipdeath's Avatar
pipdeath pipdeath is offline
My Name Is Shadow Wolf
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 7
Why is this happening every time i try to open it
Attached Images
File Type: png wtf.PNG‎ (14.3 KB, 25 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #247    
Old February 26th, 2012 (04:26 AM).
thmagi thmagi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
i cant seem to get the sprite to insert...
it saves and all but when i play it, it gets all broken and glitchy looking
when i open the rom up again theres only blue squares in that position...
happened using a clean rom AND hacked rom been trying to solve this for hours but no success...
using a 64bit windows 7 if that helps...
  #248    
Old March 16th, 2012 (01:05 AM).
rune_reaper's Avatar
rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
Black Rock Shootah
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by pipdeath:
Why is this happening every time i try to open it
I'm having that problem too. Can anyone help?
__________________
  #249    
Old April 6th, 2012 (11:06 AM).
destinydownloads's Avatar
destinydownloads destinydownloads is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London
Gender: Male
Posts: 38
Quote originally posted by pipdeath:
Why is this happening every time i try to open it
I think you have to install the microsoft framework. Google it.
  #250    
Old April 16th, 2012 (08:04 AM).
Leafbarrett's Avatar
Leafbarrett Leafbarrett is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Age: 23
Posts: 68
I'm trying to insert the moemon sprites into Emerald. However, since there's two frames in Emerald, I've run into a problem: the second frame isn't given any image.
Is there any way to auto-insert all second-frame sprites? I really don't want to have to go to every one of the 439 images, open them, separate the front images for normal and shiny, then go to each pokemon in APSE and manually import each image.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:55 AM.