Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > Hacks Studio > Progressing Hacks
Reload this Page FireRed hack: Pokemon Shiny Gold

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Progressing Hacks The forum for submitting your hack in production. Everyone's welcome, and you may come and find a hack that's starting out or make your own hack. For Pokémon/non-Pokémon hacks.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #4951    
Old July 14th, 2007 (01:59 PM).
Dialga_753 Dialga_753 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sandgem Town, Sinnoh
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 20
I finally found out why my game wouldn't save. There was a problem with my VBA 1.8.0. So I deleted everything(emulator, game, sav file etc...) then I put it back on again and now ot works fine. BTW Zel, what do you mean by The battles against Silver will work like how they are working now. With that little "presentation", this is just because this allows me to use a different battle BGM (and in the end, this BGM will be changed for its classic battle BGM)?
  #4952    
Old July 14th, 2007 (02:01 PM).
NidoodiN NidoodiN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 13
I found a broken ladder in the Whirl Islands: when I walk on top of it, nothing happens, so I effectively get stuck in the area.
Attached Images
File Type: png Brokenstairway.png‎ (9.3 KB, 91 views) (Save to Dropbox)
  #4953    
Old July 14th, 2007 (03:55 PM).
nrox653's Avatar
nrox653 nrox653 is offline
What should I put here...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: east coast US
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 67
Quote originally posted by Draik:
I don't think so. The game is a ROM, and won't be able to recognize the Link Cable, no interal battery and crap. That's why the DS can't support multiplayer GBA. It's an emulator .-.
Actually, that's totally wrong. First of all, ALL video games are ROMs stored inside a special flash cart or whatever. Some 3rd-party flash cards may not recognize the link cable, but others can. What does the internal battery have to do with this anyway? It's not like FireRed has an internal battery. Oh, and if you disassemble the DS and add a device to it, theoretically GBA multiplayer can be done. It's not an emulator inside the DS, it's a separate CPU already installed ' So yeah, some flash cards may be able to link up to other GBAs.
__________________


W00t! I'm back!
  #4954    
Old July 14th, 2007 (04:29 PM).
PokeFanatic12698's Avatar
PokeFanatic12698 PokeFanatic12698 is offline
Legendary Trainer
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Puerto Rico
Age: 20
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 298
Send a message via AIM to PokeFanatic12698 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to PokeFanatic12698 Send a message via Yahoo to PokeFanatic12698
since i got no ds, i aint worrying about that. im off to trade some pokemon from leaf green to pokemon shiny gold.
__________________
Simply deadly.
  #4955    
Old July 14th, 2007 (05:09 PM).
isaac2112 isaac2112 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 16
I am having a hard tim figuring out how to save on this game. I am new to this so i don;t get it. Whenever I try to ssave it says please exchange your backup memory. I believe that I have everything in the right settings (flash 128 k), but it still won't work.

Any suggestions?
  #4956    
Old July 14th, 2007 (05:49 PM).
Saurav's Avatar
Saurav Saurav is offline
~`;I am the Frozen Sun;`~
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Dark Forest.....
Age: 28
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 421
Quote originally posted by isaac2112:
I am having a hard tim figuring out how to save on this game. I am new to this so i don;t get it. Whenever I try to ssave it says please exchange your backup memory. I believe that I have everything in the right settings (flash 128 k), but it still won't work.

Any suggestions?


If you are using VisualBoyAdvance press "Ctrl & S" at the same time to save and to load the game just press "Ctrl & L" plus you can save the game anytime anywhere.
__________________
Runescape Forum, Cheats and Hacks || G4HQ Forums || Anime Forum, Talk and Community || MMORPG Forum and Games || Xbox Forum Cheats and Live || Naruto Forum Community and Manga || Bleach Community and Manga Forum
  #4957    
Old July 14th, 2007 (06:04 PM).
jk3000bot jk3000bot is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 19
It Freezes When I throw a pokeball..
  #4958    
Old July 14th, 2007 (06:09 PM).
ComradeLimonka ComradeLimonka is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2
thanks alot for that bit of info. Do you guys have any recomendation for a flash card brand or type? Ive been looking at the EZ flash ones.


