Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development > Pokémon Essentials
Reload this Page [Question] Things are missing in Pokemon Essentials

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Pokémon Essentials All questions and discussion about Pokémon Essentials, the Pokémon game kit for RPG Maker XP, go in here. Also contains links to the latest downloads and the Essentials Wiki.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 3rd, 2012 (01:59 AM).
Gilgomesch Gilgomesch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Hello dear community,
I want to realize my dream and finally create my own pokemon game.
So I've downloaded the latest version of Pokemon Essentials and some things are immediately caught my eye.

It is a pity that there is no addon script which you can switch to full screen and the lack of support for gamepads, which had the RPG Maker originally.

I would be very grateful if someone could help me find a script which you can switch to full screen and you can use a gamepad.
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old February 3rd, 2012 (06:26 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 4,571
If RPG Maker XP has those things originally, then go have a look at the scripts that are part of a brand new RPG Maker XP project. I'm sure they're right there.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old February 3rd, 2012 (09:48 AM).
IceGod64's Avatar
IceGod64 IceGod64 is offline
My imagination.
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Castelia City
Age: 27
Gender: Male
Nature: Naive
Posts: 604
Quote originally posted by Gilgomesch:
Hello dear community,
I want to realize my dream and finally create my own pokemon game.
So I've downloaded the latest version of Pokemon Essentials and some things are immediately caught my eye.

It is a pity that there is no addon script which you can switch to full screen and the lack of support for gamepads, which had the RPG Maker originally.

I would be very grateful if someone could help me find a script which you can switch to full screen and you can use a gamepad.
You CAN go full screen by pressing ALT+ENTER. However, the support is pretty faulty as the screen sets to 64x480 and the game appears at whatever resolution it's set to on the top-left. The borders originally fixed this, but we voted the have them removed to to being ugly.

Admittedly, the lack of controller support has bothered me, if only because there's there's still an option for it in the F1 menu, but logic tells me that's hard coded into the executable, and thus can't be removed. I suppose XPadder would work, just be a bit less convenient.

One thing I don't like is the fact that it displays FPS when you press F2 in playtest/debug mode. I wish it could do it in the real executable.

I liked when it had Wiimote Support, though admittedly I couldn't really use it(I don't have a Bluetooth dongle), so I don't know how well it worked.

EDIT: On an added note, it's nice to see a new member post something in the right section for once.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old February 3rd, 2012 (11:17 PM).
Eternal Dreamer's Avatar
Eternal Dreamer Eternal Dreamer is offline
Dreaming my way to the top!
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 21
Honestly, I was wondering if there was a way to decrease the screen size, in order to boost FPS.
__________________
PLEASE SUPPORT MY PROJECT!
POKEMON: ETERNAL DIVIDE



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Project start date: 1/27/12
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old February 4th, 2012 (02:30 AM).
Awkward Squirtle Awkward Squirtle is offline
,@,e .ºoO
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 110
Decreasing the screen size isn't going to boost your FPS by a noticeable amount. Essentials' screen size is already too small (which is why I'm fully behind Maruno's decision to increase it for the next release).
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old February 5th, 2012 (03:32 AM). Edited February 5th, 2012 by Gilgomesch.
Gilgomesch Gilgomesch is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Quote originally posted by Maruno:
If RPG Maker XP has those things originally, then go have a look at the scripts that are part of a brand new RPG Maker XP project. I'm sure they're right there.
The problem is that the methods of the original scripts were rewritten in Essentials. My programming skills are unfortunately not good, so I asked for help.

Quote originally posted by IceGod64:
You CAN go full screen by pressing ALT+ENTER. However, the support is pretty faulty as the screen sets to 64x480 and the game appears at whatever resolution it's set to on the top-left. The borders originally fixed this, but we voted the have them removed to to being ugly.

Admittedly, the lack of controller support has bothered me, if only because there's there's still an option for it in the F1 menu, but logic tells me that's hard coded into the executable, and thus can't be removed. I suppose XPadder would work, just be a bit less convenient.

One thing I don't like is the fact that it displays FPS when you press F2 in playtest/debug mode. I wish it could do it in the real executable.

I liked when it had Wiimote Support, though admittedly I couldn't really use it(I don't have a Bluetooth dongle), so I don't know how well it worked.

EDIT: On an added note, it's nice to see a new member post something in the right section for once.
It was not that hard to find the correct thread.

Xpadder could be a possibility, I'll try it. It would be nice if it is built right in the starter kit.
Is there a link for the full screen option? It's true that it does not look good when enlarged to much, but just to have a 640x480 window is a bit small.

Thank you for your help.

Edit: I found a tutorial on pokemonessentials.wikia, the fullscreen problem is solved.
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old February 5th, 2012 (07:31 AM).
FL's Avatar
FL FL is offline
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,482
For gamepad I recommend the program JoyToKey that mapped a gamepad for a keyboard
In the Alt+Enter option, someone knows how to make this command also put black bars (like a youtube video) on widescreen monitors?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:15 AM.