Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #24976    
Old May 14th, 2013 (01:54 PM).
D3ath Angel's Avatar
D3ath Angel
Ace Trainer
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Nature: Brave
Why does Advance Trainer give me the error message "Subscript out of range. DrawTile8@modLZ77" every time I load a rom? I can't use the program, as the error repeats if I click Retry and Cancel, so I can only select Close.
__________________
  #24977    
Old May 14th, 2013 (04:26 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by D3ath Angel:
Why does Advance Trainer give me the error message "Subscript out of range. DrawTile8@modLZ77" every time I load a rom? I can't use the program, as the error repeats if I click Retry and Cancel, so I can only select Close.
Does this happen on every single rom? Even a clean rom?

If it does, try redownloading it and making sure you have the latest .net framework and such (can't remember what coding it was written in) but yeah.

Edit: now that I am looking at the error, I think it is having trouble loading an image in the rom. Lz77 is the image compression GBA games use, so it looks like it can't load one of the tiles and draw it to the screen.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24978    
Old May 14th, 2013 (05:06 PM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
I have a few questions!

1) Where does the free space in Emerald start?

2) This one: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=234124

The first post is for those using R/S/E I think. And the last post is for FR. I tried doing the FR one and the camera moved BUT it never returned to the player's position.

3) In FR, I tried using the S.S. Anne as a warp place. And the instant I got warped: I got to a pitch-black place and then froze on the spot. I already checked the map;bank thing and it's perfect but there's that error. Does that have anything to do with the ticket? Do I need it?
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24979    
Old May 14th, 2013 (09:09 PM).
LaDestitute's Avatar
LaDestitute
Razor Sharp
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: West Coast, USA
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
How do I change the level of a Pokemon? Specifically one that is given to the player/already in their possession, such as a Pokemon that just hatched from an egg. I know it'll probably require ASM scripting.

I searched through 11 pages of the normal simple questions thread and five pages here, but I couldn't find any concrete or exact answer to do this.
  #24980    
Old May 14th, 2013 (11:14 PM).
Shadowraze's Avatar
Shadowraze
Love and Peace
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Philippines
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Send a message via Skype™ to Shadowraze
Quote originally posted by LaDestitute:
How do I change the level of a Pokemon? Specifically one that is given to the player/already in their possession, such as a Pokemon that just hatched from an egg. I know it'll probably require ASM scripting.

I searched through 11 pages of the normal simple questions thread and five pages here, but I couldn't find any concrete or exact answer to do this.
No it doesn't need ASM it just needs some hex editing. I think I saw it somewhere on the Quick Research & Development thread in the R&D forum so check it out there! :3
__________________
  #24981    
Old May 15th, 2013 (02:10 AM).
yozzyurubuza's Avatar
yozzyurubuza
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Well, get a copy of NSE Classic. If you play with it enough on a clean rom, you can probably find the image in there (it may even be bookmarked in NSE) and then insert it into your rom.
I can't find the bag using NSE 1.7.5, the bookmark option is blank, nothing to display. In the plugins, I can only choose to edit the pokemons because the others shows an error msg that states that "BPEE (Emerald) is not supported."
  #24982    
Old May 15th, 2013 (02:25 AM). Edited May 15th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by yozzyurubuza:
I can't find the bag using NSE 1.7.5, the bookmark option is blank, nothing to display. In the plugins, I can only choose to edit the pokemons because the others shows an error msg that states that "BPEE (Emerald) is not supported."
Hmm, give NSE 2.X a try. I know that both have the bag bookmarked for Ruby and FR... Otherwise, just try scrolling through Unlz until you find it.

If you think that is too much work, then you are in the wrong place. I went through every image in Unlz at least 5 times in a row looking for an image that got corrupted. So, if you really want it, you gotta do what you gotta do.

Quote originally posted by LaDestitute:
How do I change the level of a Pokemon? Specifically one that is given to the player/already in their possession, such as a Pokemon that just hatched from an egg. I know it'll probably require ASM scripting.

I searched through 11 pages of the normal simple questions thread and five pages here, but I couldn't find any concrete or exact answer to do this.

