Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Computers & Technology
Reload this Page Post Your PC Specs

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Computers & Technology The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old May 18th, 2015 (10:25 PM).
Toddler Naruto's Avatar
Toddler Naruto Toddler Naruto is offline
Playful Explorer
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fair Oaks, California
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 409
I'll start us off .

Here are the specs for the new PC that my mom bought for us back in March 2015 .

I know it's not very impressive, but it's still alot better than our old Dell Dimension 2350 that I was forced to use for nearly 12 years.

System Info:
PC Model: HP 110-326 Desktop
Motherboard: Hewlett Packard 2AFB (Ivy Bridge)
OS: Windows 8.1 64-bit
CPU: Intel Pentium G2100T @ 2.60 GHz Dual Core
Video Card: Intel HD Graphics 2500 (1920x1080x32bpp 60Hz)
Sound Card: Realtek High Definition Audio
RAM (Memory): 4.0 GB Single Channel DDR3 @ 665 MHz
HDD Space: 500 GB Western Digital Caviar (SATA III)
Network Adapter: Realtek USB FE Family Controller @ 100.0 Mbps

__________________

My Anime List | My Video Game Collection
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old May 18th, 2015 (11:40 PM).
Kibou's Avatar
Kibou Kibou is offline
I don't like Mondays
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: The Hypetrain
Gender: Female
Posts: 54


My GPU can be a bit twitchy though. Maybe when I get enough spare money lying around I'll upgrade it, but it's not a priority.
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old May 19th, 2015 (12:12 AM).
Kieran's Avatar
Kieran Kieran is offline
That guy that you think you remember
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 135
Off the top of my head (I'm not home right now)...

32GB of platinum DDR4 @ 2666mhz - RAM

Intel Core i7-5960X Extreme - OCed to 4.2ghz - CPU (I've got a quad core i7 lying around @ 4.5ghz, but I decided that octa core was a better idea)

MSI X99 XPOWER - motherboard (2011-v3 socket, eight ddr4 slots etc)

EVGA GeForce GTX Titan X - Motherboard

Yeah, I'm a bit extreme with my parts. I've got a terrabyte SSD in there as well, and an 8TB hard drive sat on my desk because I haven't figured out what to do with it. Urgh.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
too tall and too wide :(
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old May 19th, 2015 (03:09 AM).
Blue Yveltal's Avatar
Blue Yveltal Blue Yveltal is offline
I shall hatch.
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 25
Gender: Other
Nature: Docile
Posts: 679
Despite of this; ATI have some serious and horrible issues which resulting BSOD all the time and my CDROM drive doesn't recognize any disc I put :c
__________________
Pair: Starrywindy {Clubs: Magic The Gathering, Yugioh, Transformers}
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old May 19th, 2015 (03:38 AM).
zappyspiker's Avatar
zappyspiker zappyspiker is offline
p r e c u r s o r l e g a c y ★
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 3,940
Just the current laptop I'm on:
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old May 19th, 2015 (04:45 AM).
Crunch Punch's Avatar
Crunch Punch Crunch Punch is offline
well
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: England
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,155
The laptop I own right now:
__________________
>> paired to gimmepie · last.fm · r.i.p atlantis · radio america ·
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old May 19th, 2015 (09:54 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator, CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 14,132


I dunno how you would rate those specs but go ahead and judge at your own will.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old May 19th, 2015 (01:46 PM).
Kieran's Avatar
Kieran Kieran is offline
That guy that you think you remember
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 135
My netbook:
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
too tall and too wide :(
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old May 19th, 2015 (02:00 PM).
Sylphiel's Avatar
Sylphiel Sylphiel is online now
Super Moderator, CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Between your fantasy and my reality
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10,250
My desktop.



The newest things in there are the hard drive (bought a few months ago) and the video card (bought in...2013? I don't remember, upgraded from a teeny tiny piece of crap). So yeah.
__________________
light a blue fire and watch until the shape is gone
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old May 22nd, 2015 (06:11 AM).
DanPDoD DanPDoD is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Gender: Female
Posts: 5
Acer Aspire, Intel Core i7 2.2GHz with Turbo 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 710 with 2GB VRAM, 8GB DDR3 Memory, 1000 GB HDD.

Laptop life :'(
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old May 22nd, 2015 (06:33 AM).
Karma Police Karma Police is offline
Arrest this man
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,826


PC, custom build.
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old May 22nd, 2015 (07:59 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator, CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 14,132
Quote originally posted by DanPDoD:
Acer Aspire, Intel Core i7 2.2GHz with Turbo 3.2GHz, NVIDIA GeForce 710 with 2GB VRAM, 8GB DDR3 Memory, 1000 GB HDD.

