Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Pokémon Gen III Rom Hacking Suite

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #26    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (08:13 PM).
Dark Shadow 6's Avatar
Dark Shadow 6
Friends Till The End
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Nimbasa City Unova
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Best pokemmon data editor i ever seen and yes there is a bug in pokemon Evolution level
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (08:59 PM).
sonicfan7895
Sprite Inserter
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Golden/Denver, Colorado
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Send a message via Yahoo to sonicfan7895 Send a message via Skype™ to sonicfan7895
You sir/ma'am, have won an internet.
__________________
Hacks I Am Currently Working On: Pokemon Infinity (and two more sequels in the future)
Reply With Quote
  #28    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (09:15 PM).
LuxrayHacker's Avatar
LuxrayHacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Narnia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
I'm in love with this <3 does it work with hacks in progress?
Reply With Quote
  #29    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (09:32 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by MusaddiqTheWarrior:
Best pokemmon data editor i ever seen and yes there is a bug in pokemon Evolution level
I just fixed this. Uploading now.

Quote originally posted by sonicfan7895:
You sir/ma'am, have won an internet.
What do you think I came here for? To lose? And I'm a sir, haha.

Quote originally posted by LuxrayHacker:
I'm in love with this <3 does it work with hacks in progress?
If it didn't, we would have issues, right? Just make sure the ini is right for your rom. Read the section on the ini in the documentation, as it is special.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #30    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (10:08 PM).
LuxrayHacker's Avatar
LuxrayHacker
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Narnia
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Mild
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
I just fixed this. Uploading now.



What do you think I came here for? To lose? And I'm a sir, haha.



If it didn't, we would have issues, right? Just make sure the ini is right for your rom. Read the section on the ini in the documentation, as it is special.
Yay ^-^ Thank you so much for this <3 I have never been so happy over a tool now if I can only find one that makes cry inserts easy :3
Reply With Quote
  #31    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (10:08 PM).
Daniagnargjr
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Is it compatible with Jambo's safe flag&var hack?
Reply With Quote
  #32    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (10:45 PM).
jirachiwishmaker's Avatar
jirachiwishmaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Forina
Age: 29
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Okay, time to discuss common errors.

-The 'gbk' codec error is something I have only seen when testing on computer from other non-Latin alphabet countries. This is because characters from languages like Chinese and Japanese require more than one byte to represent. The GUI library I am using cannot handle that unless it was compiled on that type of computer to begin with. (I think, since this library has been used in Chinese development) If your computer does not use any different or outlandish characters normally, then contact me. Not going to lie, the guy that was testing this for me changed his computer language to English and rebooted. Then it worked fine. If you want to compile a Chinese or Japanese version, by all means, let me know and we can work something out.

-The ascii codec errors are due to decoding text. The only accented character I have tested at all is the accented e from the pokemon logo. All others are untested and I have no idea if they even load. If you are loading an English game, then I can guarantee you that you are loading text from the wrong offset if you get an ascii error. This could the list of names, moves, or items, or the pokedex entries. If you are loading from a non-English game, I hope you checked your offsets. If they are right, contact me.

Also, I most commonly get this error when I am testing and constantly erasing and rebuilding the ini. I get it when I forget to clear the 0xFFFFFE number and end up loading Emerald with FireRed's ini. So yeah, make sure you are loading from the right offsets.

Edit:
-I received this error twice in the past ten minutes: "List index out of range" and on the line above, it was in the function get_move_data. This error baffles me, as there is no way it could happen. Whomever submitted it, could you please contact me?
I have had changed the computer language to English and it worked perfectly. I hope you could compile a Chinese or Japanese version for me and others. The Emerald Chinese version was used Emerald US version as a base rom, so I thought it is also compatible with this program. This error will happen is due to the Chinese decoding text. I could use the code to expand the number of evolution of Eevee in my hack rom successfully because I applied the code into US version rom and used the patch tool to compare with the original rom to create a patch. Thanks for your explanation
Reply With Quote
  #33    
Old February 23rd, 2014 (11:06 PM).
ShyRayq's Avatar
ShyRayq
Unprofessional Unprofessional
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Holy crap, this exists. I thought this was a myth.
But seriously, a massive contribution to the hacking community, that should (I hope)
create lots of great hacks for the future.
__________________
3DS Friend Code: 5069-3944-3902
IGN: Peter, (Pokemon Y, Pokemon OR)
Friend Safari: (Fighting) Throh, Meditite, Breloom
Live Pokedex (Y) Completed as of 02/03/14 (718), 10/11/14 (719)
Live Pokedex (OR) Completed as of 25/12/14 (719)
Big thanks especially to DestinedJagold, Xerneas_X, Elements1 and ~RNC~

PM me if you want to trade, or add my FC.
Reply With Quote
  #34    
Old February 24th, 2014 (03:49 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by jirachiwishmaker:
I have had changed the computer language to English and it worked perfectly. I hope you could compile a Chinese or Japanese version for me and others. The Emerald Chinese version was used Emerald US version as a base rom, so I thought it is also compatible with this program. This error will happen is due to the Chinese decoding text. I could use the code to expand the number of evolution of Eevee in my hack rom successfully because I applied the code into US version rom and used the patch tool to compare with the original rom to create a patch. Thanks for your explanation
I will do my best. However I don't want to have to reboot my computer in 4 different languages every time I update. So, I need people to maintain other versions for me. If anyone would like to volunteer, be my guest.

