Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Spiky's DS Map Editor (NOW OPEN-SOURCE)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #501    
Old July 10th, 2013 (05:48 AM).
Platinum Lucario's Avatar
Platinum Lucario Platinum Lucario is offline
The Legendary Master of Light!
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Warrnambool, Victoria, Australia.
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 1,523
Quote originally posted by VERGUNDAI:
It would be awesome if the 3d modelling was possible, but the time it would take to develop a program would take a while. I'm looking at the 4th gen tools, plus the mkds editor, there is a possibility that one can put them all into one tool. Just like a ToolBox or something....
My best solution to 3D modeling to importing into the game would be using Autodesk 3ds Max 2010 plugin which comes with the 2010 Nitro SDK, which will be coming to a torrent site near you. ;)

That would make things a lot more easier to importing models into SDSME or even editing models in Autodesk 3ds Max 2010. But once I upload it online, I won't be able to post the link here since it's against the rules of the forum to do so. So Google will be your best friend for it. ;)

Even so, it would be nice to see a tool that could edit NSBMD, but expect some bugs if it is released though, which would eventually be fixed upon being discovered. ^^
__________________
[Platinum Lucario's Signature]
Researching the NDS ROMs...

sure does feel like a brand new adventure!

I'm gradually learning to use Microsoft Visual Studio!

Always focus on the present, best thing to do! Never look back into the past and never worry about anything bad of the future!
Reply With Quote
  #502    
Old July 12th, 2013 (11:50 AM).
Hacker Bisharp's Avatar
Hacker Bisharp Hacker Bisharp is offline
Bug reporter
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 334
Quote originally posted by Spiky-Eared Pichu:
SDSME 1.9.0 will introduce a (once again) redesigned tileset editor, but that this time it will actually EDIT things. You'll be able to edit palettes and textures without MKDS, and also change some interesting settings that weren't previously available anywhere (transparency and texture flipping). Here's what it looks like (not finished, there are lots of features to add yet):

This seems a wonderful addition, keep it up!
__________________
Hacks I support:

And i'm a good bug reporter. Contact me if you want :D

Reply With Quote
  #503    
Old July 13th, 2013 (04:40 AM).
Mr.Kane Mr.Kane is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 18
Such a good tool, I was wondering as the thread is now closed. Are you still working on dark diamond at all?
Reply With Quote
  #504    
Old July 13th, 2013 (07:17 AM).
Spiky-Eared Pichu's Avatar
Spiky-Eared Pichu Spiky-Eared Pichu is offline
NDS Hacker/Researcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 257
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Spiky-Eared Pichu Send a message via Skype™ to Spiky-Eared Pichu
Quote originally posted by Mr.Kane:
Such a good tool, I was wondering as the thread is now closed. Are you still working on dark diamond at all?
To be honest, I haven't touched DarkDiamond at all since I begun working on SDSME last year. I would like to finish it or at least fix the bugs, but it will be hard for that to happen because I don't have enough time to work on everything. I know there's plenty of time now in the summer, but I have other personal projects such as studying Kanji or writing a book that combined with SDSME fill my time.

I began Pokémon DarkDiamond with the word "innovation" in mind. NDS hacking was pretty much unknown at the time, specially mapping, so I tried to make a hack that proved that everything was possible on NDS too. You could say I wanted to impress and try to motivate people to begin experimenting on NDS. However, I had to do most of the work by hex, and that rather limited the hack. I was able to control what I wanted, but it took days of work to do simple things. I had always dreamt of a tool with map support, and it was the time of DS Map Graphics Editor and NPRE, but what I was doing by hex couldn't be done with them. So I thought: I could try myself!

Thanks to my amazing friend Arc, who taught me C# programming, I was able to create Pokémon Gen IV Map Converter. It was very basic, but hours were reduced to minutes with it. People became interested in it, and soon people were asking about section editors. I started them, but I felt like that tool wasn't big enough for them. So I thought in other ways to edit, and SDSME was born.

In conclusion, I know there are many people who are very interested in Pokémon DarkDiamond, but it doesn't make sense anymore. Pokémon DarkDiamond showed what was possible with NDS hacking, but it was nothing but a showcase. You just play it. With SDSME you can create, which is what really interests people and makes hacking alive. I hope you understand.

Sorry if this post became too long, I just felt like everything needed a proper explanation
__________________
"Hacking has no limits. Don't try anything, DO IT!"

Jump into DS hacking with SDSME!


Beta 2 available!!


