Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Research & Development
Reload this Page Development: Christmas Present for PC! Your very own RTC for FR and LG

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
Research & Development programs in this forum are subject to moderator approval before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old December 26th, 2009 (05:02 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
Quote originally posted by interdpth:
Zodiac's won't work vanilla. I'm 99% sure my patch will work for FR, I don't have the game otherwise i'd have a ROM for it.

But I messed something up in code before i pasted it, so the code was bad.

Hopefully people will respect my wishes and not post an example script how to use it

Anywho, i'll be having a day and night system based off of MasterMind's code soon.

Future releases like this will be ASM only. And i'll make sure I don't fudge it up XD
What do you mean, "won't work vanilla"? It works just fine when implemented. And if yours works fine in FR, I may just try it.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old December 26th, 2009 (05:32 PM).
Full Metal's Avatar
Full Metal Full Metal is offline
C(++) Developer.
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: In my mind.
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 805
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Full Metal
ok...i'm confuzzled, does this, or does it not work with firered?
would i have to do some fancy stuff with patches to get it to work in FR (as in the changelog)?
I gues i dont mind it being lg, it's just that i own a fr...i sold my lg :\
plus...my work on my sinnoh patch is all on fr too....so yea...
And ps, can't wait for d/n system ^-^
__________________

★ full metal.

I like to push it,
and push it,
until my luck is over.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old December 26th, 2009 (05:39 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
I have confirmed that this fully works in FR, so no worries. And I see that your patch, interdpth, has day of the week AND full 2009 vs 09 in the year, so sorry to Zodiac.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old December 26th, 2009 (06:04 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
What do you mean, "won't work vanilla"? It works just fine when implemented. And if yours works fine in FR, I may just try it.
I meant with the org being 0.

Mine is fully setup XD

Oh, hey, go GF, yay it works for both. Diego, if you need to script a to see how to use it, let me know.
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old December 26th, 2009 (06:28 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
Quote originally posted by interdpth:
I meant with the org being 0.

Mine is fully setup XD

Oh, hey, go GF, yay it works for both. Diego, if you need to script a to see how to use it, let me know.
Nah, I think I'm doing fine with my writebytetooffset setup...
Btw, am I on the right track?
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old December 26th, 2009 (06:33 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
I never used writebytetooffset

check your pm's
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old December 26th, 2009 (07:53 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
Quote originally posted by interdpth:
at 0x3005537
is
u8 dayofweek;
u8 hours;
u8 minutes;

use that when you create your time setter function. code auto compensates(I didn't and don't plan on a date thing you can do that on your own)
How do I use these? When I change one, it randomly changes the actual clock.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old December 26th, 2009 (08:16 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
0x300553C.minutes =0x300553C.minutes + 0x3005537.minutes;
if(0x300553C.minutes > 59)
{
0x300553C.minutes -= 60;
0x300553C.hours++;
}
0x300553C.hours =0x300553C.hours + 0x3005537.hours;
if(0x300553C.hours > 23)
{
0x300553C.hours -= 24;
0x300553C.dayofweek++;
}
0x300553C.dayofweek = (0x300553C.dayofweek + 0x3005537.dayofweek) % 7;

The RTC does that math every frame so use that as a basis for your setter.
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old December 26th, 2009 (08:35 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
Quote originally posted by interdpth:
0x300553C.minutes =0x300553C.minutes + 0x3005537.minutes;
if(0x300553C.minutes > 59)
{
0x300553C.minutes -= 60;
0x300553C.hours++;
}
0x300553C.hours =0x300553C.hours + 0x3005537.hours;
if(0x300553C.hours > 23)
{
0x300553C.hours -= 24;
0x300553C.dayofweek++;
}
0x300553C.dayofweek = (0x300553C.dayofweek + 0x3005537.dayofweek) % 7;

The RTC does that math every frame so use that as a basis for your setter.
On a GBA, this would make it to what you set it, right? But on the computer, wouldn't this offset your computer's time by that amount?
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old December 26th, 2009 (09:35 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Yeah, that's pretty much it.
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old December 26th, 2009 (09:41 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
Quote originally posted by interdpth:
Yeah, that's pretty much it.
But since I want GBA compatibility and PC compatibility, what should I do? Add an option to select PC or GBA?

... ... ...

Actually, that sounds like a good idea.
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old December 26th, 2009 (09:43 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
No need just make a time set function yo.
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old December 26th, 2009 (10:14 PM).
diegoisawesome's Avatar
diegoisawesome diegoisawesome is offline
Please understand
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Goldenrod City, Johto
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 974
Quote originally posted by interdpth:
No need just make a time set function yo.
... ... ...
Man, I am such a n00b. How would I do this, and how could I make it so it has the right time in and out of the computer? :/
__________________


