The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.


Advertise here

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old February 10th, 2012, 03:16 PM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England

Advertise here
Brief testing suggests it was my edit in version 4 that did it (i.e. it wouldn't have occurred in version 3). What I think is the problem is that I didn't consider the zoom factor of the fog when fixing the tiling, which means if the fog is at 200% zoom (as it is by default), then every time you move half the width/height of the displayed fog tile (i.e. the actual width/height of the picture), the fog jumps. If it was 300% zoom it would jump 3 times per width/height of the displayed fog. 100% zoom shouldn't have any problems.

For scrolling fogs, the jumping problem seems to go away after a while, which is unexpected. The jumping also seems to behave differently at map edges.

For the code-minded, the issue is in SpriteWindow, around lines 4780 and 4810.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old February 10th, 2012, 04:53 PM
abnegation's Avatar
abnegation
proudly paired with adventure
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Age: 21
I understand the issue, but I do not want to change anything without undoing what you have done first, so do you have recommendations as to what to change or add here?
__________________
Taking time off from being a Super Moderator on this forum.
I may be back in due course, until then I will be inactive.
Now you're aware.

the internet is full of people who refuse to be nice to others
because they feel that this makes them superior
that's lame
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old February 10th, 2012, 05:23 PM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Lines 4779-4782 (the 4 added lines) and lines 4810-4811 (the 2 while lines) all need some kind of zoom factor in them, to make the changes they apply use the fog's displayed size, not its actual size. Adding in a multiplier of @__sprite.zoom_x (or y) in all cases should work, as far as I can guess. I'd have no other ideas, at least.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old February 10th, 2012, 05:36 PM
Air Lock's Avatar
Air Lock
The Sky High Pokémon
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Skype™ to Air Lock
Even though Maruno can't solve it, I decided to post a VM he VMed me anyway:

"I've heard that something Poccil did broke the Input Button Processing event command, but I don't know what or how to fix it. I can't help."

Upon further experiment, this seems to be correct, as it's present in every post and pre-Maruno changes, so if anyone knows what's going on, that would be good.
__________________
#386 Rayquaza
The Sky High Pokémon


"A Pokémon that flies endlessly in the ozone layer. It is said it would descend to the ground if and
were to fight."

Theme bystuffstuffstuffstuffstuff


Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old February 10th, 2012, 06:03 PM
D. Lawride's Avatar
D. Lawride
Audi Famam Illius, Scriptor!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lusolandia - I kid, Portugal
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Final Destination View Post
Even though Maruno can't solve it, I decided to post a VM he VMed me anyway:

"I've heard that something Poccil did broke the Input Button Processing event command, but I don't know what or how to fix it. I can't help."

Upon further experiment, this seems to be correct, as it's present in every post and pre-Maruno changes, so if anyone knows what's going on, that would be good.
In trying to configure the PDA's scrolling options correctly, I ran into this error too, since pushing up seems to automatically decrease a value in whatever index you're using (like a list); the reverse applies to Down. Left and Right worked perfectly fine though. Dunno if it helps. We tried to look for where this was being configured, but didn't find much about it. Maybe the two are related?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old February 10th, 2012, 06:10 PM
Air Lock's Avatar
Air Lock
The Sky High Pokémon
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via Skype™ to Air Lock
Quote:
Originally Posted by D. Lawride View Post
In trying to configure the PDA's scrolling options correctly, I ran into this error too, since pushing up seems to automatically decrease a value in whatever index you're using (like a list); the reverse applies to Down. Left and Right worked perfectly fine though. Dunno if it helps. We tried to look for where this was being configured, but didn't find much about it. Maybe the two are related?
My problem is that the game always thinks I'm pressing up, when I press any other keys.
The two are probably related though as long as you're using that command :B

I was making a small gender selection scene. I also tried Input.trigger? and the conditional branch (If button is pressed), but this isn't the place to discuss my problems.
__________________
#386 Rayquaza
The Sky High Pokémon


"A Pokémon that flies endlessly in the ozone layer. It is said it would descend to the ground if and
were to fight."

