Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #376    
Old October 15th, 2011 (06:12 AM).
The_Master
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Hello everybody!
I've recently been working on a ROM hack. I've changed a variety of sprites, added some new maps, edited some old maps, and changed some speech. The ROM works fine with Elite Map and Advance Editor.
However, when I try to open up the ROM with VisualBoyAdvance, all I get is a white screen and "Loaded Battery".
I've tried changing the save type to "Automatic" and "Flash 128k". I've also put "No Drugs Intro" "GBPlayer Intro" and "Edited in EliteMap" patches onto the ROM using LIPS.
But the problem still persists.
Could anybody help me out please?
Your attention is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #377    
Old October 15th, 2011 (10:36 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
You did something wrong... that's all there is to it. =)
If you don't have backup then you need to do all the changes again... :/

By the way, this would suit much more in the Simple Questions.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #378    
Old October 16th, 2011 (01:22 PM).
ZeeAnteater
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
I'm trying to dl Pokemon ruby (u) and coolrom is down, what's a good site to get roms?
Reply With Quote
  #379    
Old October 19th, 2011 (12:57 AM).
AlfaTyrogue's Avatar
AlfaTyrogue
Swag.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 17
Gender: Male
I can't find an IPS patcher for mac and the other method with putting the two in the same folder doesn't work.
Am I doing something wrong? Or is it just impossible to use on a mac altogether?
__________________
SIGNATURE DELETED DUE TO SUPER EPICNESS AND AWESOMENESS CAUSING A BREAKDOWN OF THE SERVER
Reply With Quote
  #380    
Old October 20th, 2011 (10:05 AM).
darkklaw
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Is there a way to rip sprites from DS games the way we could in the GBA games?

I want to rip sprites from MSD2 but all I can find are sheets, and I need individual sprites (and cutting them all to sprites is a lot of work for that many pokemon).

I know the printscreen method, but that takes hours
Reply With Quote
  #381    
Old October 23rd, 2011 (10:34 AM).
Bilaterus's Avatar
Bilaterus
ToBe Best Spriter ;)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Hey hackers I was wondering if someone could show me a link to a tutorial of some sort which shows how to change Oak and the background bit. I mean the part at the beginning where he's making an epic speech but can't tell whether your'e a boy or girl :s

Thanks in advance :D
__________________
Please don't feed the Laxes!



My (small) site offers help on all things Advance Mapping!
http://advancedfreak.webs.com/

Visit my youtube channel too and check out my tutorials on all things (you guessed it!) Advance Mapping!
http://www.youtube.com/user/AdvancedMapFreak
Reply With Quote
  #382    
Old November 5th, 2011 (04:11 AM).
Glitch Kitty
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Gender: Female
Is it possible to put gb, gbc and gba Roms on a R4 for DS ?
Reply With Quote
  #383    
Old November 12th, 2011 (02:45 PM). Edited November 12th, 2011 by Nate VonGrimm.
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by ZeeAnteater:
I'm trying to dl Pokemon ruby (u) and coolrom is down, what's a good site to get roms?
First page, Rules. Can't request for ROM links.

I don't actually know where to go to ask this question so if I'm in the wrong place, Could you point me in the right direction? kthnx.

Can someone either PM me or reply here a list of fanfare/jingle/playsound commands for Pokemon Ruby?

I have been looking for a list for over 2-3 weeks now and getting very impatient =[
Reply With Quote
  #384    
Old November 12th, 2011 (03:01 PM).
JakeTheSancho
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gender: Male
How do I transfer my saved game of pokemon soul silver onto a new ROM on Desmume?
Reply With Quote
  #385    
Old November 12th, 2011 (03:35 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by JakeTheSancho:
How do I transfer my saved game of pokemon soul silver onto a new ROM on Desmume?
Remove your old ROM and replace with the new ROM. Make sure the .sav file is in the same folder as the ROM
If that doesn't work, then I have no clue.
Reply With Quote
  #386    
Old November 12th, 2011 (08:25 PM).
JakeTheSancho
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Nate VonGrimm:
Remove your old ROM and replace with the new ROM. Make sure the .sav file is in the same folder as the ROM
If that doesn't work, then I have no clue.
Thanks! But, I gave up on playing Pokemon HG/SS with a ROM...
It just has too many problems... Can't even make it to the first Gym Leader. -.-
Reply With Quote
  #387    
Old November 12th, 2011 (09:07 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
See that, Aster?
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote originally posted by JakeTheSancho:
Thanks! But, I gave up on playing Pokemon HG/SS with a ROM...
It just has too many problems... Can't even make it to the first Gym Leader. -.-
That could be because you need to patch it.
__________________

