Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Spiky's DS Map Editor

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #251    
Old December 12th, 2012 (04:04 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by PokémonShinySilver:
Yep, someone really ought to try out this tool on a freshly installed Windows operating system, 'cause I've used this tool on every single computer, no matter which computer I use it on... the headers still won't save.
  1. I open up my Pokémon Platinum ROM with SDSME150
  2. I change the weather value to "12" on Twinleaf Town (T01)
  3. I've clicked on "Save Header Data"
  4. Then I click "Save ROM"
  5. I save the ROM as "header-test"
  6. Then I close SDSME and reopen it again
  7. Then I open up the ROM that I've changed

And guess what? Nothing's changed at all, it's still exactly the same. xD

Am I the only one that is having this problem? If I am the only one on Earth that is having this issue... then why is it only happening to me?! o.o
Yep, looks like a bug...(unless Spiky didn't know about it)(needs FIX)

Pike15: You need to export with textures by the 3DView on Spiky's tool.
Then import it on Sketchup and click no to triangulate polygons/and yes to flip xyz.
Also click dont ignore materials.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #252    
Old December 12th, 2012 (04:23 PM).
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15 Pike15 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
Yep, looks like a bug...(unless Spiky didn't know about it)(needs FIX)

Pike15: You need to export with textures by the 3DView on Spiky's tool.
Then import it on Sketchup and click no to triangulate polygons/and yes to flip xyz.
Also click dont ignore materials.
i can see the map the only i wonder now is how do i convert the file i edit so i can import it to a rom??
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeding 350px height limit
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #253    
Old December 12th, 2012 (04:58 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by Pike15:
i can see the map the only i wonder now is how do i convert the file i edit so i can import it to a rom??
If you have the obj file then just import them into 3DS Max 6 or Maya 7.(they need nintendo plugins)
There is a thread by PokeShinySilver about how to convert the files....

Also if anyone fiqured out how to use the nintendo plugins on 3DS Max 8 please tell me I'm still on 3DS MAX 6 which is annoying...
Or If you have a cracked version of Maya 7 please send it to me..
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #254    
Old December 12th, 2012 (06:29 PM). Edited December 12th, 2012 by Team Fail.
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
Dragon at heart
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 9,615
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
If you have the obj file then just import them into 3DS Max 6 or Maya 7.(they need nintendo plugins)
There is a thread by PokeShinySilver about how to convert the files....

Also if anyone fiqured out how to use the nintendo plugins on 3DS Max 8 please tell me I'm still on 3DS MAX 6 which is annoying...
Or If you have a cracked version of Maya 7 please send it to me..
I don't think the plugins are compatible with 3DS Max 8, if memory serves.

As well, it doesn't really matter what program you export your model from - All IMD files are the same in the end. All that would be different is the editing interface the program uses.

Quote originally posted by Pike15:
When i import a obj file to blender i only get a white map why?? And why can i not see objects in sketchup??
Blender won't view the textures, I don't think. And as for objects, houses and whatnot will not be exported as they're separate from the map model.
__________________
| | | | |
PM | VM



Do the best with whatever you can today.
Then tomorrow, you will have surely progressed.


The Legend of Legacy - Main Battle Theme
Reply With Quote
  #255    
Old December 13th, 2012 (12:53 AM).
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15 Pike15 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
If you have the obj file then just import them into 3DS Max 6 or Maya 7.(they need nintendo plugins)
There is a thread by PokeShinySilver about how to convert the files....

Also if anyone fiqured out how to use the nintendo plugins on 3DS Max 8 please tell me I'm still on 3DS MAX 6 which is annoying...
Or If you have a cracked version of Maya 7 please send it to me..
Do you know how to edit buildings???
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeding 350px height limit
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #256    
Old December 13th, 2012 (09:18 AM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by Team Fail:
I don't think the plugins are compatible with 3DS Max 8, if memory serves.

As well, it doesn't really matter what program you export your model from - All IMD files are the same in the end. All that would be different is the editing interface the program uses.



Blender won't view the textures, I don't think. And as for objects, houses and whatnot will not be exported as they're separate from the map model.
I've finally converted my imd files but it gets warnings for truncated files and when I import them to Spiky's Editor it just shows part of the map with colored textures.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #257    
Old December 13th, 2012 (09:54 AM).
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15 Pike15 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
I've finally converted my imd files but it gets warnings for truncated files and when I import them to Spiky's Editor it just shows part of the map with colored textures.
How did you do that?? And do you know how to insert new buildings into diamond??
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeding 350px height limit
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #258    
Old December 13th, 2012 (03:41 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by Pike15:
How did you do that?? And do you know how to insert new buildings into diamond??
IDK about that I just get texture fail for each new building i add.

