Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Nameless Sprite Editor 2.X

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old March 12th, 2012 (06:04 PM). Edited March 12th, 2012 by Dizzyed.
Dizzyed Dizzyed is offline
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 4
I had two instances running, but they were opened to two different roms so I don't understand how they would use the same .txt log file. From looking at the log folder it seems the .txts are generated from the base rom name and they were named differently. Also, I was using the pokemon sprite editor plugin. I might be doing something wrong when changing the palettes.


Whenever I get the first error I usually just keep clicking continue and save until it doesn't give me that error anymore. Something on my computer might be causing slowdown. :<

edit: Just tried it with only one instance running and it gives the same Used by another process error. I'm going to try it on a virtual machine to see if it's my computer.

edit 2: Ran it on VM with windows XP and I still get the same error. How long does it take for the program to get done using the rom log file?
  #102    
Old March 13th, 2012 (11:56 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by Dizzyed:
I had two instances running, but they were opened to two different roms so I don't understand how they would use the same .txt log file. From looking at the log folder it seems the .txts are generated from the base rom name and they were named differently. Also, I was using the pokemon sprite editor plugin. I might be doing something wrong when changing the palettes.


Whenever I get the first error I usually just keep clicking continue and save until it doesn't give me that error anymore. Something on my computer might be causing slowdown. :<

edit: Just tried it with only one instance running and it gives the same Used by another process error. I'm going to try it on a virtual machine to see if it's my computer.

edit 2: Ran it on VM with windows XP and I still get the same error. How long does it take for the program to get done using the rom log file?
OK, I rewrote how log files are handled in NSE. Just download the newest version Beta 2.0.2, If you haven't used NSE today, it should say there is an update.

Hopefully this fixes the problem.
__________________
  #103    
Old March 13th, 2012 (02:06 PM).
Dizzyed Dizzyed is offline
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Gender: Female
Posts: 4
The download on your site is still 2.0.1 I believe. Or else I am clicking the wrong button. Which I wouldn't put past me xD
  #104    
Old March 13th, 2012 (02:26 PM).
Hopeless Masquerade's Avatar
Hopeless Masquerade Hopeless Masquerade is offline
すきま妖怪
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: 幻想郷
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,088
Quote originally posted by link12552:
In your opinion, how hard was making a plugin using the provided libraries?
It was actually quite easy. :D Plus, the only reason it takes so long to load is because it has to read the Pokemon names from the game.
__________________
  #105    
Old March 13th, 2012 (03:32 PM). Edited March 14th, 2012 by link12552.
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by Dizzyed:
The download on your site is still 2.0.1 I believe. Or else I am clicking the wrong button. Which I wouldn't put past me xD
lol, your right let me fix that for you, now
-seems my server has cached the zip, so I have to clear the cache, shouldn't take 5 min

Edit: well it turns out that even though the server has the correct file on it, it still serves the old cached version even though I've cleared the cache.
So I'll attach the zip here

Edit: Okay renaming the zip seems to have done the trick, the website now has the correct version as well
Attached Files
File Type: zip NSE 2.0.zip‎ (139.3 KB, 26 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
  #106    
Old March 15th, 2012 (04:31 AM).
MrElephant's Avatar
MrElephant MrElephant is offline
Pokemon Researcher
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 70
I didnt mean to appear rude to you link12552, it was that I was excited about something that happened at the time.(My hack was not approved at the time and I was kind of mad since I spent a long effort on it) Thanks for the help!
  #107    
Old March 28th, 2012 (03:19 PM). Edited March 28th, 2012 by ShadowGrey.
ShadowGrey's Avatar
ShadowGrey ShadowGrey is offline
Graphix Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 49
Not sure if this will get answered, if it's already been answered, or if this is just the wrong place to ask, but i'm having a little trouble. Is it possible to edit trainer back sprites using NSE? I know they are in bookmarks, I know how to import image + palette. My problem being that the back sprites all use the same palette offset, and though my images have been compressed (16 colors) when they are inserted into NSE the colors still mess up. What I think the problem is, is that each images palette is in a different order, so reds are swapped with greens and such. Is there anyway to remedy this? Or is there a simpler way of editing the back sprites altogether?

Also when tested the sprites are the wrong colors altogether xD please help.
__________________



http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267674
  #108    
Old March 29th, 2012 (11:47 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by ShadowGrey:
Not sure if this will get answered, if it's already been answered, or if this is just the wrong place to ask, but i'm having a little trouble. Is it possible to edit trainer back sprites using NSE? I know they are in bookmarks, I know how to import image + palette. My problem being that the back sprites all use the same palette offset, and though my images have been compressed (16 colors) when they are inserted into NSE the colors still mess up. What I think the problem is, is that each images palette is in a different order, so reds are swapped with greens and such. Is there anyway to remedy this? Or is there a simpler way of editing the back sprites altogether?