Theme bystuffstuffstuffstuffstuff


Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old February 10th, 2012, 11:01 PM
RaulCortez's Avatar
RaulCortez
The Emblem of Fire
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Panamá, Panamá
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to RaulCortez
Hey everyone!

I'm experiencing an error everytime i try to give a Key Item to the player. I don't really know what it is, i've tried different things but nothing seems to fix it. Here's the error:

Code:
Exception: RuntimeError
Message: Script error within event 7, map 44 (GREENLEAF CAFE):
Exception: NoMethodError
Message: Section094:785:in `pbStoreItem'undefined method `length' for nil:NilClass
***Full script:
Kernel.pbReceiveItem(PBItems::TOWNMAP)
Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
PokemonField:1847:in `pbReceiveItem'
(eval):1:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:787:in `eval'
Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:787:in `command_111'
Interpreter:319:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:193:in `update'
Interpreter:106:in `loop'
Interpreter:198:in `update'

Interpreter:275:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:787:in `command_111'
Interpreter:319:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:193:in `update'
Interpreter:106:in `loop'
Interpreter:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:103:in `update'
Scene_Map:101:in `loop'
Scene_Map:114:in `update'
Scene_Map:68:in `main'
I had a slight idea that it may be related to PokemonBag, on line 785 (That's the place where i found PbStoreItem, at least)

But i've checked there and nothing seems out of place, here's what it says:

Code:
def pbStoreItem(item,qty=1)
    pocket=pbGetPocket(item)
    maxsize=maxPocketSize(pocket)
    maxsize=@pockets[pocket].length+1 if maxsize<0
    return ItemStorageHelper.pbStoreItem(
       @pockets[pocket],maxsize,BAGMAXPERSLOT,item,qty)
   end
end
Any idea of how to fix this?

Thanks!
__________________



Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old February 11th, 2012, 06:43 AM
D. Lawride's Avatar
D. Lawride
Audi Famam Illius, Scriptor!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lusolandia - I kid, Portugal
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Final Destination View Post

My problem is that the game always thinks I'm pressing up, when I press any other keys.
The two are probably related though as long as you're using that command :B

I was making a small gender selection scene. I also tried Input.trigger? and the conditional branch (If button is pressed), but this isn't the place to discuss my problems.
Well, this was done through script, but they're probably the same since the command probably resorts to that function too. I do know that we had to make it through cases so we didn't have to use variables, since Input.trigger? and pressed were constantly screwed up.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old February 11th, 2012, 11:39 AM
FL's Avatar
FL
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkGrey View Post
It has been discussed before, but I thought it was worth putting in this thread so we have some documentation of it:

Battle Tower doesn't return your pokemon.
In PokemonOrgBattleRules, after the first "def pbCancel" put "$Trainer.party=@oldParty if @oldParty!=nil"

But this tower have several others bugs, I am trying to fix the Battle Tower thing and I have made a good progress, when I finish it I will post how to fix.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old February 12th, 2012, 12:55 AM
tolis's Avatar
tolis
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
i downloaded and extracted the kit but it doesn't work...it gives me an error saying something about an invalid path...see the image Click image for larger version

Name:	Snapshot 13.jpg
Views:	34
Size:	80.5 KB
ID:	63342
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old February 12th, 2012, 01:48 PM
tasmania12's Avatar
tasmania12
Dovahkiin, Dragonborn
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pallet Town
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
I did the script code to check if the first pokemon was a bulbasaur in my party, and it gave me this error:


Exception: RuntimeError

Message: Script error within event 3, map 2 (MAP002):

Exception: NoMethodError

Message: (eval)in `pbExecuteScript'undefined method `species' for nil:NilClass

***Full script:

$Trainer.pokemonParty[0].species==PBSpecies::BULBASAUR

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:787:in `eval'

