The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Technology & Internet
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Technology & Internet The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.


Advertise here

Reply
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old February 15th, 2013, 01:07 PM
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny
All the lights in the sky...
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely

Advertise here
Ok, so some people may have seen my previous post about wanting to dual boot Windows 8 and Ubuntu, and I did that, without wiping my hard drive. I then restarted hoping to access windows 8, however I booted straight into ubuntu. I went into the BIOS and straight away re-enabled the Secure Boot settings. It says there are no available boot devices. Now I can only boot into Ubuntu. Help.
__________________
White 2 FC- 4556-8077-2137
3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old February 15th, 2013, 03:41 PM
danice123's Avatar
danice123
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 20
Gender: Male
You boot only into Ubuntu? No Grub?
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old February 15th, 2013, 04:19 PM
Hybrid Trainer's Avatar
Hybrid Trainer
My Secrecy. My Advantage.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: «UK»
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Whilst in Ubuntu when you open a file manager do you see a separate drivce partition that you can open and see all the windows program files? If not then chances are you installed Ubuntu over it and maybe just imported files or something.
__________________


"I am confident that if anyone actually penetrates our facades, even the most perceptive would still be fundamentally unprepared for the truth of House Dimir."
-Szadek, Lord of Secrets

Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old February 15th, 2013, 11:23 PM
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny
All the lights in the sky...
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hybrid Trainer View Post
Whilst in Ubuntu when you open a file manager do you see a separate drivce partition that you can open and see all the windows program files? If not then chances are you installed Ubuntu over it and maybe just imported files or something.
Yes, all the Windows program files are there. It's only the bootmgr.dll that is missing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by danice123 View Post
You boot only into Ubuntu? No Grub?
Sorry, I boot into GRUB and get a choice to boot to:
Ubuntu
Ubunu Advanced Options
Mem Test
Mem Test (Load of numbers)
__________________
White 2 FC- 4556-8077-2137
3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old February 16th, 2013, 01:26 AM
twocows's Avatar
twocows
Pretentious Intellectual Jerk
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Add Windows to GRUB. For some reason GRUB didn't detect it automatically. http://erickoo.wordpress.com/2009/06...-karmic-koala/
__________________
Doctors Without Borders: one of the few charity groups you can rely on to actually do real good in the world.

PM me if you have computer troubles. I work in IT for a living and can probably solve your problems. My rate is $expensive/hr, but I'm still cheaper than Creep Squad and, unlike them, will actually get the job done or let you know if I can't.

Quote:
The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken, unsourced

Quote:
There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that "my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
- Isaac Asimov, Column in Newsweek (21 January 1980) [source]

NEW 40K MMOFPS YESSSSS
Reply With Quote
  #6    
Old February 16th, 2013, 07:48 AM
danice123's Avatar
danice123
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Make sure you find the right partition also, many times windows creates two partitions, a boot and the actual windows partition. You cannot boot the actual partition, so if you have a separate boot partition for windows, you have to point GRUB at that. It should be around 100MB in size (or something similar).
Reply With Quote
  #7    
Old February 16th, 2013, 01:21 PM
R.F.'s Avatar
R.F.
totally human
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Check your grub-directorys. One of them has scripts in it in a particuliar form like "10_headers" and stuff. There should be a script like "10_os-prober", if there is no file with os-prober in it, than thats the reason your Windows isn't recognized, since this script is looking for active operating systems. Try 'sudo apt-get install os-prober' followed with 'sudo grub-update' and that should do it.
__________________
"You foolishly foolish fool dreaming your foolishly foolish dreams!"
Reply With Quote
  #8    
Old February 17th, 2013, 06:32 AM
Catalyst.'s Avatar
Catalyst.
Nothing of significance
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Gender: Male
You could give the "easy way" a try too:

Boot into Ubuntu.

Open up Terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T).

Type:

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair && sudo apt-get update
Press Enter.

Then type:
Code:
sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && boot-repair
Press Enter.

Now, launch "Boot Repair" from the Unity Dash, and hit recommended repair. Your problem should be fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #9    
Old February 17th, 2013, 08:23 AM
twocows's Avatar
twocows
Pretentious Intellectual Jerk
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Quote:
Originally Posted by Catalyst. View Post
You could give the "easy way" a try too:

Boot into Ubuntu.

Open up Terminal (Ctrl+Alt+T).

Type:

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:yannubuntu/boot-repair && sudo apt-get update
Press Enter.

Then type:
Code:
sudo apt-get install -y boot-repair && boot-repair
Press Enter.

Now, launch "Boot Repair" from the Unity Dash, and hit recommended repair. Your problem should be fixed.
That's hardly much easier than the ways already described. Also, I prefer using aptitude CLI over apt-get. It's not much different these days, but it removes unused dependency packages when you remove a package and you don't need to remember half a dozen different names for apt-get to do various things.
__________________
Doctors Without Borders: one of the few charity groups you can rely on to actually do real good in the world.

PM me if you have computer troubles. I work in IT for a living and can probably solve your problems. My rate is $expensive/hr, but I'm still cheaper than Creep Squad and, unlike them, will actually get the job done or let you know if I can't.

