Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page Simple Questions (PLEASE USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE ASKING)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #51    
Old January 7th, 2014 (06:01 AM).
Randomlords's Avatar
Randomlords Randomlords is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
I used the Type Effectiveness Editor tool
__________________
Shut up Woman, and get on Magcargo!
  #52    
Old January 7th, 2014 (10:07 AM). Edited January 7th, 2014 by Tlachtli.
Tlachtli's Avatar
Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
Crit happens.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faraway place
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 256
Quote originally posted by Randomlords:
Hello, I am inserting Fairy type into Pokemon Ruby, and I did that by replacing ???-type with it. I've added all the weaknesses and resistances of Fairy into my game too, and even changed a couple of attacks to my new Fairy type. However, whenever I use any of those moves, they do barely any damage. Ex: My Lv70 Wigglytuff used a Fairy move with a Power of 80 on a Lv8 Nincada, and it only lost about 2 HP. I'm thinking it's because Fairy/??? isn't a Physical/Special type in Ruby version or something like that. I can't seem to find a solution in changing this type completely.
IIRC the ???-type does not have an attack stat associated with it. There are no ???-type offensive moves*, so there was no need to give it a physical/special damage type. If you change an attack to that type, it will calculate damage as if your Att/SpAtt were 0, resulting in almost no damage being dealt. If you look at the Physical/Special split topic in the R&D section it can be used to rectify this, as their method changes how the physical/special typing is determined (making the stats' associated types--or lack thereof in ???'s case--irrelevant).

Replacing the ???-type is usually not a good idea, as Eggs also use that type. If you change ??? to Fairy, then Eggs will become Fairy as well; Curse will too, unless you change it to Ghost (which most people do).

*Contrary to popular belief, Struggle is Normal type. Check a clean ROM for yourself if you don't believe me.
__________________
Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:

A Gen 3 remake de-make, (soon to be) featuring many Gen VI mechanics
  #53    
Old January 7th, 2014 (02:28 PM).
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 693
In Fire Red how can I change the location sorting of the Pokedex so when I create a new Pokemon over an old one it doesn't stay in the same habitat?

For example: I replace Poliwag with a Dialga. How would I make it so my new Dialga is in the "Rare Pokemon Section" instead of the "Pond Section" where Poliwag used to be?
__________________
Coming soon...
  #54    
Old January 7th, 2014 (11:14 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq ShyRayq is offline
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 885
Quote originally posted by Teh Blazer:
In Fire Red how can I change the location sorting of the Pokedex so when I create a new Pokemon over an old one it doesn't stay in the same habitat?

For example: I replace Poliwag with a Dialga. How would I make it so my new Dialga is in the "Rare Pokemon Section" instead of the "Pond Section" where Poliwag used to be?
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=6263014&highlight=Habitat#post6263014
This link should show you a page in the research thread. It's easy to edit, just that you need to move around ALOT of offsets. But once it's done, it'll make the game a bit more professional
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
  #55    
Old January 8th, 2014 (12:58 PM).
Tlachtli's Avatar
Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
Crit happens.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faraway place
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 256
Is it possible to have a scripted battle start with the enemy already inflicted with a status, and if so how? Example, if I wanted to have a scripted battle start with Snorlax and I want it to be asleep for 1 turn at the beginning.

I'm working with Emerald, and it seems like it should be possible given that the roaming Lati@s can carry both status and damage from one battle to the next.
__________________
Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:

A Gen 3 remake de-make, (soon to be) featuring many Gen VI mechanics
  #56    
Old January 8th, 2014 (02:20 PM).
Randomlords's Avatar
Randomlords Randomlords is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Could I somehow change Eggs to Normal type? Is there also a way I can make ???-type attacks always Special similar to how Fire/Water/Grass etc were always Special in Gen 3?
__________________
Shut up Woman, and get on Magcargo!
  #57    
Old January 8th, 2014 (04:58 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Tlachtli:
Is it possible to have a scripted battle start with the enemy already inflicted with a status, and if so how? Example, if I wanted to have a scripted battle start with Snorlax and I want it to be asleep for 1 turn at the beginning.

I'm working with Emerald, and it seems like it should be possible given that the roaming Lati@s can carry both status and damage from one battle to the next.
I believe those Pokemon are stored in the ram and then copied in when the battle is starting. From what I remember, JPAN included status inflicting code in his hack. I don't know if this will work for the opponent, but you never know.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #58    
Old January 8th, 2014 (05:36 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by Tlachtli:
Is it possible to have a scripted battle start with the enemy already inflicted with a status, and if so how? Example, if I wanted to have a scripted battle start with Snorlax and I want it to be asleep for 1 turn at the beginning.