Laptop life :'(
hmm those specs don't look so bad.. why would frown on those?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old May 29th, 2015 (12:22 AM).
Nolafus's Avatar
Nolafus Nolafus is offline
We can't go home, not anymore
Super Moderator,
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Lost in thought... again
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 4,981
I built a new computer! Well, I had a friend do most of the work, and I was with a budget, but here's what I have:

__________________
PairPC sister
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old May 29th, 2015 (10:36 PM).
Morkula's Avatar
Morkula Morkula is online now
Get in the Game
Administrator
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Virginia
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Posts: 6,972


Here's my desktop. Built it in July 2012 and it's still blazing fast. The only upgrades I've done are adding an SSD and upgrading the video card from a 560 Ti to a 970. Hoping to get plenty of years to come out of it, and I have some headroom to overclock further as well.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15    
Old May 30th, 2015 (02:43 AM).
ForgottenPass ForgottenPass is offline
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 25
Look at all those overkill computers here. Still running fine with my C2D. I've even got a few processors to spare.
Reply With Quote
  #16    
Old May 30th, 2015 (06:25 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator, CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 14,132
Quote originally posted by ForgottenPass:
Look at all those overkill computers here.
How are these overkill though? There's nothing overkill about having 8-16 GB of RAM in this day and age. Now if it was 2009, that'd be a different story.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17    
Old May 30th, 2015 (06:38 AM).
Meganium's Avatar
Meganium Meganium is offline
resident slacker
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Gender: Female
Nature: Brave
Posts: 15,512


Mine is too basic and I want to get a better computer. I miss playing my steam games on my desktop! D:
__________________
I'm gonna love you..like I'm gonna lose you.
Reply With Quote
  #18    
Old May 30th, 2015 (06:45 PM). Edited May 30th, 2015 by White Glint.
White Glint's Avatar
White Glint White Glint is offline
幾万の真言
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Above Osean Skies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Posts: 823
Why not.



Just recently built the thing, upgrading my GFX soon (I know the bottleneck, but I got it for free, don't hurt me).

OCing the CPU to 4.00GHz for what it's worth. Good times, wish I had another fan though. Usually runs at 33.C but I was running like 3 games earlier so
__________________

I am the sparks of my sword
Steel is my body and electricity is my blood
I have created over a thousand personas
Unknown to Beginnings, Nor known to Ends
Have withstood mixups to create many openings
Yet, those personas will never face anything
So as I pray, Raijin Enbu Works
Got a Facebook? Come say hi!
Twitter is also welcome. Note: Probably more vulgar, NFSW, and Fighting Game related!

Reply With Quote
  #19    
Old May 31st, 2015 (11:05 PM).
Mr. X's Avatar
Mr. X Mr. X is offline
For Money
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: London
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 2,370
Main

Customized HP H8-1234
Added parts - 4x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 1600 ram, Asus GTX 650 TI video card, Corsair CXM 430W psu, Toshiba 3 TB hdd (Which, due to me overlooking its requirements, this computer can only run at 2 TB.

I'm putting together a new one in a few days though, pulling some things from the HP since the parts are only a year old. I'll be putting back some of its original parts to keep it running as a backup unit,

CPU - FX-8350
Mobo - ASUS M5A97
Ram - Pulling from the HP.
Storage - 500 GB Samsung EVO SSD, 3 TB hdd (Pull)
PSU - Corsair CX 500W
Case - DIYPC Solo-T1 Black
Video card - Pulling the TI for now, but I'm planning to get a R9 something after AMD pushes out the 3xx series and the 2xx series gets price cut.
__________________
Follower of Carlinism since 2008.

Come play Runescape
Reply With Quote
  #20    
Old June 1st, 2015 (05:20 AM).
Actor Actor is offline
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,222


My HP desktop. It's a hand me down and has fairly good specs despite being rather old. iirc Lynnfield processers were once top of the line several years ago and 8GB RAM was very high back when this computer was new (about 2011/2012).



My Linx 7 tablet. Surprising what it can do considering how cheap it was.
Reply With Quote
  #21    
Old June 1st, 2015 (08:05 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
You like dragons?
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 5,008


That's the specifications of the laptop I'm currently using, in a nutshell, courtesy of Speccy.

If anyone wants more information on exactly what's in the laptop, well, I'll happily oblige.

First, the CPU! It's an Intel Core i7-4700HQ. It has four hyper-threaded cores, giving me a total of eight usable threads. Its base clock speed is 2.4 GHz, and it can turbo all the way up to about 3.4 GHz if need be. Couple all that with the Haswell microarchitecture's high instruction throughput, well, you don't really need to have anything better, right? Also, comes with Intel HD Graphics 4600.

The memory comes second. There are two SODIMMs of DDR3-1600 installed on the laptop, and each are 4 GB in capacity. I have 8 GB of usable memory on the system. Though, slightly over 100 MB are reserved for the hardware, but it's a small drop compared to the rest. Timings are 11-11-11-28, and it's running on dual-channel mode.

