Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page NDS/3DS Emulation with R4?

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 10th, 2013 (11:48 AM).
MightyHeracross MightyHeracross is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
Alright so I really want to play Pokemon Red, Blue, Gold, Silver, Yellow, and Crystal on my 3DS or DSi. Ive heard that you can't just download them to the SD card that came with my 3DS, but rather you need an r4 card. What exactly is it? Can I play gameboy/gbc games on it? Ive searched for tutorials on Youtube, but I haven't found anything about GB/GBC on 3DS. Its all downloaded DS games on to the DSi. Can someone explain what I will have to do?

Also, I've heard that you need a micro SD card. Can I use the one that came with my 3DS or do I need a different one? If I need a different one, how can I get it into my computer? I can fit the SD card into my MacBookPro 2012, but I'm not sure it will take a different size. What should I do? Can I even use a mac with the r4 software?

Thanks, I really need to know soon cuz Im going out of town in about a week and don't wanna have to bring my GBA with Red, Blue, ect. and my 3DS with my newer games. Id love to just bring one!
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old February 15th, 2013 (03:04 AM).
Canen's Avatar
Canen Canen is offline
Sometimes, I like to party.
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Manchester, UK.
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 46
Hey.

An R4 cart is a cartridge that will fit into your DS like a normal game. The cart itself contains a removable microsd card which will contain the roms of the games you want to put on it. With this R4 cart you will get a usb converter for the microsd card which will allow you to take out the card from the R4 and put it into your PC like a pen drive. This way you can transfer roms from your PC to your microsd, and then you simply put the microsd back into the R4 cart and play it like a normal DS game.

There is a website for the R4 cart and having been a user myself I can recommend using them. However I am unsure if I am allowed to link up here so I will PM you with a link.

I hope that helps mate.
__________________
Pokemon Y Friend code: 2466-3718-0345
Friend Safari Type: Bug (Ledyba, Illuminise and Heracross)
-
Pokemon Y battle record 5-1-1 (W-D-L)
-
Vs Non-Poke Community trainers:
Wins: Sven (1) Lynah (1) Colin (1) Juan (1) Nathan (1)
Draws: -
Losses: Iceman (1)
-
Vs Poke Community trainers:
Wins: -
Draws: - Chell (no result)
Losses: -
-
Please note I am a UK trainer, therefore our time differences for battle and trade planning purposes will be:
New York time: -5 hours (e.g 12pm your time is 5pm my time)
Tokyo time: +8 hrs (e.g 12pm your time is 4am my time)
I am always free between 5pm and 8pm my time Mon-Fri, and 12pm - 12am at weekends for battles or trades.
-







Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old February 15th, 2013 (03:17 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
R4 can also play movies, I think. Research it.
I have action replay but the 3ds has security thats blocks it. It might do the same for r4.
CHECK BEFORE BUYING!
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old February 19th, 2013 (12:28 PM). Edited February 19th, 2013 by MightyHeracross.
MightyHeracross MightyHeracross is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
Quote originally posted by Canen:
Hey.

An R4 cart is a cartridge that will fit into your DS like a normal game. The cart itself contains a removable microsd card which will contain the roms of the games you want to put on it. With this R4 cart you will get a usb converter for the microsd card which will allow you to take out the card from the R4 and put it into your PC like a pen drive. This way you can transfer roms from your PC to your microsd, and then you simply put the microsd back into the R4 cart and play it like a normal DS game.

There is a website for the R4 cart and having been a user myself I can recommend using them. However I am unsure if I am allowed to link up here so I will PM you with a link.

I hope that helps mate.
Thanks much man. I answered your PM, but decided to just ask on here incase anyone else has questions, they can see your answers here too.

Anyways, will this allow me to have (for example) Pokemon Red, Pokemon Silver, and Pokemon Ruby? Basically can I have GB, GBC, and GBA games all on one card or do I have to buy a card for each system/game? D you know if I can emulate other systems on this card, like n64, XBox360, PS3, ect?

My final question, on the r4 website, there are some products with hundreds of DS games preloaded onto the card. How does this work? If I got that, would I have like 300 DS titles and then could I add GB, GBC, and GBA games? That would be the most bang for my buck for sure!

Thanks

Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
R4 can also play movies, I think. Research it.
I have action replay but the 3ds has security thats blocks it. It might do the same for r4.
CHECK BEFORE BUYING!
Alright thanks man. Ill check it out! Thanks for the heads up!
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old February 22nd, 2013 (06:49 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
No problem but you can use it for anything before the 3ds like dsi etc.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old February 25th, 2013 (12:16 PM).
MightyHeracross MightyHeracross is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
No problem but you can use it for anything before the 3ds like dsi etc.
IM really not sure. Im guessing yes, but then again, the 3ds has a different game cart shape slightly.
__________________
Image made by DarkHeroic. Please go check out some of his awesome art!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old February 25th, 2013 (12:44 PM). Edited February 25th, 2013 by stp.
stp's Avatar
stp stp is offline
ShootThePuck
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Jersey
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 194
Quote originally posted by MightyHeracross:
Thanks much man. I answered your PM, but decided to just ask on here incase anyone else has questions, they can see your answers here too.

Anyways, will this allow me to have (for example) Pokemon Red, Pokemon Silver, and Pokemon Ruby? Basically can I have GB, GBC, and GBA games all on one card or do I have to buy a card for each system/game? D you know if I can emulate other systems on this card, like n64, XBox360, PS3, ect?