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:787:in `command_111'

Interpreter:319:in `execute_command'

Interpreter:193:in `update'

Interpreter:106:in `loop'

Interpreter:198:in `update'

Scene_Map:103:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `loop'



Interpreter:275:in `pbExecuteScript'

Interpreter:787:in `command_111'

Interpreter:319:in `execute_command'

Interpreter:193:in `update'

Interpreter:106:in `loop'

Interpreter:198:in `update'

Scene_Map:103:in `update'

Scene_Map:101:in `loop'

Scene_Map:114:in `update'

Scene_Map:68:in `main'
__________________

-Groudon-Rayquaza-
Reuniclus-Ho-oh-

-TRIFORCE-

please help me with my problems:
POKEMON ESSENTIALS

help with Missingno ideas:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7068357
Battle Different Form:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=274447
exception to max level for certain species:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=274902
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old February 12th, 2012, 02:22 PM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Did you have any Pokémon in your party at all when you tried it?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old February 12th, 2012, 03:56 PM
tasmania12's Avatar
tasmania12
Dovahkiin, Dragonborn
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Pallet Town
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
I had two pokemon in my party, a charmander and a bulbasaur. I had an event i was testing where i needed a bulbasaur to be first in my party and it gave that error.
__________________

-Groudon-Rayquaza-
Reuniclus-Ho-oh-

-TRIFORCE-

please help me with my problems:
POKEMON ESSENTIALS

help with Missingno ideas:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=7068357
Battle Different Form:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=274447
exception to max level for certain species:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=274902
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old February 14th, 2012, 01:36 AM
help-14's Avatar
help-14
Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Viet Nam
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to help-14
Found a bug: can't take screenshot when pressing F8. When i replace with old script it is working again. Seem like safeExists is not working.
__________________
My Deviantart: help-14.deviantart.com
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old February 14th, 2012, 02:03 AM
D. Lawride's Avatar
D. Lawride
Audi Famam Illius, Scriptor!
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lusolandia - I kid, Portugal
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by help-14 View Post
Found a bug: can't take screenshot when pressing F8. When i replace with old script it is working again. Seem like safeExists is not working.
It also happened by changing the name of the folder/game. in previous releases, both the saves and the screenshots were saved in the game's own folder, wasn't this a little more efficient?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old February 16th, 2012, 04:04 PM
Rezah's Avatar
Rezah
justicykes
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Canada, BC
Age: 20
Gender: Female
If the player is given a move route in an event, they can hold shift/the button for running and run during those movement events, which looks kind of silly and feels unintentional.

Oh, and it crashes my game sometimes.
Quote:
Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `skippable' for nil:NilClass
Game_Character_2:169:in `move_type_custom'
Game_Character_2:23:in `update_old2'
Walk_Run:95:in `update'
Game_Player_:408:in `update_old'
Walk_Run:74:in `update'
Scene_Map:85:in `miniupdate'
Scene_Map:83:in `loop'
Scene_Map:95:in `miniupdate'
PokemonMessages:147:in `pbUpdateSceneMap'
PokemonMessages:1735:in `pbWait'
I tried the exact same move route without holding the run button and it works as intended without crashing.
__________________
>Courtroom Révolutionnaire

Pokémon Tyrian Developer

Hello! Please, drop me a visitor message if you want to chat! I'd love to talk to more people!
avatar credit

Follow me for updates on my game and various other things!
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old February 18th, 2012, 09:47 AM
FL's Avatar
FL
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
I finally finished fixing Battle Tower! I list here the codes alterations, more details you can find on wikia:

