The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old January 24th, 2014, 12:45 AM
wael96
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Beijing,China
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
sizes are different for FR/LG and R/S/E

R/S/E: 128 x 256
FR/LG: 128 x 192
Well, but I guess there is only four blank palletes and does this mean hackers could only insert few things?
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old January 24th, 2014, 02:11 AM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
la butt doit le sniff
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by wael96 View Post
Well, but I guess there is only four blank palletes and does this mean hackers could only insert few things?
You can change any palette you want and change any tile set you want also. 😪
You get more space to work with for R/S/E but FR has more tools and resources so it's a take the good with the bad situation

Quote:
Originally Posted by SynBit View Post
Okay so dumb question here but Lets say i want to add new tiles never use the old one... Will I be able to use Palette 1 for all grass/Green Tiles and lets say I make palette 2 Brown tiles would that work out? Because I heard its dangerous for some reason lol
Yes you're allowed to change anything with the tile sets and palette just remember tileset 0 is a primary tile set and is used typically for every map as Tileset 1.
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the Ruby rombase sound list I contributed by clicking here

Last edited by Le pug; January 24th, 2014 at 02:13 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old January 24th, 2014, 02:26 AM
bitelaserkhalif's Avatar
bitelaserkhalif
BITE LASER wants to fight!
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Indonesia || Jakarta
Age: 13
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Ah,thank you for this tut.
Now I can stuff up with my Pokemon Ruby:Festa 2002 Demo Ressurection Hack.
I'm also want to make the quick sands tiles by my own.
EDIT:
I'm decided makin' house tile, but they are too small...
Well, I just need help for door tile size.
__________________
I'm active only in holiday.
Rarely I will
respond for PM's.

Last edited by bitelaserkhalif; January 24th, 2014 at 07:09 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old January 24th, 2014, 07:52 AM
Noz...'s Avatar
Noz...
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
One of the tiles im editing is wild grass, where do I change the wild grass animation if I need to at all? And great tutorial by the way.
__________________
generic signature.
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old January 24th, 2014, 12:34 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
la butt doit le sniff
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noz... View Post
One of the tiles im editing is wild grass, where do I change the wild grass animation if I need to at all? And great tutorial by the way.
if you check the behavior byte drop down list next to the palette list area, it has a bunch of animations the choose from including Grass Animation (02) and High Grass Animation (03), and Arrow Down under block (65). The background byte should always either be 00 (meaning if you put tiles in the block Down/Up area then when the player walks on that block, he will be on top of the bottom tiles but the Up tiles will be above him) or if you want the player to be on top of all the tiles, go to Block is covered by hero [20] which will make the player walk over both Bottom/Up tiles for that block.
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the Ruby rombase sound list I contributed by clicking here
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old January 24th, 2014, 04:54 PM
Noz...'s Avatar
Noz...
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Thank you that makes sense.
__________________
generic signature.
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old January 26th, 2014, 07:50 PM
Near~'s Avatar
Near~
The End is Near...
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Berlín, Alemania
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Near~
Hello once again(I know, am I bothering you?XD) Well I now know how to insert these tiles thanks to you but I am here to ask if I may post this thread in a different language because it can help some people out but of course I will link your PC page and the original post like PC,PORH,RHM, whichever you would like, and thats if you let me...
__________________
The End is Near...
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old January 27th, 2014, 03:45 AM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
la butt doit le sniff
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by SynBit View Post
Hello once again(I know, am I bothering you?XD) Well I now know how to insert these tiles thanks to you but I am here to ask if I may post this thread in a different language because it can help some people out but of course I will link your PC page and the original post like PC,PORH,RHM, whichever you would like, and thats if you let me...
sure i don't mind but you might want to ask a moderator before you do that
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the Ruby rombase sound list I contributed by clicking here
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old January 27th, 2014, 06:46 PM
Near~'s Avatar
Near~
The End is Near...
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Berlín, Alemania
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Near~
Oh excuse my bad english but i ment can i post it in another forum? Which of course is in another language... I will be very sure to put as many links to you XD well hope to hear back soon it would help alot in the other forums ^___^
__________________
The End is Near...
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old January 31st, 2014, 08:54 PM
The_Show
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
When I opened the ROM, the palette was messed up. I figured out, that in BLOCK EDITOR once you've edited your palette, you need to go to "Palettes" and then click "Write palette changes to ROM". Once I did this, the colors worked great! This was a fantastic, uberly awesome tutorial and you did a great job :D

Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old February 1st, 2014, 09:21 AM
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
Big Daddy in the House!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
How would one be able to edit Tileset 0 (FR) since there's no more space in it (transparent color) , and you can't enlarge it? (Look at the attachments (I had to change it to png to put it here))
Attached Images
File Type: png Tileset0 dafadfa.png‎ (13.8 KB, 13 views) (Save to Dropbox)
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old February 1st, 2014, 02:16 PM
The_Show
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Surskit View Post
How would one be able to edit Tileset 0 (FR) since there's no more space in it (transparent color) , and you can't enlarge it? (Look at the attachments (I had to change it to png to put it here))
Since this tutorial is based off of Ruby, you may have better luck searching the Tutorial Forums for a FR based tutorial.
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old February 1st, 2014, 02:35 PM
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
Big Daddy in the House!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
I know it's based on Ruby, but there can be things that apply to both ROMs..
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old February 1st, 2014, 04:09 PM
The_Show
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Carracosta Rock, Akmin Region
Gender: Male
Nature: Sassy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Surskit View Post
I know it's based on Ruby, but there can be things that apply to both ROMs..
Ah I see your problem. You more than likely saved "Tileset 1", when you should've save "Tileset 2". Make sure you expanded your blocks to 512 first. Now your Tileset 2 should have enough space.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old February 1st, 2014, 04:31 PM
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
Big Daddy in the House!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
I know that much, but I'm trying to edit Tileset 0 in FR which has the Pokemon Center, trees and other stuff and when you press enlarge it asks you if you want to enlarge the second tileset not the first you have..
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old February 1st, 2014, 09:18 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
la butt doit le sniff
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Show View Post
When I opened the ROM, the palette was messed up. I figured out, that in BLOCK EDITOR once you've edited your palette, you need to go to "Palettes" and then click "Write palette changes to ROM". Once I did this, the colors worked great! This was a fantastic, uberly awesome tutorial and you did a great job :D