Reply With Quote
  #505    
Old July 17th, 2013 (05:42 PM).
Tigerkit300 Tigerkit300 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 33
Is their a tutorial on how to use this, especially the wild pokemon editor? Also, the header data? I'm a bit of a noob...
__________________




Reply With Quote
  #506    
Old July 18th, 2013 (12:36 PM).
abumokaas abumokaas is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
so, i have NO idea how this works. please upload the tutorial as soon as possible, i cant even replace one tile, thats how afwul i am at hacking
Reply With Quote
  #507    
Old July 18th, 2013 (10:54 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by abumokaas:
so, i have NO idea how this works. please upload the tutorial as soon as possible, i cant even replace one tile, thats how afwul i am at hacking
You need a 3D Program to edit the map. But first when you have to export the 3D Models in obj format.
Trfindo De Voltage have a tutorial on his Youtube channel, and if I remember, he has a tutorial on here too. It's called Pokemon Diamond Map Editing or something.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #508    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (04:28 AM).
BlacknYellowHD's Avatar
BlacknYellowHD BlacknYellowHD is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 20
I love your program.
I played around a bit with it. I hope there will be for example a remake of Flora Sky or smth. like that, that would be cool. I am noticing that I start every sentence with 'I', that sucks lol.
Reply With Quote
  #509    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (11:05 AM).
Arctic Eagle's Avatar
Arctic Eagle Arctic Eagle is offline
Pokemon Trainer
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Bark Town
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 12
Send a message via Skype™ to Arctic Eagle
Um, I started up the program and loaded a Pokemon Black rom and it started loading and it froze up and I had to force close to do any thing.

What can I do to prevent this from happening?
I really want to edit Pokemon Black.
__________________
I am Arctus Platner, and I might not have a single clue of what I am doing, but as long as it gets finished, it will be fine!
Reply With Quote
  #510    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (12:45 PM).
VERGUNDAI's Avatar
VERGUNDAI VERGUNDAI is offline
RomHacker, Unity 3D Maker
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pokemon Universe :)
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 109
Quote originally posted by BlacknYellowHD:
I love your program.
I played around a bit with it. I hope there will be for example a remake of Flora Sky or smth. like that, that would be cool. I am noticing that I start every sentence with 'I', that sucks lol.
It would be nice to see some romhack remakes in 3D. I believe someone is already testing a Pokemon Lightplatinum remake.
__________________
Vergundai_ace_gailon
Reply With Quote
  #511    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (05:23 AM).
Magius's Avatar
Magius Magius is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 26
Posts: 76
I am having a problem, I am not sure if it because i made a mistake or what, but basically i added new areas to matrix 0 and have a warp script to warp me in and out of the new map, but if i save my game in the new map and start it up again it seems like the game is not loading the map header.

here is example video.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFQE_paZjBE
Reply With Quote
  #512    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (06:14 AM).
Spiky-Eared Pichu's Avatar
Spiky-Eared Pichu Spiky-Eared Pichu is offline
NDS Hacker/Researcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 257
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Spiky-Eared Pichu Send a message via Skype™ to Spiky-Eared Pichu
Quote originally posted by Magius:
I am having a problem, I am not sure if it because i made a mistake or what, but basically i added new areas to matrix 0 and have a warp script to warp me in and out of the new map, but if i save my game in the new map and start it up again it seems like the game is not loading the map header.

here is example video.
www.youtube.com/watch?v=KFQE_paZjBE
That's strange, it should be working. I have B2W2 scripts unfinished but once I finished them I will take a look at the warping commands. If you added both the header and the map in the matrix there shouldn't be any problem, which is why the game works fine when warping. But I guess it checks something else when loading the game, the game doesn't find it for the new map and doesn't load the header. I wonder what it is...
__________________
"Hacking has no limits. Don't try anything, DO IT!"

Jump into DS hacking with SDSME!


Beta 2 available!!


Reply With Quote
  #513    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (03:07 PM).
Kaphotics Kaphotics is offline
♥ Quick Claw Guillotine ♥
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 22
It might just be whatever warp command that was used ~ there's multiple ones. If I had to guess, that particular warp command might not do mapchanging completely... maybe the command Magius used for tempwarps like Memory Link Flashbacks.

If you were to warp (with the same command used) to an unedited map instead, does this problem still happen?

