Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Computers & Technology
Reload this Page Installing a new MicroSD to New 3DS

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Computers & Technology The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old 3 Weeks Ago (03:37 PM).
Emolga91's Avatar
Emolga91 Emolga91 is offline
A wild Emolga appeared!
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: UK
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 48
I know I am going to sound a little stupid for saying this. I completely forgot that the New 3DS only has 4GB installed in a Micro SD underneath so tomorrow i am picking up a 32GB MicroSDHC for it. I have gone through the Management side and copied the all of the folders onto my computer.

when I put the new one in can I then let it boot up through the normal welcome to your 3ds settings and then when the management option is available open that up delete the folder and copy and paste the new one in? Or do I copy it and tell it to replace things? Or do I do none of this and put it into an adapter and put the folder on the card prior to booting it up with the new Micro SD.

Sorry for sounding so noobish but with the Vita it was very easy to do.

Thanks for your help
__________________
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Pokemon Games Played:
Pokemon X
Pokemon Omega Ruby
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old 2 Weeks Ago (05:55 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is online now
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 13,180
A couple of questions, since I myself am a little confused by what what you mean above.

Do you already have data on the new 3DS that you want to be moved onto the new card? Does the 4GB card (or even the 32GB card) contain any data from another 3DS/2DS system?

You cannot use two SD cards on the same unit, and if you transfer another SD card into a 3DS unit without the intention of transferring data from the old SD card to your new SD card, then you'll have to wipe your data and start anew.
__________________

Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old 2 Weeks Ago (08:48 AM).
Dter ic's Avatar
Dter ic Dter ic is online now
(=^ェ^=)
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Posts: 319
According to nintendo's support page you can simply copy all the data from the old MicroSD card to your computer and then copy the data from the computer to your new MicroSD card. Then use your 3DS as normal.
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old 2 Weeks Ago (09:33 AM).
wakachamo's Avatar
wakachamo wakachamo is offline
-
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,598
I think the most important thing here is that you should not do anything until you start up the new 3DS and go through the set up process.

You have a variety of options here, including using a PC as a transfer medium, and the console will guide you through any option you pick. If you don't do this however and preemptively copy contents and delete stuff on your old card, you may not be able to access these on the new system anymore.
__________________

Paired with Forest Grovyle.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:07 AM.