Also when tested the sprites are the wrong colors altogether xD please help.
What ROM are you using? NSE may not be writing the palettes in compressed format, and as such the junk colors you are seeing may be NSE loading the junk data.

Post the NSLx file of the resulting "bugged" sprite, as well as the sprite image file/NSLx you are trying to insert; I'll try to insert it and see if I have the same problem.
__________________
  #109    
Old March 29th, 2012 (07:30 PM).
PsychoToxin's Avatar
PsychoToxin PsychoToxin is offline
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
I'm also, having a problem... I'm trying to edit the trainer bags in Emerald (US) back to their original palettes from Ruby Sapphire, I change the palette, save the data, It shows the offset save thing, I save it, I go to the game and they stay the same... I go back to NSE and check the sprites and they turned back to green.
__________________

Logic, so rare it's a goddamn superpower...
I also started messing with soundfonts... Check the rest of my channel for more.
  #110    
Old March 30th, 2012 (04:44 AM).
ShadowGrey's Avatar
ShadowGrey ShadowGrey is offline
Graphix Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: England
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 49
I've been studying the sprite and what I believe the problem is, is that the rom loads the old trainer palette rather than any than I have inserted. The rom is Fire Red.

Sprite in NSE (pre-loaded)


Resulting sprite (in-game)


Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated. Is there a generic way people have been getting around this without the use of NSE? etc.

Many thanks,
Shadow.
__________________



http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=267674
  #111    
Old March 30th, 2012 (11:46 AM). Edited March 30th, 2012 by link12552.
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by PsychoToxin:
I'm also, having a problem... I'm trying to edit the trainer bags in Emerald (US) back to their original palettes from Ruby Sapphire, I change the palette, save the data, It shows the offset save thing, I save it, I go to the game and they stay the same... I go back to NSE and check the sprites and they turned back to green.
Quote originally posted by ShadowGrey:
I've been studying the sprite and what I believe the problem is, is that the rom loads the old trainer palette rather than any than I have inserted. The rom is Fire Red.

Sprite in NSE (pre-loaded)


Resulting sprite (in-game)


Any help you could provide would be greatly appreciated. Is there a generic way people have been getting around this without the use of NSE? etc.

Many thanks,
Shadow.
Okay... so your pictures don't show, so I'll just have to guess what's going on lol

After you import a palette, in order to save it to the ROM, you must open the palette editor, and click "Save Palette to ROM"


You can either click the palette icon in the toolbar, and click the '+' or go Edit>Palette

Hope this helps

P.S. Don't be afraid of using NSE, it can do almost anything when you learn how use it to work with it

Edit:
I guess it may seem a bit counter intuitive to think that the "Save" button doesn't also save the palette.
In the next update I'll add a "Save Palette" button right in the menu!
__________________
  #112    
Old March 30th, 2012 (01:02 PM).
PsychoToxin's Avatar
PsychoToxin PsychoToxin is offline
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 61
That solved my problem, thanks! It seemed a little inconvenient having the Save feature not save the palette.
__________________

Logic, so rare it's a goddamn superpower...
I also started messing with soundfonts... Check the rest of my channel for more.
  #113    
Old March 30th, 2012 (05:43 PM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by PsychoToxin:
That solved my problem, thanks! It seemed a little inconvenient having the Save feature not save the palette.
Cool

Yeah, I guess it is a little strange... The reason it works that way is because I always imagined the image and palette data as two independent objects.
ie: You can load any 16 color sprite with any 16 color palette.

I guess I'll either make the current save button check for palette changes, or add a "save palette" button to the file menu.
I'm really too busy right now: between school and working on my game, I have no time!
__________________
  #114    
Old April 1st, 2012 (07:44 AM).
rune_reaper's Avatar
rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
Black Rock Shootah
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10
I'm having a palette trouble too with the Pokemon icons (the ones you see in the party). I've imported them, saved the image + palette, clicked on Save Palette to ROM, and when I go to the next one, the colors for that one get messed up. Then when I fix that one, the one I just did gets messed up. Is it the rom I'm using or is there a certain order?

I'm using a FireRed (U) rom (BPRE).
__________________
  #115    
Old April 1st, 2012 (10:25 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by rune_reaper:
I'm having a palette trouble too with the Pokemon icons (the ones you see in the party). I've imported them, saved the image + palette, clicked on Save Palette to ROM, and when I go to the next one, the colors for that one get messed up. Then when I fix that one, the one I just did gets messed up. Is it the rom I'm using or is there a certain order?

