Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Completely Hacking the Fire Red Title Screen by DawnRyder

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old October 4th, 2009 (01:58 PM).
DawnRyder DawnRyder is offline
I cannot believe I'm back -.-
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Quote originally posted by yusufs1:
on part one u didnt specify to define a new offset for the images or not
u just say to leave the write to rom box alone
so do i need to define a new offset for the png image and the new raw image?
Well, in the background tutorial it does.

Quote originally posted by 非常に高いレベル:
I don't understand how to change the bit depth via Properties.
You don't. The Bit Depth is determined by how many colors are in the palette. To change the Bit Depth, go to 'Decrease color depth...' in IrfanView and select 16 colors. The '(4BPP)' stands for 4 bits per pixel. That is your Bit Depth. 4BPP is 16 colors, 8BPP is 256, and 24BPP is millions of colors.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.

Sorry guys, but I'm leaving Pokécommunity. I just don't have time for it. As of right now you will no longer be able to contact me.
Reply With Quote
  #52    
Old October 5th, 2009 (04:27 AM).
nirand1994's Avatar
nirand1994 nirand1994 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 5
thanks Dawnryder
i followed your TUT
this is the first tutorial that actually worked
that tutorial from zeikku is nothing against your
look how my titlescreen looks:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg legend of salamance.PNG.jpg‎ (20.5 KB, 242 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #53    
Old October 5th, 2009 (01:56 PM).
ChikoritaMudkipz's Avatar
ChikoritaMudkipz ChikoritaMudkipz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 30
when your putting the background image in, are you putting in the original and then the raw, because it's not really working for me
__________________
youtube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/ChikoritaMudkipz
check out my shiny gold x run!
Reply With Quote
  #54    
Old October 5th, 2009 (02:19 PM).
DawnRyder DawnRyder is offline
I cannot believe I'm back -.-
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Quote originally posted by ChikoritaMudkipz:
when your putting the background image in, are you putting in the original and then the raw, because it's not really working for me
Yes, but it doesn't really matter which one you insert first.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.

Sorry guys, but I'm leaving Pokécommunity. I just don't have time for it. As of right now you will no longer be able to contact me.
Reply With Quote
  #55    
Old October 13th, 2009 (12:44 AM).
AmazingCouchPotato's Avatar
AmazingCouchPotato AmazingCouchPotato is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pallet Town
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 24
Very Well Done i am deff going to try this out
__________________
RAWR


Help Me Hatch My Egg


Im A Beta Tester For Pokemon Mythic Legends
/Dance
Reply With Quote
  #56    
Old October 15th, 2009 (11:19 AM). Edited October 15th, 2009 by CookieDough.
CookieDough's Avatar
CookieDough CookieDough is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
I've got the same problem with that blocks, I know my tilemap is too big, but not how to shrink it. (Tilemap is the .raw right? I always get confused of tilemaps and tilesets and stuff =D)

So, which height and wide do I need to create a nice background?
And also, in NTME, the FR/LG TS mode, what to do with the last 2 rows? I'm not sure if I should put something in there, or if I should tile them with an "E" thingy. =D
Reply With Quote
  #57    
Old October 15th, 2009 (05:19 PM).
DawnRyder DawnRyder is offline
I cannot believe I'm back -.-
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Quote originally posted by CookieDough:
I've got the same problem with that blocks, I know my tilemap is too big, but not how to shrink it. (Tilemap is the .raw right? I always get confused of tilemaps and tilesets and stuff =D)
Watch this.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IFudFmhWlcQ
Quote originally posted by CookieDough:
So, which height and wide do I need to create a nice background?
And also, in NTME, the FR/LG TS mode, what to do with the last 2 rows? I'm not sure if I should put something in there, or if I should tile them with an "E" thingy. =D
It doesn't matter. They aren't included.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.

Sorry guys, but I'm leaving Pokécommunity. I just don't have time for it. As of right now you will no longer be able to contact me.
Reply With Quote
  #58    
Old October 16th, 2009 (03:12 PM).
Blazing Phoenix's Avatar
Blazing Phoenix Blazing Phoenix is offline
GFX Specialist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 35
Nice tutorial so far but I am confused with a section of part two.