I'm working with Emerald, and it seems like it should be possible given that the roaming Lati@s can carry both status and damage from one battle to the next.
You can edit the basics of a wild Pokemon by using the 'setwildpokemonbattle' command and then use the 'writebytetooffset' command to do something specific. setwildpokemonbattle loads a Pokemon in the RAM but doesn't enact the battle, giving you time to edit its data. In this case you want to edit the Pokemon's sleep bits. I was able to do what you wanted with the following script:

Code:
#org @start
setwildbattle 0x8F 0xA 0x0 // Loads a level 10 Snorlax into the wild Pokemon section of the RAM
writebytetooffset 0x2 0x2024794 // Changes the Snorlax's sleep bits to 0x2
dowildbattle // Begins a wildbattle with the Pokemon loaded in the RAM
release
end
You can get some more in-depth information on how a Pokemon's data is structured here.
__________________
  #59    
Old January 8th, 2014 (07:19 PM).
Merak's Avatar
Merak Merak is offline
Because reasons.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Deep in my thoughts.
Age: 19
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 250
Okay, after seeing the above messages, now I'm curious.
Maybe I overlooked a tutorial that included it, or maybe not.


Where can I learn about commands like "writebytetooffset" and other scripting commands for XSE?
  #60    
Old January 8th, 2014 (07:35 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Merak:
Okay, after seeing the above messages, now I'm curious.
Maybe I overlooked a tutorial that included it, or maybe not.


Where can I learn about commands like "writebytetooffset" and other scripting commands for XSE?
Step 1: Open XSE.

Step 2: Hit F1.

Step 3: Reward yourself.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #61    
Old January 8th, 2014 (07:43 PM).
Tlachtli's Avatar
Tlachtli Tlachtli is offline
Crit happens.
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faraway place
Age: 24
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 256
Quote originally posted by DrFuji:
You can edit the basics of a wild Pokemon by using the 'setwildpokemonbattle' command and then use the 'writebytetooffset' command to do something specific. setwildpokemonbattle loads a Pokemon in the RAM but doesn't enact the battle, giving you time to edit its data. In this case you want to edit the Pokemon's sleep bits. I was able to do what you wanted with the following script:

Code:
#org @start
setwildbattle 0x8F 0xA 0x0 // Loads a level 10 Snorlax into the wild Pokemon section of the RAM
writebytetooffset 0x2 0x2024794 // Changes the Snorlax's sleep bits to 0x2
dowildbattle // Begins a wildbattle with the Pokemon loaded in the RAM
release
end
You can get some more in-depth information on how a Pokemon's data is structured here.
This looks like exactly what I was after. I'll give the info a browse and see what other kind of fun stuff can be done, thanks!
__________________
Pokemon Sigma Σmerald:

A Gen 3 remake de-make, (soon to be) featuring many Gen VI mechanics
  #62    
Old January 9th, 2014 (02:14 AM).
Eminence's Avatar
Eminence Eminence is offline
Pokemon Eminence
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Posts: 19
How would you go about changing the battle backgrounds in Ruby? I have found threads on how to change them in Fire-red, but can't find any other thread or video on how to do it on ruby.
__________________

http://nupzdeviant.deviantart.com/
  #63    
Old January 9th, 2014 (05:37 AM).
Kyoko1 Kyoko1 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 63
Send a message via Skype™ to Kyoko1
It's basically the same how on FireRed, just the image-offsets are different.
There should be no problem with Ruby though.
  #64    
Old January 9th, 2014 (11:02 AM).
Thrasher24's Avatar
Thrasher24 Thrasher24 is offline
~Legendary Master~
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outside of Pallet Town, Kanto
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 55
FINALLY, What ive been thinking the past 3+ years has happened. a NEW Questions thread.


Anyway, is there an update for HackMew's A-Mart to allow me to use it on leaf Green? Thnx in advanced!!!
__________________
My 6 PkMn:
Fly! Char! Master!
Fossil! Pichu! Mew2
  #65    
Old January 9th, 2014 (12:02 PM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is offline
Moderator
CS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,498
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Thrasher24:
FINALLY, What ive been thinking the past 3+ years has happened. a NEW Questions thread.


Anyway, is there an update for HackMew's A-Mart to allow me to use it on leaf Green? Thnx in advanced!!!
Why would you use A-Mart when it's essentially been included in XSE? Find yourself a copy of XSE 1.1.1, double-click on any Poké Mart Clerk script and simply edit the #org @mart "#raw"s (it should be easy if stditems.rbh is included).