I'm using a FireRed (U) rom (BPRE).
There are only a handful of palettes that all of the icons share. If you edit one palette it'll effect many other icons that also used that palette. The Pokemon plugin that is shipped with NSE does not have the ability to change the palette index an individual Pokemon uses (although the function is really straight-forward and could be implemented in like 10 minutes)

The best thing you can do is to work with the default palettes. If Nintendo could do it, so can you!

P.S. I'm far too busy right now to add the function to the plugin. Next week when I'm in spring break I may look at it
__________________
  #116    
Old April 1st, 2012 (10:43 AM).
rune_reaper's Avatar
rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
Black Rock Shootah
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10
Okay, thanks a bunch. I'll try working with that till then.
__________________
  #117    
Old April 4th, 2012 (07:36 PM).
Victory!'s Avatar
Victory! Victory! is offline
Psychic Pokemon Fan!
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 24
What a stylish thread layout for a nameless tool! But seriously good job, can't wait to use this tool.
Thanks for making sprite editing easy!
~Victory
__________________


Why Join Solstice?
They let you have more posting freedom.
You can join and feel like you're apart of it.
Gyms and Leagues!
Free Blogs
Pokemon Online Server
Friendly Community
Monthly Contest!
Active Members- they are many members that are on daily.
There are many things to try at solstice, but instead of trusting me, join yourself!




->Where Fate Intertwines...
Put "Espevoir" as referrer please.

  #118    
Old April 5th, 2012 (12:05 PM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by rune_reaper:
Okay, thanks a bunch. I'll try working with that till then.
My spring break has started TODAY! so hopefully I can make the addition soon.

Quote originally posted by Victory!:
What a stylish thread layout for a nameless tool! But seriously good job, can't wait to use this tool.
Thanks for making sprite editing easy!
~Victory
You're welcome
__________________
  #119    
Old April 6th, 2012 (07:22 AM).
rune_reaper's Avatar
rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
Black Rock Shootah
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10
Oh yay~! Now this function would work with the pokemon sprites, icons, and trainer sprites, right?
__________________
  #120    
Old April 6th, 2012 (08:31 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by rune_reaper:
Oh yay~! Now this function would work with the pokemon sprites, icons, and trainer sprites, right?
Umm.. I don't think you understand...
The reason that the mini-sprites were getting messed was because the game only has 3 palettes to use for all of them. I've updated the plugin so you can switch the palette that the Pokemon's mini sprite uses.
I do not recommend actually editing the palettes.
Switch to the palette that you think will best fit your sprite, and use the colors it provides.


Anyways attached is the updated plugin.

P.S. I've decided today will be an NSE work day, so expect an NSE update in the next couple days!

P.S.S What would you or other's think if I implemented a "recycle bin" into NSE?
Elaboration: Currently, when you re-point a sprite, the old sprite remains in your ROM.
The "recycle bin" would flag these certain portions of your ROM as able to be recycled. You could then open a window and choose which regions, with a preview of their content, you want to delete. Thus freeing up ROM space!

Now if I do this I'll have to come up with a "Project" file type, I'm thinking It'll just be XML, anyone have any ideas?

P.S.S.S
I"ll probably get a plugin manager added while I'm at it...
Attached Files
File Type: zip PokemonPlugin.zip‎ (9.1 KB, 59 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
  #121    
Old April 6th, 2012 (11:54 AM).
rune_reaper's Avatar
rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
Black Rock Shootah
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10
Oh okay! That would be great! Thank you so much!
__________________
  #122    
Old April 6th, 2012 (11:21 PM).
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 334
how do I make plugins work on rom ita?
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

  #123    
Old April 7th, 2012 (10:55 AM).
rune_reaper's Avatar
rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
Black Rock Shootah
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10
Ah, I have another inquiry. Are trainer sprite palettes individual or are they all shared?
__________________
  #124    
Old April 8th, 2012 (05:26 AM).
link12552's Avatar
link12552 link12552 is offline
just tired, that's all
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: The not so distant future
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 201
Quote originally posted by Hacker Bisharp:
how do I make plugins work on rom ita?
The plugin has to be programmed to work with that type of ROM.

Quote originally posted by rune_reaper:
Ah, I have another inquiry. Are trainer sprite palettes individual or are they all shared?
Trainer sprites each can use their own individual palettes.
__________________
  #125    
Old April 8th, 2012 (05:33 AM).
rune_reaper's Avatar
rune_reaper rune_reaper is offline
Black Rock Shootah
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 10
Okay, so I'm free to edit their palettes so long as they're 16 colors?
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:36 PM.