The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > Creative Discussions > Emulation & ROM Hacking > Research & Development
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Research & Development Got a well-founded knack with ROM hacking? Love reverse-engineering the Pokémon games? Or perhaps you love your assembly language. This is the spot for polling and gathering your ideas, and then implementing them! Share your hypothesis, get ideas from others, and collaborate to create!
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed. The thread revival limit does not apply here.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old August 24th, 2013, 12:03 PM
pawell6's Avatar
pawell6
The truthseeker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Poland
Age: 26
Gender: Male
I checked several times, in 0x115f6 I inserted 08 1C 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00, in 0x3dc70 I inserted 00 00 00 00 00 49 08 47 01 00 F1 08 and in 0xF10000 I insterted
Quote:
68 46 40 7C 20 28 5A D0 68 46 40 7C 00 01 30 4A 12 18 05 32 1A 21 38 1C 00 F0 53 F8 68 46 40 7C 00 01 2B 4A 12 18 06 32 1B 21 38 1C 00 F0 49 F8 68 46 40 7C 00 01 26 4A 12 18 07 32 1C 21 38 1C 00 F0 3F F8 68 46 40 7C 00 01 21 4A 12 18 08 32 1D 21 38 1C 00 F0 35 F8 68 46 40 7C 00 01 1C 4A 12 18 09 32 1E 21 38 1C 00 F0 2B F8 68 46 40 7C 00 01 17 4A 12 18 0A 32 1F 21 38 1C 00 F0 21 F8 68 46 40 7C 00 01 12 4A 12 18 0B 32 26 21 38 1C 00 F0 17 F8 69 46 48 7C 00 01 0D 4A 12 18 12 79 4A 74 38 1C 27 21 6A 46 11 32 00 F0 0A F8 38 1C 28 21 6A 46 11 32 00 F0 04 F8 03 49 08 47 03 49 08 47 04 4B 18 47 C0 46 8B DC 03 08 D1 DC 03 08 00 00 F0 08 D1 04 04 08
and it's the same: instead of 255 available spreads I "only" have 29
__________________
Most of new moves is done. Fixing timing of some animations and updating learnsets in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old August 24th, 2013, 08:38 PM
Aruaruu
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Wait. What game are you trying to apply this to?
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old August 24th, 2013, 11:13 PM
pawell6's Avatar
pawell6
The truthseeker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Poland
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aruaruu View Post
Wait. What game are you trying to apply this to?
Pokemon Fire Red. Well it's been modified version with physical/special split patch.

Edit: The same thing happens when applying to clean rom.
__________________
Most of new moves is done. Fixing timing of some animations and updating learnsets in progress.

Last edited by pawell6; August 25th, 2013 at 02:41 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old August 25th, 2013, 12:54 AM
Aruaruu
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by pawell6 View Post
Pokemon Fire Red. Well it's been modified version with physical/special split patch.
I don't know then..I am using Emerald.

----

I think I found a bug.
After the credits you select what colo(u)r pokemon was seen on TV to choose what Lati twin you want. Choosing either of them "freezes" the game. Music continues to play though. I made sure this wasn't just something else I did to the ROM. I tested it on previous backups and finally a clean ROM. Still freezes if this asm is applied to it.

Any ideas?

EDIT: I recall reading that the Pokemon's(Latios/Latias) IVs and such are created when you select either RED/BLUE. Could the 33rd slot be affecting this or is that out of the question now?

Last edited by Aruaruu; August 25th, 2013 at 09:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old August 25th, 2013, 06:58 PM
DoesntKnowHowToPlay's Avatar
DoesntKnowHowToPlay
some loser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Updated the method. It now is inserted during code that is used only when loading trainers- this means wild pokemon and event mons should be unaffected. It also means you don't have to worry about the 33rd slot- it can be treated like any other. This should also fix the issue with the Latis.

Note that the adjustment means that the method now only works for trainers with custom movesets and items.

Pawell6, I honestly don't know what's going on with your ROM- try the new method and see if it works? It sounds like the initial loading of the IV values didn't get changed properly, as that would explain why you have fewer spreads, but if you did what you said you did it should probably work.
__________________

Yet Another Fire Red Hack

Physical/Special Split
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old August 25th, 2013, 09:15 PM
Aruaruu
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoesntKnowHowToPlay View Post
Updated the method. It now is inserted during code that is used only when loading trainers- this means wild pokemon and event mons should be unaffected. It also means you don't have to worry about the 33rd slot- it can be treated like any other. This should also fix the issue with the Latis.

Note that the adjustment means that the method now only works for trainers with custom movesets and items.
That is great. Thanks for this.
EDIT: It has indeed fixed the lati issue.

Last edited by Aruaruu; August 25th, 2013 at 11:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old August 26th, 2013, 01:59 AM
pawell6's Avatar
pawell6
The truthseeker
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Poland
Age: 26
Gender: Male
I tested with the new method and everything works fine now . Thanks for help.
__________________
Most of new moves is done. Fixing timing of some animations and updating learnsets in progress.
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old August 26th, 2013, 07:53 AM
Agastya's Avatar
Agastya
EV TRAINING
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Nature: Quiet
I made a Nightmare table to make it easier to edit EV spreads.

You may need to edit EV Hack Module.nmm depending on where you dumped the EV spread table.
Just open it in a text editor of your choice and at the start where it says..