"Now save the tilemap as ‘background.raw’ or something. Now insert it into the ROM by opening unLZ.GBA and going to 2013."

Then there is the image.

"Now, notice that I did not add any text to the image. There is no ‘Press Start’ I have not yet figured out how to make it blink with a background yet. (With my luck, I will probably figure it out like 10 minutes after I post this tutorial.) Anyway, replace the image with the background"

That I am confused with. Ok so if you mean import the background from the beginning. The one that has the black square on it, it says the image is not indexed and if that isn't it, i don't get what you would want to replace it with.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #59    
Old October 17th, 2009 (04:06 AM).
CookieDough's Avatar
CookieDough CookieDough is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 11
Do you know what to offset of the flames is for APE? I kinda need that, since I fail at BG's
Reply With Quote
  #60    
Old October 17th, 2009 (09:49 AM).
DawnRyder DawnRyder is offline
I cannot believe I'm back -.-
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Quote originally posted by Blazing Phoenix:
"Now, notice that I did not add any text to the image. There is no ‘Press Start’ I have not yet figured out how to make it blink with a background yet. (With my luck, I will probably figure it out like 10 minutes after I post this tutorial.) Anyway, replace the image with the background"
Take your image and insert it.

Quote originally posted by CookieDough:
Do you know what to offset of the flames is for APE? I kinda need that, since I fail at BG's
It's around 140.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.

Sorry guys, but I'm leaving Pokécommunity. I just don't have time for it. As of right now you will no longer be able to contact me.
Reply With Quote
  #61    
Old October 17th, 2009 (10:05 AM).
Blazing Phoenix's Avatar
Blazing Phoenix Blazing Phoenix is offline
GFX Specialist
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: United States
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 35
Quote originally posted by DawnRyder:
Take your image and insert it.
Well, yea I know. But I'm just using it as an example.
So, you take the original image for the background and insert that.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #62    
Old October 19th, 2009 (07:57 AM).
PastaPen PastaPen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 48
Ty, this tutorial worked me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #63    
Old October 20th, 2009 (10:22 PM).
iPooP-On-[Arceus]'s Avatar
iPooP-On-[Arceus] iPooP-On-[Arceus] is offline
AZN's AZN
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 13
Okay although this is quite a old thread to me.. But its good! Oh and i found our how to make it blinkies and the press start.... You open up paint use the text button to create a text at the bottom <-- Hand corner so that it will not be overlapped by the Pokemon Fire Red Logo... You can type wadeva you wan press start press thiss press taht....
Den you indexed it bla bla decrease colour depth save pallete den you go to NTME and select all and put the background into postition... Den now is the fun and easy part you cover the whole background with E's den then after that cover your text with F becoz it makes it blink!
There you have it a blinking Press Start!
The rest is up to yourself!
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #64    
Old October 22nd, 2009 (07:03 AM).
ShadowForce_G's Avatar
ShadowForce_G ShadowForce_G is offline
Endless learning...
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emerald of the Equator
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 89
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to ShadowForce_G
Quote originally posted by iPooP-On-[Arceus]:
Okay although this is quite a old thread to me.. But its good! Oh and i found our how to make it blinkies and the press start.... You open up paint use the text button to create a text at the bottom <-- Hand corner so that it will not be overlapped by the Pokemon Fire Red Logo... You can type wadeva you wan press start press thiss press taht....
Den you indexed it bla bla decrease colour depth save pallete den you go to NTME and select all and put the background into postition... Den now is the fun and easy part you cover the whole background with E's den then after that cover your text with F becoz it makes it blink!
There you have it a blinking Press Start!
The rest is up to yourself!
It's blinking! But, my background that covered with 'F' also blinking (not only the text)...
Maybe the palette?
Reply With Quote
  #65    
Old October 22nd, 2009 (11:33 AM).
DawnRyder DawnRyder is offline
I cannot believe I'm back -.-
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 79
Yes, It is the palette. What you need to do is have the Press Start on a solid color. (The solid color has to be one of the colors on the E palette. (I think it is #6). That way, It will blink, and the background will be left untouched.

