The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Technology & Internet
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Technology & Internet The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.


Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old March 7th, 2010, 04:29 AM
Akeraz's Avatar
Akeraz
Winning is Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Milky Way
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
I'm looking for some help on this.
My laptop has recently been coming up with this message, despite the fact i've never installed a programme called "Avira Antivirus"
I can't do anything about it, since it seems multiple windows open at once, and that this file, when I check windows task manager, is taking up 100% cpu.
In order to get my laptop to close, i had to give it a hard shutdown.

If anyone knows anything about this, please tell me.
__________________
| Youtube |

"It's like I'm watching you fly through a window"
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old March 7th, 2010, 05:45 AM
Zet's Avatar
Zet
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Does anyone else use your laptop? They might have installed it.

Have you tried going into safe mode and uninstalled it from there?
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old March 7th, 2010, 06:55 AM
Akeraz's Avatar
Akeraz
Winning is Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Milky Way
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
No-one else uses my laptop, and I've looked in program files and I can't find it.
I've also ran a couple of scans in safe mode to see if it's a virus, but nothing's been picked up.
__________________
| Youtube |

"It's like I'm watching you fly through a window"
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old March 7th, 2010, 06:56 AM
Zet's Avatar
Zet
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Have you looked for a folder with avira in it?
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old March 7th, 2010, 10:43 AM
Rukario's Avatar
Rukario
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest
Nature: Adamant
try the removal tool located here: http://www.avira.com/en/support/support_downloads.html (http://www.avira.com/en/support/anti...oval_tool.html)

also see: http://forum.avira.com/wbb/index.php...hreadID=106956 and related posts on their forum.

be sure to install some quality AV after cleaning your system, I suggest and recommend Norton NAV2010 for basic AV and NIS2010 if you want a firewall and related protections.
__________________
- Rukario -















Twinned with Jedi_Amara | Paired with Your Name Here | Lil Sis Kimi-Chan | Sig

Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old March 7th, 2010, 02:43 PM
Archer's Avatar
Archer
a.k.a: ethan.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Nature: Modest
I'm starting to think it's a fake AV, because there are other people with this issue and Avira mentions something here: http://www.avira.com/en/security_new...ate_avira.html. Also, Avira is called Antivir, not Antivirus, so that leads me even more to think it's an imitation.
Kaspersky is one of the best AVs, so I wouldn't touch Norton with a burnt stick, sorry Steve. Open up Task manager and tell us what is listed under the Processes Tab.
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old March 7th, 2010, 03:22 PM
Rukario's Avatar
Rukario
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Somewhere in Ilex Forest
Nature: Adamant
BTW archer, nav2010 has the best detection and cleaning rates, as well as very low resource usage, compared to any other current AV.

It's currently the most recommended AV by the security experts.

back on topic, you may not see the process running.. (on one link I saw, it was running as explorer.exe - a bad sign)

Remove it with the removal tool, run malwarebytes from safe mode (then again in normal mode) to make sure all related crap is found/removed.
__________________
- Rukario -















Twinned with Jedi_Amara | Paired with Your Name Here | Lil Sis Kimi-Chan | Sig

Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old March 7th, 2010, 04:36 PM
Akeraz's Avatar
Akeraz
Winning is Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Milky Way
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Yeah, I'll try that tommorow.
[been busy today, so y'know.]
I tried the removal tool on their site, but it didn't work.
On task manager, it comes up as running "Avira.exe" with two processes running, even when there are no popups on screen.
__________________
| Youtube |

"It's like I'm watching you fly through a window"
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old March 8th, 2010, 08:47 AM
linkinpark187's Avatar
linkinpark187
Computer Tech
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Randolph, VT
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
I would actually recommend downloading ComboFix (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/comb...o-use-combofix). When downloaded, restart your computer, press F8 (right after the BIOS goes away), and start in Safe Mode with Networking, then start CombFix. After, I would then recommend running MBAM (MalwareBytes) and SpyBot Search & Destroy.
__________________

Many thanks to Shadow_Ball for the sig pic!

I don't use "uber" Pokemon, I don't calculate stat values, I don't breed my way to perfection, and I don't care about natures. I catch my Pokemon the way they are, and treat them like individuals instead of brainless drones. If you use this philosophy, copy & paste this into your signature.
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old March 9th, 2010, 02:32 AM
Archer's Avatar
Archer
a.k.a: ethan.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: NSW, Australia
Nature: Modest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rukario View Post
BTW archer, nav2010 has the best detection and cleaning rates, as well as very low resource usage, compared to any other current AV.

It's currently the most recommended AV by the security experts.
Well, not really - t's not as horrible as it used to be, and it does the job, but It's far from the best. The retrospective detection rate is quite high, which is important for keeping eye on older threats, but it's heuristic ability is terrible. Tests at the end of last year netted it around 35% detection levels for new viruses, which is not great, considering Kaspersky and Avira have around a 65-70% detection rate.

It's not bad, if you're going to pay for Antivirus, Kaspersky and Nod32 are far better. And from personal experience, most of the computers we get into work that are in need of virus cleanups are running Norton, which isn't exactly a testament to it's success. The latest version isn't too bad, but Symantec is an unreliable company that have always forced their way into OEM installs under the false pretense that they are what the OEM deems to be the best option.
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old March 9th, 2010, 04:55 AM
Akeraz's Avatar
Akeraz
Winning is Magic
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: The Milky Way
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkinpark187 View Post
I would actually recommend downloading ComboFix (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/comb...o-use-combofix). When downloaded, restart your computer, press F8 (right after the BIOS goes away), and start in Safe Mode with Networking, then start CombFix. After, I would then recommend running MBAM (MalwareBytes) and SpyBot Search & Destroy.
Combofix seems to have done the job.
Thanks for all your help, people.
__________________
| Youtube |

"It's like I'm watching you fly through a window"
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old March 9th, 2010, 06:35 AM
Petie's Avatar
Petie
Donator Tier 2
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Jersey
Age: 25
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by linkinpark187 View Post
I would actually recommend downloading ComboFix (http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/comb...o-use-combofix). When downloaded, restart your computer, press F8 (right after the BIOS goes away), and start in Safe Mode with Networking, then start CombFix. After, I would then recommend running MBAM (MalwareBytes) and SpyBot Search & Destroy.
ComboFix was definitely a good recommendation but just as a point of reference, from what I understand about it, it uses running processes (among other things) to determine what it is going to remove so if it can be run from within a normal environment, it generally performs a little better. It also requires a network connection to download the recovery console so it can back things out if its fix fails, though you covered this with the "with networking" version of safe mode. Please correct me if I'm wrong here though - I may have misunderstood something.

I'm aware this is irrelevant to the current topic as the problem has been resolved but this still may be useful information to other people with a similar problem.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.