Quote:
The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken, unsourced

Quote:
There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that "my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
- Isaac Asimov, Column in Newsweek (21 January 1980) [source]

NEW 40K MMOFPS YESSSSS
Reply With Quote
  #10    
Old February 17th, 2013, 09:19 AM
Archenoth's Avatar
Archenoth
The arch foe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocows View Post
That's hardly much easier than the ways already described. Also, I prefer using aptitude CLI over apt-get. It's not much different these days, but it removes unused dependency packages when you remove a package and you don't need to remember half a dozen different names for apt-get to do various things.
I beg to differ really... There is a lot more "automagic" going on with those two commands than there would be with the above methods. You type two commands and then run a program.

How is that not easier than playing with GRUB settings if the guy is just starting out playing with Linux? I think that his initial impression likely isn't the greatest because of this little "hiccup". So telling him to add something to GRUB is something I doubt he wants to hear.


Additionally, apt-get will tell you what it will remove if it removes unneeded dependencies... It also warns you when there are packages that are no longer required and allows you to autoremove them. I hear you on the multiple apt names though like "apt-get", "apt-cache", or "apt-add-repository", etc... But I never had much of a problem with that.
Reply With Quote
  #11    
Old February 17th, 2013, 01:41 PM
twocows's Avatar
twocows
Pretentious Intellectual Jerk
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
It's not that hard to add like one line to GRUB that points at Windows manually.
__________________
Doctors Without Borders: one of the few charity groups you can rely on to actually do real good in the world.

PM me if you have computer troubles. I work in IT for a living and can probably solve your problems. My rate is $expensive/hr, but I'm still cheaper than Creep Squad and, unlike them, will actually get the job done or let you know if I can't.

Quote:
The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken, unsourced

Quote:
There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that "my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
- Isaac Asimov, Column in Newsweek (21 January 1980) [source]

NEW 40K MMOFPS YESSSSS
Reply With Quote
  #12    
Old February 17th, 2013, 02:14 PM
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny
All the lights in the sky...
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Tried every single method offered in this thread now, and I can say with all honesty, none worked. So I guess I'm stuck with ubuntu. forever.
__________________
White 2 FC- 4556-8077-2137
3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!
Reply With Quote
  #13    
Old February 17th, 2013, 03:27 PM
Archenoth's Avatar
Archenoth
The arch foe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Hm... Well, what about this..?
Code:
sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
sudo update-grub
This should re-run the detection process and hopefully detect your Windows partition...

Additionally, could you go to a terminal and post the output of the above commands and "df" here if that doesn't work?
Reply With Quote
  #14    
Old February 17th, 2013, 03:28 PM
twocows's Avatar
twocows
Pretentious Intellectual Jerk
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Explorer Of Destiny View Post
Tried every single method offered in this thread now, and I can say with all honesty, none worked. So I guess I'm stuck with ubuntu. forever.
You could copy/paste the terminal output here, you know. That way we'd actually be able to say where you went wrong.
__________________
Doctors Without Borders: one of the few charity groups you can rely on to actually do real good in the world.

PM me if you have computer troubles. I work in IT for a living and can probably solve your problems. My rate is $expensive/hr, but I'm still cheaper than Creep Squad and, unlike them, will actually get the job done or let you know if I can't.

Quote:
The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken, unsourced

Quote:
There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that "my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
- Isaac Asimov, Column in Newsweek (21 January 1980) [source]

NEW 40K MMOFPS YESSSSS
Reply With Quote
  #15    
Old February 17th, 2013, 03:37 PM
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny
All the lights in the sky...
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archenoth View Post
Hm... Well, what about this..?
Code:
sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
sudo update-grub
This should re-run the detection process and hopefully detect your Windows partition...

Additionally, could you go to a terminal and post the output of the above commands and "df" here if that doesn't work?
Didn't detect my windows; Heres my output

harvey@harvey-Aspire-V3-571G:~$ sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sda
Installation finished. No error reported.
harvey@harvey-Aspire-V3-571G:~$ sudo update-grub
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.5.0-17-generic
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.5.0-17-generic
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin

and for "df"

harvey@harvey-Aspire-V3-571G:~$ df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2 7689384 5031412 2267368 69% /
udev 2955724 12 2955712 1% /dev
tmpfs 1185972 940 1185032 1% /run
none 5120 0 5120 0% /run/lock
none 2964924 224 2964700 1% /run/shm
none 102400 36 102364 1% /run/user
/dev/sr0 226938 226938 0 100% /media/harvey/Recovery
/dev/sdb1 390708800 288671832 102036968 74% /media/harvey/100C8B2A0C8B09C4
__________________
White 2 FC- 4556-8077-2137
3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!
Reply With Quote
  #16    
Old February 17th, 2013, 04:02 PM
Archenoth's Avatar
Archenoth
The arch foe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Explorer Of Destiny View Post
/dev/sdb1 390708800 288671832 102036968 74% /media/harvey/100C8B2A0C8B09C4
Aha! There's your problem..!
I got you to type a command to detect OSes on your first hard drive, not your second.