on 3DS Max 6 sucks my edited map won't load trees/ but only colored textures...
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #259    
Old December 13th, 2012 (04:04 PM).
Pike15's Avatar
Pike15 Pike15 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 168
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
IDK about that I just get texture fail for each new building i add.

on 3DS Max 6 sucks my edited map won't load trees/ but only colored textures...
that sucks. Have you succesfully imported any map?? And are you working on rse remake and if so. How far have you came
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeding 350px height limit
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #260    
Old December 14th, 2012 (01:32 AM).
gatarda gatarda is offline
Half-PokéGod
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to gatarda
Is it also possible to IMPORT them as .PNG?
__________________
The ones who still ask what they know, just go walk long on a short pier!
Reply With Quote
  #261    
Old December 14th, 2012 (01:21 PM).
XxBestOnXx's Avatar
XxBestOnXx XxBestOnXx is offline
NDS Hacker/ Youtube Graphic
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Italy, Piemonte
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 8
Quote originally posted by gatarda:
Is it also possible to IMPORT them as .PNG?
Yes, use MKDS, extract the map with "Export 3d model" in Spiky's Ds map and open it with MKDS
after do right click and Show textures... done!

P.S= Spiky can you in the next version deepen the event editor?
In wich map, the warps in wich place ecc...
Also the overworlds
Please =)
Ah, can you do the tools that edit the texture in the place?

Bye,
XxBestOnXx
Reply With Quote
  #262    
Old December 17th, 2012 (04:18 AM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by XxBestOnXx:
Yes, use MKDS, extract the map with "Export 3d model" in Spiky's Ds map and open it with MKDS
after do right click and Show textures... done!

P.S= Spiky can you in the next version deepen the event editor?
In wich map, the warps in wich place ecc...
Also the overworlds
Please =)
Ah, can you do the tools that edit the texture in the place?

Bye,
XxBestOnXx

I'd love to have an event editor that has the names of the event.
Time will come, we just have to wait for Spiky's Suprises!

-Oh BTW I imported a map but this is what I get:
An part of the the map but too big so you can see everything dark, there is texture but there are no trees-like textures. it looks 2d?
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #263    
Old December 17th, 2012 (11:32 AM). Edited December 17th, 2012 by gatarda.
gatarda gatarda is offline
Half-PokéGod
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to gatarda
Quote originally posted by Spiky-Eared Pichu:
It means you can edit models in Blender, yes. Or in any other program that supports OBJ models. However, converting them back to the NDS format is the hard part, and for now you'll be forced to use Nintendo-made plugins.
Where can you find the Nintendo plugins, I have already Googled it.

PS: I am YORAMRW from YouTube.

Quote originally posted by XxBestOnXx:
Yes, use MKDS, extract the map with "Export 3d model" in Spiky's Ds map and open it with MKDS
after do right click and Show textures... done!

P.S= Spiky can you in the next version deepen the event editor?
In wich map, the warps in wich place ecc...
Also the overworlds
Please =)
Ah, can you do the tools that edit the texture in the place?

Bye,
XxBestOnXx
======== Thanks! ========
Reply With Quote
  #264    
Old December 17th, 2012 (12:55 PM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
Dragon at heart
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 9,615
Quote originally posted by gatarda:
Where can you find the Nintendo plugins, I have already Googled it.

PS: I am YORAMRW from YouTube.
You'll have to look harder. We can't say anything besides looking more on Google.
__________________
| | | | |
PM | VM



Do the best with whatever you can today.
Then tomorrow, you will have surely progressed.


The Legend of Legacy - Main Battle Theme
Reply With Quote
  #265    
Old December 18th, 2012 (04:46 PM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,508
The issue with SDSME that makes it impossible to save... seems to be the same kind of issue that I get from trying to save the changes on PPTXT. Obviously it happens on any freshly installed Windows operating system, I kind of wonder if it has something to do with not putting the .dll files into the system32 folder? Well I can always try it out and see if that makes any difference with the program.

But still... that saving issue is very weird, it makes me wonder... how come is there people that are able to save the changes on the program? Am I really the only one that is having this problem?
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #266    
Old December 18th, 2012 (08:16 PM).
Kaphotics Kaphotics is offline
♥ Quick Claw Guillotine ♥
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by PokémonShinySilver:
The issue with SDSME that makes it impossible to save... seems to be the same kind of issue that I get from trying to save the changes on PPTXT. Obviously it happens on any freshly installed Windows operating system, I kind of wonder if it has something to do with not putting the .dll files into the system32 folder? Well I can always try it out and see if that makes any difference with the program.

But still... that saving issue is very weird, it makes me wonder... how come is there people that are able to save the changes on the program? Am I really the only one that is having this problem?
I've noticed that PPTXT doesn't save changes if you add lines, because it's not programmed to add lines.