glad I could help, I am pretty sure I mentioned the write palette changes to rom thing somewhere in the tutorial lol but anyways I'm glad it works enjoy it because it only making hacking that much more fun!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Surskit View Post
I know that much, but I'm trying to edit Tileset 0 in FR which has the Pokemon Center, trees and other stuff and when you press enlarge it asks you if you want to enlarge the second tileset not the first you have..
explain this enlarge ... are you trying to double the viewing size in the block editor?
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the Ruby rombase sound list I contributed by clicking here

Last edited by Le pug; February 1st, 2014 at 09:27 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old February 2nd, 2014, 07:48 AM
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
Big Daddy in the House!
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
No I just wanna edit FR's tileset 0 (with the grass, pkmn center, etc) but as you can see there's no space in it for me to edit and you can't make tileset 0 512 blocks
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old February 2nd, 2014, 08:11 AM
reshilegend's Avatar
reshilegend
Let's find the key we've lost
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Probably not the same place as you
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Send a message via Skype™ to reshilegend
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ninja Surskit View Post
No I just wanna edit FR's tileset 0 (with the grass, pkmn center, etc) but as you can see there's no space in it for me to edit and you can't make tileset 0 512 blocks
I'm not sure what you mean, but maybe this will help:
Remove the default tiles that you don't need, and then replace them with your new ones. You can replace Pokemon Center for Pokemon Center, tree for tree etc. if you're afraid of doing something wrong, but if you're going for a complete new tileset, insert them so that you save the most possible amount of space. For example don't include tiles that you could recreate with the x/y flip in AM's block editor. (= mirrored tiles).

Also, the size of both tilesets (1 and 2) is always the same, you can only change the amount of Tileset 2's blocks in AM so that you can create different kinds of blocks (e.g. a tree with different path tiles under it).
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old February 10th, 2014, 06:24 AM
The Stalker's Avatar
The Stalker
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Among the Shadows
Gender: Female
Nature: Lonely
I very much prefer your method of inserting. Thanks for sharing, mate
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old April 27th, 2014, 03:13 PM
Maglor's Avatar
Maglor
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Gender: Male
Finally, I actually made it. Thank you very much good sir, you have contributed much to my hacking.
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old May 1st, 2014, 03:10 PM
coca cola's Avatar
coca cola
Wanna be:D
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Age: 19
Gender: Male
I now understand this finally!! Always wanted to insert my own tiles and the youtube vids you search on the tube don't help you but if you go on pokecommunity you find a gem like this of the tube that tells you how to do it right I might start a really gd hack this summer thanks to this.

P.s. I hope your youtube vid gets more populer because it is the best! Oh and later on I think I heard some funny background noises in that vid haha
__________________
Cola ruins teeth mwa ha ha
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old May 1st, 2014, 09:10 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
la butt doit le sniff
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by coca cola View Post
I now understand this finally!! Always wanted to insert my own tiles and the youtube vids you search on the tube don't help you but if you go on pokecommunity you find a gem like this of the tube that tells you how to do it right I might start a really gd hack this summer thanks to this.

P.s. I hope your youtube vid gets more populer because it is the best! Oh and later on I think I heard some funny background noises in that vid haha
im glad you understand it now, i feel you on the youtube vid thing. Now that I'm more experienced I won't forget my roots of struggling just to insert stuff or script or whatever and I want to help others bypass all the bs times I spent looking to make it easier on myself.

I hope you make your hack, you'll have fun doing it and PM me if you need any help or advice.
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the Ruby rombase sound list I contributed by clicking here
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old May 2nd, 2014, 03:39 PM
avaramoon
Mirage Of Tales
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sogen Suburb, Avlar
Gender: Female
Nature: Brave
I'm sorry if this is a really stupid question but I'm very new to this!


Just wanted to ask, say I wanted to insert new water tiles. Would that corrupt the already-existing water animations/would I have to add new water animations? Just thinking that finding tiles to use sounds hard enough without having to find and insert corresponding animations too! =P
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old May 2nd, 2014, 06:31 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
la butt doit le sniff
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by avaramoon View Post
I'm sorry if this is a really stupid question but I'm very new to this!


Just wanted to ask, say I wanted to insert new water tiles. Would that corrupt the already-existing water animations/would I have to add new water animations? Just thinking that finding tiles to use sounds hard enough without having to find and insert corresponding animations too! =P
You have to add new water animations
__________________
Need help inserting tiles into AdvanceMap to have customized tiles for your hack?
• Check out my tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the Ruby rombase sound list I contributed by clicking here
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old May 4th, 2014, 04:01 PM
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Thanks i really understand how to do it now!
__________________

thanks to Saturnus for helping me with the sig

My hack

Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.