Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Entertainment & Hobbies > Computers & Technology
Reload this Page
DCC
Developers, developers, developers, developers

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Computers & Technology The place to go for all things tech and internet. Share a funny YouTube video or meme, discover the latest useful apps, or just get some free tech support.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #1776    
Old February 25th, 2014 (04:17 AM).
Inyotef Inyotef is offline
Banned
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Between the whale and wasp
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,880
Send a message via Skype™ to Inyotef
Quote originally posted by Terabyte:
Believe me, I use the desktop environment more than anything. The only problem I have with Windows 8 is that you can no longer create icons to the desktop from the start menu.
Considering Windows 8 doesn't have a start menu, it's likely the brand of SM8 that you're using. I don't see why something like that is vital, anyway.
  #1777    
Old February 25th, 2014 (04:23 AM). Edited February 25th, 2014 by Tsutarja.
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
I was able to find the Start Menu folder to create icons from thank gosh, but I honestly don't have a problem at all with Windows 8. The new start menu doesn't really bother me, but particularly because I don't really use it.
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1778    
Old February 25th, 2014 (04:38 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
Slender snake
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 4,751
I think I'll hold off on upgrading the version of Windows installed on my laptop until a new Internet Explorer version stops being compatible with Windows 7.
__________________
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #1779    
Old February 25th, 2014 (05:29 AM).
Puddle's Avatar
Puddle Puddle is offline
Mission Complete✔
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Lax
Posts: 1,458
Quote originally posted by Twiggy:
I think I'll hold off on upgrading the version of Windows installed on my laptop until a new Internet Explorer version stops being compatible with Windows 7.
Internet Explorer?
Boy you crazy!
__________________

  #1780    
Old February 25th, 2014 (05:35 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
Quote originally posted by River Ramirez:
Internet Explorer?
Boy you crazy!
Have you ever even tried IE 11 yet? Internet Explorer is NOT the same browser it was when it was still version 8. IE has improved significantly since version 9.
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1781    
Old February 25th, 2014 (06:34 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
Slender snake
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 4,751
I've noticed that Internet Explorer performs pretty well when it comes to these situations:
  • Unbalanced CPU/GPU combination with a skew towards the GPU - think Ultrabook-grade CPUs and Intel HD Graphics, for example.
  • High PPI displays, used in conjunction with DPI scaling in Windows.
  • Anything involving touchscreens on Windows

Funny as heck, I expect stability when it comes to almost everything. Rapid release cycles don't make me feel right, to be honest. 6-8 weeks per major version upgrade that doesn't mean too much is a bit too much for me.

I actually like how they're taking things in a more structured manner, to be honest. I want to have a good amount of advance notice with regard to pretty much everything, even though I'm not a business IT tech right now.
__________________
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #1782    
Old February 25th, 2014 (05:30 PM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
Note to self: don't play games at 1920x1080 on this laptop or else Windows will create a "running too low on memory" message after I exit the game :P
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1783    
Old February 25th, 2014 (07:08 PM).
Inyotef Inyotef is offline
Banned
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Between the whale and wasp
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,880
Send a message via Skype™ to Inyotef
Quote originally posted by Terabyte:
Note to self: don't play games at 1920x1080 on this laptop or else Windows will create a "running too low on memory" message after I exit the game
Why you're running 1080p graphics on a CPU that's only 200 MHz faster than my processor is beyond me. Is it a game invented after the loom?
  #1784    
Old February 25th, 2014 (09:24 PM). Edited February 25th, 2014 by Twiggy.
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
Slender snake
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 4,751
Quote originally posted by Terabyte:
Note to self: don't play games at 1920x1080 on this laptop or else Windows will create a "running too low on memory" message after I exit the game
Heh? Some games have virtual memory management issues in Windows 8.x.

If anything, try running graphics-intensive games at 1280x720 or 1366x768, if the former is not an option (perhaps due to a minimum requirement of 768 vertical pixels). Your laptop's Intel HD Graphics 4xxx will thank you for that. (That chip is mostly designed for low/medium setting gaming at HD resolutions, not full HD.)