You are challenged by Lorekeeper Zinnia!
Pairs | Twitter | Alt | Alt II | PHO
Reply With Quote
  #388    
Old November 13th, 2011 (06:01 AM).
aldarafael's Avatar
aldarafael
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Venezuela
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
idk if already done this question i want to migrate from a firered rom to a diamond rom patched with pokepatch using ezflash 3 in 1 but the diamond rom doesnt recognices the gba rom it has to be an original game for the migration to work?
Reply With Quote
  #389    
Old November 13th, 2011 (07:57 AM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by JakeTheSancho:
Thanks! But, I gave up on playing Pokemon HG/SS with a ROM...
It just has too many problems... Can't even make it to the first Gym Leader. -.-
The game has random piracy checks throughout the entire game so you can do what I did and constantly save after every 5 minutes or you can patch the game if your using No$GBA. The patch doesn't work if you use DesMuMe which is what I was using.
Reply With Quote
  #390    
Old November 14th, 2011 (03:45 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Can someone show me a list of fanfare/jingle/playsound commands for Pokemon Ruby?

I have been looking for a list for over 2-3 weeks now and getting very impatient =[
Reply With Quote
  #391    
Old November 20th, 2011 (06:21 AM). Edited November 20th, 2011 by OMGWURMPLES!.
OMGWURMPLES!'s Avatar
OMGWURMPLES!
För Sverige i tiden
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
I've been trying to insert a sprite using the Overworld Editor.
Whenever I try to import my bitmap, it gives me a "Runtime error 6; overflow" error message and then proceeds to close.
I'm using this tutorial.
Any help?

Nevermind fixed that.
Another thing.
I can't find the sprite data in my rom at all. I've tried different roms, but I can never find the lines of data that you need to change the overworlds.
Reply With Quote
  #392    
Old November 20th, 2011 (10:53 PM).
movieguy12
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Nature: Adamant
first i appoligize if this is not the correct spot...please forgive me for my stupid question :/

ive been searching google alllll day and ive found tons of info and videos on youtube but im unsure if anything is legit and for sure. my question is

1.a ds emulator for the psp go? ive seen videos and info online but sure if its real...

2. what all pokemon rom games are playable on the psp go?

thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #393    
Old November 28th, 2011 (02:05 PM).
vasilis
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
what options to tweak in order to have better graphics with the emulator when you make the screen bigger because at fierst its very small
__________________
<a href=http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=158324 target=_blank><img src=http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/1667/fanbarl.png border=0 alt= /></a>
Reply With Quote
  #394    
Old December 5th, 2011 (09:20 PM). Edited December 5th, 2011 by movieguy12.
movieguy12
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Nature: Adamant
Hello I'm a noob and I have a lot of questions please be understanding and not rude :( (too many people are rude *sighs* )


Ash gray
Lilack
Log
Orange  or orange generation 
Raptor
Flora sky
Light platinum 

1.Are all of these ^ 100% complete? Sorry this may be answered somewhere but some pages do not seem updated...

2.what is the best "orange islands" hack so far? I've seen "Pokemon orange" and "Pokemon orange generation" the first seems to have a lot of bugs but is cool.

3.i have a psp go with game boy advance emulator gpSP Kai, are all of these games able to be put on it?? I ask because I downloaded light platinum and it is a ips file? (I think that's what it's called) 

4.someone on here mentioned that past games such as (r,s,e,fr,lg) have 25 (spaces?) that I can add or w/e new Pokemon to the game? Is that correct? If so how??? (I want a snivy to go with me to past games.(like pikachu to ash)

5.are there any hacks or gba versions made from pearl and diamond? (not sure how to word it... Any way to get pearl or diamond or platinum on gba emu) (I'm aware it's a ds game but wasn't sure if someones made them somehow for gba (dumbed down?) )

Please help me please be specific and understanding I'm a noob and appreciate the help! Thanks :)
Reply With Quote
  #395    
Old December 7th, 2011 (12:24 PM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by movieguy12:
Hello I'm a noob and I have a lot of questions please be understanding and not rude (too many people are rude *sighs* )


Ash gray
Lilack
Log
Orange  or orange generation 
Raptor
Flora sky
Light platinum 

1.Are all of these ^ 100% complete? Sorry this may be answered somewhere but some pages do not seem updated...
Light Platinum and Flora Sky are.

Quote originally posted by movieguy12:
2.what is the best "orange islands" hack so far? I've seen "Pokemon orange" and "Pokemon orange generation" the first seems to have a lot of bugs but is cool.
AshGray and Liquid Crystal will be.

Quote originally posted by movieguy12:
4.someone on here mentioned that past games such as (r,s,e,fr,lg) have 25 (spaces?) that I can add or w/e new Pokemon to the game? Is that correct? If so how??? (I want a snivy to go with me to past games.(like pikachu to ash)
Insert sprites and edit pokemon data with PEP for example.
I would advise you to check Tutorials section.