The motherboard is a laptop motherboard. It's specialized and designed for this particular laptop (series). Not much else is interesting about it, aside from the fact that it's host to all the other components inside my laptop. It does support USB 3.0, though.

There are actually two graphic processors inside the laptop. The display processor is the Intel HD Graphics 4600. It works nicely on the desktop and makes the laptop sip power when I'm not playing a recent video game on the laptop. I also prefer how colour management is handled by Intel graphics drivers, too.

The render processor is the NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760M. It handles the hard work of 3D graphics processing when it needs to be done. It's mostly a thankless job, but, hey, it does run a lot of things pretty well at 1080p, but at some point I'll have to drop the resolution down - when quality reductions stop being enough, that is. It's hooked up to the Intel graphics via NVIDIA Optimus and its technology, so really, everything has to go through Intel graphics anyway. But not that it really matters, right?

The integrated laptop display is a Samsung eIPS panel that is capable of 6bpc output. Still, the display appears to be reasonably nice under most circumstances - in fact, this is actually my first laptop that has a display that's more than halfway decent. Standard RGB matrix, maximum 60 Hz refresh rate, some perceptible pixel blurring. It has a matte display cover. I Binged the part number of the display panel, by the way.

The 250 GB Samsung 840 EVO is actually bought after-the-fact. I find it to be a nice thing to have since it pretty much makes everything snappy as heck when I'm not in power-saving mode, where the CPU becomes the bottleneck instead for a reason. Non-critical firmware bugs that are patched up anyway aside, it has been trucking along nicely.

Yeah, that's an optical drive you're looking at. I find it a really nice thing to have, anyway - I find myself burning discs more often than I'd like, so a system with no optical drive is just adding additional baggage to everything. External optical drives are just yet another thing to carry, to be honest.
__________________
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or ♪Twiggy♪, if you prefer. I like Turtwig and Zorua a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Hydreigon plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
Reply With Quote
  #22    
Old June 30th, 2015 (11:13 PM).
Tolkin's Avatar
Tolkin Tolkin is offline
Meowstic
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: San Jose, CA
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 32
Meh, it's an okay build, the processor is overclocked to 5.3GHz. Planning to get an SSD before I upgrade to windows 10.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23    
Old July 8th, 2015 (09:04 PM).
Flannery Lue's Avatar
Flannery Lue Flannery Lue is offline
Soul Sister
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Salem, Oregon. USA
Age: 24
Gender: Female
Nature: Rash
Posts: 31
I've actually built three computers. (Well, I mean that I have three computers currently built. I've built far more than three computers. >.>) The original reason behind why I had three has changed however. I originally had one specifically for Gaming, one for nothing but Media, and the last one to host a MineCraft server. My gaming PC's motherboard had an odd dislike for Windows 7 sound drivers, so I built the second PC, my Media one. I had five screens hooked up across the three computers, and I could have had a sixth, but I decided that one screen was enough for the Server PC.


Anywho, here are my three computer's specs.

This one was my server PC, untill I stopped hosting; now I'm using it for gaming:


This is my Media PC, that I no longer need to use, because my server PC has working sound:


And this is the computer that I used for gaming, before I started using my server one again:




Here's my setup as of 21/06/2015:
Mind the messy room...
Spoiler:

Tons of computer parts laying around, and clothes flung pell-mell everywhere.
__________________

Love and Understand, Imagine and Believe. It will take you far.
Reply With Quote
  #24    
Old 4 Weeks Ago (04:02 PM).
Nick's Avatar
Nick Nick is online now
Understand why
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Age: 17
Posts: 5,158
Here's the desktop I just bought today, for $90 no less:


My old daily driver, a Sony Vaio, has these specs (it runs Linux):
CPU: Intel Core i5-2450M 2C/4T @ 2.5GHz, 32nm Sandy Bridge
RAM: 2x4GB mixed-speed DDR3 SODIMM
Storage: Intel Cherryville 520 Series SSD, 120GB SATA III
Storage: Toshiba 160GB 2.5" HDD, enclosed as external w/ USB 3.0
Display: 16:9 768p built-in LCD
Keyboard: 86-key built-in keyboard, scissor switches
Mouse: Built-in trackpad + Lenovo wireless laser mouse
__________________
Co–Administrator for the RHM IRC and System Affairs
Administrator at the Cave of Origin
The Cave of Origin just reached 35,000 hits!
Pokémon Citrite Version
Reply With Quote
  #25    
Old 4 Weeks Ago (07:45 AM).
Actor Actor is offline
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Posts: 2,222


Posting my Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E525 I just pulled out of retirement to install Windows 10 on a couple weeks ago. It's not an especially fast computer but it does me well for my laptop needs. Considering installing a SSD or doubling the RAM.

Also swapped my ASUS monitor for a 32" Samsung TV on my HP tower.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:49 AM.