The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #126    
Old January 30th, 2012, 06:35 PM
mmack6391
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
So, I know i need to edit tilesets and such to change the look, but, where do I need to add/change a tileset to make the windows and lamps light up? Sorry if I sound like a noob, this is a bit confusing.
Reply With Quote
  #127    
Old January 30th, 2012, 11:29 PM
lachash's Avatar
lachash
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
I'm trying to insert both day & night aswell as seasons into a currently unedited firered ROM. Upon starting I cannot move from bugged up pallet town tiles. Does anyone have a tutorial or something? (Yeah, I know it's sad to ask for tut of a tool.)
Reply With Quote
  #128    
Old April 21st, 2012, 06:28 PM
Pokehacker1's Avatar
Pokehacker1
a kid with a knack for mapping
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Age: 13
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
When I use it, it does not change. It's always night for some reason.
Other then that, it's fine. But it freezes when I install it, so I have to erase it.
Then it's always night.
Reply With Quote
  #129    
Old April 21st, 2012, 08:16 PM
aar2697
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Send a message via Skype™ to aar2697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pokehacker1 View Post
When I use it, it does not change. It's always night for some reason.
Other then that, it's fine. But it freezes when I install it, so I have to erase it.
Then it's always night.
That's because you need to enable the Real Time Clock on your emulator. To do that in Visual Boy Advance, go to Options > Emulator > Real Time Clock (if you click it, it will check off).
Reply With Quote
  #130    
Old April 22nd, 2012, 07:11 PM
DarkFlameSquirrel's Avatar
DarkFlameSquirrel
Music Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Texas, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
All I want to do is add Day, Night, and Seasons to my unedited Pokemon Emerald rom. When I load it with DNS, it gives me an insert RTC option. Doesn't it already have RTC or am I missing something here? If there's a tutorial somewhere for this, I would heavily appreciate it if someone linked it.
__________________
"I will not live in misery." -Bleeding Through
Reply With Quote
  #131    
Old April 23rd, 2012, 07:23 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
Pokemon Emerald has already a RTC but my system is based on interdpths RTC, so you must install this RTC too with the tool.
Reply With Quote
  #132    
Old May 1st, 2012, 03:50 PM
Pokehacker1's Avatar
Pokehacker1
a kid with a knack for mapping
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow
Age: 13
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Thanks! sorry it took so long for me to respond... I'm obviously new, so I've been looking around. a bit
Reply With Quote
  #133    
Old May 1st, 2012, 04:07 PM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
Pokemon Emerald has already a RTC but my system is based on interdpths RTC, so you must install this RTC too with the tool.
If it's a given that you have to install interdpth's RTC why not automatically find some free space and install it? It's not a big deal, but it'll help with making the process easier.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


Reply With Quote
  #134    
Old May 2nd, 2012, 08:52 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by droomph View Post
If it's a given that you have to install interdpth's RTC why not automatically find some free space and install it? It's not a big deal, but it'll help with making the process easier.
ok, i can write a function which finds some free space in your ROM, but it also needs free space in the RAM-Area and to find this is much harder. So it's easier for me to let you place the RTC where you want.
Reply With Quote
  #135    
Old May 2nd, 2012, 11:13 AM
droomph's Avatar
droomph
mmm gurl that 90s
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: bar'jách
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Quote:
Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
ok, i can write a function which finds some free space in your ROM, but it also needs free space in the RAM-Area and to find this is much harder. So it's easier for me to let you place the RTC where you want.
Oh, I think I remember that.

Well, ROM placement is enough if you still want to do it. I can look for the RAM myself if it's too hard for a function. But I think you already have a default right? Oh well it's okay.
__________________
did u no there r 21 letters in the alphabet
o i forgot 5
uraqt


Reply With Quote
  #136    
Old May 22nd, 2012, 01:05 PM
pokemonmasteraaron's Avatar
pokemonmasteraaron
The blind Pokémon Master!
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: In the forest of an undiscovered region
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Send a message via Skype™ to pokemonmasteraaron
This is a cool tool.
Will installing the rtc allow me to play the roms of EZ flash iv?
__________________
Game developer.
Not nearly as active on here as I used to be.
Still like meeting and talking to pokemon fanatics like myself.
Reply With Quote
  #137    
Old May 29th, 2012, 08:57 PM
Renegade's Avatar
Renegade
Time for real life...
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Wow... This is really cool! Haven't ever seen it before! Nice Work.
Reply With Quote
  #138    
Old June 11th, 2012, 10:10 PM
amcolash's Avatar
amcolash
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Really cool tool. I do not have the time or patience to add in seasons - and no one playing my new mod will play it all year long.. I do however really like the day and night system. Thanks much!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jambo51 View Post
For anyone who is using BPRE, these routines will use the RTC's status byte to get what time of day it is, and evolve Eevee accordingly.