My other resources:
My Website
diegoisawesome's MEGA-HUGE XSE Scripting Tutorial
diegoisawesome's Miscellaneous Finds
The Ruins of Alph Puzzles
Diego's Miscellaneous Patches
GBA Intro Manager
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old December 26th, 2009 (10:30 PM).
liuyanghejerry's Avatar
liuyanghejerry liuyanghejerry is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: China,Xi'an
Nature: Calm
Posts: 218
Send a message via ICQ to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to liuyanghejerry Send a message via Yahoo to liuyanghejerry
This is VERY GOOD,and bring the chance of DAN for FR/LG!
Nice work!
__________________
Zel,thethethethe,LU-HO,Darthatron,HackMew,ZodiacDaGreat,Juan,score_under,JPAN,Tamah-chan,I really appreciate your kindness and your help!:D


I did something that really bad.But made all Chinese can hack Pokemon, too.If you guys hate me, I totally understand,but cannot do anything but force to keep everything.
If there must be someone to undertake all spit and curse, it must be me.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old December 26th, 2009 (10:47 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by diegoisawesome:
... ... ...
Man, I am such a n00b. How would I do this, and how could I make it so it has the right time in and out of the computer? :/
If they're on an actual console.

They fix the time.

If not they don't need to touch it
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old December 27th, 2009 (03:02 AM).
BlazingShadow's Avatar
BlazingShadow BlazingShadow is offline
Stealth God
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The World God Only Knows
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 70
Send a message via Yahoo to BlazingShadow
Man just another troublesome thing showed up.....
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old December 27th, 2009 (03:20 AM).
D-Trogh's Avatar
D-Trogh D-Trogh is offline
Dead
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Belgium
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Posts: 439
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to D-Trogh
It sucks that I have to study for my exams.. Life at uni sucks in general, almost have no spare time.. Anyway, nice work. Maybe I can try it in the week after my exams. (A month from now XD )
__________________
[NTME | WPEDS | HTPE | SGPE | TGPE | PDEDS]
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old December 27th, 2009 (09:31 AM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Quote originally posted by BlazingShadow:
Man just another troublesome thing showed up.....
What the heck are you talking about? o.O
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old December 27th, 2009 (03:59 PM).
linkandzelda's Avatar
linkandzelda linkandzelda is offline
n00b desu ka?
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hastings, England
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 773
I like this interdpth... Im not gonna try it just yet (although im VERY tempted too) as there is something else i will try first when its out...

Btw for all those people wondering if this is compatible with the GBA time and windows time etc, VBA emulates an RTC chip which uses your windows clock, on a real GBA cart that has an RTC chip it just uses the real chip for the time. That brings me to a question interdpth.. If this just grabs the time from an RTC chip then we cant set the time without using that time set function right? lol (im not the best with this...)

Link
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old December 27th, 2009 (09:44 PM).
pokefreak2's Avatar
pokefreak2 pokefreak2 is offline
I can't believe you read this
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: that information is classified
Age: 17
Nature: Naive
Posts: 85
Quote originally posted by linkandzelda:
I like this interdpth... Im not gonna try it just yet (although im VERY tempted too) as there is something else i will try first when its out...

Btw for all those people wondering if this is compatible with the GBA time and windows time etc, VBA emulates an RTC chip which uses your windows clock, on a real GBA cart that has an RTC chip it just uses the real chip for the time. That brings me to a question interdpth.. If this just grabs the time from an RTC chip then we cant set the time without using that time set function right? lol (im not the best with this...)

Link
Can't believe link posted here i bet if a day and night system came out for fire red he'd use it for LC :D
__________________
Advanced scripter of


http://www.awsurveys.com/HomeMain.cfm?RefID=Xmouvelianx click on this please it gives my friend money it's not a rick roll and all you do is click on it sign up then leave and then we get 1.25$ ty

http://pokerum.freehostia.com/Forum/Forum/index.php

Copy and paste into your top browser
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old December 27th, 2009 (10:55 PM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
Looks like i'll be his hero in a few days. >_>
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old December 28th, 2009 (12:59 AM).
Hiroshi Sotomura's Avatar
Hiroshi Sotomura Hiroshi Sotomura is offline
Sweet!
Administrator CS
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 15,539
I smell a new ROM hacking fad. :(
But hey, you've heard the other things I've had to say about it. Let's see if you can do a more efficient Day/Night idea that's outside of the box when you get to it.
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old December 28th, 2009 (11:09 AM).
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,286
I have another idea:

If the game is able to check for the Windows clock, is there anyway to check for a Nintendo DS clock?

Sorry, but I really wanna find out if RTC support is possible on an EZFlash 3in1.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old December 28th, 2009 (11:51 AM).
interdpth interdpth is offline
I've seen things, man.
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 275
the game doesn't check windows clock.

the emulator does. -_-

Does your EZFlash say it has an RTC?

If so, you should know.
__________________
yes, this is doge.

potato is not here.

bye
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old December 28th, 2009 (12:22 PM). Edited December 28th, 2009 by Chaos Rush.
Chaos Rush's Avatar
Chaos Rush Chaos Rush is offline
im sexy and i know it
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Taylor Swift
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 1,286
Quote originally posted by interdpth:
Does your EZFlash say it has an RTC?

If so, you should know.
EZFlash does not have an RTC, that's why I'm asking if it's possible to check for the DS clock. The idea was that even though EZFlash has no RTC, Nintendo DS does, and the EZFlash operates in the GBA slot of a Nintendo DS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:41 AM.