Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Tools, Tutorials & Resources
Reload this Page [Tool] Pokémon Gen III Rom Hacking Suite

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Tools, Tutorials & Resources Various tools to help you develop your hacks can be found here.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #101    
Old March 4th, 2014 (02:08 PM).
CRaTeR's Avatar
CRaTeR CRaTeR is offline
Emperor of Aragon
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 34
Send a message via Skype™ to CRaTeR
First, I just want to say that this tool is fantastic. It's awesome being able to edit all of this in one tool, and the Dex Expander is brilliant.

What I wanted to ask was if it's possible to auto-highlight the first offset in the list when replacing sprites. I've been replacing the entire dex with those DS style sprites and it would be a lot more convenient if I could just spam enter instead of throwing some clicks in there as well.
Reply With Quote
  #102    
Old March 4th, 2014 (02:34 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by CRaTeR:
First, I just want to say that this tool is fantastic. It's awesome being able to edit all of this in one tool, and the Dex Expander is brilliant.

What I wanted to ask was if it's possible to auto-highlight the first offset in the list when replacing sprites. I've been replacing the entire dex with those DS style sprites and it would be a lot more convenient if I could just spam enter instead of throwing some clicks in there as well.
Spamming enter is how you break things, lol. I have plans to add bulk inserting of sprites eventually. Just have to work out the format.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #103    
Old March 4th, 2014 (02:39 PM).
CRaTeR's Avatar
CRaTeR CRaTeR is offline
Emperor of Aragon
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 34
Send a message via Skype™ to CRaTeR
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Spamming enter is how you break things, lol. I have plans to add bulk inserting of sprites eventually. Just have to work out the format.
Ah, that's good to hear. Keep up the good work, this tool is fantastic.
Reply With Quote
  #104    
Old March 5th, 2014 (06:07 AM).
Soup Soup is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
Hey karatekid,

First of all, thanks for creating this wonderful tool! I've played around with it a bit and I love its ease of use, cheers!

Now, being new to this kind of stuff I do have a question. I'm sorry if this seems obvious or belongs in a different thread, I just want to make sure I don't screw anything up.

I want to change my pokedex around, basically adding a few pokes from GenIV and V, by replacing pokemon I don't intend to use in my mod. Now, my main question concern overwriting data.

When I want to change for example the sprites and the pokedex entry I get prompted to repoint the data. What I want to know, the choices I receive in the list, are they the original data to be overwritten?
I want to know I can safely select the first item in the list every time, and not have to worry about finding free space when all I want to do is overwrite the original poke's data anyway.


Thanks for any answers!
Reply With Quote
  #105    
Old March 5th, 2014 (03:20 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Soup:
Hey karatekid,

First of all, thanks for creating this wonderful tool! I've played around with it a bit and I love its ease of use, cheers!

Now, being new to this kind of stuff I do have a question. I'm sorry if this seems obvious or belongs in a different thread, I just want to make sure I don't screw anything up.

I want to change my pokedex around, basically adding a few pokes from GenIV and V, by replacing pokemon I don't intend to use in my mod. Now, my main question concern overwriting data.

When I want to change for example the sprites and the pokedex entry I get prompted to repoint the data. What I want to know, the choices I receive in the list, are they the original data to be overwritten?
I want to know I can safely select the first item in the list every time, and not have to worry about finding free space when all I want to do is overwrite the original poke's data anyway.


Thanks for any answers!
The prompt provides you with 5 offsets in the rom that have a little bit more than enough free space. These are searched for every single time and therefore are always safe.

(Just wondering, you can expand Pokemon on FR, so why aren't you? I'm going to guess you are hacking Emerald in that case.)
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #106    
Old March 5th, 2014 (05:22 PM).
Soup Soup is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Gender: Male
Posts: 9
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
The prompt provides you with 5 offsets in the rom that have a little bit more than enough free space. These are searched for every single time and therefore are always safe.

(Just wondering, you can expand Pokemon on FR, so why aren't you? I'm going to guess you are hacking Emerald in that case.)
Great, so no reason to worry then, thanks!

Actually, I am hacking FR. I just want to condense the pokedex to around 210. I could expand it, but I feel like it will look cluttered in-game, when more than half of the pokes aren't even available.
Reply With Quote
  #107    
Old March 5th, 2014 (05:41 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Soup:
Great, so no reason to worry then, thanks!