For Espeon:
Code:
.text
.align 2
.thumb
.thumb_func
.global espeonevocheck
main:
 ldr r1, time
 ldrb r1, [r1, #0x0]
 cmp r1, #0x4
 bge no
 cmp r1, #0x1
 blt no
 ldr r1, happinesscheck
 bx r1
no: ldr r0, exit
 bx r0
.align
time: .word 0x0203C000
happinesscheck: .word 0x08043001
exit: .word 0x08043111
Assemble and insert that routine anywhere in the ROM, then change the pointer at 0x42FC8 to point to the new routine, NOT PLUS ONE. The game uses mov pc, r0 to jump to the routine, meaning we do NOT need to add 1 for THUMB mode.

For Umbreon:
Code:
.text
.align 2
.thumb
.thumb_func
.global umbreonevocheck
main:
 ldr r1, time
 ldrb r1, [r1, #0x0]
 cmp r1, #0x4
 bge yes
 cmp r1, #0x1
 blt yes
 ldr r0, exit
 bx r0
yes: ldr r1, happinesscheck
 bx r1
.align
time: .word 0x0203C000
happinesscheck: .word 0x08043001
exit: .word 0x08043111
Assemble and insert that routine anywhere in the ROM, then change the pointer at 0x42FCC to point to the new routine, NOT PLUS ONE.

When assembled, along side the RTC, this will allow Eevee to evolve into Espeon and Umbreon in the proper way in BPRE. Anyone who wants to convert these routines for another version, feel free to do so. Just remember to credit me for the original routines.

For people who don't know how to assemble the routines, I attached the binaries to this post, allowing you to insert them from the binary directly. I offer no help on inserting these routines. You should read HackMew's ASM tutorials for a good beginner's insight into inserting ASM.
Well thank you very much for this Jambo!!!!! I just implemented it into my game and it works flawlessly. I also learned a bit about ASM in the process too so thank you so much for this. I had no idea it took till level 75 to evolve an eevee though - too much training, thanks rare candies :)

Last edited by DrFuji; June 16th, 2012 at 12:46 AM. Reason: Merging consecutive posts
Reply With Quote
  #139    
Old June 28th, 2012, 07:44 AM
timezone34
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Can I use this to patch Light Platinum? I have played for a long time, and it has never became night time in my game.
Reply With Quote
  #140    
Old June 29th, 2012, 07:06 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
Maybe you haven't activated the RTC in your Emulator...

Anyway you can use this tool to patch it, if the hackers alow it.
Reply With Quote
  #141    
Old July 1st, 2012, 04:39 PM
derishi
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
I don't know how to change season! Please give me a tutorial!
Sorry for my English!
Reply With Quote
  #142    
Old July 1st, 2012, 06:20 PM
Darkrai Lv.1000's Avatar
Darkrai Lv.1000
The Ultimate Dark Pokémon...
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aboard the Arc-Gurren
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via AIM to Darkrai Lv.1000
Is there a tutorial for how to insert it?
All I did was click insert RTC, then insert DAN, but is that it?

EDIT: nvm, i believe i figured out how to use it myself, as i tend to do a lot. xD
__________________

Last edited by Darkrai Lv.1000; July 1st, 2012 at 11:24 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #143    
Old August 10th, 2012, 03:23 AM
UltraNerdtendo64's Avatar
UltraNerdtendo64
Retro Reviver!
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Can somebody please tell me how to function this? I can't get Day, Night or Seasons to work.

