Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page Bug & Error Reporting for Essentials Version 15.1 (unmodified)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #276    
Old August 18th, 2012 (06:39 PM). Edited August 18th, 2012 by FL.
FL's Avatar
FL FL is offline
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,407
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
Do you use it on the Pokémon, or just use it like the Coin Case and all appropriate Shaymin will change? I presume you can use it on multiple Shaymin at once.
You use it on the Pokémon. I checked in a video. There is also a short gracidea animation.

Quote originally posted by Bladethorn:
I'm not sure if this is a bug... I'm new to using Pokemon Essentials, but I find that in the Outdoor tileset, towards the bottom the buildings and other graphics get mushed together, making it impossible to get a full building. When I tried to use an un-broken building the only graphic that appeared was a single square with a dot of color and a white background.
If I'm doing something wrong could someone let me know, please? Thanks!
It is a RPG Maker XP question. You need to use different layers (F5/F6/F7).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #277    
Old August 19th, 2012 (04:55 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,021
Quote originally posted by FL .:
You use it on the Pokémon. I checked in a video. There is also a short gracidea animation.
Okay. The Gracidea now works in the following way:

It has no effect if used at night, or on a Pokémon which isn't a Shaymin Land Forme, or on a fainted or frozen Pokémon. The Shaymin's Forme changes (without an animation). Skymin reverts back when it becomes night, or when the Skymin becomes frozen or fainted. A Shaymin will never automatically turn back into a Skymin, so the Gracidea must be used on it again.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #278    
Old August 20th, 2012 (08:38 PM).
Narodin's Avatar
Narodin Narodin is offline
Pokémon Agate Version
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 35
I'm having problems whenever I exit the Pokemon Center in my game. I copied the format from the essentials map, and changed the location to correspond with my map. So I'm not sure what could be going wrong, if this is even a bug or just me being horribly inexperienced.

Anyways I get this message whenever I exit the Pokemon Center.

Spoiler:
Exception: SystemStackError
Message: stack level too deep
Game_Character_2:29:in `update_old2'
Walk_Run:92:in `update'
Game_Event_:249:in `update'
Game_Map:336:in `update'
Game_Map:334:in `each'
Game_Map:334:in `update'
Scene_Map:37:in `updateMaps'
Scene_Map:36:in `each'
Scene_Map:36:in `updateMaps'
Scene_Map:84:in `miniupdate'


When I exit it, the animation works fine, and everything seems to be fine, but then my character doesn't show up and the game crashes. I'm sure it's something simple, but if you could help me out that would be great!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #279    
Old August 21st, 2012 (07:14 AM).
Nickalooose Nickalooose is offline
--------------------
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Gender: Female
Posts: 1,129
Quote originally posted by Narodin:
I'm having problems whenever I exit the Pokemon Center in my game. I copied the format from the essentials map, and changed the location to correspond with my map. So I'm not sure what could be going wrong, if this is even a bug or just me being horribly inexperienced.

Anyways I get this message whenever I exit the Pokemon Center.

Spoiler:
Exception: SystemStackError
Message: stack level too deep
Game_Character_2:29:in `update_old2'
Walk_Run:92:in `update'
Game_Event_:249:in `update'
Game_Map:336:in `update'
Game_Map:334:in `each'
Game_Map:334:in `update'
Scene_Map:37:in `updateMaps'
Scene_Map:36:in `each'
Scene_Map:36:in `updateMaps'
Scene_Map:84:in `miniupdate'


When I exit it, the animation works fine, and everything seems to be fine, but then my character doesn't show up and the game crashes. I'm sure it's something simple, but if you could help me out that would be great!

I've seen multiple replies on this being about movements...

You may have a character movement, being blocked... Check your events.

If this isn't the problem then I don't know what is.
Reply With Quote
  #280    
Old August 21st, 2012 (07:43 AM). Edited August 21st, 2012 by AmethystRain.
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
I had an error like that as well. Although I don't know why, or how to fix it, I got around it just by changing the location that the player is teleported to. Strange, though.