Quote originally posted by movieguy12:
5.are there any hacks or gba versions made from pearl and diamond? (not sure how to word it... Any way to get pearl or diamond or platinum on gba emu) (I'm aware it's a ds game but wasn't sure if someones made them somehow for gba (dumbed down?) )
I don't think so... hackers rather hack IV gen games then remake III gen ones with IV gen storyline etc...
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #396    
Old December 7th, 2011 (12:39 PM). Edited December 7th, 2011 by movieguy12.
movieguy12
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Nature: Adamant
Quote:




Originally Posted by movieguy12

4.someone on here mentioned that past games such as (r,s,e,fr,lg) have 25 (spaces?) that I can add or w/e new Pokemon to the game? Is that correct? If so how??? (I want a snivy to go with me to past games.(like pikachu to ash)

Insert sprites and edit pokemon data with PEP for example.
I would advise you to check Tutorials section.



Quote:




Originally Posted by movieguy12

5.are there any hacks or gba versions made from pearl and diamond? (not sure how to word it... Any way to get pearl or diamond or platinum on gba emu) (I'm aware it's a ds game but wasn't sure if someones made them somehow for gba (dumbed down?) )

I don't think so... hackers rather hack IV gen games then remake III gen ones with IV gen storyline etc...



1. can you point in the right direction for what im looking for :)? for adding new pokemon to a rom? thanks ill try looking for any help would be great sorry!

2.so basically gen iv games are only for ds and no way to get them onto a psp go? i havnt found a good ds emu for psp :(.. i just wanted all my pokemon games on one easy portable system. (not a ds fan)

thanks for replying :)

2 things

1.im really not understanding how to add a Pokemon in ruby in the 25 extra slots? I've tried I'm not comprehending :(.

2.i want to basically use a snivy ^ for question 1, but I want to start off with it instead of catching it. If possible. But I also still want one of three starters.

Can you please help I'd be eternally grateful!
Reply With Quote
  #397    
Old December 7th, 2011 (07:49 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm
Mime Jr.
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
2 things

1.im really not understanding how to add a Pokemon in ruby in the 25 extra slots? I've tried I'm not comprehending .

2.i want to basically use a snivy ^ for question 1, but I want to start off with it instead of catching it. If possible. But I also still want one of three starters.

Can you please help I'd be eternally grateful!
I don't know how to add Pokemon to the 25 spare slots but I can answer your second question.

If you want to have a Pokemon and still want to select the starter Pokemon, then you will need to use a givepokemon script. If you want a Snivy at the very beginning, then make it a level script.

As for adding pokemon, Refer to the Tutorials and Toolbox sections.
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


Reply With Quote
  #398    
Old December 9th, 2011 (04:08 PM).
pokehearts's Avatar
pokehearts
I like trains.
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Somewhere on the earth
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
I just downloaded Visualboy Advance Version 1.7 and I can't save.
The savestates don't work.
the original save works as long as I don't shut of Visualboy advance
Help?
__________________
I'M BACK!!!!!!!!

Friend Codes:
White 2: 2538 1585 2551

The unofficial Train Master of the Pokecommunity
Reply With Quote
  #399    
Old December 9th, 2011 (06:50 PM).
movieguy12
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Nature: Adamant
hello, ok i finally got the snivy sprite to look correct using advance pokemon sprite editor. i used yape to make all the stats and moves...

now what im wanting to do is basically have my snivy at the beginning of the game before i choose one of the starters.( i do not want him to be a starter i want him already, it will be as if i traveled from unova to rubys region.) so now what do i do? :) thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #400    
Old December 9th, 2011 (07:36 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Upside-downia
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Quote originally posted by movieguy12:
hello, ok i finally got the snivy sprite to look correct using advance pokemon sprite editor. i used yape to make all the stats and moves...

now what im wanting to do is basically have my snivy at the beginning of the game before i choose one of the starters.( i do not want him to be a starter i want him already, it will be as if i traveled from unova to rubys region.) so now what do i do? :) thanks!!!
You're going to have to learn how to script if you want to receive your Snivy before the other starters. Scripting can be described as how you make events happen, such as people talking or making an earthquake happen when you step on a tile. You could make a very simple script in XSE like the one below (You have to put in Snivy's HEX number though), make a new person in Advance Map and then attach the script's offset to them to get it.

Code:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
checkflag 0x100
if 0x1 goto @GotSnivy
msgbox @talk 0x2
givepokemon 0x[Snivy's HEX number] 0x5 0x0 0x0 0x0 0x0
setflag 0x100
release
end

#org @GotSnivy
msgbox @got 0x2
release
end

#org @talk
= Here have a Snivy.

#org @got
= How are you treating Snivy?
If you want to learn more about scripting and what you can do with it, check out this thread.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:33 AM.