Can somebody please PM me or reply to this post how to do it?
Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #144    
Old November 27th, 2012, 09:22 AM
pabioxxx
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x0
if 0x1 goto @sunday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x1
if 0x1 goto @monday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x2
if 0x1 goto @tuesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x3
if 0x1 goto @wednesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x4
if 0x1 goto @thursday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x5
if 0x1 goto @friday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x6
if 0x1 goto @saturday

#org @sunday
msgbox @1 0x2
release
end
... etc

Can someone tell me what is wrong in this script? And i would like to know how to check time, it's possible to check it without asm call, I mean use similary script like this above? !
Reply With Quote
  #145    
Old December 4th, 2012, 09:05 AM
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Can someone tell me why this check day script is not working for me?
For Example:
#dynamic 0x800000
#org @dif
lock
faceplayer
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x0
if 0x1 goto @sunday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x1
if 0x1 goto @monday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x2
if 0x1 goto @tuesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x3
if 0x1 goto @wednesday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x4
if 0x1 goto @thursday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x5
if 0x1 goto @friday
comparefarbytetobyte 0x03005540 0x6
if 0x1 goto @saturday
release
end
#org @sunday
msgbox @sun 0x6
end
#org @monday
msgbox @mon 0x6
end
#org @tuesday
msgbox @tues 0x6
end
#org @wednesday
msgbox @wed 0x6
end
#org @thursday
msgbox @thurs 0x6
end
#org @friday
msgbox @fri 0x6
end
#org @saturday
msgbox @sat 0x6
end
#org @sun
= Today is Sunday.
#org @mon
= Today is Monday.
#org @tues
= Today is Tuesday.
#org @wed
= Today is Wednesday.
#org @thurs
= Today is Thursday.
#org @fri
= Today is Friday.
#org @sat
= Today is Saturday.

Answer me please... ><

PS: Sorry for my bad english... Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #146    
Old December 6th, 2012, 01:16 PM
KitsuneLugia96's Avatar
KitsuneLugia96
Trainer Silver
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ecruteak City, Johto
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Hello, I am having problems with the program. I used it before on my Pokemon Emerald Hack, and worked great, but that was months ago, now I am using a Fire Red Rom and the program is too big for my screen. I tried changing my screen to a higher resolution, but it still will not fit. I'm not sure what to do.
__________________

POKEMON SILVER SHADOWS
Pokemon Hack Series - Silver's Journeys
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zADnU40NuYw&feature=plcp
Reply With Quote
  #147    
Old December 7th, 2012, 08:12 AM
prime-dialga's Avatar
prime-dialga
pure darkness
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Gender: Male
@pabioxxx & LugiaMZ
you have to use an emulator which has a RTC (real time clock). But unfortunately some emulators which have a RTC doesn't write the "day of week"-byte.

@KitsuneLugia96
700 - 800 px in the height should be enough. Also you can make your taskbar to autohide itself to get some more pixels of space.
But if you can see the "Insert DAN"-button everything should be fine. There aren't any options under the button
Reply With Quote
  #148    
Old December 9th, 2012, 07:39 AM
pabioxxx
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
@pabioxxx & LugiaMZ
you have to use an emulator which has a RTC (real time clock). But unfortunately some emulators which have a RTC doesn't write the "day of week"-byte.
I'm using VBA and RTC is on... Maybe you should make an addition to program, something like tutorial which can show us how to make time scripts, etc?
Reply With Quote
  #149    
Old December 9th, 2012, 09:36 AM
LugiaMZ's Avatar
LugiaMZ
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by prime-dialga View Post
@pabioxxx & LugiaMZ
you have to use an emulator which has a RTC (real time clock). But unfortunately some emulators which have a RTC doesn't write the "day of week"-byte.
I using VBA and checked Real Time Clock. My problem only when I talk to the person where I put the script, he/she say "Today is Wednesday" at the text box. Actually the real day is Monday. And when I talk to the person at Tuesday, then he/she say "Today is Thursday". I checked my PC date, It's correctly. I tried to check day and night, too. But it's prefectly working... I think is my script problem, if you tried before to check "day of week" and it work, please give me that script. Other question, it's possible to make a script to check month/years? Thanks.

P.S. Sorry for my bad english.

Last edited by LugiaMZ; December 9th, 2012 at 09:42 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #150    
Old December 11th, 2012, 10:51 AM
pabioxxx
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by pabioxxx View Post
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
comparefarbytetobyte 0x0300553C 0x0
if 0x1 goto @sunday
...
!
I'm not sure it's good adress for day of the week status byte, so where it is stored?
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:31 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.