Actually, I am hacking FR. I just want to condense the pokedex to around 210. I could expand it, but I feel like it will look cluttered in-game, when more than half of the pokes aren't even available.
Ahh, if you are cutting down the dex, then yes, replace pokemon, haha.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #108    
Old March 5th, 2014 (06:28 PM).
Lucariokid13's Avatar
Lucariokid13 Lucariokid13 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 39
Oh and I'll confirm for you the tool does work with Windows 8 I've used it on there since it first came out
__________________
I'm the power of the Aura

Lucariokid13 c:
Reply With Quote
  #109    
Old March 5th, 2014 (06:39 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Lucariokid13:
Oh and I'll confirm for you the tool does work with Windows 8 I've used it on there since it first came out
Thank you, that narrows down the possibilities. gogojjtech said that when he upgraded from 1.0.4 to 1.1.0, the exe started deleting itself when you clicked on it. I went through TeamViewer and confirmed that this happens and that 1.0.4 still works. I have no idea what is happening though, lol, since we ran the most current dev build from source just fine too.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #110    
Old March 5th, 2014 (08:51 PM).
Craver's Avatar
Craver Craver is offline
I'm From WAH!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Argentina
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Posts: 46
I have various ideas:

1º Deleting those buttons and replacing for the "CLEAR" button.

EXAMPLE:

Spoiler:


¿Why? It's Easy. In this case, Bulbasaur learns "GROWL/GRUÑIDO" at level 3. If i want that it learns GROWL at level 8, this attack be self positioned between Drain Leech (level 7) and Vine Whip (level 9), and no positioning manually.

2º Pokedex's face direction changer (like YAPE)

EXAMPLE:

Spoiler:


Like the 4º and next generation, the Pokemon looks at the left's pokedex. Just a little detail.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
Reply With Quote
  #111    
Old March 6th, 2014 (02:06 AM). Edited March 6th, 2014 by karatekid552.
Lucariokid13's Avatar
Lucariokid13 Lucariokid13 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Posts: 39
If you don't mind me asking but how would I go about testing the expanded pokemon out without having to use MEH? cause it might be a bit dangerous for me to use with it still being in Alpha.
__________________
I'm the power of the Aura

Lucariokid13 c:
Reply With Quote
  #112    
Old March 6th, 2014 (02:18 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Craver:
I have various ideas:

1º Deleting those buttons and replacing for the "CLEAR" button.

EXAMPLE:

Spoiler:


¿Why? It's Easy. In this case, Bulbasaur learns "GROWL/GRUÑIDO" at level 3. If i want that it learns GROWL at level 8, this attack be self positioned between Drain Leech (level 7) and Vine Whip (level 9), and no positioning manually.

2º Pokedex's face direction changer (like YAPE)

EXAMPLE:

Spoiler:


Like the 4º and next generation, the Pokemon looks at the left's pokedex. Just a little detail.
I used manual positioning so you have control. From what i remember, the order of the moves does not matter. It cycles through the whole list each time. I allow you to move up and down move so that you can control the order in which moves are learned at the same level, which can be pretty important.

The pokedex thing is weird. I was looking at it, and it appears to be one bit that controls it, but the bit is not in Pokedex data..... So yeah, I'll have to do some creative coding to handle that one in the Pokedex tab.

Quote originally posted by Lucariokid13:
If you don't mind me asking but how would I go about testing the expanded pokemon out without having to use MEH? cause it might be a bit dangerous for me to use with it still being in Alpha.
Well, you use a hex editor until MEH is done.:p
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #113    
Old March 7th, 2014 (12:06 PM).
xGal's Avatar
xGal xGal is offline
Playing some ESL
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: A tree
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 206
Karatekid, I never thought I would say this, but I LOVE you for making that tool (I don't joke this time xD). When I saw doesnt's dex enteries extention tutorial, I thought I would have to break my mind to do all the byte changes there, but thanks to you, I did it with few clicks!

Don't quit making tools!

From your old pal Gal (xd)
__________________
Hey guys, I made a soundcloud account not long ago, and I would be very happy if you guys will check it out: https://soundcloud.com/dewombat. Thanks .

Also, if you ever wanted to make a ROM hacking tool, click here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=334348
Reply With Quote
  #114    
Old March 7th, 2014 (04:09 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by xGal:
Karatekid, I never thought I would say this, but I LOVE you for making that tool (I don't joke this time xD). When I saw doesnt's dex enteries extention tutorial, I thought I would have to break my mind to do all the byte changes there, but thanks to you, I did it with few clicks!

Don't quit making tools!

From your old pal Gal (xd)
Haha, thanks man. To go along with this, I have been progressing a little bit despite being busy. Thanks to a thoughtful python developer, who goes by CChen, I was able to integrate a hex editor rather easily. It still needs some tweaks for tbl support and straight text editing, but everything else works great.