Try:
Code:
sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sdb
sudo update-grub
Reply With Quote
  #17    
Old February 18th, 2013, 12:26 AM
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny
All the lights in the sky...
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by Archenoth View Post
Aha! There's your problem..!
I got you to type a command to detect OSes on your first hard drive, not your second.

Try:
Code:
sudo grub-install --recheck /dev/sdb
sudo update-grub
Normally that would work, but I'm pretty sure my "second hard drive" is my C: backup connected by USB.
__________________
White 2 FC- 4556-8077-2137
3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!
Reply With Quote
  #18    
Old February 18th, 2013, 04:20 AM
R.F.'s Avatar
R.F.
totally human
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Explorer Of Destiny View Post
harvey@harvey-Aspire-V3-571G:~$ df
Filesystem 1K-blocks Used Available Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda2 7689384 5031412 2267368 69% /
udev 2955724 12 2955712 1% /dev
tmpfs 1185972 940 1185032 1% /run
none 5120 0 5120 0% /run/lock
none 2964924 224 2964700 1% /run/shm
none 102400 36 102364 1% /run/user
/dev/sr0 226938 226938 0 100% /media/harvey/Recovery
/dev/sdb1 390708800 288671832 102036968 74% /media/harvey/100C8B2A0C8B09C4
That's some strange layout you have there. So I guess your partitions are as following:
/dev/sda Harddrive
/dev/sda1 Windows 8
/dev/sda2 Ubuntu

Normally there should be another layout (at least what I experienced)
/dev/sda Harddrive
/dev/sda1 Windows Bootloader
/dev/sda2 Windows 8
/dev/sda3 Ubuntu

Is 'sudo fdisk -l' showing you the above layout? if so, then maybe you somehow crashed/deleted your Windows Bootloader
__________________
"You foolishly foolish fool dreaming your foolishly foolish dreams!"
Reply With Quote
  #19    
Old February 18th, 2013, 05:55 AM
Destiny's Avatar
Destiny
All the lights in the sky...
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: UK
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by R.F. View Post
That's some strange layout you have there. So I guess your partitions are as following:
/dev/sda Harddrive
/dev/sda1 Windows 8
/dev/sda2 Ubuntu

Normally there should be another layout (at least what I experienced)
/dev/sda Harddrive
/dev/sda1 Windows Bootloader
/dev/sda2 Windows 8
/dev/sda3 Ubuntu

Is 'sudo fdisk -l' showing you the above layout? if so, then maybe you somehow crashed/deleted your Windows Bootloader
for sudo fdisk -l i get:

harvey@harvey-Aspire-V3-571G:~$ sudo fdisk -l
[sudo] password for harvey:

WARNING: GPT (GUID Partition Table) detected on '/dev/sda'! The util fdisk doesn't support GPT. Use GNU Parted.


Disk /dev/sda: 500.1 GB, 500107862016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 60801 cylinders, total 976773168 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x375fed77

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 1 976773167 488386583+ ee GPT

Thanks for all your help guys, but I eventually just got a windows recovery disk anyway. This thread can now be closed.
__________________
White 2 FC- 4556-8077-2137
3DS FC: 4854-6421-4741
Be sure to add me and let me know so I can add you back!

Last edited by Destiny; February 18th, 2013 at 11:47 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #20    
Old February 18th, 2013, 02:52 PM
twocows's Avatar
twocows
Pretentious Intellectual Jerk
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
If you want to be able to boot into your Ubuntu partition after doing a Windows recovery, you might be able to use EasyBCD to do it.
__________________
Doctors Without Borders: one of the few charity groups you can rely on to actually do real good in the world.

PM me if you have computer troubles. I work in IT for a living and can probably solve your problems. My rate is $expensive/hr, but I'm still cheaper than Creep Squad and, unlike them, will actually get the job done or let you know if I can't.

Quote:
The trouble with fighting for human freedom is that one spends most of one's time defending scoundrels. For it is against scoundrels that oppressive laws are first aimed, and oppression must be stopped at the beginning if it is to be stopped at all.
- H. L. Mencken, unsourced

Quote:
There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there always has been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that "my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."
- Isaac Asimov, Column in Newsweek (21 January 1980) [source]

NEW 40K MMOFPS YESSSSS
Reply With Quote
  #21    
Old February 18th, 2013, 05:21 PM
Zet's Avatar
Zet
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
There's no easy way to make linux and windows 8 play nice, but one of these two options should help: http://www.neowin.net/news/two-windo...-merge-efforts
Reply With Quote
  #22    
Old February 18th, 2013, 10:50 PM
Archenoth's Avatar
Archenoth
The arch foe
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote:
Originally Posted by twocows View Post
If you want to be able to boot into your Ubuntu partition after doing a Windows recovery, you might be able to use EasyBCD to do it.
Indeed..! Or, as much as so many people seem to hate it, Wubi is another option... It is the autorun on a Ubuntu or Linux Mint CD when you try to open in in Windows.

Shame we couldn't get a solution earlier to you though. Blech.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:55 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.