Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tutorial] Adding new types into Fire Red without replacing

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old July 11th, 2014 (11:08 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 883
Quote originally posted by TheZoroark007:
I just get the Power icon instead of the fairy type icon ingame.What did I do wrong?
Did you do the correct co-ordinate/Place the co-ordinate in the correct location in the table? Did you use the correct type hex value? It should be 0x17.
Recheck these. Part 1 of the tut mainly.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
Reply With Quote
  #102    
Old July 12th, 2014 (12:18 AM).
TheZoroark007 TheZoroark007 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 44
I did everything like you(same size , same hex variables).I made it a 2.Time and now it displays the Type Icon.Please help!
Reply With Quote
  #103    
Old July 12th, 2014 (12:41 AM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 883
Quote originally posted by TheZoroark007:
I did everything like you(same size , same hex variables).I made it a 2.Time and now it displays the Type Icon.Please help!
Did you actually repoint the icon sprite? That's the only way I can see this happening. Due to the Type Icon being in the same location as the newly appointed Fairy one
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old July 12th, 2014 (12:48 AM). Edited July 12th, 2014 by TheZoroark007.
TheZoroark007 TheZoroark007 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 44
I found out that I can use the Fairy Icon if I set the Type of a Pokemon to 22.And no, I do not repoint, because I dont know how.Can I use your tutorial if I replace the 0x17 with 0x 22?
Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old July 12th, 2014 (03:37 AM). Edited July 12th, 2014 by ShyRayq.
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 883
Quote originally posted by TheZoroark007:
I found out that I can use the Fairy Icon if I set the Type of a Pokemon to 22.And no, I do not repoint, because I dont know how.Can I use your tutorial if I replace the 0x17 with 0x 22?
0x22? That's kind of weird, but if it works, what can I do to stop you? Just replace all instances of 0x17 with 0x22.
The only way I can see this happening is if you did something to the positioning table...

Edit: Oh wait, you didn't repoint? That's your problem. It should be in Part 1 of the tutorial.. This is critical, just saying. It's much easier if you do it. You'll also learn for the remaining part of the tut because repoint is kind of necessary.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old July 21st, 2014 (08:41 PM).
kRiShNa_96's Avatar
kRiShNa_96 kRiShNa_96 is offline
The Vigilante
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
Hi, at this step, what value am I repointing and with what? Regards.

'Due to a post in Mr.DollSteak's rombase thread, it appears that the Effect Icon IS USED. So, you HAVE TO REPOINT THE ICON POSITION TABLE. I repeat: you now have to REPOINT no matter what. Also, any mention of 0x16 from this point onwards should now be 0x17'.
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old July 21st, 2014 (11:46 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 883
Quote originally posted by kRiShNa_96:
Hi, at this step, what value am I repointing and with what? Regards.

'Due to a post in Mr.DollSteak's rombase thread, it appears that the Effect Icon IS USED. So, you HAVE TO REPOINT THE ICON POSITION TABLE. I repeat: you now have to REPOINT no matter what. Also, any mention of 0x16 from this point onwards should now be 0x17'.
Uh, repoint the Icon Position Table, like it says in the quote. Except, add one more entry. That's it. If its more types, add more entries.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old July 22nd, 2014 (12:35 AM).
kRiShNa_96's Avatar
kRiShNa_96 kRiShNa_96 is offline
The Vigilante
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
I really need to thank you! This is the first time I've ever done any hex editing, and this works perfectly! This is exactly what I was looking for, Regards.
(and thanks for the quick reply)
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old July 30th, 2014 (04:59 AM).
DR_NE0_C0RTEX DR_NE0_C0RTEX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hi, This has worked almost perfectly, but I have run into one problem, when I go into any menu where you have to enter text, such as renaming a Pokemon, it appears as in the image. The hack I am using as a base is liquid crystal. I've noticed this only happens when I add the Fairy icon by changing the image height in NSE, I have repointed all of the data, and everything works correctly apart from this,
Regards;
Attached Images
File Type: png Picture1.png‎ (191.0 KB, 18 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old July 30th, 2014 (11:04 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 883
Quote originally posted by DR_NE0_C0RTEX:
Hi, This has worked almost perfectly, but I have run into one problem, when I go into any menu where you have to enter text, such as renaming a Pokemon, it appears as in the image. The hack I am using as a base is liquid crystal. I've noticed this only happens when I add the Fairy icon by changing the image height in NSE, I have repointed all of the data, and everything works correctly apart from this,
Regards;
Hmm. Perhaps something went wrong with the repointing? Or, you inserted a new palette that was possibly used by the renaming pokemon screen. I suggest checking something in relation to these.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old August 1st, 2014 (12:27 PM).
OmegaKnight's Avatar
OmegaKnight OmegaKnight is offline
HI!
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Why Should I Tell You, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 15
When I click Export Bitmap on NSE, nothing happens. Can someone tell me how to fix this problem, or tell me a location I can download a bitmap that includes fairy type?
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old August 1st, 2014 (12:45 PM).
kRiShNa_96's Avatar
kRiShNa_96 kRiShNa_96 is offline
The Vigilante
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
I just used the one posted by ShyRayq, from an earlier step in this tutorial (just right click and save image)
You can see it further down from Part 1: The Icon and it's further down from the part where it mentions go to the offset for the icon coordinate.
Attached Images
File Type: png NSE6_zps16c527ea.png‎ (2.0 KB, 8 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old August 2nd, 2014 (02:07 PM).
Superelectivire's Avatar
Superelectivire Superelectivire is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by kRiShNa_96:
I just used the one posted by ShyRayq, from an earlier step in this tutorial (just right click and save image)
You can see it further down from Part 1: The Icon and it's further down from the part where it mentions go to the offset for the icon coordinate.
One thing is that I tried using that, but when you open it, it says it isn't with multiples of eight.
~ This is my first time doing something like it, so if I'm missing something, kindly let me know. Thanks
__________________
Want to watch boring and horrible Youtube videos? Check out my channel.
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old August 4th, 2014 (04:53 AM).
kRiShNa_96's Avatar
kRiShNa_96 kRiShNa_96 is offline
The Vigilante
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by Superelectivire:
One thing is that I tried using that, but when you open it, it says it isn't with multiples of eight.
~ This is my first time doing something like it, so if I'm missing something, kindly let me know. Thanks
When you load the original status hud in NSE, it shows a dialog box with image height and width as 16, so if you use the one made by ShyRayq, just change the height to 18 and then import it from there.
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old August 4th, 2014 (07:33 AM).
Superelectivire's Avatar
Superelectivire Superelectivire is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by kRiShNa_96:
When you load the original status hud in NSE, it shows a dialog box with image height and width as 16, so if you use the one made by ShyRayq, just change the height to 18 and then import it from there.
Why do you change the height to 18? That isn't divisible by 8.
__________________
Want to watch boring and horrible Youtube videos? Check out my channel.
Reply With Quote
  #116    
Old August 4th, 2014 (08:37 AM).
kRiShNa_96's Avatar
kRiShNa_96 kRiShNa_96 is offline
The Vigilante
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by Superelectivire:
Why do you change the height to 18? That isn't divisible by 8.