Edit: Also strange. I only just now updated to v9, and tried it. Whenever I run in-game, the player sprite does not change to boy_run, but boy_surf instead
Haven't checked if girl character is the same way, that save file is on my other computer
But
Am I the only one this is happening to?
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #281    
Old August 21st, 2012 (08:45 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,021
Quote originally posted by AmethystRain:
Edit: Also strange. I only just now updated to v9, and tried it. Whenever I run in-game, the player sprite does not change to boy_run, but boy_surf instead
Haven't checked if girl character is the same way, that save file is on my other computer
But
Am I the only one this is happening to?
You've used your old metadata.txt (which means this isn't a question about the unmodified version, ahem), which still has a blank entry in the PlayerA lines. I removed that entry in v9. Simple solution: delete one comma of the double commas in each PlayerA line, and recompile.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #282    
Old August 21st, 2012 (08:47 AM).
Narodin's Avatar
Narodin Narodin is offline
Pokémon Agate Version
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 35
I fixed the problem by teleporting the player below the event to get in the Pokemon Center. And then I did set move route and moved the player one step down.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #283    
Old August 21st, 2012 (08:43 PM).
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
About the same as what I did too, Narodin. Glad it worked. c:

And aha... yeah, sorry. ; I just updated the way I usually do. :/ Thanks though!
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #284    
Old August 22nd, 2012 (01:09 AM).
Ramond Hikari's Avatar
Ramond Hikari Ramond Hikari is offline
- Lonely Shooting Star -
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vietnam
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 75
I wonder if there are any limit or sensitive points in animations data that Pokemon Essential can't stand because I've got this error while trying to compile an Animation data like this one, an error pops out and when I replaced the original animation data file, it disappeared.

And here's the error:

Spoiler:

Exception: NoMethodError

Message: undefined method `length' for 47:Fixnum

PBAnimation:336:in `pbConvertRPGAnimation'

Compiler:3999:in `pbCompileAnimations'

Compiler:3987:in `each'

Compiler:3987:in `pbCompileAnimations'

Compiler:4074:in `pbCompileAllData'

Compiler:4170



Thanks.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #285    
Old August 22nd, 2012 (04:44 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,021
Quote originally posted by Ramond Hikari:
I wonder if there are any limit or sensitive points in animations data that Pokemon Essential can't stand because I've got this error while trying to compile an Animation data like this one, an error pops out and when I replaced the original animation data file, it disappeared.

And here's the error:

Spoiler:

Exception: NoMethodError

Message: undefined method `length' for 47:Fixnum

PBAnimation:336:in `pbConvertRPGAnimation'

Compiler:3999:in `pbCompileAnimations'

Compiler:3987:in `each'

Compiler:3987:in `pbCompileAnimations'

Compiler:4074:in `pbCompileAllData'

Compiler:4170



Thanks.
I've seen people throwing that error around previously, but I don't know why it happens. It seems to be related to an animation's effects (sound/flashes) when created in the Database animation editor, but I have no idea why it would muck up in the way the error message implies. I've never had that error myself.

Why not create your animations directly in the Essentials Animation Editor instead?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #286    
Old August 22nd, 2012 (10:01 AM).
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
Opponent's pokemon faints. Prompted to switch?
If you send in a Pokemon with Intimidate, the opponent has not yet sent out their Pokemon, therefore Intimidate does not activate as it should.
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #287    
Old August 23rd, 2012 (01:09 AM).
Ramond Hikari's Avatar
Ramond Hikari Ramond Hikari is offline
- Lonely Shooting Star -
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Vietnam
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 75
Okay, I think I have found the error. It only happens when I try to compile zingzags's animation data of pokemon's emotion in the Pokemon following script! And when I delete those animations, the problem disappear!

That'll explain why there are several people got this problem because now more and more developers are interested by Pokemon follow character script!

Oh, by the way, do you think the problem can be solved by editing it in PE Animation Editor?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #288    
Old August 23rd, 2012 (05:43 AM).
TheMrQuit's Avatar
TheMrQuit TheMrQuit is offline
Egg: It's going to hatch soon!
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Italy
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 18
I found that there are two events in the Intro map:
-the regular one, on the top-left; (in Autorun)
-another one on the bottom-left which does nothing and it's just a piece of the regular one. (with Action button)

It does basically nothing, but i believed at first that it was the right one so i was raging after one hour of trying to move the player location from the test map 2 to my new map. xD

Just delete it.
__________________
This is my signature!

Reply With Quote
  #289    
Old August 23rd, 2012 (06:32 AM).
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
A Pokemon holding a Chesto Berry KO's a Pokemon with Effect Spore. Effect Spore puts the Chesto'd Pokemon to sleep as it dies. Player is prompted to switch. If they choose to do so, Chesto will not activate.