Quote originally posted by Daniagnargjr:
Is it compatible with Jambo's safe flag&var hack?
Sort of. When you expand Pokemon, my tool applies JPAN's save block hack. This is the same thing you used to extend vars. So, you need to be careful. You will need to change the ram offset for expanding Pokemon if your flags are stored in that area. I followed Doesnt's tutorial to the letter, so his is the place to go for info.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #35    
Old February 24th, 2014 (04:01 AM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper
ヘッド·ショット
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Sniper
There are couple of issues but.. f that, THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36    
Old February 24th, 2014 (06:27 AM).
Jehowi
Your Master Superior
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Careful
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Jehowi
Quote originally posted by Jehowi:
I will make a quick video of what i do. Give me 5 mins

Okay so here is the video: http://youtu.be/qUSsrtfB5KQ only now I get a new error than previously!
Now it gives me the first error again xD so I decided to film that as well, since I noticed there have been some updates but this issue is still going.

http://youtu.be/0S6em_XG-fM
Reply With Quote
  #37    
Old February 24th, 2014 (07:45 AM).
Jehowi
Your Master Superior
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Careful
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Jehowi
Quote originally posted by Zeratul:
A temporary fix: Just go into A-Series' INI, edit the tables, open the sprite editor and you can perfectly insert the image there. That way in the suite it will load perfectly.
Could you show a pic of which tables I'd have to change in the INI?
Reply With Quote
  #38    
Old February 24th, 2014 (09:08 AM).
Tetra's Avatar
Tetra
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Hoenn
Gender: Male
Nature: Brave
Quote originally posted by Jehowi:
Could you show a pic of which tables I'd have to change in the INI?
http://gyazo.com/a0d14bc219112589a5a42d520a6b3480.png
That's mine right now. Since you don't need to edit the position, I'll give you the list you need to change:

FrontSpriteTable
BackSpriteTable
FrontPaletteTable
BackPaletteTable(Shiny)
SpeciesNames

and just list the total names. You have to add offsets for the icons if you want to edit icons too there.
Just get the offsets from the 0000 listing in the PokéRoms ini from the suite :)
Reply With Quote
  #39    
Old February 24th, 2014 (10:05 AM).
Jehowi
Your Master Superior
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Belgium
Age: 23
Gender:
Nature: Careful
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Jehowi
Quote originally posted by Zeratul:
http://gyazo.com/a0d14bc219112589a5a42d520a6b3480.png
That's mine right now. Since you don't need to edit the position, I'll give you the list you need to change:

FrontSpriteTable
BackSpriteTable
FrontPaletteTable
BackPaletteTable(Shiny)
SpeciesNames

and just list the total names. You have to add offsets for the icons if you want to edit icons too there.
Just get the offsets from the 0000 listing in the PokéRoms ini from the suite
I only want to add some new pokémon for my opponents, so I'd only have to use the frontsprites. If I changes the values to your values in the image you sent and add the total number of pokémon I added, I'll be fine? Sorry i'm not good with scripts.
Reply With Quote
  #40    
Old February 24th, 2014 (02:12 PM).
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
I like being a drone.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
I've been waiting about five minutes for the tool to open my ROM but it still doesn't... Is there a problem with my computer or does that happen to anyone else?
__________________
Pokémon Fluorite Version (Beta 2 Released)


Join Poketch.com, a new ROM hacking community! Click on the image for more!
Reply With Quote
  #41    
Old February 24th, 2014 (02:25 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Jehowi:
Now it gives me the first error again xD so I decided to film that as well, since I noticed there have been some updates but this issue is still going.

http://youtu.be/0S6em_XG-fM
Can you PLEASE send me that image. I have asked for it 3 times, lol. If you want me to fix it, I need an image that doesn't work so I can fix it, haha.

Quote originally posted by Ninja Surskit:
I've been waiting about five minutes for the tool to open my ROM but it still doesn't... Is there a problem with my computer or does that happen to anyone else?
Resize the window. Every once in a while (very rarely in fact) the window doesn't refresh. I haven't had that issue since I recoded the loading sequence about a month ago, but it may still happen to some people. If it still doesn't load, make sure there are no errors hidden and then restart the program and try again.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #42    
Old February 24th, 2014 (02:51 PM). Edited February 24th, 2014 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Attention Ruby hackers

I made a tiny mistake in the ini and my reports box has been flooded with reports. In the AXVE section, I did this:

iconspritetable = 0x3BBD2eggmovelimit = 0

Now, if that doesn't look just wrong to you, then you may need a different hobby. Just kidding, it was my fault. To fix this, just remove that ending so the line looks like this:

iconspritetable = 0x3BBD20

Sorry about that.