Quote originally posted by ®ock§mashGod:
Why you're running 1080p graphics on a CPU that's only 200 MHz faster than my processor is beyond me. Is it a game invented after the loom?
Clock speed is not everything. It's how much you can do with a given processor in a given period of time that's important. The Intel Core I-series processors are scary efficient and just gets better with each new generation. (Gaming Ultrabooks, anyone?)

Also, most games tend to want more GPU power these days.
__________________
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #1785    
Old February 26th, 2014 (02:44 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
Yeah, the game was set automatically to 1280x720.. it was Portal 2 I was playing if you guys were curious :P
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1786    
Old February 26th, 2014 (07:51 AM).
Cordelia Cordelia is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 9,758
I need to play Portal 2 ;; if your PC can handle it I know mine can. Hell, mine plays L4D2 no problem either.
  #1787    
Old February 26th, 2014 (10:40 AM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
I'm gonna put TF2 onto my laptop tonight probably.. I downloaded Portal 2 in literally half an hour yesterday. I love my internet <3
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1788    
Old February 26th, 2014 (10:57 AM).
Team Fail's Avatar
Team Fail Team Fail is offline
Dragon at heart
Platinum Tier
 
Join Date: May 2009
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Posts: 9,673
I can barely run GTA IV on my laptop. It does run, but I need to get some optimization mods to make it run better.
__________________
| | | | |
PM | VM
PC Minecraft Bukkit Server Moderator


Do the best with whatever you can today.
Then tomorrow, you will have surely progressed.


The Legend of Legacy - Main Battle Theme
  #1789    
Old February 26th, 2014 (11:06 AM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
Slender snake
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 4,751
I still wonder whether my laptop can run Saints Row 4 well. Seeing as my laptop does pretty OK at medium settings at 720p (30-60 FPS) for Saints Row 3, and NotebookCheck.net says that even a "puny" HD Graphics 4000 should be OK for 30 FPS. Hmm...

There aren't any guarantees, but it's a good indicator. The GeForce GT 630 M probably will have more consistent frame times compared to the Intel chip, in addition to some extra frames per second...
__________________
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #1790    
Old February 27th, 2014 (06:28 PM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
Hmm, does anyone have a suggestion on what percentage I should plug in my laptop battery at to charge, and which percentage to discharge it at? I really want to have my laptop on battery power as much as possible, especially after what happened with my previous laptop, which I made the mistake of keeping it plugged in a lot early in its life.
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1791    
Old February 27th, 2014 (07:13 PM).
Cordelia Cordelia is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Nature: Sassy
Posts: 9,758
Quote originally posted by Terabyte:
Hmm, does anyone have a suggestion on what percentage I should plug in my laptop battery at to charge, and which percentage to discharge it at? I really want to have my laptop on battery power as much as possible, especially after what happened with my previous laptop, which I made the mistake of keeping it plugged in a lot early in its life.
Let it get down to under 5%, charge it to full, rinse, repeat.
  #1792    
Old February 27th, 2014 (07:36 PM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
Slender snake
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 4,751
Recharging at 50% all the way to full is a great way to maximize your battery's longevity.

However, don't be afraid to use the battery like a real battery - it's perfectly OK to run it down or recharge when you have barely used the battery.
__________________
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #1793    
Old February 27th, 2014 (08:19 PM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
What the ♥♥♥♥? My laptop just failed to login a few minutes ago from this error:

Quote:
The Group Policy Services failed the sign-in.
The Universal Unique Identifier Type (UUID) is not supporter.
It fixed itself after a hard reboot. Weird.
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1794    
Old February 27th, 2014 (09:29 PM).
Twiggy's Avatar
Twiggy Twiggy is offline
Slender snake
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Plushies.
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Posts: 4,751
Probably a transient error. If you don't see it again in the near future, pretend it never happened.

