Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page Bug & Error Reporting for Essentials Version 15.1 (unmodified)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #251    
Old July 23rd, 2012 (04:40 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is online now
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,152
Quote originally posted by AmethystRain:
10- Another strange one, and I'm not sure if it's going to be able to be recreated... It's in a 6 on 6 gym battle, so I'll just relate the events leading up to it.
>Player Porygon vs Trubbish, KO's Trubbish (leader uses two super potions on it first). Trubbish successfully got down one row of Toxic Spikes, but for the duration of the battle they had no effect on my Pokemon.
>Leader is about to send in Croagunk. Switch? Porygon stays in.
>Drain Punch leaves Porygon with 1HP, Poison Touch poisons it, Porygon KO's Croagunk.
>Leader is about to send in Skuntank. Switch? I say yes and choose Monferno.
>Leader is about to send in Grimer. Switch?

^ Double shift. And this one I AM positive about it happening. XD Not sure what could have caused it though... I'll retry the battle after this to see if it happens again.

...So Grimer came out and I switched to Kadabra.. Grimer didn't move. Something got messed up somewhere here.
KO Grimer, and it does it again.
>Leader is about to send in Skuntank. Switch? Switch in Monferno.
>Leader is about to send in Skuntank. Switch?

...
KO Skuntank.
>Leader is about to send in Crobat. Switch? Switch in Boldore.
Boldore comes out. ...Crobat doesn't.


>Boldore used Rock Blast! ...But there was no target.
>Leader is about to send in Haunter. Switch? Switch to Liepard
>Leader is about to send in Crobat. Switch? Switch to Boldore

Crobat fails to come out again.
Power Gem, no target.
>Leader is about to send in Haunter. Switch? Switch to Monferno (weak after taking down Skuntank) so I can chump it and see what happens.
>Leader is about to send in Crobat. Switch? No.
Crobat comes out normally.

I proceded to get swept by Crobat, though when Roselia came out it properly absorbed the Toxic Spikes despite them not poisoning anything. I do recall you saying you fixed those though, so just as well.
Anyway, this whole thing was so... what.
Trying it again.
--------------
Second time worked fine.
--------------
Third time was fine as well. How strange.

Here's the trainer data just in case:

Is it possible T.Spikes caused it?
That's very odd behaviour. I can't think of any reason why that would happen (although I'm not overly familiar with the switching scripts). I doubt Toxic Spikes is the cause, though, because that's a separate script which only happens after the Pokémon is sent out.

I tried one battle myself, which worked fine.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #252    
Old July 24th, 2012 (10:35 AM).
IceGod64's Avatar
IceGod64 IceGod64 is offline
My imagination.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castelia City
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 604
Quote originally posted by Sakari:


I'm running into this problem as well, when I set the players starting postion on the map and run a playtest he becomes invisable. Also when I press the x key I receive this message:

Spoiler:
---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Exception: NoMethodError

Message: undefined method `pokedexSeen' for nil:NilClass

PokemonUtilities:1973:in `pbSetViableDexes'

PokemonUtilities:1970:in `each'

PokemonUtilities:1970:in `pbSetViableDexes'

PokemonPauseMenu:96:in `pbStartPokemonMenu'

Scene_Map:188:in `call_menu'

Scene_Map:159:in `update'

Scene_Map:68:in `main'

Scene_Map:65:in `loop'

Scene_Map:72:in `main'

Main:37:in `mainFunctionDebug'



This exception was logged in

C:\Users\Vlad\Saved Games/Pokemon Essentials/errorlog.txt.




Sorry if i'm a hassle, any help is appreciated. Thanks(:
You get that problem because you are supposed to go through the intro. The game isn't just ready to start on any old map, because you have you run a certain set of scripts to define a player character before your game game can start. If you don't, the $trainer variable wont be initialized and you'll get problems like that. pbTrainerName is the command that prepares a player if I'm not mistaken.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #253    
Old July 26th, 2012 (11:27 PM).
Ramond Hikari's Avatar
Ramond Hikari Ramond Hikari is offline
- Lonely Shooting Star -
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vietnam
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 75
I want to report the error with Shadow Pokemon.

When a Shadow Pokemon battles with another non-shadow Pokemon, when opponent uses moves such as Growl , Scratch, Razor Leaf,... , the Shadow color suddenly fades! And when the battle finishes, the Shadow color returns! What is happening here and please tell me how to fix this?