Code:
1
EV Hack EV Spread Table Module
0xF00000
256
16
Table Values.txt
NULL
.. change 0xF00000 to wherever you dropped your EV spread table.

The values in Table Values.txt are based off the AI values displayed in A-Trainer. You may add text after the numbers shown if you want to leave a note on what ball to use or what kind of EV spread you put there.

You will obviously need Nightmare to use this. If you don't have Nightmare 1, you'll have to settle for Nightmare 2.
__________________

Last edited by Agastya; August 26th, 2013 at 09:25 AM. Reason: updated for new routine
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old August 26th, 2013, 08:59 AM
DoesntKnowHowToPlay's Avatar
DoesntKnowHowToPlay
some loser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I updated the method again. It now allows for custom natures. Because this works by changing the personality value and trainer ID, it is very likely to disagree with shiny hacks- you should be able to get around this by not using spreads with defined natures for shiny trainer pokemon though.
__________________

Yet Another Fire Red Hack

Physical/Special Split
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old August 27th, 2013, 06:46 PM
MrDollSteak's Avatar
MrDollSteak
Formerly known as 11bayerf1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoesntKnowHowToPlay View Post
Note that the adjustment means that the method now only works for trainers with custom movesets and items.
So does this mean, without custom movesets and items, trainers will just have the normal IV spread? or do trainers now have to use custom movesets and items? To be honest it's not a big deal, because you can even make the trainer hold useless items and give them their default level moves.

Great hack! Keeps getting better and better.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old August 27th, 2013, 07:46 PM
DoesntKnowHowToPlay's Avatar
DoesntKnowHowToPlay
some loser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 11bayerf1 View Post
So does this mean, without custom movesets and items, trainers will just have the normal IV spread? or do trainers now have to use custom movesets and items?
The former. And as you mentioned, you can just manually plug in default or bad sets and let them hold nothing, they just have to use the custom moves+custom items data type. I think I know how to fix this though- I'll see if I can squeeze some time in tomorrow to take a look at it.
__________________

Yet Another Fire Red Hack

Physical/Special Split
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old August 28th, 2013, 01:06 AM
MrDollSteak's Avatar
MrDollSteak
Formerly known as 11bayerf1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoesntKnowHowToPlay View Post
The former. And as you mentioned, you can just manually plug in default or bad sets and let them hold nothing, they just have to use the custom moves+custom items data type. I think I know how to fix this though- I'll see if I can squeeze some time in tomorrow to take a look at it.
Awesome this is really great. One of the most exciting hacks I've seen/used recently. I honestly
havent been psyched about a new thing since a) the PSS b) Day/Night Wild Pokemon Switching.

Great job! Had you already had this in YAFRH? Or are you adding it now for Lunatic Mode?
__________________

Last edited by MrDollSteak; September 1st, 2013 at 02:31 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old August 30th, 2013, 11:18 PM
SBird
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Gender: Male
One more thing i dear to ask: May it be possible to determine a custom ability for a pokémon?

~SBird
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old September 13th, 2013, 01:15 AM
saintdraco's Avatar
saintdraco
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Gender:
Can anyone confirm that the custom natures work? I haven't been able to notice much of a difference, but it seems that the gender of the trainers pokemon change according to the nature value. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or not, the IVs and EVs seem to be working though.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old September 13th, 2013, 04:53 AM
Aruaruu
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by saintdraco View Post
Can anyone confirm that the custom natures work? I haven't been able to notice much of a difference, but it seems that the gender of the trainers pokemon change according to the nature value. I'm not sure if I did something wrong or not, the IVs and EVs seem to be working though.
Dunno about natures but genders of pokemon have changed.
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old February 3rd, 2014, 09:46 PM
The Zororoaster
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
T"o assign an EV spread to a trainer's pokemon, set the value that was formerly their IVs to which slot in the table you want that pokemon to use. If you are using A-Trainer, this value is erroneously marked as AI Value."

So are you saying that increasing AI Value in A-Trainer doesn't actually improve the AI? It only affects IVs? Is there any way to improve AI then?
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old February 3rd, 2014, 10:44 PM
Aruaruu
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Zororoaster View Post
T"o assign an EV spread to a trainer's pokemon, set the value that was formerly their IVs to which slot in the table you want that pokemon to use. If you are using A-Trainer, this value is erroneously marked as AI Value."

So are you saying that increasing AI Value in A-Trainer doesn't actually improve the AI? It only affects IVs? Is there any way to improve AI then?
I think this controls the AI.
worst = 0 best = 7 or something like that.
Spoiler:
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old February 5th, 2014, 08:33 PM
The Zororoaster
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aruaruu View Post
I think this controls the AI.
worst = 0 best = 7 or something like that.
Spoiler:
Thanks! That is actually really, really important information. There should be some sort of announcement made about that. You just saved me a lot of time.

Also, this script is really cool, simple, and useful. It can easily change the gameplay of any hack. Thank you for making and sharing, Doesn't.
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old 1 Day Ago, 10:48 PM
SinisterHoodedFigure's Avatar
SinisterHoodedFigure
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Gender: Male
Would an ev asm that works for emerald also work for Ruby? I am planning to make a simple Ruby difficulty hack with only 202 pokemon found in hoenn available, as opposed to the 386 emerald and firered/leafgreen hacks out there, and I wanted to give this a try.


I also noticed something about the level 7 AI in ruby, they never uses moves like encore or mud sport no matter how much I try, is that specific to the lower AIs? First time actually trying to hack third gen.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:13 AM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.