Quote originally posted by Shadowraze:
No it doesn't need ASM it just needs some hex editing. I think I saw it somewhere on the Quick Research & Development thread in the R&D forum so check it out there! :3
Yeah, there is a post by Jambo51 about this. At least just changing the level an egg hatches at. That is deffinaetly in there with just a few bytes to change.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #24983    
Old May 15th, 2013 (02:30 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by yozzyurubuza:
I can't find the bag using NSE 1.7.5, the bookmark option is blank, nothing to display. In the plugins, I can only choose to edit the pokemons because the others shows an error msg that states that "BPEE (Emerald) is not supported."
Well you could also see the bytes of the bag in VBA memory viewer, then search for the same bytes in your ROM. Works a lot of the time.
__________________
  #24984    
Old May 15th, 2013 (06:41 AM).
Voltron's Avatar
Voltron
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
So regarding the Darthatron icon hack:
So this is what I get when I compile the code. The offset where I put my images is 1EAB60.

1f b4 15 48 01 78 49 00 14 48 00 68 11 4b c0 18
40 18 03 88 00 2b 16 d0 58 00 c0 18 80 00 0c 49
40 18 84 7a 60 00 24 18 a4 01 0e 48 00 19 0c 49
30 22 0b df 0b 48 00 19 60 30 09 49 1e 22 12 01
89 18 30 22 0b df 1f bc 07 4c 20 68 07 49 08 47
04 0c 25 08 58 32 00 00 6d b1 03 02 40 b1 03 02
00 18 00 06 60 ab 1e 08 48 b1 03 02 7d a1 13 08


Now, I just don't get what is meant here:
@0813A130: 0x2F
@0813A17B: 0x47
@0813A1A0: [Pointer to Routine, plus 1 (one).]

I know where the offsets are, but what do I do with and 0x2F, 0x47, and what the heck is [Pointer to Routine, plus 1 (one).]????

If I just imput this code over the one that is already in it's place: it opens fine.... but then I select pokemon, and it gives me a black screen of death......

Xp
thanks for putting up with me.....
  #24985    
Old May 15th, 2013 (07:34 AM).
xYggdrasill
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Does anyone know a good tutorial or can tell me how to start up with ASM?
Like.. really from the very basics: Opening a ROM in whatever kind of program I need.
And step for step explained.

I mainly want to learn this so I can edit class-based trainer music.
For example, I want my Rival to give a special battle music, and it was said I need ASM for this.
Anyone can help me out with a start?
  #24986    
Old May 15th, 2013 (07:46 AM).
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
KarateKid has the basics covered, as well as a list of some ASM tutorials in his thread: here.
Next time, check the tutorials thread >.o
  #24987    
Old May 15th, 2013 (07:55 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Voltron:
So regarding the Darthatron icon hack:
So this is what I get when I compile the code. The offset where I put my images is 1EAB60.

1f b4 15 48 01 78 49 00 14 48 00 68 11 4b c0 18
40 18 03 88 00 2b 16 d0 58 00 c0 18 80 00 0c 49
40 18 84 7a 60 00 24 18 a4 01 0e 48 00 19 0c 49
30 22 0b df 0b 48 00 19 60 30 09 49 1e 22 12 01
89 18 30 22 0b df 1f bc 07 4c 20 68 07 49 08 47
04 0c 25 08 58 32 00 00 6d b1 03 02 40 b1 03 02
00 18 00 06 60 ab 1e 08 48 b1 03 02 7d a1 13 08


Now, I just don't get what is meant here:
@0813A130: 0x2F
@0813A17B: 0x47
@0813A1A0: [Pointer to Routine, plus 1 (one).]

I know where the offsets are, but what do I do with and 0x2F, 0x47, and what the heck is [Pointer to Routine, plus 1 (one).]????

If I just imput this code over the one that is already in it's place: it opens fine.... but then I select pokemon, and it gives me a black screen of death......

Xp
thanks for putting up with me.....
At 0x13a130 in your ROM you type "2F". At 0x13a17b you type "47". If you inserted your routine at 801234, you'd go to 13A1A0 in your ROM and do this:

801234
[80][12][34]
[34][12][80]
[34][12][80][08]
34128008

So at 13a1a0 you'd type "34128008"
__________________
  #24988    
Old May 15th, 2013 (07:55 AM). Edited May 15th, 2013 by yozzyurubuza.
yozzyurubuza's Avatar
yozzyurubuza
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Hmm, give NSE 2.X a try. I know that both have the bag bookmarked for Ruby and FR... Otherwise, just try scrolling through Unlz until you find it.