Incidentally, I would advise you to use FireRed over LeafGreen as many tutorials are written specifically to cater to FireRed's offsets, people tend to assume hacks are FireRed hacks when downloading, some tools don't support LeafGreen, and so on.
__________________
  #66    
Old January 9th, 2014 (12:53 PM).
~Ɓαitøt~'s Avatar
~Ɓαitøt~ ~Ɓαitøt~ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by Thrasher24:
Anyway, is there an update for HackMew's A-Mart to allow me to use it on leaf Green? Thnx in advanced!!!
You can change the "offsets.ini" file available in the folder Advance Mart.
I quickly compiled a list of offsets so maybe that offsets are bad:

Code:
[POKEMON LEAFBPGE]
Itemdata=4042384
Shops(1)=0
Shops(2)=1483380
Shops(3)=1484516
Shops(4)=1486004
Shops(5)=1488488
Shops(6)=1487724
Shops(7)=0
Shops(8)=1489744
Shops(9)=1489684
Shops(10)=0
Shops(11)=1489932
Shops(12)=1490072
Shops(13)=1490016
Shops(14)=1501734
Shops(15)=1496308
Shops(16)=1501732
Shops(17)=1501904
Shops(18)=0
Shops(19)=1472244
Shops(20)=1513616
Shops(21)=1514672
Shops(22)=0
Shops(23)=1515112
Shops(24)=1460664
Shops(25)=1510196

If you take the list if it does not work, or whatever.
  #67    
Old January 9th, 2014 (03:46 PM).
Merak's Avatar
Merak Merak is offline
Because reasons.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Deep in my thoughts.
Age: 19
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 250
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Step 1: Open XSE.

Step 2: Hit F1.

Step 3: Reward yourself.


Well. I can't believe I missed that. Thanks.
  #68    
Old January 10th, 2014 (04:41 AM).
MrMacBeth's Avatar
MrMacBeth MrMacBeth is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Posts: 48
Could somebody give me the ability offset in FireRed?
__________________



  #69    
Old January 10th, 2014 (06:41 AM).
leogrecchi leogrecchi is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 64
I've got a wild idea for a hack: Making a "Dream World/Friend Safari" thingy (as in, a place to catch pokémon with hidden abilities)

How: As I see no easy way to implement DW abilities, I thought about making a small number of pokémon avaliable (less than 25), create entries for them in the ??? slots and make them avaliable only in that portion of the game.

What I want: I need to make these mons to call the dex positions for the correspondent mons in dex. Example: I create a Drought Ninetales in position #252 (the first ???). But when I catch it, I want it to call the dex entry for #038 (which is the real Ninetales dex entry) so it doesn't crash the game.

Is it possible? How?
  #70    
Old January 10th, 2014 (07:14 AM).
Scorpiopt's Avatar
Scorpiopt Scorpiopt is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 125
is there a tool to change the gen5 mechanics to updated then to gen 6
things like move power and twave not affecting electric pokemons
__________________
Don't take life too serious no one is getting out alive

  #71    
Old January 10th, 2014 (09:05 AM).
~Ɓαitøt~'s Avatar
~Ɓαitøt~ ~Ɓαitøt~ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by MrMacBeth:
Could somebody give me the ability offset in FireRed?
For Fire Red :
Name = 2423872 (dec)
Description = 2423560 (dec)

For the Data, I have no idea.
  #72    
Old January 10th, 2014 (10:56 AM).
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 243
So in my firered hack some pokemon are all of a sudden able to do nothing but struggle when battling them...teddiursa and mightyena to be specific. Their moves still exist when caught, but not when battling them.

Teddiursa specifically is using struggle even in the safari zone...
__________________
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #73    
Old January 10th, 2014 (11:15 AM).
~Ɓαitøt~'s Avatar
~Ɓαitøt~ ~Ɓαitøt~ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by Noossab Blue:
So in my firered hack some pokemon are all of a sudden able to do nothing but struggle when battling them...teddiursa and mightyena to be specific. Their moves still exist when caught, but not when battling them.

Teddiursa specifically is using struggle even in the safari zone...
This is weird ...
Have you replaced a pointer of the learned attacks by another?
  #74    
Old January 10th, 2014 (11:55 AM).
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 243
No. Not on purpose anyway. I've been making very small edits to the hack, just moveset (using YAPE) and map adjustments mostly, so I have no idea why this is happening. It's possible something I did a long time ago cause it, but I don't know what it would be...
__________________
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #75    
Old January 10th, 2014 (12:00 PM).
~Ɓαitøt~'s Avatar
~Ɓαitøt~ ~Ɓαitøt~ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 22
If you do not mind, could you send me your rom here or PM ?
I look if I see something wrong.
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:34 PM.