On another topic, I think I accidentally dented my laptop's top lid and base, and now the base seems to be... permanently unsealed. I probably should start moving to single-piece laptops, even though they will be more difficult to be serviced without professional help.
__________________
Hey, it's Twiggy here. Or Twiggy, if you prefer. I like Servine and Noivern a lot. I'm paired with Kip. I like Katy Perry. I want a Chespin plushie. Also, I'm a total PC geek.
Links
  #1795    
Old February 28th, 2014 (09:27 AM).
Inyotef Inyotef is offline
Banned
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Between the whale and wasp
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,880
Send a message via Skype™ to Inyotef
I love playing old school games on my laptop, meaning I don't really need a high-end laptop for that stuff. I think the newest I've gotten for both PC and online games would be either SimCity 4 or Old School RuneScape. and the oldest I've gotten is Raptor: Call of the Shadows and SimFarm for DOS. All those games kick ass <3
  #1796    
Old February 28th, 2014 (11:15 AM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,094
Sim City 4 still needs enough processing power on a single core to run smoothly, though. It will crash to desktop every time it starts to use more than one core. Running it on a multi-core/multi-CPU system, it's a matter of when it'll crash, not if it'll crash.

I'm curious as to what you're running now and if you've chosen to limit the game to a single core.

I've actually had a game crash my entire system (actually my current system) once because there was more memory available to the system than the game could actually recognize. The game was barely even 10 years old at the time, too, so it was presumably a 32-bit game, so emulation should have generally played nice!
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
  #1797    
Old February 28th, 2014 (02:14 PM).
Inyotef Inyotef is offline
Banned
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Between the whale and wasp
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,880
Send a message via Skype™ to Inyotef
Quote originally posted by Candy Cane Forest Elf.:
Sim City 4 still needs enough processing power on a single core to run smoothly, though. It will crash to desktop every time it starts to use more than one core. Running it on a multi-core/multi-CPU system, it's a matter of when it'll crash, not if it'll crash.

I'm curious as to what you're running now and if you've chosen to limit the game to a single core.

I've actually had a game crash my entire system (actually my current system) once because there was more memory available to the system than the game could actually recognize. The game was barely even 10 years old at the time, too, so it was presumably a 32-bit game, so emulation should have generally played nice!
Is it on single-core or multi-core mode by default? I haven't touched any settings and play it on a dual-core 1.4 GHz E-series AMD processor; it's only crashed once on me, and that only happened when the lag got so big from playing a large city at Cheetah speed that it just quit.
  #1798    
Old February 28th, 2014 (02:43 PM).
donavannj's Avatar
donavannj donavannj is offline
KYON-KUN, DENWA
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: KYON-KUN, DENWA
Age: 24
Posts: 16,094
Quote originally posted by ®ock§mashGod:
Is it on single-core or multi-core mode by default? I haven't touched any settings and play it on a dual-core 1.4 GHz E-series AMD processor; it's only crashed once on me, and that only happened when the lag got so big from playing a large city at Cheetah speed that it just quit.
Since multi-cores did not exist at its release and modern OSes treat multi-cores as a single CPU, it's running in "multi-core" by default, since it's looknig for a single CPU rather than a single core, but it crashes when its process threads get split and processed out of order. It's very particular about that. If you're running just the game itself without mods, you'll rarely encounter this problem until you get large cities in your case, and with powerful enough cores, you may luck out and not get a CtD ever. It's also a game that throws fits when presented with a graphics card newer than it's capable of recognizing, though that can be changed in the .ini file, iirc.
__________________

KYON-KUN, DENWA
  #1799    
Old February 28th, 2014 (07:34 PM).
Tsutarja's Avatar
Tsutarja Tsutarja is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Florida
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 12,687
Heh, just found out that my laptop's memory is expandable up to 16GB DDR3.. wondering if I should save up a little more and actually buy more RAM or just keep it at 8GB for now.

I was also considering getting Virtualbox onto the laptop and downloading a Linux distro to use as well just for the heck of it.
__________________
Garnet is my birthstone, after all.
moderator of computers & technology
  #1800    
Old February 28th, 2014 (09:49 PM).
Inyotef Inyotef is offline
Banned
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Between the whale and wasp
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Posts: 4,880
Send a message via Skype™ to Inyotef
Quote originally posted by Terabyte:
Heh, just found out that my laptop's memory is expandable up to 16GB DDR3.. wondering if I should save up a little more and actually buy more RAM or just keep it at 8GB for now.

I was also considering getting Virtualbox onto the laptop and downloading a Linux distro to use as well just for the heck of it.
I don't see the use in having that much RAM, but if you can see a reason to, then do it.

Linux is cool, man. Just don't expect to get internet easily when using a PC wireless adapter for Wi-Fi.
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:43 AM.