The actual image is sized at 128*144, which are divisible by 8, giving you 16*18.
In NSE, just enter it as 16 * 18 and when you import it, it will look something like this,
Attached Images
File Type: png NSE7_zps4979f246.png‎ (86.9 KB, 7 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #117    
Old August 4th, 2014 (08:49 AM).
Superelectivire's Avatar
Superelectivire Superelectivire is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by kRiShNa_96:
The actual image is sized at 128*144, which are divisible by 8, giving you 16*18.
In NSE, just enter it as 16 * 18 and when you import it, it will look something like this,
Hm...this is what it says..
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture Problem.PNG‎ (37.4 KB, 3 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
Want to watch boring and horrible Youtube videos? Check out my channel.
Reply With Quote
  #118    
Old August 4th, 2014 (09:58 AM).
kRiShNa_96's Avatar
kRiShNa_96 kRiShNa_96 is offline
The Vigilante
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by Superelectivire:
Hm...this is what it says..
Okay, Start again...
Open NSE and Load your Rom
Then Click Navigate, Pokemon, BPRE, Hud, PKMN, Status
Click on Image Size and change height to 18
Then import the sprite data for the bmp with the Fairy Type
and continue to follow the tutorial
Attached Images
File Type: jpg a.jpg‎ (140.3 KB, 6 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #119    
Old August 4th, 2014 (12:58 PM). Edited August 4th, 2014 by Superelectivire.
Superelectivire's Avatar
Superelectivire Superelectivire is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by kRiShNa_96:
Okay, Start again...
Open NSE and Load your Rom
Then Click Navigate, Pokemon, BPRE, Hud, PKMN, Status
Click on Image Size and change height to 18
Then import the sprite data for the bmp with the Fairy Type
and continue to follow the tutorial
Thanks so much. Only problem is that I forgot to get my Pallette Offset. This was my first one, so it should be default. Does anybody know it?
__________________
Want to watch boring and horrible Youtube videos? Check out my channel.
Reply With Quote
  #120    
Old August 20th, 2014 (04:18 AM).
Lance32497's Avatar
Lance32497 Lance32497 is offline
LanceKoijer of Pokemon_Addicts
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Criscanto town-Ginoa Region xD
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 518
I tried to import your sample type sheet in my NSE 2.0/1, and the I already change the Load sprite box into Load Palette+image but nothing happened, only the palette is imported in the rom. how is that?
__________________
My Threads

Reply With Quote
  #121    
Old August 20th, 2014 (10:54 AM).
kRiShNa_96's Avatar
kRiShNa_96 kRiShNa_96 is offline
The Vigilante
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by Lance32497:
I tried to import your sample type sheet in my NSE 2.0/1, and the I already change the Load sprite box into Load Palette+image but nothing happened, only the palette is imported in the rom. how is that?
Probably because you didn't change the image size to Height 18; Width; 16
(Check the Image I attached in my last post)
Reply With Quote
  #122    
Old August 21st, 2014 (02:34 AM).
Lance32497's Avatar
Lance32497 Lance32497 is offline
LanceKoijer of Pokemon_Addicts
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Criscanto town-Ginoa Region xD
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 518
Quote originally posted by kRiShNa_96:
Probably because you didn't change the image size to Height 18; Width; 16
(Check the Image I attached in my last post)




I dont get it, how can I edit the height in NSE when I am importing sprite?
Reply With Quote
  #123    
Old August 21st, 2014 (04:55 PM).
theamazinghoundoom's Avatar
theamazinghoundoom theamazinghoundoom is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 16
How did he add the image?
Reply With Quote
  #124    
Old August 23rd, 2014 (09:39 PM).
Anoymous1995 Anoymous1995 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
I found this really complicated... can you please make for me a fairy type pokemon for FireRed? If you done, give me the link. That would be much easier. thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #125    
Old August 27th, 2014 (04:05 PM).
Lance32497's Avatar
Lance32497 Lance32497 is offline
LanceKoijer of Pokemon_Addicts
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Criscanto town-Ginoa Region xD
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 518
yay, I managed to add new types

but why New moves hit Normal type pokemon like what the ??? does,
and Super effective damages the opponent like 0A- Or normal moves
__________________
My Threads

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:49 PM.