PS: I know this is not the topic to ask but what is the script for a battle between our Pokemon and a wild Shadow Pokemon?

Thanks :D
Reply With Quote
  #254    
Old July 27th, 2012 (05:02 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is online now
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,152
Quote originally posted by Ramond Hikari:
I want to report the error with Shadow Pokemon.

When a Shadow Pokemon battles with another non-shadow Pokemon, when opponent uses moves such as Growl , Scratch, Razor Leaf,... , the Shadow color suddenly fades! And when the battle finishes, the Shadow color returns! What is happening here and please tell me how to fix this?

PS: I know this is not the topic to ask but what is the script for a battle between our Pokemon and a wild Shadow Pokemon?

Thanks :D
What's happening is that Shadow Pokémon are very annoying. I'm half-tempted to just demand that Shadow sprites/icons exist for all Shadow Pokémon, rather than faffing around with colouring the regular ones purple in the many places they currently don't (which is a very ugly process).

There is no script to battle a wild Shadow Pokémon. If it's an event encounter, then you can generate the Pokémon beforehand and make it a Shadow Pokémon (similar to making a shiny Gyarados). Having a genuinely random encounter with a Shadow Pokémon is a whole other bag of tricks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #255    
Old July 27th, 2012 (05:30 AM).
IceGod64's Avatar
IceGod64 IceGod64 is offline
My imagination.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castelia City
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 604
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
There is no script to battle a wild Shadow Pokémon. If it's an event encounter, then you can generate the Pokémon beforehand and make it a Shadow Pokémon (similar to making a shiny Gyarados). Having a genuinely random encounter with a Shadow Pokémon is a whole other bag of tricks.
And a somewhat pointless bag I'd say. The only reason for Shadow Pokémon existing is to allow them to be stolen from trainers. By premise, that's what a Shadow Pokémon is supposed to be.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #256    
Old July 27th, 2012 (06:10 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is online now
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,152
Quote originally posted by IceGod64:
And a somewhat pointless bag I'd say. The only reason for Shadow Pokémon existing is to allow them to be stolen from trainers. By premise, that's what a Shadow Pokémon is supposed to be.
That's the original premise, yes, but there's no real reason why there can't be wild Shadow Pokémon kicking around in someone's game, so long as they explain how they came about. It could be like Delta Pokémon from the TCG (an environmental factor), or just a "this is how my game works" handwave. Whether such a game would actually be good or not is a different matter.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #257    
Old July 28th, 2012 (03:54 AM).
vegetaalex66 vegetaalex66 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
When I try to open game.rxproj with Rpg Maker XP, the message "Contains incorrect path" appears...
Can anyone help me?
Reply With Quote
  #258    
Old July 29th, 2012 (12:34 AM).
Ramond Hikari's Avatar
Ramond Hikari Ramond Hikari is offline
- Lonely Shooting Star -
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vietnam
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 75
I encountered another error as well:


Exception: NoMethodError

Message: undefined method `length' for 47:Fixnum

PBAnimation:406:in `pbConvertRPGAnimation'

Compiler:4003:in `pbCompileAnimations'

Compiler:3991:in `each'

Compiler:3991:in `pbCompileAnimations'

Compiler:4078:in `pbCompileAllData'

Compiler:4174

When PE finished compiling all data. And the next thing I realize, that almost all files named .dat in the Data folder had vanished! What is happening here and how to fix this? Thanks a lot!

PS: It suddenly happens when I try to add new scripts into the script sector... I have deleted the added scripts, but nothing change...
Reply With Quote
  #259    
Old July 29th, 2012 (08:41 PM).
PokeJones PokeJones is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 13
Quote originally posted by Steevie88:
don't know if it was mentioned before ... but the move tutor don't work anymore.
Move tutor isn't working for me either. Here is the error.

Spoiler:

---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Exception: RuntimeError

Message: Script error within event 29, map 25 (Test Map 2):

Exception: NameError

Message: Section116:4:in `pbEachNaturalMove'undefined local variable or method `k' for #<Interpreter:0x9d2ed48>

***Full script:

pbChoosePokemon(1,3,proc{|p|
pbHasRelearnableMove?(p)
},true)


Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

PokemonMoveRelearner:3:in `each'

PokemonMoveRelearner:3:in `pbEachNaturalMove'

PokemonMoveRelearner:15:in `pbGetRelearnableMoves'

PokemonMoveRelearner:9:in `pbHasRelearnableMove?'