My final question, on the r4 website, there are some products with hundreds of DS games preloaded onto the card. How does this work? If I got that, would I have like 300 DS titles and then could I add GB, GBC, and GBA games? That would be the most bang for my buck for sure!

Thanks



Alright thanks man. Ill check it out! Thanks for the heads up!
There are different types of R4 (R4, R4i, R4 Gold, 3DS R4 Gold, etc) and each has it's limitations, but you need to get one depending on the system you have. You can't use a 3DS R4 and play 3DS games on a DS Lite, it doesn't work like that. All the games (roms of the games), firmware and whatever else are placed on a Micro-SD that is insterted into the R4. You can't emulate other systems, and without using a program on the R4 (such as Lameboy, which only emulates gb and gbc games), you can't play any gb, gbc, or gba games. GBA games are impossible to emulate on an R4, as of now.

I don't think there's any possible way to have 300 games on your R4, there isn't enough space on your Micro-SD for 300 games. But, yeah, everything would be on one micro sd.

The problem with older R4s is that their firmware is still outdated for some DS games. An example would be Black 2 and White 2, which you can't play on an R4i without using another firmware (TTMenu or YSMenu). I assume it's like that with the R4 too, not sure about Gold versions and I believe the 3DS has no such problem.

I realize I'm also talking about stuff that you may not totally understand, sorry!

I own an R4i and understand a lot about R4s in general, so feel free to pm me if you have any questions. I'm not master, but I have some experience.
__________________





you don't have enough talent to win on talent alone
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old February 25th, 2013 (02:08 PM).
shadowdueler474's Avatar
shadowdueler474 shadowdueler474 is offline
Muffins for all!
 
Join Date: May 2012
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Posts: 49
I would recommend getting a Supercard DSTwo instead if an R4 because it can emulate GBA and SNES games along with DS games on the 3DS, DSi, etc.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old February 25th, 2013 (02:29 PM).
stp's Avatar
stp stp is offline
ShootThePuck
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Jersey
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 194
I believe you would need a slot 2 Supercard as well for that, if I'm not mistaken.
__________________





you don't have enough talent to win on talent alone
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old February 25th, 2013 (02:38 PM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is offline
Grant me the power of revolution!
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 'Murca
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 6,508
Quote originally posted by Shoot|The|Puck:
I believe you would need a slot 2 Supercard as well for that, if I'm not mistaken.
DSTWO can emulate the GBA and SNES games (the latter of which run incredibly thanks to the recent updates of CATSFC). Slot-2 Supercard (which is for Supercard 1) doesn't exactly emulate the GBA, it just runs the GBA games natively, something that's impossible on the DSi and 3DS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old February 26th, 2013 (03:34 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
The 3ds screen is huger tban a ds screen, so even if you could play 3ds on a ds, the screen would be cut off because of the size.
Plus when i play ds games on my 3ds the screen automatically shrinks to fit the game.
no 3ds emulation for ds, sorry.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old February 26th, 2013 (04:00 PM).
.EJ's Avatar
.EJ .EJ is offline
everything is purple
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: FL
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,606
I think it is possible. I managed to emulate the Sega Genesis with an R4 years ago. Like someone said previously, the GBA can't be emulated by it.

Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
The 3ds screen is huger tban a ds screen, so even if you could play 3ds on a ds, the screen would be cut off because of the size.
Plus when i play ds games on my 3ds the screen automatically shrinks to fit the game.
no 3ds emulation for ds, sorry.
He doesn't want to play 3DS games on a ds....wha?
__________________
Wrex. Shepard. Wrex.
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old February 26th, 2013 (08:48 PM).
stp's Avatar
stp stp is offline
ShootThePuck
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Jersey
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 194
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
The 3ds screen is huger tban a ds screen, so even if you could play 3ds on a ds, the screen would be cut off because of the size.
Plus when i play ds games on my 3ds the screen automatically shrinks to fit the game.
no 3ds emulation for ds, sorry.
I think the more likely reason would be that the DS can't handle the 3DS hardware.
__________________





you don't have enough talent to win on talent alone
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old February 27th, 2013 (09:42 AM).
MightyHeracross MightyHeracross is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 47
Honestly, I don't know where everyone is getting this information about me wanting to play 3DS on DS. That not at all what I'm trying to do. Not sure where we went off track, but we did.
__________________
Image made by DarkHeroic. Please go check out some of his awesome art!!!
Reply With Quote
  #15    
Old February 28th, 2013 (03:23 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Huh, i guess we did
anyway good luck with the emulation
But any reason gba games arent possible to emulate on one?
Its like we are in an era where everyone emulates gba
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
Reply With Quote
  #16    
Old March 1st, 2013 (03:29 AM).
machomuu's Avatar
machomuu machomuu is offline
Grant me the power of revolution!
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: 'Murca
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 6,508
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Huh, i guess we did
anyway good luck with the emulation
But any reason gba games arent possible to emulate on one?
Its like we are in an era where everyone emulates gba
R4s (and most other flashcarts) don't have enough power to do so. The DS and DS Lite don't emulate it, they just run it natively in GBA-mode, which does not exist in the Slot 1 (and thus, not on the DSi or slot 1 carts). The DSTWO has extra power for the sake of doing such, and more.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 03:53 AM.