Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page Simple Questions (PLEASE USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE ASKING)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #76    
Old January 10th, 2014 (02:52 PM).
SFD64 SFD64 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Does anyone know how to merge maps from separate ROMs into one ROM? So say if my friend sent me his ROM could I put some of his maps into my ROM.
  #77    
Old January 10th, 2014 (02:56 PM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper Sniper is offline
ふゆかい
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,410
Quote originally posted by SFD64:
Does anyone know how to merge maps from separate ROMs into one ROM? So say if my friend sent me his ROM could I put some of his maps into my ROM.
Using A-map, you must export the map from your friend's from then import it to yours.
However, sometimes when you do that. It makes you unable to run/bike or even use fly.
I think the game insist that you are inside a house.
__________________
  #78    
Old January 10th, 2014 (04:02 PM).
leyn09's Avatar
leyn09 leyn09 is offline
Truant Trainer
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 61
Question about description pointers.

I tried to edit the description of move pound. its pointer is 1C6F34 so I will need to search 346f1c08 in a hex editor and change the pointer to the text script that I made (0x800000). After searching, I actually found more than one 34f1c08 so I changed them all to 00008008 then change the Pound's desc. pointer using PGE. Afterwards, I checked it in game and fortunately it worked! However, whenever I used Pound, it always freezes.

So, what have I done wrong? How could I safely repoint those description pointers? Thanks for those who will at least give this an attention.
  #79    
Old January 10th, 2014 (05:11 PM).
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 243
Quote originally posted by Noossab Blue:
So in my firered hack some pokemon are all of a sudden able to do nothing but struggle when battling them...teddiursa and mightyena to be specific. Their moves still exist when caught, but not when battling them.

Teddiursa specifically is using struggle even in the safari zone...
More info on this. Apparently when teddiursa is caught it DOESN'T have any moves...but in YAPE both teddiursa's and mightyena's moves are all listed...
__________________
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #80    
Old January 10th, 2014 (07:36 PM).
jirachiwishmaker's Avatar
jirachiwishmaker jirachiwishmaker is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Forina
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by Hiroshi Kaede:
Well, it might be some tile error or somekind. But the best thing you can do is, create another map! Goto A-Map and create a duplicate of the map(what i mean is make it look like the other one). Then goto SMCA and point out your newly made map.



What are you using to insert them? Sappy or what?




You can do hex editing or something like that to do that bud
About expanding the amount of tiles blocks of Emerald from 512 to 1024, could you please and please explain it clearly step by step? Thank you very much:-)
  #81    
Old January 10th, 2014 (09:39 PM).
FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is online now
Legendary Trainer ZX
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 638
Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
Does anybody know why this happens? I know why, but I can't get my hands on it.
I "replaced" all 20 battle backgrounds thinking that it would change.
-----

__________________
  #82    
Old January 10th, 2014 (10:56 PM).
DrFuji's Avatar
DrFuji DrFuji is offline
Helfen, Wehren, Heilen
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Downia-upside
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 1,322
Quote originally posted by FrozenInfernoZX:
Does anybody know why this happens? I know why, but I can't get my hands on it.
I "replaced" all 20 battle backgrounds thinking that it would change.
-----

I'm not really sure what you mean by all of that. Can you explain a bit more?

Anyway, it looks like your battle background's tilemap hasn't been done correctly. The strip of different colours hasn't been carried over throughout the entire tilemap. It needs to look like the following in NTME or the tilemap editor of your choice.

Spoiler:
__________________
  #83    
Old January 10th, 2014 (11:05 PM). Edited January 10th, 2014 by FrozenInfernoZX.
FrozenInfernoZX's Avatar
FrozenInfernoZX FrozenInfernoZX is online now
Legendary Trainer ZX
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: United States
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 638
Send a message via AIM to FrozenInfernoZX
I was actually just editing the original tilemaps in order to get rid of that extra part of the battle background. I wanted it to look like the image on the left. So I opened up NTME and overwrote upper part with the lower part (so everything is uniform).

I thought that replacing all 20 of the backgrounds with the "uniform" look would get rid of that original part that you see on the right image. I want to completely get rid of it.

My plan was to have the bottom use palette 2 and the top to use palette 3, but with a slightly different style.
I want it to look like this:
-----

-----
But that other part keeps showing up when I start a battle.
Ans it still shows up here, so that means it's a shared image.
That means that I'm still missing another offset.
-----

-----
Edit 1 - Although I edited it out of the tilemap (RAW), I had to edit it out of the tileset as well.
Thanks for the help though.
__________________
  #84    
Old January 11th, 2014 (02:43 AM).
MrMacBeth's Avatar
MrMacBeth MrMacBeth is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Posts: 48
Quote originally posted by Memasa:
For Fire Red :
Name = 2423872 (dec)
Description = 2423560 (dec)

For the Data, I have no idea.
Actually, I was expecting the ability data offset. Thank you anyway!