(eval):2:in `pbExecuteScript'

(eval):1:in `call'

PokemonParty:1261:in `pbChooseAblePokemon'

PokemonParty:1260:in `each'

PokemonParty:1260:in `pbChooseAblePokemon'



Interpreter:276:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:1599:in `command_355'

Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'

Interpreter:193:in `update'

Interpreter:106:in `loop'

Interpreter:198:in `update'

Scene_Map:103:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Scene_Map:114:in `update'

Scene_Map:68:in `main'

Reply With Quote
  #260    
Old August 6th, 2012 (01:13 PM).
zingzags's Avatar
zingzags zingzags is offline
PokemonGDX creator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston
Age: 21
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 555
The pokemon does not change to their alternate form when you use the debug mode in the party screen.
__________________
Check out the Pokemon Game Engine I am working on:
https://github.com/sjosegarcia/Pokemon
Reply With Quote
  #261    
Old August 6th, 2012 (01:32 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is online now
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,152
Quote originally posted by zingzags:
The pokemon does not change to their alternate form when you use the debug mode in the party screen.
If you're talking about Arceus, Deerling/Sawsbuck, Genesect, Giratina or Shaymin, then that's not a bug. They have scripts which automatically determine their forms (getForm), which can't be overridden. The wiki says this, if you care to read it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #262    
Old August 6th, 2012 (04:21 PM).
zingzags's Avatar
zingzags zingzags is offline
PokemonGDX creator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston
Age: 21
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 555
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
If you're talking about Arceus, Deerling/Sawsbuck, Genesect, Giratina or Shaymin, then that's not a bug. They have scripts which automatically determine their forms (getForm), which can't be overridden. The wiki says this, if you care to read it.
Oh!, sorry about that. I did not know.
__________________
Check out the Pokemon Game Engine I am working on:
https://github.com/sjosegarcia/Pokemon
Reply With Quote
  #263    
Old August 7th, 2012 (07:44 PM).
deaker10's Avatar
deaker10 deaker10 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
ok ive run into a problem i got a trainer set up with shadow pokemon but when i catch them off him he wont switch to the next pokemon so what do i do
Reply With Quote
  #264    
Old August 8th, 2012 (10:41 AM). Edited August 8th, 2012 by WarriorOfLight.
WarriorOfLight WarriorOfLight is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5
The battle factory throws this error as soon as it gets to the time for preparing the rentals

Code:
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Script error within event 1, map 30 (Battle Factory):
Exception: NoMethodError
Message: (eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'undefined method `pbPrepareRentals' for nil:NilClass
***Full script:
pbBattleChallenge.extra.pbPrepareRentals

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1599:in `eval'
Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1599:in `command_355'
Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:193:in `update'
Interpreter:106:in `loop'
Interpreter:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:103:in `update'
Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Interpreter:276:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1599:in `command_355'
Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:193:in `update'
Interpreter:106:in `loop'
Interpreter:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:103:in `update'
Scene_Map:101:in `loop'
Scene_Map:114:in `update'
Scene_Map:68:in `main'
how do I fix this

The code is
Code:
pbBattleChallenge.extra.pbPrepareRentals
Reply With Quote
  #265    
Old August 8th, 2012 (11:39 AM).
zingzags's Avatar
zingzags zingzags is offline
PokemonGDX creator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston
Age: 21
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 555
Quote originally posted by WarriorOfLight:
The battle factory throws this error as soon as it gets to the time for preparing the rentals

Code:
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Script error within event 1, map 30 (Battle Factory):
Exception: NoMethodError
Message: (eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'undefined method `pbPrepareRentals' for nil:NilClass
***Full script:
pbBattleChallenge.extra.pbPrepareRentals

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1599:in `eval'
Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1599:in `command_355'
Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:193:in `update'
Interpreter:106:in `loop'
Interpreter:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:103:in `update'
Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Interpreter:276:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1599:in `command_355'
Interpreter:494:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:193:in `update'
Interpreter:106:in `loop'
Interpreter:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:103:in `update'
Scene_Map:101:in `loop'
Scene_Map:114:in `update'
Scene_Map:68:in `main'
how do I fix this