(also might want to see what matrix is loaded when you reboot too )
Reply With Quote
  #514    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (08:31 PM).
Magius's Avatar
Magius Magius is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 26
Posts: 76
Here is the script, it works find if I port to a already used map. and my map works find if I give it an already used header. it just not liking headers > 614 even if i clone another header to it it still fails to load it.
Code:
2E 00                                            //LockAll;
AB 00 3F 00 00 00                           //PlayCry, Pokemon 63, Forme 0;
AC 01                                           //FadeToBlack;
AC 00                                           //WaitCry;
C4 00 67 02 21 00 00 00 20 00 02 00 //WarpMapXZYF, Map 615, X 33, Z 0, Y 32, Face 2;
AB 01                                           //FadeFromBlack;
2F 00                                           //UnlockAll;
02 00                                           //End;
Reply With Quote
  #515    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (09:07 PM). Edited July 23rd, 2013 by Bond697.
Bond697 Bond697 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender:
Posts: 28
Quote originally posted by Magius:
Here is the script, it works find if I port to a already used map. and my map works find if I give it an already used header. it just not liking headers > 614 even if i clone another header to it it still fails to load it.
Code:
2E 00                                            //LockAll;
AB 00 3F 00 00 00                           //PlayCry, Pokemon 63, Forme 0;
AC 01                                           //FadeToBlack;
AC 00                                           //WaitCry;
C4 00 67 02 21 00 00 00 20 00 02 00 //WarpMapXZYF, Map 615, X 33, Z 0, Y 32, Face 2;
AB 01                                           //FadeFromBlack;
2F 00                                           //UnlockAll;
02 00                                           //End;
could you send me a patch that will produce this same issue? ideally in white 2. i'd like to poke at it a little bit. e: also, what does "doesn't like it" mean exactly?
Reply With Quote
  #516    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (10:11 PM).
Magius's Avatar
Magius Magius is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 26
Posts: 76
http://www.mediafire.com/?3jxl2xd4alwe2w4

I get almost the same effect if i load the save in a clean rom, minus the existence of the actual map.
I am thinking the game was design to not attempt to load map headers over 614 since there was only 614 available. i would guess cause they expect save editing would happen and didn't want any unwanted result of the game trying to load a map header that didn't exist.

Reply With Quote
  #517    
Old July 24th, 2013 (12:21 AM). Edited July 24th, 2013 by Spiky-Eared Pichu.
Spiky-Eared Pichu's Avatar
Spiky-Eared Pichu Spiky-Eared Pichu is offline
NDS Hacker/Researcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 257
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Spiky-Eared Pichu Send a message via Skype™ to Spiky-Eared Pichu
Quote originally posted by Magius:
http://www.mediafire.com/?3jxl2xd4alwe2w4

I get almost the same effect if i load the save in a clean rom, minus the existence of the actual map.
I am thinking the game was design to not attempt to load map headers over 614 since there was only 614 available. i would guess cause they expect save editing would happen and didn't want any unwanted result of the game trying to load a map header that didn't exist.

That means there's a value in a binary file somewhere in the game that controls the header number. I thought Gen V headers would be easy to expand, but it looks like we have the same problem we had in Gen IV. If I ever find that value, I will make sure SDSME edits it when adding and removing headers.

EDIT: I've spend the whole day looking for the bytes that control that with no luck. The function that loads the header data is in the arm9.bin, and I have found the file loading code, but there's no reference to the amount of headers available. I have also frozen values in the RAM while playing the game and tried to reset to check if I had managed to edit the value, but couldn't find anything either. Until the bytes are found, I have disabled the two buttons in the Gen V header editor in SDSME.
__________________
"Hacking has no limits. Don't try anything, DO IT!"

Jump into DS hacking with SDSME!


Beta 2 available!!


Reply With Quote
  #518    
Old July 25th, 2013 (08:26 AM). Edited July 25th, 2013 by Bond697.
Bond697 Bond697 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Gender:
Posts: 28
Quote originally posted by Spiky-Eared Pichu:
That means there's a value in a binary file somewhere in the game that controls the header number. I thought Gen V headers would be easy to expand, but it looks like we have the same problem we had in Gen IV. If I ever find that value, I will make sure SDSME edits it when adding and removing headers.

EDIT: I've spend the whole day looking for the bytes that control that with no luck. The function that loads the header data is in the arm9.bin, and I have found the file loading code, but there's no reference to the amount of headers available. I have also frozen values in the RAM while playing the game and tried to reset to check if I had managed to edit the value, but couldn't find anything either. Until the bytes are found, I have disabled the two buttons in the Gen V header editor in SDSME.
what's the address of the function that loads the header data? and the file loading code? i have virtually all the file-loading code labeled, but knowing which one it is beforehand would be nice.

e:

lol, already had it labelled:

Spoiler:




kazo, try going to 0x1478C in the arm9 and increasing that 0x00000267.

e2: nvm, it works
Reply With Quote
  #519    
Old July 25th, 2013 (10:38 AM).
LeviTrueblade LeviTrueblade is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Spiky, I'm pretty new to ROMhacking, so bare with me please;
I'm trying to edit text, ANY text, and with your program, whenever I do, and load up the ROM, it freezes on the next scene transition.

At first, I tried to edit the text to not show the opponent's next pkmn (so it's always a blind switch if you switch), and that caused freezing.

