Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page Patching & Emulation Help Thread

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #576    
Old July 29th, 2012 (02:50 PM).
Nate VonGrimm's Avatar
Nate VonGrimm Nate VonGrimm is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Uxbridge
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 124
Quote originally posted by NintendoQueen:
Hey guys, I've been hearing about emulators lately, and I am so new to them. What exactly are they and where can I go to play decent ones? I really need someone to help me through this, please and thank you! ;
Feel free to also PM/VM me about it, if you'd like!
Emulators are self explanatory. They emulate.
So in the most case of this forums, it's a GBA and DS emulator.

All they are are, programs written in code that are created to basically re-create a console onto a PC.
It can take an extremely long time to get one working.

You can find a few GBA and DS emulators on the web. Best site for it would be emulator zone.
There is also emulators out there for the Nintendo64, PS2, PS1, SNES and more.

To be able to run games on these emulators, you need to get an image of the original game. So for example, a GBA and DS game is called a ROM image.
It's basically an ISO but for SD cards.

If you want more info on emulators, PM me =]
__________________
Currently working on a new Pokemon Hack with an in-depth story line!
That's about as much as you're going to get for now...


Reply With Quote
  #577    
Old July 30th, 2012 (08:31 PM). Edited July 30th, 2012 by SuperKirbyFan.
SuperKirbyFan's Avatar
SuperKirbyFan SuperKirbyFan is offline
Weedle trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 98
Hey guys, I'm asking this for my friend who knows little about pokemon, at least the technical side of the game. He wants to do a Togepi solo Metronome-only run on LeafGreen, so he used advance starter to start with Togepi, but hus metronome only uses Haze over and over. Anyone have any idea why this would happen? Im asking here b/c it seems like something wrong with the emulation, not LG.
Reply With Quote
  #578    
Old July 31st, 2012 (10:05 PM).
aim46 aim46 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 6
When I run my game it gets past the part where I set up controls and then before it shows the intro video I get this error along with a debug console

Script 'Trading' line 761: Errno::ENOENT occured.

No such file or directory - MysteryGift.txt

Now I understand its saying a file is missing here, however the game was just working a minute ago, I reset it to put it in debug mode, and now I'm getting this error. Is this common? Has anyone else seen this? What should be done to fix the error?

I understand I may need to add a MysteryGift.txt file, that's fine, but under what directory and with what contents inside?


Thanks for any help you can give me


Edit: The game however works fine outside of debug mode, for some odd reason (hope this is helpful)
Reply With Quote
  #579    
Old August 1st, 2012 (08:56 PM).
Yusshin's Avatar
Yusshin Yusshin is offline
♪ Yggdrasil ♪
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Age: 22
Nature: Brave
Posts: 2,424
So I patched a hack .ips with the LIPS program with the appropriate ROM (in coordination with the hack itself), but the emulator always launches the original game and not the hack. I'm selecting the ROM that was patched over, but it doesn't launch the way it should.

I don't get what's wrong :\
__________________


Polaret | Fourette | Ecuret | Axew | Zorua | Nanette [Shiny]
"My scar makes me sassy, child!"
The Big Bang Theory Fan Club - Click To Join!
The French Club
Reply With Quote
  #580    
Old August 2nd, 2012 (01:36 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,305
Quote originally posted by Yusshin:
So I patched a hack .ips with the LIPS program with the appropriate ROM (in coordination with the hack itself), but the emulator always launches the original game and not the hack. I'm selecting the ROM that was patched over, but it doesn't launch the way it should.

I don't get what's wrong :\
You need to patch a clean ROM...
If it still doesn't work then there must be something wrong with LIPS you use...
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #581    
Old August 2nd, 2012 (03:28 AM).
Yusshin's Avatar
Yusshin Yusshin is offline
♪ Yggdrasil ♪
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Age: 22
Nature: Brave
Posts: 2,424
Quote originally posted by Ash493:

You need to patch a clean ROM...
If it still doesn't work then there must be something wrong with LIPS you use...
It's a new one, and I got the LIPS from the official website :\ not sure what's up.
__________________


Polaret | Fourette | Ecuret | Axew | Zorua | Nanette [Shiny]
"My scar makes me sassy, child!"
The Big Bang Theory Fan Club - Click To Join!
The French Club
Reply With Quote
  #582    
Old August 2nd, 2012 (02:36 PM).
Ph3nom3nal's Avatar
Ph3nom3nal Ph3nom3nal is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Whenever I try to play games like Pokemon Uranium and Pokemon Shiny Gold with DesmuME, I get an error.
Reply With Quote
  #583    
Old August 3rd, 2012 (01:44 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,305
Quote originally posted by Ph3nom3nal:
Whenever I try to play games like Pokemon Uranium and Pokemon Shiny Gold with DesmuME, I get an error.
Then play them on GBA emulator?
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #584    
Old August 3rd, 2012 (10:28 AM).
Bananaman Bananaman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
Sorry if my question has been asked before, but I searched it and couldn't find it.