In PokeBattle_AI change the line "pbRegisterMove(index,i,false)" to "pbRegisterMove(index,i)"
In PokemonOrgBattle, change "return pbInProgress? && (challenge<0 || @currentChallenge==challenge)" to "return pbInProgress? && (challenge>0 || @currentChallenge==challenge)". In PokemonOrgBattleRules, after the first "def pbCancel" put "$Trainer.party=@oldParty if @oldParty!=nil".
In PokemonOrgBattleRules change the line "adj1=getTheirAdjustment(team2,team1)" to "adj2=getTheirAdjustment(team2,team1)"
In PokemonOrgBattleRules, after "if exp && team1[i].exp!=exp" put the line "team1[i].exp=exp", and after "if exp && team2[i].exp!=exp" put the line "team2[i].exp=exp"
In Show choices in Battle Tower event, put after the "Cancel" lines the "Exit Event Processing".
In PokemonOrgBattle, change "if challenge.wins==1" to "if challenge.decision==1"
In PokemonOrgBattle change line "pbBattleChallenge.setParty(ret)" to "pbBattleChallenge.setParty(ret) if ret!=nil"
In PokemonScreen change line "command=@scene.pbShowCommands(_INTL("Do what with {1}?",pkmn.name),commands)" (the first one) to "command=@scene.pbShowCommands(_INTL("Do what with {1}?",pkmn.name),commands) if pkmn!=nil"
The error of the Battle Tower results event won't display results occurs because of battle tower split for "Level 50" and "Open level", put this event isn't updated. Change the '(0)' on event script to '("towersingle")' to display single level 50 results or to '("towersingleopen")' to display single open level results. To double records change '(1)' on event script to '("towerdouble")' to display double level 50 results or to '("towerdoubleopen")' to display double open level results.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daedalus View Post
If the player is given a move route in an event, they can hold shift/the button for running and run during those movement events, which looks kind of silly and feels unintentional.
I have noticed this even in Poccil versions. Any fix?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old February 18th, 2012, 11:14 AM
Shinypoliwrath's Avatar
Shinypoliwrath
RMXP Noob
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Managed to fix the previous error I was getting by upgrading to the latest version of essentials.

So I tried adding in some new pokémon, but when I go to reposition the sprites using the editor, I get this error come up.
Quote:
Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `width' for nil:NilClass
PokemonSpritePos:62:in `refresh'
PokemonSpritePos:181:in `pbSpecies'
PokemonSpritePos:174:in `loop'
PokemonSpritePos:194:in `pbSpecies'
PokemonSpritePos:300:in `pbStart'
PokemonSpritePos:299:in `loop'
PokemonSpritePos:307:in `pbStart'
EditorMain:236:in `pbEditorMenu'
EditorMain:234:in `pbFadeOutIn'
EditorMain:234:in `pbEditorMenu'
The editor then closes completely.

Also, when I enter battles, the battle screen is completely black, the name frames and text box are the only things that appear.
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old February 19th, 2012, 04:06 PM
IceGod64's Avatar
IceGod64
My imagination.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castelia City
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Using the newest build of essentials (January 28th), if you capture a Pokémon you haven't caught before (So if shows their Pokédex page), this happens:


Notice the background is not appearing.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old February 20th, 2012, 06:03 AM
TACHAN
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Female
Hi!

I have moved all my project to the new version but I have problems:
My Pokemon do not obtain experience. Why? I do not know like correct it

Also when I plant a Berry and touch the key "A":

Quote:
Exception: RuntimeError

Message: Script error within event 6, map 188 (EVENTS):

Exception: TypeError

Message: Section139:380:in `[]'no implicit conversion from nil to integer

***Full script:

pbBerryPlant

Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
Compiler:380:in `[]'
PokemonItems:26:in `pbGetPocket'
PokemonBag:748:in `pbQuantity'
PokemonBerryPlants:333:in `pbBerryPlant'
(eval)in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1592:in `eval'
Interpreter:243:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1592:in `command_355'
Interpreter:493:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:275:in `pbExecuteScript'
Interpreter:1592:in `command_355'
Interpreter:493:in `execute_command'
Interpreter:193:in `update'
Interpreter:106:in `loop'
Interpreter:198:in `update'
Scene_Map:103:in `update'
Scene_Map:101:in `loop'
Scene_Map:114:in `update'
Scene_Map:68:in `main'

Quote:
Originally Posted by IceGod64 View Post
Using the newest build of essentials (January 28th), if you capture a Pokémon you haven't caught before (So if shows their Pokédex page), this happens:


Notice the background is not appearing.
The same thing.

