Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page How do you guys test your hacks?

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old 1 Week Ago (01:28 PM).
Crizzle Crizzle is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Gender: Male
Posts: 8
I just wonder how you guys test your rom hacks while you are in the process of hacking. Particularly for things that occur later in the game. Do you guys run the emulator(likeVBA or MyBoy) and start from the beginning every time you test? Or is it possible to effectively hack a saved ROM?
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.

Respect.
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old 6 Days Ago (10:23 AM).
Weetile Weetile is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
I use VBA and just hold down the space bar to speed stuff up. I start from the beginning though.
I dont use MyBoy as that is a pain to download the hack on your phone on the SD Card and then locate it and start playing it.
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old 6 Days Ago (02:13 PM).
Lost Heart's Avatar
Lost Heart Lost Heart is offline
Pirate Empress
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Amazon Lily
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 1,205
It should be perfectly fine to test a saved game, assuming that each time you go to test again you haven't changed the memory of previously encountered things in the save file (flags, variables, etc.)
__________________
#radreds
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old 17 Hours Ago (12:42 PM).
TheChaosKing TheChaosKing is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Hmm I wouldn't really know anything about this but you should probably make save states just incase you know what area of the game you need to go back to. This would save some time to see what you can improve.
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old 17 Hours Ago (01:09 PM).
C me's Avatar
C me C me is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 171
I always use save states, it makes testing a lot easier. If you want to test something later in the game, you don't have to play through it. Just make an early game warp lead there, test what you want, then change it back.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:23 AM.