(If anyboy knows, I would be eternally grateful)
  #85    
Old January 11th, 2014 (03:57 AM).
~Ɓαitøt~'s Avatar
~Ɓαitøt~ ~Ɓαitøt~ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by MrMacBeth:
Actually, I was expecting the ability data offset. Thank you anyway!

(If anyboy knows, I would be eternally grateful)
I think it is almost impossible to find the data of abilities because it varies greatly with the ASM routines.
To change it requires great knowledge in ASM.
  #86    
Old January 11th, 2014 (09:32 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,148
Quote originally posted by Memasa:
I think it is almost impossible to find the data of abilities because it varies greatly with the ASM routines.
To change it requires great knowledge in ASM.
There is no ability table. Only the names. The rest is PURELY handled by asm. Most of it goes by battle command routines too, but they are litterally around the rom in no organized manner. Jambo51 found some checks for them, and if you expand these checks, you can theoretically have more abilities. It's in karatekid552's 649 patch folders on github.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #87    
Old January 11th, 2014 (09:55 AM).
~Ɓαitøt~'s Avatar
~Ɓαitøt~ ~Ɓαitøt~ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: France
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 22
Quote originally posted by Noossab Blue:
More info on this. Apparently when teddiursa is caught it DOESN'T have any moves...but in YAPE both teddiursa's and mightyena's moves are all listed...
In the rom you passed me, there is no bug ; Teddiursa has attacks. You gave me good rom ?
If yes, did you use action replay codes?
  #88    
Old January 11th, 2014 (12:32 PM).
Noossab Blue's Avatar
Noossab Blue Noossab Blue is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 243
Thanks for taking a look Memsa, I PMd you the answer.

Another question now...I've found plenty of things saying that you can't replace the Marowak event by going in and changing the script...but what if you change what Marowak is in a pokemon editor like YAPE? I know that thick club will still work with whatever you put there, but otherwise will that pokemon appear in Pokemon Tower instead of Marowak?
__________________
IGN: Anna/Noossab Blue
3DS FC: 3196 3609 8450

Thanks to SilverGrey for the awesome banner! Click to see!
Current as of 1/31/14: I updated again!

  #89    
Old January 11th, 2014 (12:56 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Noossab Blue:
Thanks for taking a look Memsa, I PMd you the answer.

Another question now...I've found plenty of things saying that you can't replace the Marowak event by going in and changing the script...but what if you change what Marowak is in a pokemon editor like YAPE? I know that thick club will still work with whatever you put there, but otherwise will that pokemon appear in Pokemon Tower instead of Marowak?
I don't see any reason why not. However, in JPAN's engine, he included a hack for this to create and change ghost battles anywhere. That seems like the better approach.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #90    
Old January 11th, 2014 (03:25 PM).
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug Le pug is offline
Retired from ROMHacking
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 637
im confused on how to change the trainer battle intro... like you know how aqua and magma have their own and plasma too? how would i change a trainer to have an intro like that?
__________________







Remember me with smiles and laughter, for that is how I will remember you all.
If you can only remember me with tears, then don't remember me at all.

Laura Ingalls Wilder
  #91    
Old January 11th, 2014 (05:37 PM).
gameguru's Avatar
gameguru gameguru is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Your Mind
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 43
In firered how do I make the badge fanfare play? I can't find it anywhere in the original game's code.
  #92    
Old January 11th, 2014 (06:31 PM).
Geodude6 Geodude6 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
What is the offset for the starting script? As in, the one where Oak says "Hi! Welcome to the world of Pokémon!"
  #93    
Old January 11th, 2014 (06:31 PM).
Setzer Gabbiani's Avatar
Setzer Gabbiani Setzer Gabbiani is offline
Gambler
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: USA, Ohio
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Posts: 13
Send a message via Skype™ to Setzer Gabbiani
Hello there everyone, I registered here a while back, but just got around to begin my career in Pokemon hacking. I had a quick question that I couldn't find in the tutorial section by searching, or in this thread.

Back when I first tried hacking a few years ago, I found a tutorial on how to replace the Professor Intro in the game. With my story idea, I would prefer it to be something along the lines of a book with text/a collection of pictures with text for the intro. Could anyone point me in the direction of a tutorial that helps with this topic?
  #94    
Old January 11th, 2014 (06:36 PM).
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch chrunch is offline
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Posts: 1,120
Quote originally posted by Geodude6:
What is the offset for the starting script? As in, the one where Oak says "Hi! Welcome to the world of Pokémon!"
I don't believe that it's a script - you can however edit the text with a hex editor or using a-text.
__________________
  #95    
Old January 11th, 2014 (10:10 PM).
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug Le pug is offline
Retired from ROMHacking
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 637
Quote originally posted by gameguru:
In firered how do I make the badge fanfare play? I can't find it anywhere in the original game's code.
decompile a gym script and look for it... all you do is open the script of an existing gym leader and look for the sound. if you dont see it, it's probably something like MSG_OBTAIN but for gym leaders
__________________







Remember me with smiles and laughter, for that is how I will remember you all.
If you can only remember me with tears, then don't remember me at all.