A poisoned Pokemon with Poison Heal displays the recovered health message even at full health
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #290    
Old August 23rd, 2012 (08:04 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,021
Quote originally posted by AmethystRain:
Opponent's pokemon faints. Prompted to switch?
If you send in a Pokemon with Intimidate, the opponent has not yet sent out their Pokemon, therefore Intimidate does not activate as it should.
I feared as much. All those effects need to be made to work the same as Trace/Imposter, which is easy enough, even though it does clutter things up a bit.


Quote originally posted by TheMrQuit:
I found that there are two events in the Intro map:
-the regular one, on the top-left; (in Autorun)
-another one on the bottom-left which does nothing and it's just a piece of the regular one. (with Action button)

It does basically nothing, but i believed at first that it was the right one so i was raging after one hour of trying to move the player location from the test map 2 to my new map. xD

Just delete it.
That's the single most useful debug function there is: it allows the bypassing of Oak's lecture. I'm amazed someone actually didn't realise which event was which.


Quote originally posted by AmethystRain:
A Pokemon holding a Chesto Berry KO's a Pokemon with Effect Spore. Effect Spore puts the Chesto'd Pokemon to sleep as it dies. Player is prompted to switch. If they choose to do so, Chesto will not activate.

A poisoned Pokemon with Poison Heal displays the recovered health message even at full health
Can you check a fix for me? In the Chesto Berry's code in def pbBerryCureCheck, change the while to an if. Also turn the status into self.status. From what I can tell, it should work fine anyway - those code tweaks are just me making sure. The same applies to the similar berries.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #291    
Old August 23rd, 2012 (08:20 AM).
Prof Oakley's Avatar
Prof Oakley Prof Oakley is offline
JourneyofPossibilities Creator
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Imaginary Land
Age: 21
Gender: Female
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 75
Quote originally posted by iLakerz:
I'm not gaining any EXP when I'm using this version.... Is there anyway to fix this?
Has this been fixed yet? I have it too but couldn't find an answer when searching through the thread.
__________________
Check out my other sites/profiles below, I have more hobbies than just pokemon
My official Website, my Etsy Shop (in progress), my Blog, my FB Page
My Website has cosplay, etsy shop, youtube channel, writing, game information, and more.
The blog is the place for where I update in more blog form about those topics and my personal life as well.
~~~
Others
Game Guides on Hubpages, DeviantART, Wattpad (Stories)
Reply With Quote
  #292    
Old August 23rd, 2012 (11:58 PM).
xnicnicx's Avatar
xnicnicx xnicnicx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 29
Whenever I try and run the program, it always comes up with an error saying game.rxproj has an incorrect path
__________________


Dragonite Through the Generations!
Reply With Quote
  #293    
Old August 24th, 2012 (02:03 AM).
Pharetra's Avatar
Pharetra Pharetra is offline
MOM GET THE CAMERA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 453
Quote originally posted by Prof Oakley:
Has this been fixed yet? I have it too but couldn't find an answer when searching through the thread.
Use the pokemon.txt provided in Essentials v9. I had the same problem but using the file of Essentials v9 fixed this problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #294    
Old August 24th, 2012 (10:41 AM).
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
Can you check a fix for me? In the Chesto Berry's code in def pbBerryCureCheck, change the while to an if. Also turn the status into self.status. From what I can tell, it should work fine anyway - those code tweaks are just me making sure. The same applies to the similar berries.
Check something that has a 10% chance of activation? :3
Flame Wheel ALL the Amoonguss!
Countless re-battles against a guy with six mushrooms later:

It works! Chesto now cures sleep before the EXP message displays. It actually finally activated for me on the last mushroom of the battle, so I didn't see the shift message, but since it did display pre-EXP and that comes before Shift, I'm fairly certain it's fine~
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #295    
Old August 24th, 2012 (12:46 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,021
Quote originally posted by AmethystRain:
Check something that has a 10% chance of activation? :3
Flame Wheel ALL the Amoonguss!
Countless re-battles against a guy with six mushrooms later:

It works! Chesto now cures sleep before the EXP message displays. It actually finally activated for me on the last mushroom of the battle, so I didn't see the shift message, but since it did display pre-EXP and that comes before Shift, I'm fairly certain it's fine~
Good stuff. Yes, Essentials does make the status problem heal immediately after inflicting it, which I can only assume is how it's supposed to work. Thanks!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #296    
Old August 25th, 2012 (12:20 PM).
FL's Avatar
FL FL is offline
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,407