The code is
Code:
pbBattleChallenge.extra.pbPrepareRentals
It never worked to begin with, its a known issue though.
__________________
Check out the Pokemon Game Engine I am working on:
https://github.com/sjosegarcia/Pokemon
Reply With Quote
  #266    
Old August 8th, 2012 (04:24 PM). Edited August 10th, 2012 by WarriorOfLight.
WarriorOfLight WarriorOfLight is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by zingzags:
It never worked to begin with, its a known issue though.
I got past the error everyone gets and found out the method used to determine the rentals
Code:
pbBattleFactoryPokemon
causes the game up hang up and it will emergency save
Reply With Quote
  #267    
Old August 11th, 2012 (01:26 PM).
FL's Avatar
FL FL is offline
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,438
def pbDrawTextPositions comments are wrong! The right is:
Code:
#  4 - Base color.
#  5 - Shadow color.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #268    
Old August 11th, 2012 (02:45 PM).
Conan Edogawa's Avatar
Conan Edogawa Conan Edogawa is offline
One Truth Prevails
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,061
So I found out that in playtest as well as regular game play modes, I get this problem on my tileset:

It's only certain tiles on the third layer, any idea why it happens?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #269    
Old August 12th, 2012 (05:07 AM).
FL's Avatar
FL FL is offline
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,438
Shaymin form is wrong. You need to use Gracidea to activates the sky form rather than having it in bag.

Quote originally posted by Conan Edogawa:
So I found out that in playtest as well as regular game play modes, I get this problem on my tileset:

It's only certain tiles on the third layer, any idea why it happens?
Are you using the Custom perspective? If you are, them is probably about tileset priority.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #270    
Old August 12th, 2012 (07:42 PM).
zingzags's Avatar
zingzags zingzags is offline
PokemonGDX creator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston
Age: 21
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 555
Quote originally posted by FL .:
Shaymin form is wrong. You need to use Gracidea to activates the sky form rather than having it in bag.

Are you using the Custom perspective? If you are, them is probably about tileset priority.
That sums it up, I recommend making houses, and trees the highest possible tile set priority, or setting trees to a priority of 4, and make houses 5 (max).
__________________
Check out the Pokemon Game Engine I am working on:
https://github.com/sjosegarcia/Pokemon
Reply With Quote
  #271    
Old August 13th, 2012 (03:46 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is online now
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,152
Quote originally posted by FL .:
Shaymin form is wrong. You need to use Gracidea to activates the sky form rather than having it in bag.
Do you use it on the Pokémon, or just use it like the Coin Case and all appropriate Shaymin will change? I presume you can use it on multiple Shaymin at once.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #272    
Old August 13th, 2012 (01:45 PM).
MC50 MC50 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 20
Iron Fist seems to not work. As in, it stops punching moves from working altogether.

To be sure it wasn't my game, I downloaded the newest version, added a Hitmonchan with Iron Fist to my team, used Sky Uppercut, and nothing happened. No damage, no miss, nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #273    
Old August 14th, 2012 (03:50 AM).
TACHAN TACHAN is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Female
Posts: 170
Quote originally posted by MC50:
Iron Fist seems to not work. As in, it stops punching moves from working altogether.

To be sure it wasn't my game, I downloaded the newest version, added a Hitmonchan with Iron Fist to my team, used Sky Uppercut, and nothing happened. No damage, no miss, nothing.
The same thing happens.

Will mistake be here?:
Quote:
if isConst?(attacker.ability,PBAbilities,:IRONFIST) &&
(thismove.flags&0x200)!=0 # flag j: Is punching move
basedmg=(basedmg*1.2).floor
end
Reply With Quote
  #274    
Old August 14th, 2012 (06:51 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is online now
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,152
Quote originally posted by TACHAN:
The same thing happens.

Will mistake be here?:
Code:
    if isConst?(attacker.ability,PBAbilities,:IRONFIST) &&
       (thismove.flags&0x200)!=0 # flag j: Is punching move
      basedmg=(basedmg*1.2).floor
    end
Yes. The red part should be an @ instead.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #275    
Old August 15th, 2012 (04:00 PM).
Bladethorn's Avatar
Bladethorn Bladethorn is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: U.S.
Gender: Female
Nature: Bold
Posts: 3
I'm not sure if this is a bug... I'm new to using Pokemon Essentials, but I find that in the Outdoor tileset, towards the bottom the buildings and other graphics get mushed together, making it impossible to get a full building. When I tried to use an un-broken building the only graphic that appeared was a single square with a dot of color and a white background.
If I'm doing something wrong could someone let me know, please? Thanks!
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:11 AM.