If you think that is too much work, then you are in the wrong place. I went through every image in Unlz at least 5 times in a row looking for an image that got corrupted. So, if you really want it, you gotta do what you gotta do.
Naah, this isn't much work, even if it is, then it's fine. Pokemon hacking has always been like this and I'm prepared for it. I've been already through a lot of work with the scripting and encountered so many flaws. If this changing bag is the same, then this is nothing just with a proper tool.

Anyways, I found it with NSE 2.1 beta. Thanks. Case closed for me
  #24989    
Old May 15th, 2013 (08:11 AM). Edited May 15th, 2013 by Voltron.
Voltron's Avatar
Voltron
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
At 0x13a130 in your ROM you type "2F". At 0x13a17b you type "47". If you inserted your routine at 801234, you'd go to 13A1A0 in your ROM and do this:

801234
[80][12][34]
[34][12][80]
[34][12][80][08]
34128008

So at 13a1a0 you'd type "34128008"
I think I understand that. How do I know where I inserted my routine?

Or how to find the routine?
  #24990    
Old May 15th, 2013 (10:50 AM).
~Anbuja's Avatar
~Anbuja
Let's Keep It Simple
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: In Snorlax Stomach
Gender: Male
Nature: Lonely
Send a message via Skype™ to ~Anbuja
In PGE ini it says that the TMData start at &H45A80C.
Since there are 50TM's and 7HM's I wanted to know if anyone has a clue how long that table is?
Im kind of trying to repoint it.
__________________
  #24991    
Old May 15th, 2013 (11:01 AM). Edited May 15th, 2013 by Spherical Ice.
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Voltron:
I think I understand that. How do I know where I inserted my routine?

Or how to find the routine?
Wherever in your ROM that you pasted
Code:
1f b4 15 48 01 78 49 00 14 48 00 68 11 4b c0 18
40 18 03 88 00 2b 16 d0 58 00 c0 18 80 00 0c 49
40 18 84 7a 60 00 24 18 a4 01 0e 48 00 19 0c 49
30 22 0b df 0b 48 00 19 60 30 09 49 1e 22 12 01
89 18 30 22 0b df 1f bc 07 4c 20 68 07 49 08 47
04 0c 25 08 58 32 00 00 6d b1 03 02 40 b1 03 02
00 18 00 06 60 ab 1e 08 48 b1 03 02 7d a1 13 08
Is where your routine is located. If you pasted that data at 801234 (you don't have to! You can paste it anywhere you see free space - lots of FFs), you'd do what I did, and so on.
__________________
  #24992    
Old May 15th, 2013 (11:46 AM).
Voltron's Avatar
Voltron
Unhatched Egg
 
Join Date: May 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Spherical Ice:
Wherever in your ROM that you pasted
Code:
1f b4 15 48 01 78 49 00 14 48 00 68 11 4b c0 18
40 18 03 88 00 2b 16 d0 58 00 c0 18 80 00 0c 49
40 18 84 7a 60 00 24 18 a4 01 0e 48 00 19 0c 49
30 22 0b df 0b 48 00 19 60 30 09 49 1e 22 12 01
89 18 30 22 0b df 1f bc 07 4c 20 68 07 49 08 47
04 0c 25 08 58 32 00 00 6d b1 03 02 40 b1 03 02
00 18 00 06 60 ab 1e 08 48 b1 03 02 7d a1 13 08
Is where your routine is located. If you pasted that data at 801234 (you don't have to! You can paste it anywhere you see free space - lots of FFs), you'd do what I did, and so on.
Ahhh!! I got it now!! I was forgetting to put the code in.... ~Facepalm~
and I needed to do the +1. (thanks to gogojjtech) Thanks!

Hmmm...
Another question:
One game I played had the running shoes already given to the player at the beginning. Do you know how to either script this event or make it happen?
*If this is too hard, I will settle for the mom (firered) giving the player the shoes
  #24993    
Old May 15th, 2013 (11:47 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by xYggdrasill:
Does anyone know a good tutorial or can tell me how to start up with ASM?
Like.. really from the very basics: Opening a ROM in whatever kind of program I need.
And step for step explained.

