Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] [TUT] Simple Guide to Replacing Pokemon Sprites (FR/LG/R/S)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old March 29th, 2010 (09:00 AM).
DuoRyan's Avatar
DuoRyan DuoRyan is offline
Hack'in as usual, it seem.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Somewhere.
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 336
hmm pretty good i finally did it yay! can you do the backsprite part and how to make it not mess up
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old March 31st, 2010 (06:59 PM).
butartoast's Avatar
butartoast butartoast is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 7
i followed your guide step by step and it still ended up looking like this i pallated it in adobe then use free space finder and copied the code in when i was saving it and it still looks like this

Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old April 1st, 2010 (02:56 PM).
Maco's Avatar
Maco Maco is offline
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 72
If it gets lines over it like that, most likely there wasn't enough space to put it in, or you've placed something else over it. Since you said fsf gave you the offset, most likely the latter. This problem happened to me when I had the palette accidentally overwriting the sprite.

Start afresh with a new rom and try this:
Make sure you don't repoint the palette in unlz, just leave its offset as is
Make sure you use offsets beyond 800000 (there should be a tick box for this in fsf
Dont insert something else in the sprite offset
__________________
Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old April 6th, 2010 (12:54 PM).
ChaosNinjat's Avatar
ChaosNinjat ChaosNinjat is offline
Dragon Ranger
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teh Pub
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 23
I've followed this tutorial, but used it to replace the trainer sprite for the male protagonist, and it worked on my back up rom, but now that I put it into the real rom, I follow every step, but the Trainer card goes black when you try to view it, is there anything I can do to reverse this?
__________________
3DS friend code: 4699 - 5917 - 7953
Need a spriter? As long as I'm credited, I'm happy to help with what ever you need, just give me a PM
My Hacks:

Hacks I support:
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old April 7th, 2010 (01:25 AM).
Maco's Avatar
Maco Maco is offline
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 72
Er, I'm no expert on patching or anything, but here's a link for ROM Recovery. You'll need HackMew's program A-Patch from his tool thread, there's a link to the thread somewhere in my tutorial if you want it.
__________________
Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old April 9th, 2010 (09:33 AM).
Mightyena_83's Avatar
Mightyena_83 Mightyena_83 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 4
great tutorial i have a problem with paint though, i can't open png files they have to be .bmp =/ what do i do?
i get the sprites into the game but they're all messed up
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old April 10th, 2010 (07:21 AM).
Maco's Avatar
Maco Maco is offline
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by Mightyena_83:
great tutorial i have a problem with paint though, i can't open png files they have to be .bmp =/ what do i do?
i get the sprites into the game but they're all messed up
Weird. It should open png's, mine does. What OS are you running? XP, Vista, etc?
__________________
Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old April 11th, 2010 (06:25 AM).
brutal satyr brutal satyr is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Gender:
Posts: 4
Perhaps you should say something about shiny sprites as it is a little more difficult then the normal ones.
Because you have to change the order of the shiny's pallete to make it come out right as I have found out the hard way :D
__________________
supporting:

Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old April 11th, 2010 (08:41 AM). Edited April 12th, 2010 by Mightyena_83.
Mightyena_83's Avatar
Mightyena_83 Mightyena_83 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Posts: 4
i found out what it was =P my computer messed up a while ago so we loaded Windows 2000 over the top of XP...paint on windows 2000 is rubbish "/ :L
it just means i keep having to convert the picture file after editing it which probably isn't helping it be clear.

EDIT

I got round the paint problem, but after i do everything the tutorial says, the new picture is back to 24 BPP so it says it is not indexed "/ what to do?
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old April 19th, 2010 (05:01 AM).
Hidan's Hacking Helm's Avatar
Hidan's Hacking Helm Hidan's Hacking Helm is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
When i insert something the picture goes and im left with only the toolbar and the things on the right side
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old April 20th, 2010 (01:27 AM).
Maco's Avatar
Maco Maco is offline
learning the ropes...
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by Hidan's Hacking Helm:
When i insert something the picture goes and im left with only the toolbar and the things on the right side
Could you explain that a bit more clearly? A picture of the problem tells a thousand words too, if you can get one.
__________________
Need help replacing Pokemon sprites? Tutorial here.
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old May 15th, 2010 (06:10 PM).
NARFNra NARFNra is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Posts: 9
Mine still says it isn't indexed, and I've redone the tutorial multiple times.

Can you explain exactly what it does when it indexes a file? That may have something to do with my problem.
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old May 16th, 2010 (10:37 AM).
Elite Trainer Red's Avatar
Elite Trainer Red Elite Trainer Red is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Mt.Silver
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 43
thanks dude really helped!
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Reason: Spoilers in signature
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old June 19th, 2010 (07:48 AM).
saifors's Avatar
saifors saifors is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Right in front of you, you don't see me? Here on the computer screen
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Posts: 238
I did every bit like in the guide and it still says: "Error: Image is not indexed" why do this things always have to happen to me
Edit: oh and it is the good size
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old June 23rd, 2010 (08:02 AM).
ERROR ERROR is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 84
thnx for explaining in detail very excellent or beginners
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old June 23rd, 2010 (02:56 PM).
vietazn654's Avatar
vietazn654 vietazn654 is offline
A sound soul dwells within me
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Virginia
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 372
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to vietazn654 Send a message via Yahoo to vietazn654
When I test out my sprite, the screen went black. =[ Because I inserted the sprite, then it said it's too big. So then I get free space, and put it in. Then I test it out and its black. =[ It's a gym leader sprite. I went on A-Trainer and it looks fine, but it won't work. Any help?
__________________

I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old June 23rd, 2010 (06:33 PM). Edited June 23rd, 2010 by drew6464.
drew6464's Avatar
drew6464 drew6464 is offline
Artist, spriter
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan (I wish)
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 52
I'm pretty sure this is for Pokemon only. By the way, trainer sprites are more than 64x64.