Spoiler:
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #115    
Old March 7th, 2014 (04:28 PM).
HidoranBlaze's Avatar
HidoranBlaze HidoranBlaze is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Posts: 247
Just wondering, what future features are going to be in this besides the pokemon editor and the hex editor? It'd be nice to have an item editor like PGE, although I'm satisfied with this tool regardless.
Reply With Quote
  #116    
Old March 7th, 2014 (04:55 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by HidoranBlaze:
Just wondering, what future features are going to be in this besides the pokemon editor and the hex editor? It'd be nice to have an item editor like PGE, although I'm satisfied with this tool regardless.
I guess I should publicly release my list of things I have planned at the moment:

-Pokedex slot editor
-A move editor
-An item editor
-A general sprite/graphics editor
-Battle BG Editor (since those are awkward....)
-Pure awesomeness

Please note that I will try to give each tab a unique feature that you can't get anywhere else.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #117    
Old March 7th, 2014 (07:40 PM).
Ambushwhack's Avatar
Ambushwhack Ambushwhack is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 74
My first impression is that this is not meant for beginners. Is that correct? I've developed basic proficiencies with YAPE and AdvanceMap, but that's about it. I found MrDollSteak's improved ROM base, which led me to this. Because YAPE won't work. I read through your documentation, but I don't understand it. I was hoping I could just open up G3HS and explore by trial and error. But I'm not even getting that far. (My computer skills are pretty remedial. But my attempts at hacking seem to help a little bit). Still, I'm sorry to be so needy.

My computer can't figure out how to open up .kateproject, and everything else appears to be Python or Text files, likely supporting the main program. Am I overlooking something really basic? I've attached what I see in the folder I downloaded. Nothing that looks to me like the main G3HS program.

Sorry for asking such a basic question. I've been trying for a while to figure it out on my own. To no avail. One suggestion - I've seen other tools and guides have a "What You Need" section or "Getting Started." It might help the beginners more. Alternatively, this tool is too advanced, and beginners should avoid.
Attached Images
File Type: png G3SH setup.PNG‎ (76.5 KB, 23 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
I'm currently teaching myself about ROM hacking to make my first hack. It stars a lab aide whose professor was kidnapped to help make Mewtwo. The same team also wants the aide's Kabuto(ps) to upgrade into a Genesect. Dark Fakemon evolutions and hybrids will also play a central role to the villainous Team Helix. Currently I'm fairly confident with YAPE and AdvanceMap. In a few weeks I'm likely to start putting a team together. I suck at spriting, and I can't understand the scripting tutorials.
Reply With Quote
  #118    
Old March 7th, 2014 (09:21 PM).
MrDollSteak's Avatar
MrDollSteak MrDollSteak is online now
Formerly known as 11bayerf1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 490
Quote originally posted by Ambushwhack:
My first impression is that this is not meant for beginners. Is that correct? I've developed basic proficiencies with YAPE and AdvanceMap, but that's about it. I found MrDollSteak's improved ROM base, which led me to this. Because YAPE won't work. I read through your documentation, but I don't understand it. I was hoping I could just open up G3HS and explore by trial and error. But I'm not even getting that far. (My computer skills are pretty remedial. But my attempts at hacking seem to help a little bit). Still, I'm sorry to be so needy.

My computer can't figure out how to open up .kateproject, and everything else appears to be Python or Text files, likely supporting the main program. Am I overlooking something really basic? I've attached what I see in the folder I downloaded. Nothing that looks to me like the main G3HS program.

Sorry for asking such a basic question. I've been trying for a while to figure it out on my own. To no avail. One suggestion - I've seen other tools and guides have a "What You Need" section or "Getting Started." It might help the beginners more. Alternatively, this tool is too advanced, and beginners should avoid.
What?

This program is designed for absolute beginners, if anything it's more user friendly than PGE and YAPE, because of the obvious labels. You don't need to open up the text files or .kateprojects or anything of the sort, just the .exe that comes in the zip.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #119    
Old March 8th, 2014 (12:45 AM).
xGal's Avatar
xGal xGal is offline
Playing some ESL
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: A tree
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 206
"pure awesomeness" is a great feature indeed. I was also wondering about something ... I use mrdollsteak attack and decap rombase. In the .zip file of the rombase, mrdollsteak included roms.ini (for PGE). In your PokeRoms.ini changed the attack offsets, abilities offset and all the shet, but I couldn't find the type names offset (in your PokeRoms.ini), so everything but the type names is ... Did you include the type names in your PokeRoms.ini or it's just me?
__________________
Hey guys, I made a soundcloud account not long ago, and I would be very happy if you guys will check it out: https://soundcloud.com/dewombat. Thanks .

