Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Computers & Technology

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Computers & Technology The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old December 25th, 2012 (12:10 AM).
CarefulWetPaint's Avatar
CarefulWetPaint
Time to Say Goodbye
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New South Wales, Australia
Gender: Male
So I recently set my computer up so that I can play videos on my tv from my computer and have my computer still up on the desktop (extended the display). I was wondering how I can make it so that when I play something such as videos the sound only comes through the TV screen (or through the TV and speakers connected to my computer at the same time preferably just through the tv though) and when I play something on the computer screen the sound only comes through the PC speakers.

How can I achieve this?
Ive connected the TV to the PC with a HDMI cable if that helps.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old December 25th, 2012 (02:37 PM).
JayD's Avatar
JayD
I‘m not going to die. Because I’m the one who will protect you.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Connect a wire from your computer's audio socket to your TV's audio socket.
__________________
♥Plusle bro of Autumn Reverie♥ | ♥Pink Mommy, Autumn Reverie, Kanzler, Macarous & Apollo♥
|3DS FC|
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old December 26th, 2012 (12:26 AM).
CarefulWetPaint's Avatar
CarefulWetPaint
Time to Say Goodbye
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New South Wales, Australia
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by LilJz1234:
Connect a wire from your computer's audio socket to your TV's audio socket.
I dont have a wire to do that plus then the hdmi cable would be half useless.
Is there a possible way with how its set up atm?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old December 26th, 2012 (09:09 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj
The Melody Pokémon
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Minny, Minny, USA
Age: 24
Right-click on your volume icon, and select Playback Devices from the menu that pops up. Make sure the HDMI cable is enabled as a playback device.

Then, and this is probably the inconvenient part, you have to manage the audio output within each program, and not every program gives you an option to select the audio device that you use. In VLC Media Player, it's under the Audio menu, and then you highlight which audio device you want to use under the "Audio Device" submenu. In Windows Media Player, it's under Tools>Options, then click the Devices tab and double-click Speakers from the list, and then select which audio device you want to have it output to in the drop down list that's in the sound playback box in the window that pops up.

Most media playback programs have this option, but just briefly looking around, it looks like that may be a lot harder to find in a web browser.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old December 31st, 2012 (06:23 PM).
MegamanDX's Avatar
MegamanDX
Pokemon/Megaman fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: just move here
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Send a message via Skype™ to MegamanDX
You might probly don't have the right HDMI cable.

What I seen is that there are the cable that allow sound input and output and there are those that do not.

Im going to be getting a 1080p flat screen for my laptop in April and also i'm going to get this cable so I can do what you want to do.
http://www.amazon.com/Cheetah-Mounts-compatible-Ethernet-Version/dp/B005GGTTZ0/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=3Q2JM1I59F71Z&coliid=I2WYN0J3TVEBWJ

(notice it has sound return)
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old December 31st, 2012 (06:59 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 'Murca
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by MegamanDX:
You might probly don't have the right HDMI cable.

What I seen is that there are the cable that allow sound input and output and there are those that do not.

Im going to be getting a 1080p flat screen for my laptop in April and also i'm going to get this cable so I can do what you want to do.
http://www.amazon.com/Cheetah-Mounts-compatible-Ethernet-Version/dp/B005GGTTZ0/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=3Q2JM1I59F71Z&coliid=I2WYN0J3TVEBWJ

(notice it has sound return)
AFAIK, all HDMI cables transfer sound, hence why people often prefer them to VGAs and DVIs.

Also, you need to make the TV the default Speaker Device, otherwise sound won't be played from it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:49 PM.