When I try to play Pokemon Diamond on No$GBA, it says the rom image has crashed. I'd appreciate any help on how to fix this. Please?
Reply With Quote
  #585    
Old August 3rd, 2012 (05:36 PM).
Ph3nom3nal's Avatar
Ph3nom3nal Ph3nom3nal is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
Okay new question. Playing 1st or 2nd gen games/hacks the coloring is off. Like red is pink and stuff. Oh, btw playing on VisualBoyAdvance
Reply With Quote
  #586    
Old August 4th, 2012 (01:28 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami Satoshi Ookami is offline
Memento Mori
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 13,305
Quote originally posted by Bananaman:
Sorry if my question has been asked before, but I searched it and couldn't find it.

When I try to play Pokemon Diamond on No$GBA, it says the rom image has crashed. I'd appreciate any help on how to fix this. Please?
Either use DeSmuME or set Cartridge Backup on FLASH 512kB in No$'s emulation options, save options and reset the game.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
Reply With Quote
  #587    
Old August 4th, 2012 (04:27 PM).
Bananaman Bananaman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 2
I tried that, but it won't work. I'll try DeSmuME.
Reply With Quote
  #588    
Old August 5th, 2012 (08:55 PM).
Ph3nom3nal's Avatar
Ph3nom3nal Ph3nom3nal is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
No one knows my answer to the coloring of 1st and 2nd gen games?
Reply With Quote
  #589    
Old August 5th, 2012 (09:08 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
So, I'm pretty sure I've seen this question somewhere before, but I didn't want to go digging for it...
How come when I load my ROM the screen is white? Please don't tell me it's anything too bad, because I do have a backup, but I haven't made too many changes between my current file and the backup. :/
Reply With Quote
  #590    
Old August 5th, 2012 (09:27 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is online now
On our backs and in our hearts!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,567
Quote originally posted by Ph3nom3nal:
No one knows my answer to the coloring of 1st and 2nd gen games?
It's probably a palette issue. Go to Options>Ganeboy and then pick GBC or GB (though GBC has a larger color palette). Alternatively, you can edit the palette yourself.

Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
So, I'm pretty sure I've seen this question somewhere before, but I didn't want to go digging for it...
How come when I load my ROM the screen is white? Please don't tell me it's anything too bad, because I do have a backup, but I haven't made too many changes between my current file and the backup. :/
That depends, what did you do to the rom, which game is the rom of, and can you run any other games?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #591    
Old August 5th, 2012 (09:37 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by machomuu:
It's probably a palette issue. Go to Options>Ganeboy and then pick GBC or GB (though GBC has a larger color palette). Alternatively, you can edit the palette yourself.