And:

Sorry guys, but I'm leaving Pokécommunity. I just don't have time for it. As of right now you will no longer be able to contact me.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.

Sorry guys, but I'm leaving Pokécommunity. I just don't have time for it. As of right now you will no longer be able to contact me.
Reply With Quote
  #66    
Old October 22nd, 2009 (03:03 PM).
sky_queen3's Avatar
sky_queen3 sky_queen3 is offline
Minusle Fangirl. ;)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Female
Nature: Naive
Posts: 249
Aww, well ok, enjoy your free time then.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #67    
Old October 22nd, 2009 (10:49 PM).
ShadowForce_G's Avatar
ShadowForce_G ShadowForce_G is offline
Endless learning...
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Emerald of the Equator
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 89
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to ShadowForce_G
Oh DawnRyder, so you won't add the rest...
Too bad...

Bye...
Reply With Quote
  #68    
Old October 24th, 2009 (01:22 AM).
pokeadvent's Avatar
pokeadvent pokeadvent is offline
What should I write....?
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chittagong, Bangladesh
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 10
Hi! I dont understand the part of changing the palette, below are things that i could not understand.
1. Could you please explain it more easily, and without crashing APE.
2. It also cannot load the palette
__________________
<img src=http://www.pokecommunity.com/signaturepics/sigpic178544_3.gif border=0 alt= />



Games I support

Spoiler:


POKEMON ASPHAR by 00VAMPIRE

POKEMON SHADOW BLACK by MERVYN797

POKEMON RAPTOR by O.G. DUKE

Reply With Quote
  #69    
Old October 24th, 2009 (03:31 PM).
11tmaste 11tmaste is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 2
link for NTME v 1.1 please!!!!!
thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #70    
Old October 31st, 2009 (01:37 AM).
Shakar Shakar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Something I don't understand... I followed the tutorial as it says up to the background part, and I'm trying to do that right now for a hack I'm making of the game, but I don't understand what I'm doing wrong... I'm at the part of importing the images for the background, but I keep ending up with the same result... Any help on how to get past this bug will be appreciated, to see the bug it's attached to this.
Attached Images
File Type: png Bug.PNG‎ (14.2 KB, 101 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #71    
Old November 1st, 2009 (06:42 AM).
mahamaniac3's Avatar
mahamaniac3 mahamaniac3 is offline
Owner of Pokemon Jett Version
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 53
Hi! Great tutorial. Except, my background turned-out wierd. Can you help please?
__________________
Mahamaniac3 ::D
Proud owner of


My Website: http://www.mahamaniac3productions.moonfruit.com/


Reply With Quote
  #72    
Old November 8th, 2009 (11:06 AM).
Flash's Avatar
Flash Flash is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Gender:
Posts: 9
I had the same problem - recheck your palette. If necessary, recopy it in infranview.
Reply With Quote
  #73    
Old November 11th, 2009 (11:05 AM).
CdubFosho's Avatar
CdubFosho CdubFosho is offline
Pokemon Adventure breeder
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: USA
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 53
The tutorial looks simple and very easy to use, i would also like to see the fire that fire red has, if you figure that out let us know, also the start button of course, looking good though
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
521 pixels too tall.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #74    
Old November 11th, 2009 (03:50 PM).
Chevalier's Avatar
Chevalier Chevalier is offline
Réveiller
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 22
Took me a while but I've gotten most of it down.
Waiting for part 3!
__________________
Dat New New Is Here



Check The Thread
Reply With Quote
  #75    
Old November 11th, 2009 (04:09 PM).
BlitŻ's Avatar
BlitŻ BlitŻ is offline
guahh my dog is so cute
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Area, Califronia.
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 472
Quote originally posted by CdubFosho:
The tutorial looks simple and very easy to use, i would also like to see the fire that fire red has, if you figure that out let us know, also the start button of course, looking good though
Editing the fire is as simple as exporting it and changing the frames to what you want. I don't think there's a tilemap though, because it works a bit different than the rest of the titlescreen. And the start button? That's where you import the background too. When putting in a new background, you have to make sure you have one in the tileset, and then place it in your tilemap.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:00 AM.