Last edited by TACHAN; February 21st, 2012 at 09:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old February 20th, 2012, 08:09 AM
SkyLink's Avatar
SkyLink
"Mother-of-Pearl" Developer
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
---------------------------
Pokemon Essentials
---------------------------
Exception: NoMethodError
Message: undefined method `*' for nil:NilClass
Game_Character_1:197:in `screen_z'
Sprite_Character:131:in `update_or'
PerspectiveTilemap:430:in `shadow_update'
Shadow:179:in `update'
Sprite_Character:37:in `perspectivetilemap_initialize'
PerspectiveTilemap:424:in `shadow_initialize'
Shadow:152:in `initialize'
Spriteset_Map:167:in `new'
Spriteset_Map:167:in `_animationSprite_initialize'
Spriteset_Map:166:in `each'
From a simple Transfer Player Event.


Compile Data


EDIT:
__________________


Last edited by SkyLink; February 20th, 2012 at 12:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old February 20th, 2012, 04:56 PM
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by IceGod64 View Post
Using the newest build of essentials (January 28th), if you capture a Pokémon you haven't caught before (So if shows their Pokédex page), this happens:


Notice the background is not appearing.
That was a silly mistake on my part. Go into PokemonPokedex, and find def pbStartDexEntryScene. Find the following line and delete the two red letters:

Code:
@sprites["dexentry"].setBitmap("Graphics/Pictures/pokedexentrybg")
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old February 21st, 2012, 09:47 AM
TACHAN
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Gender: Female
Quote:
Originally Posted by TACHAN View Post
Hi!

I have moved all my project to the new version but I have problems:
My Pokemon do not obtain experience. Why? I do not know like correct it

Also when I plant a Berry and touch the key "A":
Already me the planted berries work. It happened because I had the item WALMETPAIL instead of SPRAYDUCK.

But... the error continues happening of not being able to obtain experience.
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old February 22nd, 2012, 09:54 PM
randomguy2476
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
I ran into a strange error with the newest version. It is not something that produces an error message. I'm not sure if it was in any other versions, as this is the first one I downloaded (jan. 28th)


Basically, I've been remaking the Generation I games, and I haven't got far. Anyway, In the route next to viridian city, you can encounter wild Nidoran males and females.

If you switch to a different pokemon when you encounter a wild Nidoran, the Nidoran's attacks will be errr...off time, for the rest of the battle. It will still display the message, such as "Wild Nidoran used peck" or "Wild Nidoran used scratch" but the attack will never play an animation or cause damage, nor will it say that the attack missed.

I have confirmed this happens in multiple locations and when switching to various different Pokemon. It only seems to happen with the Nidorans too. all others seem to work fine so far.

The only thing that seems to break the cycle, other than defeating the Nidoran (rather easy when they can't cause damage), is the random chance of the Nidoran using their other move (growl/leer). These moves connect correctly and seem to break out of the error.


I know this error is obscure and somewhat unimportant, but I have no idea how to fix it, and it is kind of irritating.
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old February 24th, 2012, 02:58 PM
oldsnake90's Avatar
oldsnake90
Creator Pokemon Glacial Freeze
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wisconsin USA
Gender: Male
Send a message via Skype™ to oldsnake90
having trouble with the audio of the battles and the wild battles and sound effects. the volume it too low how do you change it so its normal sound like the out of battle audio?
__________________
V.K. Productions on Facebook

Pokemon Glacial Freeze Project on Facebook
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.