I don't know if you consider this as a bug, but in official games, before you get the National Dex, the pokémon species number in summary screen is from the Regional Dex or "???"/blank if the pokémon isn't in Regional Dex. Essentials always shows the National Dex number.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #297    
Old August 25th, 2012 (01:48 PM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,021
Quote originally posted by FL .:
I don't know if you consider this as a bug, but in official games, before you get the National Dex, the pokémon species number in summary screen is from the Regional Dex or "???"/blank if the pokémon isn't in Regional Dex. Essentials always shows the National Dex number.
It's easy in the official games because there's exactly one Regional Dex, and you can't get Pokémon from outside it until gaining the National Dex. However, fan-games can be quite different, which makes a feature like this difficult to implement. It can work iff ("if and only if") the first Regional Dex is used until obtaining the National Dex, but it's easy to make a game where that isn't the case.

There's also the fact that Regional Dexes don't correspond to regions, so using a Regional number based on the map the Pokémon was obtained in can't be done.

One possible option would be to remove that information from the Summary screen, but then there'd be a gap. Another option would be to list the numbers in all unlocked Dexes (e.g. as 025/022/???) while there's no National Dex, but that depends on a very limited number of available Regional Dexes pre-ND.

Of course, there's no issue while there's no or just one Regional Dex.

If you can think up a decent solution, I'll hear it. And please don't spout out "make a Setting for it", because that's your answer to everything. Such a minor feature doesn't need a Setting; it just needs to work.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #298    
Old August 25th, 2012 (06:24 PM).
FL's Avatar
FL FL is offline
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,407
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
It's easy in the official games because there's exactly one Regional Dex, and you can't get Pokémon from outside it until gaining the National Dex. However, fan-games can be quite different, which makes a feature like this difficult to implement. It can work iff ("if and only if") the first Regional Dex is used until obtaining the National Dex, but it's easy to make a game where that isn't the case.

There's also the fact that Regional Dexes don't correspond to regions, so using a Regional number based on the map the Pokémon was obtained in can't be done.

One possible option would be to remove that information from the Summary screen, but then there'd be a gap. Another option would be to list the numbers in all unlocked Dexes (e.g. as 025/022/???) while there's no National Dex, but that depends on a very limited number of available Regional Dexes pre-ND.

Of course, there's no issue while there's no or just one Regional Dex.

If you can think up a decent solution, I'll hear it. And please don't spout out "make a Setting for it", because that's your answer to everything. Such a minor feature doesn't need a Setting; it just needs to work.
The best solution that I can think is to use the last Regional Dex unlocked number (or ???). This is better than leaves the space empty or to shows the National Dex number before picking the National Dex.

I thought on the last dex open, but isn't good because in Essentials you don't switch between the regional modes, instead you choose from a list every time that you open the pokédex (that may be a little impractical in some cases). Maybe you can made a SETTING about this other feature =D. Yes, I agree than some minor features don't need a setting, even because if you put a setting on everything the developer can get lost in too many setting, especially on obscure features. If a developer wish to change minor things, let him to change by himself.

I believe than the most people that uses a Regional Dex uses only one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #299    
Old August 28th, 2012 (06:59 AM).
AmethystRain's Avatar
AmethystRain AmethystRain is offline
Crystaline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Female
Posts: 235
Lumineon used Water Pulse
Trubbish was confused
Trubbish hurt itself in its confusion
((a few turns later))
Lumineon used Water Pulse
Trubbish is already confused
Trubbish snapped out of confusion
Trubbish used blahblahblahwhatever

I have a feeling this isn't limited to Water Pulse. o.o
__________________
With Love, Your Shadow~
Proud owner of Reborn and spearhead of the Pokemon Reborn game~
Reply With Quote
  #300    
Old August 28th, 2012 (07:38 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,021
Quote originally posted by AmethystRain:
Lumineon used Water Pulse
Trubbish was confused
Trubbish hurt itself in its confusion
((a few turns later))
Lumineon used Water Pulse
Trubbish is already confused
Trubbish snapped out of confusion
Trubbish used blahblahblahwhatever

I have a feeling this isn't limited to Water Pulse. o.o
Are you saying that the "is already confused" message shouldn't show up at all when the confusion-inducing is just an additional effect of the move (i.e. rather than the whole point of the move)?

If so, fair enough.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:15 AM.