Thanks.
__________________
Bow Chika Bow Wow
  #4959    
Old July 14th, 2007 (06:22 PM).
zel 2.0's Avatar
zel 2.0 zel 2.0 is offline
Gold Remaker
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Argentina
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,959
Quote originally posted by Walshey:
Hey Zel, fantastic work so far. Im just wondering, when you first start off when you enter the 2nd town, the old man who gives you the town map looks like he descends from the sky, is this ment to be like that?
It is meant like that because the sprite is too close to the maps borders, so when you connect maps, you get that result. I'm not fixing that because that sprite has a script and movements assigned to that position, so...

Quote originally posted by archezus:
edited: btw.. i've looking the walkthrough for the unfinished beta version (until the powerplant i think..) can anyone tell me where i can find it?
I posted dirk's walkthrough right above the Betas at my first post

Quote originally posted by Went:
An idea about the red Gyarados thing: can you set a flag if you are defeated by it? Because you could made a battle start after you go out of the PC (ex: a trainer wants to show you his shiny poke) and after the battle you take out the shiny flag (and the you-lost-to-the-gyarados flag for if someone loses again... maybe some of those people who try to beat the game with just a poke XD)
Well, I was thinking kinda the same thing, it's not actually necessary another battle, but, yes, I'd need to set a flag before Gyarados' battle, and clear it after the battle. If you lose, flag still is set, and that tells me when you are walking out of the PC that I should call the asm command again.
Still, remember that I'm tired of fixing, so no more fixing till the next one. I wanna keep up with the game.

Quote originally posted by Dialga_753:
I finally found out why my game wouldn't save. There was a problem with my VBA 1.8.0. So I deleted everything(emulator, game, sav file etc...) then I put it back on again and now ot works fine. BTW Zel, what do you mean by The battles against Silver will work like how they are working now. With that little "presentation", this is just because this allows me to use a different battle BGM (and in the end, this BGM will be changed for its classic battle BGM)?
A problem with your VBA? Hmmm... Interesting, perhaps this could help more people?

Anyway, I just meant that. The pre-battle introduction will happen at all your Rival encounters, which leads to a battle with a different BGM (which I'm planning to replace)

Quote originally posted by NidoodiN:
I found a broken ladder in the Whirl Islands: when I walk on top of it, nothing happens, so I effectively get stuck in the area.
That's true. Sorry for traping you. *Updates Bug List*

Quote originally posted by isaac2112:
I am having a hard tim figuring out how to save on this game. I am new to this so i don;t get it. Whenever I try to ssave it says please exchange your backup memory. I believe that I have everything in the right settings (flash 128 k), but it still won't work.

Any suggestions?
The right way to do things is: delete any .sav or .sa1 files, then make sure the Flash 128k option is enabled. And then, load the rom, if you keep having troubles perhaps is a problem of the VBA emulator, as one of the earlier posts commented.

Quote originally posted by jk3000bot:
It Freezes When I throw a pokeball..
A patching problem, or a rom problem. You will have to try again.
__________________


  #4960    
Old July 14th, 2007 (06:52 PM).
rithwik's Avatar
rithwik rithwik is offline
Modern story maker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to rithwik
Quote originally posted by hammerhead:
Pirates.....they will sell you an incomplete copy....damn cheats.
pirates are theifs.
well i wasnt sure of the word "pirate", thank u for clearing my doubt hammerhead(actually i didnt ask any 1). -- pirates

aargg!
  #4961    
Old July 14th, 2007 (06:57 PM).
isaac2112 isaac2112 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 16
Quote originally posted by Saurav:
If you are using VisualBoyAdvance press "Ctrl & S" at the same time to save and to load the game just press "Ctrl & L" plus you can save the game anytime anywhere.