The structure of the text file contains a header which PPTXT won't edit to add more text lines. I've had success with editing currently existing lines with PPTXT (and I show how I do edits in my basic B2W2 script tutorial video)

You shouldn't need to put the .dll's in system32, they can be in the same folder the program is running from (and the program will be able to use them there). I don't know what you're editing so I can't help you in regards to that :}
Reply With Quote
  #267    
Old December 21st, 2012 (02:23 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Is there a tutorial about how to import building objects with correct tilesets?
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #268    
Old December 23rd, 2012 (10:04 AM).
Spiky-Eared Pichu's Avatar
Spiky-Eared Pichu Spiky-Eared Pichu is offline
NDS Hacker/Researcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 253
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Spiky-Eared Pichu Send a message via Skype™ to Spiky-Eared Pichu
I have a small update for you. I've added a "2D Mode" to the 3D renderer so you can see how the map looks from the top, just like with the move permissions. I may use it as a background for the permission and building editors, but I can't right now because I have some issues with alpha channel. This is how it looks like:

__________________
"Hacking has no limits. Don't try anything, DO IT!"

Jump into DS hacking with SDSME!


Beta 2 available!!


Reply With Quote
  #269    
Old December 23rd, 2012 (10:11 AM).
xalien95's Avatar
xalien95 xalien95 is offline
Creator of Pkmn Omicron [ITA]
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy, Monopoly
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Posts: 76
Send a message via Skype™ to xalien95
Awesome! When the download? Can't wait! :3
Reply With Quote
  #270    
Old December 25th, 2012 (06:04 AM).
Cubera Cubera is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 12
wow cant wait for release
Reply With Quote
  #271    
Old December 27th, 2012 (02:04 PM).
gatarda gatarda is offline
Half-PokéGod
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to gatarda
I can't wait until Spiky's DS Map Editor 1.6.0!
__________________
The ones who still ask what they know, just go walk long on a short pier!
Reply With Quote
  #272    
Old December 29th, 2012 (01:38 AM).
gatarda gatarda is offline
Half-PokéGod
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to gatarda
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
Yep, looks like a bug...(unless Spiky didn't know about it)(needs FIX)

Pike15: You need to export with textures by the 3DView on Spiky's tool.
Then import it on Sketchup and click no to triangulate polygons/and yes to flip xyz.
Also click dont ignore materials.
I have the same problem with the camera:
I changed the camera angle to 14 (Little Dwarfs In A World Of Giants), I saved, loaded the ROM, nothin' happened. I hope Spiky read this, because its a really annoying bug.
__________________
The ones who still ask what they know, just go walk long on a short pier!
Reply With Quote
  #273    
Old December 29th, 2012 (08:52 AM).
Spiky-Eared Pichu's Avatar
Spiky-Eared Pichu Spiky-Eared Pichu is offline
NDS Hacker/Researcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 253
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Spiky-Eared Pichu Send a message via Skype™ to Spiky-Eared Pichu
Quote originally posted by gatarda:
I have the same problem with the camera:
I changed the camera angle to 14 (Little Dwarfs In A World Of Giants), I saved, loaded the ROM, nothin' happened. I hope Spiky read this, because its a really annoying bug.
Does the ROM save correctly? I mean, if you edit maps or matrices, are they saved? It's important to know because I've been messing around with the ROM saving code, and it looks like it isn't fixed, so maybe there's a bug in the header saving code.
__________________
"Hacking has no limits. Don't try anything, DO IT!"

Jump into DS hacking with SDSME!


Beta 2 available!!


Reply With Quote
  #274    
Old December 29th, 2012 (09:33 AM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by Spiky-Eared Pichu:
Does the ROM save correctly? I mean, if you edit maps or matrices, are they saved? It's important to know because I've been messing around with the ROM saving code, and it looks like it isn't fixed, so maybe there's a bug in the header saving code.

The saving is okay I think, because mines didn't save when I clicked saved, but when I waited after saving it saved correctly.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #275    
Old December 29th, 2012 (12:35 PM).
gatarda gatarda is offline
Half-PokéGod
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 46
Send a message via Yahoo to gatarda
Quote originally posted by XxBestOnXx:
Yes, use MKDS, extract the map with "Export 3d model" in Spiky's Ds map and open it with MKDS
after do right click and Show textures... done!

P.S= Spiky can you in the next version deepen the event editor?
In wich map, the warps in wich place ecc...
Also the overworlds
Please =)
Ah, can you do the tools that edit the texture in the place?

Bye,
XxBestOnXx
Thanks! I already have discovered this!
__________________
The ones who still ask what they know, just go walk long on a short pier!
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:45 PM.