Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Game Development
Reload this Page [Question] Impassible Grass

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Game Development Your number one stop for anything related to creating games (except ROM hacks). You can even make your own!



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 15th, 2013 (07:45 AM).
Ooka's Avatar
Ooka Ooka is offline
<3
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Challenging The E4
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Ooka
Hopefully this is the right place, I don't see a General Q&A anywhere.

I've been working on a tileset but I ran into a pretty annoying problem. Basically you can't walk over the grass tiles I added (I've checked all the categories of permissions, they're good to go). It's weird, a couple of spots I "can" walk through, but then I just get stuck on more of them. Here's the tileset I'm using (Again, it's just the basic permissions, they should work fine for a regular grass tile), the grass is at the bottom:

http://i2.minus.com/iRS0I5zZr15cQ.png
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old February 15th, 2013 (10:13 AM).
Pharetra's Avatar
Pharetra Pharetra is offline
MOM GET THE CAMERA
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 453
Have you checked the layers above the one where the grass is on? Maybe they're filled with transparent tiles with the wrong permissions.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old February 15th, 2013 (05:50 PM).
Ooka's Avatar
Ooka Ooka is offline
<3
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Challenging The E4
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Ooka
Yeah they're clear. See I have tons of the tree tiles (With the same permissions as the grass currently, I haven't gotten to changing them) which I can walk on just fine. Then I go to the grass and it's like "nope".
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old February 16th, 2013 (01:18 PM).
FL's Avatar
FL FL is offline
Pokémon Island Creator
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,405
Are you sure that you checked permissions (four arrows) and invisible tiles in other layers? Did you cheked in the right tileset? Besides this, I can only think that you set the grass as long grass (some terrain numbers can only be seen in the Essentials Editor) and trying to pass with bicycle.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old February 17th, 2013 (11:49 PM).
BlazingLink's Avatar
BlazingLink BlazingLink is offline
Sergeant Serious
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Rhode Island, USA
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 139
"Walking on trees"? You mean like with the top of the tree covering the character, right? Hmm, if it's a big deal, you could always re-create the tileset, and set permissions again.

Sort of the game developer answer to the "shut it off and turn it back on."
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old February 18th, 2013 (02:44 AM).
tImE's Avatar
tImE tImE is offline
It's still me, 44tim44 ;)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Somewhere in Scandinavia...
Age: 20
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 684
If you previously used a different tileset, or was just unlucky when mapping, you may have accidentally filled another layer on top of the grass with "unpassable empty tiles". Try remaking the map from scratch, or using the proper "empty tile" in the topleft corner to refill the "empty areas" on the higher layers.

That's all I can think of.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old February 18th, 2013 (02:45 AM).
Riansky's Avatar
Riansky Riansky is offline
Purr
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Slovenia
Gender: Male
Posts: 199
I tried the tileset by myself and It works alright. Can't understand what your problem would be really. And just a friendly advice, resize your tiles as they will look really small in the game compared to overworlds.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old February 18th, 2013 (04:30 AM).
Maruno's Avatar
Maruno Maruno is offline
Lead Dev of Pokémon Essentials
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,953
Try filling in every supposedly blank tile on each layer with an actual visible tile. Then fill them all in with the top-left blank tile. This helps to make sure that your map is made correctly.

The [X] tiles I put in the tilesets that come with Essentials are very useful for this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old March 1st, 2013 (09:51 AM).
kudoms kudoms is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 9
Try remaking the map? o.o
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:18 AM.