That depends, what did you do to the rom, which game is the rom of, and can you run any other games?
not much to the actual game other that editing mini trainer sprites and maps, but I have been going through and deleting the scripts city by city, so far I've done pallet and viridian using the deletescript 0xoffset command on XSE, and then I just made my first script to put into the game and right when I tried to test it that happened. It's FR and yes, I tried LG on it right after and that one worked.
Reply With Quote
  #592    
Old August 5th, 2012 (09:56 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is online now
On our backs and in our hearts!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,567
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
not much to the actual game other that editing mini trainer sprites and maps, but I have been going through and deleting the scripts city by city, so far I've done pallet and viridian using the deletescript 0xoffset command on XSE, and then I just made my first script to put into the game and right when I tried to test it that happened. It's FR and yes, I tried LG on it right after and that one worked.
It's dangerous to go around deleting scripts, but I don't see why it would affect the launch...that is, unless you deleted a vital offset.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #593    
Old August 5th, 2012 (10:02 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by machomuu:
It's dangerous to go around deleting scripts, but I don't see why it would affect the launch...that is, unless you deleted a vital offset.
Well, what would be the danger of deleting the scripts? I'm just getting rid of the actual ones on A-map that were just written. I can do that, can't I?
How would I know if I got rid of anything important. I would think if scripts were connected to one another between different parts of the game and you got rid of one of those connections, but not the other, it would be dangerous to try and pay through those parts and it would freeze, so the only thing I could think of is that I've deleted the original Oak's script from the game, which was about 900+ lines, but I still wouldn't understand why it wouldn't even load the game properly.
Do you know of anything I could do to check the problem and possibly fix it?
Reply With Quote
  #594    
Old August 5th, 2012 (10:21 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is online now
On our backs and in our hearts!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,567
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Well, what would be the danger of deleting the scripts? I'm just getting rid of the actual ones on A-map that were just written. I can do that, can't I?
How would I know if I got rid of anything important. I would think if scripts were connected to one another between different parts of the game and you got rid of one of those connections, but not the other, it would be dangerous to try and pay through those parts and it would freeze, so the only thing I could think of is that I've deleted the original Oak's script from the game, which was about 900+ lines, but I still wouldn't understand why it wouldn't even load the game properly.
Do you know of anything I could do to check the problem and possibly fix it?
Well, since it doesn't load, chances are the rom's already borked. When you delete scripts, you mess with a lot of flag connections and script calls, which could be fatal if not handled with the utmost care.

About Oak's script, you're not talking about the intro sequence script, are you?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #595    
Old August 5th, 2012 (10:38 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by machomuu:
Well, since it doesn't load, chances are the rom's already borked. When you delete scripts, you mess with a lot of flag connections and script calls, which could be fatal if not handled with the utmost care.