Also, if you ever wanted to make a ROM hacking tool, click here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=334348
Reply With Quote
  #120    
Old March 8th, 2014 (04:02 AM). Edited March 8th, 2014 by Ambushwhack.
Ambushwhack's Avatar
Ambushwhack Ambushwhack is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 74
Quote originally posted by MrDollSteak:
What?

This program is designed for absolute beginners, if anything it's more user friendly than PGE and YAPE, because of the obvious labels. You don't need to open up the text files or .kateprojects or anything of the sort, just the .exe that comes in the zip.
I must just be doing something wrong. I keep looking for a .exe file and finding nothing. I'm going to redownload and look again. Maybe I screwed something up while half asleep.

EDIT: I figured out what I was doing wrong. the download under Source Code (.zip) does not contain the .exe file. I went through the Windows link and got it just fine.
__________________
I'm currently teaching myself about ROM hacking to make my first hack. It stars a lab aide whose professor was kidnapped to help make Mewtwo. The same team also wants the aide's Kabuto(ps) to upgrade into a Genesect. Dark Fakemon evolutions and hybrids will also play a central role to the villainous Team Helix. Currently I'm fairly confident with YAPE and AdvanceMap. In a few weeks I'm likely to start putting a team together. I suck at spriting, and I can't understand the scripting tutorials.
Reply With Quote
  #121    
Old March 8th, 2014 (04:40 AM).
MrDollSteak's Avatar
MrDollSteak MrDollSteak is online now
Formerly known as 11bayerf1
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hong Kong
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Posts: 490
Quote originally posted by xGal:
"pure awesomeness" is a great feature indeed. I was also wondering about something ... I use mrdollsteak attack and decap rombase. In the .zip file of the rombase, mrdollsteak included roms.ini (for PGE). In your PokeRoms.ini changed the attack offsets, abilities offset and all the shet, but I couldn't find the type names offset (in your PokeRoms.ini), so everything but the type names is ... Did you include the type names in your PokeRoms.ini or it's just me?
pl0x read the documentation, it explains how to set up G3HS with my rombase!

Making me look bad gal! Trying to keep KK harassing to a minimum
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #122    
Old March 8th, 2014 (05:37 AM).
xGal's Avatar
xGal xGal is offline
Playing some ESL
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: A tree
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 206
Quote originally posted by MrDollSteak:
pl0x read the documentation, it explains how to set up G3HS with my rombase!

Making me look bad gal! Trying to keep KK harassing to a minimum
My mistake hahahaha (don't tell anyone - I never read documentations ).

Now I can add Fakemon and some other gen Pokémon !
__________________
Hey guys, I made a soundcloud account not long ago, and I would be very happy if you guys will check it out: https://soundcloud.com/dewombat. Thanks .

Also, if you ever wanted to make a ROM hacking tool, click here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=334348
Reply With Quote
  #123    
Old March 8th, 2014 (05:49 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Ambushwhack:
I must just be doing something wrong. I keep looking for a .exe file and finding nothing. I'm going to redownload and look again. Maybe I screwed something up while half asleep.

EDIT: I figured out what I was doing wrong. the download under Source Code (.zip) does not contain the .exe file. I went through the Windows link and got it just fine.
I used to host the .exe with the source code, but there is a 10mb threshold. If I supersede it (which I used to before remastering some things) it won't let you download.

.kateproject is the file that keeps track of where all my source code is so I can open up Kate (a great linux code editor) and have all of my source code file out in front of me. So yeah, that is what is going on there.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
  #124    
Old March 8th, 2014 (09:07 AM).
xGal's Avatar
xGal xGal is offline
Playing some ESL
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: A tree
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 206
Roger, let's say I added a Pokémon using the Pokémon Expander. How is it possible to make it appear in the tall grass? I already tried to edit AdvanceMap's ini but I haven't found the Pokémon names offset :/.
__________________
Hey guys, I made a soundcloud account not long ago, and I would be very happy if you guys will check it out: https://soundcloud.com/dewombat. Thanks .

Also, if you ever wanted to make a ROM hacking tool, click here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=334348
Reply With Quote
  #125    
Old March 8th, 2014 (09:34 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by xGal:
Roger, let's say I added a Pokémon using the Pokémon Expander. How is it possible to make it appear in the tall grass? I already tried to edit AdvanceMap's ini but I haven't found the Pokémon names offset :/.
You either wait for MEH to be ready, you contact LU-HO and get the source code (which he said he was releasing a month ago....), or you use a hex editor.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:28 PM.