The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1    
Old June 12th, 2006, 09:23 AM
Shanzu
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Nature: Adamant
I'm running the Linux SDL version of VBA and I have a save file on Pokemon Emerald that comes up with the "corrupted save file" error when I start the game. I read in the FAQ that this means I'm screwed and have to start over. I was just wondering if there is ANY way to change the save file type, or is it completely hopeless? I understand that this is a hacking community and that this is the kind of stuff hackers do(figuring stuff like this out).

It just seems to me that there has to be some way to change the save file type. If its hopeless just let me know. Sorry to bug you guys about this, seeing as though it says im screwed in the FAQ. Just though I'd ask in case anyone has made progress in this area since it was written.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2    
Old June 12th, 2006, 10:16 AM
Pazuzu's Avatar
Pazuzu
Flushing Meadows
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Room 1202
Nature: Bold
There is no way to restore your save file, as it has been "deleted" at the time the game restarted with the wrong save type.
The only chance to save (some) of your progress, is if you have saved your game with VBA's savestate function.
Once you set the save type correctly, you can load one of your savestates, and save the game again using the game-internal save function.
That way, you can continue your game from the point of the savestave.
Else, there is no chance of recovering it.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Height well exceeds 350px.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #3    
Old June 12th, 2006, 12:04 PM
Shanzu
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Nature: Adamant
Can Do that now? or would I have had to use that before I saved with the emulator.

The rom didnt have a save file when i got it, I started the game on the emulator. If that changes anything.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #4    
Old June 12th, 2006, 12:47 PM
Pazuzu's Avatar
Pazuzu
Flushing Meadows
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Room 1202
Nature: Bold
If you read my above post carefully, you would have understood.

If you have a VBA savestate, then you can load it after you set the correct save type. (Restart the emulator after you set it.)
Then load your ROM and your savestate from the File menu.
Now you can continue play the game like normal, as you will be playing from the time the savestate was made.
And with the save type fixed, the Elite 4 glitch won't occur anymore, which allows you to play futher.

If you do not have a VBA savestate for the game, then you will have to start over again, as, in any case, your old savegame is not able to be used anymore.
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Height well exceeds 350px.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
Reply With Quote
  #5    
Old June 12th, 2006, 01:31 PM
Shanzu
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Nature: Adamant
Ok, I think I get it now. Also, Is Pokemon FireRed Flash 128k save type? because I seem to get the error about the 1m sub-circuit board even with it set to 128k.
And thank you very much for your help.
Reply With Quote
Reply
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.