Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old June 30th, 2011 (03:16 AM).
ksipos
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Hello guyz
I tried to open my VBA after many months (maybe one year ) but i m gettig the message "Error opening image [rom's directory]" in every rom i have.
I tried to download again the emulator but nothing happen
Anyone can help me ???

PS: I used search but i didn't find anything so i posted it.
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old June 30th, 2011 (10:09 AM).
Renii's Avatar
Renii
Se(Renii)ty
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dilli Shehar
Gender: Male
Get rid of the old one that you have and download the latest version from it's site. It is one of the bugs that were fixed.

And try searching on Google if that doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old June 30th, 2011 (09:56 PM).
ksipos
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Renii:
Get rid of the old one that you have and download the latest version from it's site. It is one of the bugs that were fixed.
I tried version 1.7.2 and 1.8.0 (beta 3 version),but nothing happen.

Quote originally posted by Renii:
And try searching on Google if that doesn't work.
Before this topic i tried to find a solution in google.
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old June 30th, 2011 (10:00 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail
See that, Aster?
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
What is the file extension? I've never seen VBA not open a .gb, .gbc, or a .gba image.
__________________

You are challenged by Lorekeeper Zinnia!
Pairs | Twitter | Alt | Alt II | PHO
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old June 30th, 2011 (10:49 PM).
ksipos
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
What is the file extension? I've never seen VBA not open a .gb, .gbc, or a .gba image.
It's .gba
It's possible the error comign from windows vista or any settings on vba ??
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old July 1st, 2011 (06:04 AM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario
The Legendary Master of Light!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Hm... I wonder if your folders that contain your ROMs have certain unicode characters in them that VBA cannot read? VBA cannot read all unicode characters (which are special text characters that come in the language packs installed with Windows). So try renaming the folders to something that can be read. Like I'm sure characters like "é" and A-Z and 0-9 can be read, but there are many that cannot be read.

I had that problem once with a program. I wonder if that's the same problem that's happened to you?

If that's not the case, then the ROM might be corrupt. Try using a fresh FireRed ROM, if the one you've downloaded didn't work, download a different one from off a different site.
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old July 1st, 2011 (10:53 PM).
ksipos
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by PokémonShinySilver:
Hm... I wonder if your folders that contain your ROMs have certain unicode characters in them that VBA cannot read? VBA cannot read all unicode characters (which are special text characters that come in the language packs installed with Windows). So try renaming the folders to something that can be read. Like I'm sure characters like "é" and A-Z and 0-9 can be read, but there are many that cannot be read.

I had that problem once with a program. I wonder if that's the same problem that's happened to you?

If that's not the case, then the ROM might be corrupt. Try using a fresh FireRed ROM, if the one you've downloaded didn't work, download a different one from off a different site.

I don't know why but when i moved vba and rom in the work screen it worked :D

The last time i played with vba,it haven't problem to open the rom in the same folder :/

Thanx for your help...

Problem = Solved => Topic = Locked
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:43 PM.