I mainly want to learn this so I can edit class-based trainer music.
For example, I want my Rival to give a special battle music, and it was said I need ASM for this.
Anyone can help me out with a start?
Wow, you guys don't look through the tutorials section do you? Jambo51 has a thread on this already.
__________________
  #24994    
Old May 15th, 2013 (11:58 AM).
Spherical Ice's Avatar
Spherical Ice
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Spherical Ice
Quote originally posted by Voltron:
Ahhh!! I got it now!! I was forgetting to put the code in.... ~Facepalm~
and I needed to do the +1. (thanks to gogojjtech) Thanks!

Hmmm...
Another question:
One game I played had the running shoes already given to the player at the beginning. Do you know how to either script this event or make it happen?
*If this is too hard, I will settle for the mom (firered) giving the player the shoes
You need to add the code setflag 0x82F into a script somewhere - perhaps in a level script in the player's room - to activate the Running Shoes.
__________________
  #24995    
Old May 15th, 2013 (11:59 AM).
LusoTrainer's Avatar
LusoTrainer
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
2) Hex editing.
I haven't found any tutorials about hex editing evolutions. Is it easy, or does this issue warrant its own thread?

Thanks in advance.
  #24996    
Old May 15th, 2013 (02:13 PM).
Randomlords's Avatar
Randomlords
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Gender: Male
I've been following a Tutorial of how to insert a new Ruby Version title screen. I've attempted to insert my new Title Screen for about a month now, and I'm not getting anywhere. Is there an easier way of inserting the Tilemap image I attached into Ruby Version without it turning into the result I've attached? I'll gladly do whatever steps are necessary to put this in my game.
Attached Images
File Type: png NTME Screen.png‎ (49.2 KB, 4 views) (Save to Dropbox)
File Type: png Screwed Up Title Screen.png‎ (301.3 KB, 6 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________
Shut up Woman, and get on Magcargo!
  #24997    
Old May 15th, 2013 (02:30 PM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Nobody's been answering me so;
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
I have a few questions!

1) Where does the free space in Emerald start?

2) This one: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=234124

The first post is for those using R/S/E I think. And the last post is for FR. I tried doing the FR one and the camera moved BUT it never returned to the player's position.

3) In FR, I tried using the S.S. Anne as a warp place. And the instant I got warped: I got to a pitch-black place and then froze on the spot. I already checked the map;bank thing and it's perfect but there's that error. Does that have anything to do with the ticket? Do I need it?
Guys please answer me quick! I'm gonna be off for the week within an hour!
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #24998    
Old May 15th, 2013 (02:54 PM).
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Quote originally posted by robin22gongon:
Guys please answer me quick! I'm gonna be off for the week within an hour!
1. Check here ~ E3CF64.
2. Can't help much, but I think this is the code that matters for that part:
special 0x113 (You must write this command again)
writebytetooffset 0x9 0x2025734 (will move camera instantly in the x-axis to original position)
writebytetooffset 0x4 0x2025736 (will move camera instantly in the y-axis to original position)
special 0x8E (will update the screen)

3. Not much help there either. Just triple check the map numbers to make sure they are right and I will try it later.
  #24999    
Old May 15th, 2013 (02:58 PM).
robin22gongon's Avatar
robin22gongon
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Want to know? VM me.
Age: 17
Gender: Male
Nature: Quirky
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to robin22gongon
Quote originally posted by TweenyTodd:
1. Check here ~ E3CF64.
2. Can't help much, but I think this is the code that matters for that part:
special 0x113 (You must write this command again)
writebytetooffset 0x9 0x2025734 (will move camera instantly in the x-axis to original position)
writebytetooffset 0x4 0x2025736 (will move camera instantly in the y-axis to original position)
special 0x8E (will update the screen)

3. Not much help there either. Just triple check the map numbers to make sure they are right and I will try it later.
Okay thanks! At least someone replied. Thanks again.
__________________
LET'S PARTY!
  #25000    
Old May 15th, 2013 (03:15 PM).
TweenyTodd
Quitting cuz i got a job
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: NOYB
Nature: Sassy
Does the incense trick work in Fire Red? I.E. Having Wobbufet hold a lax incense in the daycare produces a wynaut egg?

If yes, has there been any hacks that have replicated this effect for Budew or Munchlax or the likes?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 11:42 PM.