For those of you that expanded pokemon and now are having issues with sprite loading:

Because I highly doubt you wanted 400+ blank images of nothing and palettes inserted when expanding, I decided to insert only one blank image and palette and then have every sprite point to it. This means that if you allow my program to fill the image with FF upon repoint, you could have some issues, as FF FF FF FF is not a very good LZ header. So, when you are dealing with the blank images and palettes, MAKE SURE YOU UNCHECK THE FILL WITH FF BOX.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #43    
Old February 24th, 2014 (03:14 PM).
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
I like being a drone.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
That solution didn't work. It still doesn't load. I can make a video and edit this post with it later if you want.
__________________
Pokémon Fluorite Version (Beta 2 Released)


Join Poketch.com, a new ROM hacking community! Click on the image for more!
Reply With Quote
  #44    
Old February 24th, 2014 (03:43 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Ninja Surskit:
That solution didn't work. It still doesn't load. I can make a video and edit this post with it later if you want.
Sure, I saw that you sent me an error log. List index out of range in get_move_data is most offset caused by bad offsets. Check your ini and make sure everything is up to par with learned moves.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #45    
Old February 24th, 2014 (03:51 PM). Edited February 24th, 2014 by Dark Sneasel.
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
I like being a drone.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Well I tried it again in my other computer and it worked. It must be my computer then. But thanks

Also, like Wichu's Advanced Series, does this accept unindexed sprites?
__________________
Pokémon Fluorite Version (Beta 2 Released)


Join Poketch.com, a new ROM hacking community! Click on the image for more!
Reply With Quote
  #46    
Old February 24th, 2014 (04:32 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Ninja Surskit:
Well I tried it again in my other computer and it worked. It must be my computer then. But thanks

Also, like Wichu's Advanced Series, does this accept unindexed sprites?
Yes, in fact, in most cases (if there is any doubt of the stability) it reconverts to RGB and then reindexes. So yes, it will index for you. (You should have guessed this, as it supports Chaos' resource, which is unindexed.)
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #47    
Old February 24th, 2014 (06:14 PM).
RichterSnipes's Avatar
RichterSnipes
Simpleton
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
"Lord of the Tools"...such an awesome program nickname for so many different reasons.

It's wonderful to have a single, fully-featured program that alters so many features of the different Pokémon. Especially so for processes that were previously handled with manual hex editing and ASM inserting. 'Grats to you and any others involved with it, this will prove immensely useful for current and future GBA hackers out there!
__________________


Who says hacks have to radically changes things up from their base games?
Red doesn't necessarily think so. He's literally spinning in circles thinking of a "definitive" version of his adventure in Kanto!
Want to see what he has in mind? Click him for a throwback worth experiencing!
Reply With Quote
  #48    
Old February 24th, 2014 (11:07 PM).
Garuga17's Avatar
Garuga17
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Indonesia
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
This is REALLLYYY lord of tools, seriously, i opened up my clean firered and got a goosebump seeing tons of super-cool features like pokemon expander, move repointing, and such, you guys really did a great job, seriously

one more thing though, i still dont understand your dynamic ini system, i read the pdf, it says, its automatically reads the new offset of my rom, and wont screwed up another rom.

so, to add a new ini set for my rom, i should change my rom header to 0002/0003, or?
__________________
dunno what to write here....
Reply With Quote
  #49    
Old February 25th, 2014 (03:48 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Garuga17:
This is REALLLYYY lord of tools, seriously, i opened up my clean firered and got a goosebump seeing tons of super-cool features like pokemon expander, move repointing, and such, you guys really did a great job, seriously

one more thing though, i still dont understand your dynamic ini system, i read the pdf, it says, its automatically reads the new offset of my rom, and wont screwed up another rom.

so, to add a new ini set for my rom, i should change my rom header to 0002/0003, or?
On a clean FR rom, the last two bytes should be free space. So, I took advantage of this. What my program does, is it checks those two bytes. If they are FFFF, then it copies the BPRE section of the ini and assigns it an unused number. This number is written to the last two bytes of the rom. Now, it will read that number as the game code and load that section in the ini. Essentially, I am tagging each rom with a number that matches a number in the ini.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #50    
Old February 25th, 2014 (06:59 AM).
Golden Warrior's Avatar
Golden Warrior
Pokemon Professor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Hoenn
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Golden Warrior
... That's it, I'm dubbing 2014 as the year of GBA Hacking Advancement. So many tools that I'll replace just because you and ShinyQuagsire are making such progress on fantastic tools that not only function, but are fantastic. To both of you I say, KEEP IT UP! (Another hacking tool for my team to support... I'm ok with this!)
__________________
Current Pokemon re-play through: XD: Gale of Darkness

3DS/Pokemon Y FC: 5300 - 9087 - 1138
I'll be up to battle or trade, I'll also always be up to multibattle. PM me if you add me here, give me a reason that you're adding me, and I'll be sure to add you back!

Friend Safari: Bug Type
Pokemon: Paras, Beautifly, and Pinsir.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:03 PM.