About Oak's script, you're not talking about the intro sequence script, are you?
Well, how would I knwo which ones to delete?
and no, I just mean his overall script like anytime in the game that you go and talk to him in the lab.
Reply With Quote
  #596    
Old August 5th, 2012 (10:49 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is online now
On our backs and in our hearts!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,567
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Well, how would I knwo which ones to delete?
and no, I just mean his overall script like anytime in the game that you go and talk to him in the lab.
Best to go after the ones with less important flags (like battle scripts and gifting unimportant items). Why are you deleting them, anyway?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #597    
Old August 5th, 2012 (10:59 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by machomuu:
Best to go after the ones with less important flags (like battle scripts and gifting unimportant items). Why are you deleting them, anyway?
Would that be enough for me though? Cause I'm using FR as a base, but my story doesn't really involve any of the original game scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #598    
Old August 5th, 2012 (11:04 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is online now
On our backs and in our hearts!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,567
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Would that be enough for me though? Cause I'm using FR as a base, but my story doesn't really involve any of the original game scripts.
There's something you should probably know; even many finished hacks don't delete any scripts, not even near their completion. The best practice is to wait until you're out of free space or almost out of free space and then start deleting scripts, but there's quite a bit of free space, no need to delete scripts for a while.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #599    
Old August 5th, 2012 (11:14 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by machomuu:
There's something you should probably know; even many finished hacks don't delete any scripts, not even near their completion. The best practice is to wait until you're out of free space or almost out of free space and then start deleting scripts, but there's quite a bit of free space, no need to delete scripts for a while.
So, how do I know which flags to use?
And would there be any way to fix my game? I mean, it doesn't matter too much because a lot fo my work has been done outside of the game for now, except I've just finished all mymap editing... :/
Reply With Quote
  #600    
Old August 5th, 2012 (11:18 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is online now
On our backs and in our hearts!
Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Americalanavania
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 7,567
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
So, how do I know which flags to use?
And would there be any way to fix my game? I mean, it doesn't matter too much because a lot fo my work has been done outside of the game for now, except I've just finished all mymap editing... :/
Here's a list of flags used in FR:
Spoiler:
0x1
0x2
0x3
0x4
0x5
0x6
0x2B
0x2C
0x2E
0x2F
0x30
0x31
0x32
0x33
0x34
0x35
0x36
0x37
0x39
0x3D
0x3E
0x3F
0x40
0x41
0x42
0x43
0x44
0x45
0x46
0x47
0x48
0x49
0x4A
0x4B
0x4C
0x4D
0x50
0x52
0x54
0x58
0x59
0x5C
0x5D
0x5F
0x62
0x63
0x64
0x65
0x66
0x67
0x68
0x69
0x6A
0x6B
0x72
0x75
0x7A
0x7B
0x7C
0x7D
0x7E
0x80
0x81
0x82
0x84
0x85
0x86
0x88
0x8B
0x8C
0x8D
0x8E
0x91
0x92
0x93
0x94
0x95
0x96
0x97
0x98
0x99
0x9A
0x9B
0x9C
0x9E
0x9F
0xA0
0xA1
0xA2
0xAA
0xAD
0xAE
0xB1
0xB2
0xB3
0xB4
0xD5
0xD6
0xD7
0xDC
0xEA
0x109
0x10A
0x10B
0x118
0x119
0x11A
0x11B
0x120
0x121
0x124
0x125
0x126
0x127
0x128
0x129
0x142
0x143
0x144
0x163
0x16A
0x16E
0x16F
0x188
0x189
0x190
0x191
0x192
0x1A7
0x1A8
0x1B6
0x1B7
0x1B8
0x1CE
0x1CF
0x1D0
0x219
0x21A
0x21F
0x230
0x231
0x232
0x233
0x234
0x235
0x236
0x237
0x238
0x239
0x23A
0x23B
0x23C
0x23D
0x23F
0x240
0x241
0x243
0x244
0x245
0x246
0x247
0x248
0x249
0x24A
0x24B
0x24D
0x24E
0x24F
0x250
0x251
0x252
0x253
0x254
0x255
0x256
0x257
0x258
0x259
0x25B
0x25E
0x263
0x264
0x265
0x266
0x267
0x268
0x269
0x26A
0x26B
0x26C
0x26D
0x26E
0x26F
0x270
0x271
0x272
0x273
0x274
0x275
0x276
0x278
0x27A
0x27B
0x27C
0x27D
0x27E
0x27F
0x280
0x281
0x282
0x283
0x284
0x285
0x286
0x287
0x288
0x289
0x28A
0x28B
0x28C
0x28D
0x290
0x291
0x292
0x293
0x294
0x295
0x296
0x297
0x298
0x29A
0x29B
0x29C
0x29D
0x29E
0x29F
0x2A0
0x2A1
0x2A2
0x2A3
0x2A5
0x2A6
0x2BB
0x2BC
0x2BD
0x2BE
0x2BF
0x2C0
0x2C1
0x2C2
0x2C3
0x2C4
0x2C5
0x2C6
0x2C7
0x2C8
0x2C9
0x2CA
0x2CB
0x2CC
0x2CD
0x2CE
0x2CF
0x2D0
0x2D1
0x2D2
0x2D3
0x2D4
0x2D5
0x2D6
0x2D7
0x2D8
0x2D9
0x2DA
0x2DB
0x2DC
0x2DD
0x2E1
0x2E2
0x2E3
0x2E4
0x2E5
0x2EC
0x2ED
0x2EE
0x2EF
0x2F0
0x2F1
0x2F2
0x2F3
0x2F4
0x2F5
0x2F6
0x2F7
0x2F8
0x2F9
0x2FA
0x2FB
0x2FC
0x2FD
0x2FE
0x2FF
0x4B0
0x4B1
0x4B2
0x4B3
0x4B4
0x4B5
0x4B6
0x4B7
0x4B8
0x4B9
0x4BA
0x4BB
0x4BC
0x805
0x807
0x820
0x821
0x822
0x823
0x824
0x825
0x826
0x827
0x828
0x829
0x82C
0x82D
0x82F
0x830
0x834
0x83E
0x841
0x842
0x844
0x845
0x846
0x847
0x848
0x849
0x84A
0x84B
0x890
0x891
0x892
0x893
0x894
0x895
0x896
0x897
0x898
0x899
0x89A
0x89B
0x89C
0x89D
0x89E
0x89F
0x8A0
0x8A1
0x8A2
0x8A3
0x8A4
0x8A5
0x8A6
0x8A7
0x8A8
0x8A9
0x8AA
0x8AB
0x8AC
0x8AD
0x8AE
0x8AF
0x8B0
0x8B1
0x8B2
0x8B3
0x8B4
0x8B5
0x8B6
0x8B7
0x8B8
0x8B9
0x8BA
0x8BB
0x8BC
0x8BD
0x8BE
0x8BF
0x8C0
0x8C1
0x8C2

Just use that ones that aren't those.

Also, I don't know if you can save your game now, but It's worth trying if you truly need it (I wouldn't recommend deleting it, though).
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:54 AM.