Laura Ingalls Wilder
  #96    
Old January 12th, 2014 (02:54 AM). Edited January 12th, 2014 by Spherical Ice.
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice Spherical Ice is online now
Team Rocket Grunt would like to battle!
ModeratorCS
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 3,694
Quote originally posted by gameguru:
In firered how do I make the badge fanfare play? I can't find it anywhere in the original game's code.
Include this is the textbox before "[player] obtained the Badge"

\c\h06Á

(assuming you're using XSE, it may be different for other scripting languages)

It's like this in the default Brock script from FireRed:


...\c\h06Á[player] received the BOULDERBADGE\nfrom BROCK!\c\h17\c\h0BÇÀ\c\h08\n\c\h08[Ke]\c\h18\p\c\h06ÇJust having...


The \c commands after "\nfrom Brock!" might be a pseudo-"fadetodefault" command, but I'm not really sure.
__________________

"Develop amnesia conveniently and forget everything you've heard!"
spheal clicker | rom hacking | pokémon gaia
staff antagonists collab 2015
  #97    
Old January 12th, 2014 (03:48 PM).
HodgePodgeNine HodgePodgeNine is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 4
Hi, I was wondering if anyone knows whether or not Zel2.0 made the Shiny Gold overworld maps publicly available. Thanks
  #98    
Old January 13th, 2014 (07:38 AM).
Kyoko1 Kyoko1 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 63
Send a message via Skype™ to Kyoko1
I don't think so but you could try to contact him, but I don't think hes active..
  #99    
Old January 14th, 2014 (08:03 AM).
pokemonT pokemonT is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Gender: Female
Posts: 7
I have a Samsung galaxy tablet (I think it’s a 3) that's only been used for about a week. The first few days the emulator (My Boy! Gba emulator) and games (legit games such as emerald, sapphire; fake games such as pokemon chaos black and rom hacks such as pokemon snakewood) worked good but now the sound is very scratchy, it misses notes and it is very annoying. Sometimes it’s a second here or there but a lot of the time it sounds like it’s in slow motion and super slow and messed up. I have tried turning it off, restarting it, deleting and redownloading My Boy!, closing other running apps and deleting other content on my tablet. It was running fine even when I had less space on my tablet than I did before and these same games were fine before too. Do you know another emulator I can get from the Playstore that I won't have this problem with or tell me how to fix this problem? Please explain it easily because I am very new to the Rom world and I barely can grasp anything. Thank you so much if you help, it'll mean a lot to me. I've been wanting to play roms forever and finally could and this problem with the sound is really annoying and disappointing, since it makes playing the games a lot less enjoyable...
  #100    
Old January 14th, 2014 (08:25 AM).
FBI agent's Avatar
FBI agent FBI agent is offline
If my PM box is full, VM instead :x
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Unknown Island
Gender: Male
Posts: 828
Quote originally posted by pokemonT:
I have a Samsung galaxy tablet (I think it’s a 3) that's only been used for about a week. The first few days the emulator (My Boy! Gba emulator) and games (legit games such as emerald, sapphire; fake games such as pokemon chaos black and rom hacks such as pokemon snakewood) worked good but now the sound is very scratchy, it misses notes and it is very annoying. Sometimes it’s a second here or there but a lot of the time it sounds like it’s in slow motion and super slow and messed up. I have tried turning it off, restarting it, deleting and redownloading My Boy!, closing other running apps and deleting other content on my tablet. It was running fine even when I had less space on my tablet than I did before and these same games were fine before too. Do you know another emulator I can get from the Playstore that I won't have this problem with or tell me how to fix this problem? Please explain it easily because I am very new to the Rom world and I barely can grasp anything. Thank you so much if you help, it'll mean a lot to me. I've been wanting to play roms forever and finally could and this problem with the sound is really annoying and disappointing, since it makes playing the games a lot less enjoyable...
That sounds like quite the weird problem, though I'm thinking it's a hardware problem. Does your sound work normally for other applications? If it does, which ROM hacks are giving you audio issues? Try running Emerald again and see if it gives audio issues. If it doesn't, it's quite possible it's just the hack itself/patching problems.
__________________
...

My name forum name is FBI Agent, though you can call me FBI because it's shorter.

Some of my stuff:
ASM request/resource thread
ASM tutorials thread
ASM Workshop
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 05:11 AM.