Well, I usually do do that, but right now I am at the Elite 4 and after I beat everthing it is supposed to save and then I should be back at New Bark. But since its not able to save, I just go back to where I previously saved before. So, I don't know what to do.
  #4962    
Old July 14th, 2007 (07:06 PM).
rithwik's Avatar
rithwik rithwik is offline
Modern story maker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to rithwik
Quote originally posted by isaac2112:
Well, I usually do do that, but right now I am at the Elite 4 and after I beat everthing it is supposed to save and then I should be back at New Bark. But since its not able to save, I just go back to where I previously saved before. So, I don't know what to do.
Well u probaply have to restart the game and try to proceed in the game untill it saves, its just my suggestion. So plz dont get mad at me if it doesnt help u.
  #4963    
Old July 14th, 2007 (07:24 PM).
isaac2112 isaac2112 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 16
Quote originally posted by rithwik:
Well u probaply have to restart the game and try to proceed in the game untill it saves, its just my suggestion. So plz dont get mad at me if it doesnt help u.
Ok, well, if thats what I have to do then so be it. But, what is normally supposed to happen after yo beat the elite 4?
  #4964    
Old July 14th, 2007 (07:34 PM).
rithwik's Avatar
rithwik rithwik is offline
Modern story maker
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Jacksonville,Florida
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 47
Send a message via Yahoo to rithwik
Quote originally posted by isaac2112:
Ok, well, if thats what I have to do then so be it. But, what is normally supposed to happen after yo beat the elite 4?
U end up at ur house after defeating the league, then after exiting ur house u get a call fro profeesor elm.
  #4965    
Old July 14th, 2007 (10:27 PM).
clonex25's Avatar
clonex25 clonex25 is offline
Just droppin' by...
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pearl of the Orient Seas
Age: 30
Nature: Timid
Posts: 74
Just want to comment about that bug pokemon there... namely ARD...
He keeps on crying about that cheating stuff, always thinking that his bug Pokemon are the best, undefeatable, invincible...
Do I cheat if I have Cyndaquil, Graveler, and Pidgeotto in my team?
Nice character, anyway. I've never seen a Pokemon game character that cries much as ARD do.

To Zel: I hope you can go further with that Title Screen. It's good but can be better.
Optional(question?): Would you consider Solar Gold and/or Lunar Silver as the hack's title? Both colors have its relation to the celestial bodies, IMHO.

To anyone out there: Is Liquid Crystal a good name for a Crystal remake hack? I thought of it because Suicune is a Water-type.
  #4966    
Old July 14th, 2007 (10:51 PM).
CarolinaSquirtle's Avatar
CarolinaSquirtle CarolinaSquirtle is offline
Go Tarheels!
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Carolina
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 16
I dont know if this glitch has been found already and i'm sorry if it has, but here it is...When i went to beat the Elite 4 and got up to Lorlei(sp?) and stood right in front of her. Then I opened the menu and checked my pokemon then exited the menu. As soon as I exited the sub-pokemon menu my overworld sprite took like 4 steps forward(straight through Lorlei) and I ended up outside of her room and could not get back in. It was wierd. At least I had saved right b4 goin up against the elite 4.
  #4967    
Old July 15th, 2007 (01:03 AM).
dirk123's Avatar
dirk123 dirk123 is offline
Organization XIII
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Hague
Age: 28
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dirk123
Quote originally posted by TomLeeChan:
hey

when i fight with someone it says ''pokemon 12trainer/1

i think that's a bug
Did you read the first page?
Zel already knows about it since Beta 1. He will change the names
in the Final Version (i think)
__________________
Hacks that I support inside spoiler
Spoiler:




Follow this link for the Pokemon Liquid Crystal Walkthrough: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=4621504&postcount=2305
Follow this link for the Pokemon Liquid Crystal Pokemon Location FAQ: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=4742432&postcount=2735
  #4968    
Old July 15th, 2007 (01:30 AM).
bxela1's Avatar
bxela1 bxela1 is offline
Jirachi's number 1 fan
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Somewhere you aren't.
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 86
Nice BETA

I've just started and it's good so far.
__________________
CURRENTLY INACTIVE BUT WILL BE BACK SOONER THAN YOU THINK, OR LATER, DEPENDS WHAT YOU THINK.