Also, I'm having a problem too. When I save it on and write it on and do everything it says in the guide, then press "Next" and "Previous", the original sprite is still there... I'm not sure.
__________________
If you cannot get ahold of me / sent a message with no reply to me, the best course of action would be to send me a message on Skype (hesitationaggravation) or deviantART (monochrome0), because I am by no means consistently active on these forums.

Every tear is
Every tear is
Every teardrop is a waterfall
Every tear is
Every tear is
Every teardrop is a waterfall
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old June 29th, 2010 (12:13 PM).
Tilley Tilley is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Female
Posts: 3
Hi~


Just wanted to know what version of Irfan View you had, because the Image>Pallete has another menu drop down thing, so its like

Image> Pallete> Edit Pallete
Export Pallete
Import Pallete
And the only active button is the last one, but not the first two...


So yeah just want to know what version of Irfan View you had making this.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old June 30th, 2010 (06:16 AM).
dragoniteuser's Avatar
dragoniteuser dragoniteuser is offline
The dragon master
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Soaring in the sky!
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,740
Thanks for this tut.
I have no problem with indexing, you explained everything perfectly and it works, but after I import it and write it to ROM succesfully two files are created where ROM is: .pal and .spr files. Now without these files the game won't work. So what am I suposed to do with them. Should I turn them into some kind of pach and if I should,... how?
__________________

Lance
the Dragon master


-Gifted with powers of the Viridian forest
-Telepathically communicates with Pokémon
-Heals their wounds
-Controls Dragon Pokémon
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old July 1st, 2010 (05:38 PM).
Lastwarrior Lastwarrior is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
i did everything but it still said image not indexed and when i indexed and test it the screen restart HEEEEEEELLLLLPPPPP MEEEEEE!!! PLZ
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old July 5th, 2010 (05:35 PM).
Giratar's Avatar
Giratar Giratar is offline
Oops.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: I don't believe in location.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Okay, I'm using the BETA1 version of unLZ.GBA, and I did everything that you said in the tutorial. But the things in my unLZ.GBA look different, such as the offsets for the palette and picture when I try to write into the ROM have a 00 in front, and I have 4 checkmark-able options instead of 3(but I only selected the ones in the tutorial).

When I wrote the sprite in, it didn't do anything except change the picture's palette! It ended up looking like this:


And this is what I wanted to put in:
__________________
When "Giratar" and "Oops" are together, bad things are probably about to happen.


Platinum Friend Code: 4855 4904 6090 - Wanna battle? Trade? I'm all for it!

I support:
Spoiler:
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old July 5th, 2010 (08:14 PM).
Shiny Quagsire's Avatar
Shiny Quagsire Shiny Quagsire is offline
STOP HIM SAM, HE'S GONNA TELL US A STORY!!!
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Hoenn Safari Zone
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 689
Did you even test it in the game?
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old July 6th, 2010 (09:42 AM).
Giratar's Avatar
Giratar Giratar is offline
Oops.
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: I don't believe in location.
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Yes.... Yesterday it showed up like a glitched up Taillow!

But now it shows up in the game like normal... O_o
__________________
When "Giratar" and "Oops" are together, bad things are probably about to happen.


Platinum Friend Code: 4855 4904 6090 - Wanna battle? Trade? I'm all for it!

I support:
Spoiler:
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old July 6th, 2010 (10:58 AM).
MechaTrainer MechaTrainer is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
TotodileVsCharmander.PNGCharmander.pngThis tutorial worked perfectly even with the backsprites except now my new front sprite for charmander that looked great before looks horrible now. Any Help?
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old July 6th, 2010 (03:41 PM). Edited July 6th, 2010 by Resultz.
Resultz's Avatar
Resultz Resultz is offline
All- round Poke-Whizz
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Yorkshire, England
Gender: Male
Posts: 583
thankyou so much!, i couldnt get my head round how to index sprites until now!
EDIT: every time i index the sprite Unlz says its not, and it always ends up with 17 colours even when i do it right...
EDIT: i also tried with a sprite with 8 colours and it still said its not indexed. Any specific name i have to save it under. I think its the step on paint where im mucking up, because i dont see how C/ping the original sprite onto the messed up one indexes it.
__________________
MY HACK:
LOOKING FOR HELP MAKING POKEMON HYACINTH:
APPLY IN THE THREAD!;
MANY POSITIONS AVAILABLE!

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:04 PM.