So I put it back the way it was, tested, all was well.

I then tried to edit Juniper's opening statements by just /one word/ and the same thing happened.

Is the program still buggy/unfinished or am I screwing up something so bad I don't even know it?
Reply With Quote
  #520    
Old July 25th, 2013 (11:37 AM).
Spiky-Eared Pichu's Avatar
Spiky-Eared Pichu Spiky-Eared Pichu is offline
NDS Hacker/Researcher
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Barcelona, Spain
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 257
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Spiky-Eared Pichu Send a message via Skype™ to Spiky-Eared Pichu
Quote originally posted by LeviTrueblade:
Spiky, I'm pretty new to ROMhacking, so bare with me please;
I'm trying to edit text, ANY text, and with your program, whenever I do, and load up the ROM, it freezes on the next scene transition.

At first, I tried to edit the text to not show the opponent's next pkmn (so it's always a blind switch if you switch), and that caused freezing.

So I put it back the way it was, tested, all was well.

I then tried to edit Juniper's opening statements by just /one word/ and the same thing happened.

Is the program still buggy/unfinished or am I screwing up something so bad I don't even know it?
I think the problem you have is that you're using save states. When hacking games data moves around and changes, so loading a save state is useless because the emulator expects to find some data and it can't find it. It's not a problem with the text editor, SDSME works fine
__________________
"Hacking has no limits. Don't try anything, DO IT!"

Jump into DS hacking with SDSME!


Beta 2 available!!


Reply With Quote
  #521    
Old July 25th, 2013 (12:09 PM).
Magius's Avatar
Magius Magius is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Age: 26
Posts: 76
Quote originally posted by Bond697:
what's the address of the function that loads the header data? and the file loading code? i have virtually all the file-loading code labeled, but knowing which one it is beforehand would be nice.

e:

lol, already had it labelled:

Spoiler:




kazo, try going to 0x1478C in the arm9 and increasing that 0x00000267.

e2: nvm, it works
thanks man.

for anyone try this quick fix untill th program is updated its the adress in the uncompressed arm9 binary, and also in b2 its at 0x14774 if anyone needed it.
Reply With Quote
  #522    
Old July 25th, 2013 (12:40 PM).
LeviTrueblade LeviTrueblade is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by Spiky-Eared Pichu:
I think the problem you have is that you're using save states. When hacking games data moves around and changes, so loading a save state is useless because the emulator expects to find some data and it can't find it. It's not a problem with the text editor, SDSME works fine
I am utterly ashamed that I couldn't think of that being the issue.
Thank you for putting up with my foolishness.
On a related note, it wouldn't make a difference if it was an already-hacked rom, IE: VoltWhite2, would it?
Reply With Quote
  #523    
Old July 25th, 2013 (02:33 PM).
Kaphotics Kaphotics is offline
♥ Quick Claw Guillotine ♥
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by LeviTrueblade:
On a related note, it wouldn't make a difference if it was an already-hacked rom, IE: VoltWhite2, would it?
Wouldn't make a difference.

The cool thing about NDS games is that files are separated and easy to pick out of the rom, unlike GBA games. You can 'blow up'/open any game, even hacked ones
Reply With Quote
  #524    
Old July 26th, 2013 (12:25 AM).
LeviTrueblade LeviTrueblade is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Quote originally posted by Kaphotics:
Wouldn't make a difference.

The cool thing about NDS games is that files are separated and easy to pick out of the rom, unlike GBA games. You can 'blow up'/open any game, even hacked ones
I figured as much, but I've encountered a few tools that work with the full ROM that won't work on hacked ROMs because of some sort of offset in the code? Or at least that's the only explanation I read.

And now to figure out how I pissed off the KeyBearer NPC since I've been testing on VoltWhite2. Apparently editing the text insulted him and he won't speak to me. So time to either remove him or fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #525    
Old July 27th, 2013 (08:38 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is online now
fun in the sun
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 10,315
Quote originally posted by LeviTrueblade:
I figured as much, but I've encountered a few tools that work with the full ROM that won't work on hacked ROMs because of some sort of offset in the code? Or at least that's the only explanation I read.

And now to figure out how I pissed off the KeyBearer NPC since I've been testing on VoltWhite2. Apparently editing the text insulted him and he won't speak to me. So time to either remove him or fix it.
Thing is, with PPTXT, they used a workaround for editing text. Each piece of text has a sort of hash, so edited text cannot be longer than the original string was. However, SDSME has figured out how it works. Perhaps editing it in SDSME may fix it.
__________________
Pair 1 Pair 2 Twitter Alt 1 Alt 2 PHO Image Source Avatar Source
~This signature is under construction
#TeamKanto
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:45 PM.