WATCH THIS SPACE!
  #4969    
Old July 15th, 2007 (02:20 AM). Edited July 15th, 2007 by TomLeeChan.
TomLeeChan TomLeeChan is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 14
Send a message via Yahoo to TomLeeChan
in cianwood there is no suicune right?

and town map is weird. does everybody has it like that
__________________
  #4970    
Old July 15th, 2007 (03:07 AM).
Dialga_753 Dialga_753 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sandgem Town, Sinnoh
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 20
Quote originally posted by TomLeeChan:
hey

when i fight with someone it says ''pokemon 12trainer/1

i think that's a bug
No that is not a bug. Zel just needed something to remember where he was.
  #4971    
Old July 15th, 2007 (03:07 AM). Edited July 15th, 2007 by Prof. 9.
Prof. 9 Prof. 9 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Netherlands
Gender: Male
Posts: 151
I found a small glitch.


The new beta is awesome! I love all the new events, especially the J&J event at the S.S.Aqua
Keep it up!

EDIT: Wtf... I could catch Celebi before actually giving the GS-Ball to Kurt!
  #4972    
Old July 15th, 2007 (03:09 AM).
NidoodiN NidoodiN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 13
While surfing on the water in the Mt. Mortar area that's only accessible using Waterfall, I ran into Missingno.
  #4973    
Old July 15th, 2007 (03:11 AM).
*Jarzka* *Jarzka* is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 2
Quote originally posted by TomLeeChan:
and town map is weird. does everybody has it like that
i have weird map too, but i believe that zel fix it for some beta.

btw, thx zel for fixing that HM bug, now i have that HM and i can play the game

i have pokemon gold on my gameboy but this is maybe even better than the original gold :D
  #4974    
Old July 15th, 2007 (03:52 AM).
dirk123's Avatar
dirk123 dirk123 is offline
Organization XIII
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: The Hague
Age: 28
Gender:
Nature: Lonely
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dirk123
Quote originally posted by silver wind:
I can't save in shiny gold x.
(there are no save files in the folder). I tried everything, including copying the beta 3's save file to the folder.. nothing works.
zel, can you please fix that?
Have a clean rom when patching beta 4.
Make sure the save setting is set to flash 128.
remove old .sav or .sa1 files.
Start the game from the beginning (don't use a old savestat)
__________________
Hacks that I support inside spoiler
Spoiler:




Follow this link for the Pokemon Liquid Crystal Walkthrough: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=4621504&postcount=2305
Follow this link for the Pokemon Liquid Crystal Pokemon Location FAQ: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=4742432&postcount=2735
  #4975    
Old July 15th, 2007 (04:29 AM).
Zowayix's Avatar
Zowayix Zowayix is offline
hi
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ???
Gender:
Posts: 313
I have a big problem with shinygold.
I'm using beta 4 bugfix (the latest version). I am not using SGX.
I beat Bugsy, solved the Farfetch'd puzzle, and exited Ilex Forest through the exit to Goldenrod. I went into a hallway-building type thing. When I exited the hallway building through the top exit (that would lead me to Goldenrod), the screen turned black and I couldn't do anything. The music was still playing though.

I'm absolutely sure that I patched over a clean rom, because I used a copy of the same FireRed ROM for beta 3.5 (which worked perfectly).

Does anyone know what might have caused this?
__________________
Writing a haiku
with seventeen syllables
is really diffi--
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:22 AM.