Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25851    
Old July 11th, 2013 (04:35 PM). Edited July 11th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Is there a way to expand the TM table? It could be helpful right about now.
Jambo said it is tough and not at all fun. You could however, using JPAN's engine, create fake TMs that are regular items (and would go in that pocket), but run the move tutor codes he wrote.

Quote originally posted by Sky93:
This is my event screen
Attachment 68812

EDIT: And I tried it this way also to no avail.
Attachment 68813

Also is there a way to disable the screen in firered that appears when you give a pokemon an item? It's really annoying and I feel like it's a simple hex change. In case you don't know what I'm talking about, heres a picture.

Attachment 68811
Try using the first image warp location and setting the behavior byte to 6A, for the tile that the warp is on.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25852    
Old July 11th, 2013 (05:01 PM).
LocksmithArmy's Avatar
LocksmithArmy LocksmithArmy is offline
Mew!
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Posts: 401
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Try using the first image warp location and setting the behavior byte to 6A, for the tile that the warp is on.
and make sure movement permissions allow the player to walk on that tile
__________________
  #25853    
Old July 11th, 2013 (05:02 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,969
You can't save on a map you're editing, that's the problem.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25854    
Old July 11th, 2013 (06:28 PM).
Sky93's Avatar
Sky93 Sky93 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GA, USA
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 72
Okay I just tried that and its still not working -____-;;;
__________________



ROMs I Support:
  #25855    
Old July 11th, 2013 (10:09 PM).
geopyro geopyro is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hello good people of the PokeCommunity, a newbie in rom hacking right here. I already searched this thread for the word "fairy" because I'm interested to know how to add a new type to a fire red romhack, particularly the fairy type, and I found someone who already asked it, and one of the answers they got was exactly "Fairly simple ASM with a lot of hex editing". Yeah, now I want to know how to do that. Please don't hate on me if there already is a tutorial on it since I'm kinda new, the forums are huge and is not that easy looking for stuff specially if you don't know programming nor have experience in rom hacking, but if there really is a tutorial on it I would be happy if I was linked to it, even though I'm only interested in adding the fairy type to the romhack.

Also, Someone else answered
"If you wanted to, you can change the ???-image, and just repoint and expand the type effectiveness table. Just remember to change Curse into a Ghost-type move.

Though that only adds one more type, it would allow for Fairy-type without hacking the routines."

Even though this would change the eggs to the fairy type, I don't mind that, and this seems to be a lot easier to do, however, as I said I know nothing about programming and am new to romhacking, so I still need help. Could someone please tell me how to do it? I found in these same forums a "Type Resistances Editor" by some FinalZero guy, and of course it lets me modify the ??? type, but apparently the program doesn't allow the number of entries to be modified, so in order to add an entry (for example "??? vs Dragon = 2") another entry must get deleted.

Please, help? Thanks a lot in advance.
  #25856    
Old July 11th, 2013 (11:36 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is online now
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 6,983
Quote originally posted by Sky93:
And I tried it this way also to no avail.
Attachment 68813

That tile with a green circle, change the 'Behavior Byte' to 63.
Then, move the warp tile on that spot.
Then, try and put '4' on the Unknown on the warp tile.
Spoiler:
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #25857    
Old July 12th, 2013 (12:32 AM).
Sky93's Avatar
Sky93 Sky93 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GA, USA
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by destinedjagold:

That tile with a green circle, change the 'Behavior Byte' to 63.
Then, move the warp tile on that spot.
Then, try and put '4' on the Unknown on the warp tile.
Spoiler:
Just tried that, and still nothing. Which is weird because all other warps work (ie doors/bedroom stairs)
__________________



ROMs I Support:
  #25858    
Old July 12th, 2013 (08:24 PM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
No, can you post both scripts. The whole things. Open up both of them in XSE and copy and paste them here. The offset tells me absolutely nothing.
Hey.-. sorry for being kinda' annoying lately ._.

Here's the script for the trainer flag
#Dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
settrainerflag 0x360
end

And for the trainer
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x0 0x360 0x0 @before @after
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

And Here's for the trainer one
#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!

#org @after
= Nooo!

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25859    
Old July 12th, 2013 (08:56 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by akihiko123:
Hey.-. sorry for being kinda' annoying lately ._.

Here's the script for the trainer flag
#Dynamic 0x800000
#org @start
settrainerflag 0x360
end

And for the trainer
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x0 0x360 0x0 @before @after
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

And Here's for the trainer one
#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!

#org @after
= Nooo!

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking
You should never expand over 0x2FF trainers, or their flags begin to overlap flags 0x800 and up. Even for huge hacks, like Liquid Crystal, which has 2.5 regions, this was been enough trainers. The reason your script doesn't continue is because you are using the wrong trainer type. So, here is the fix:

Trainer Script:
Code:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x3 0x360 0x0 @before @after
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!

#org @after
= Nooo! 

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking
This should get it working.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25860    
Old July 13th, 2013 (01:38 AM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
You should never expand over 0x2FF trainers, or their flags begin to overlap flags 0x800 and up. Even for huge hacks, like Liquid Crystal, which has 2.5 regions, this was been enough trainers. The reason your script doesn't continue is because you are using the wrong trainer type. So, here is the fix:

Trainer Script:
Code:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x3 0x360 0x0 @before @after
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!

#org @after
= Nooo! 

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking
This should get it working.
Still not working ._.
This will appear when i will gonna compile it
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25861    
Old July 13th, 2013 (04:14 AM).
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu Wobbu is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: With the Mooshroom
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,289
Trainerbattle 0x3 only has one pointer, iirc. I'm not too familiar with 0x3

ex.
trainerbattle 0x3 0x[trainer's number in hex] 0x0 @[free space offset]
__________________
c
a
r
t
o
o
n

n
e
t
w
o
r
k

staff collab
april 2o15
  #25862    
Old July 13th, 2013 (04:23 AM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by jsziede:
Trainerbattle 0x3 only has one pointer, iirc. I'm not too familiar with 0x3

ex.
trainerbattle 0x3 0x[trainer's number in hex] 0x0 @[free space offset]
How to find trainer number in hex?
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25863    
Old July 13th, 2013 (04:33 AM).
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu Wobbu is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: With the Mooshroom
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,289
It'll say in Advance Trainer (if that's the tool you're using).
Spoiler:

Where it says Trainer Selection, there's a window that has the trainer's number followed by their name (well, it's supposed to display the name, but everyone's name is blank in that picture).
__________________
c
a
r
t
o
o
n

n
e
t
w
o
r
k

staff collab
april 2o15
  #25864    
Old July 13th, 2013 (06:52 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by jsziede:
Trainerbattle 0x3 only has one pointer, iirc. I'm not too familiar with 0x3

ex.
trainerbattle 0x3 0x[trainer's number in hex] 0x0 @[free space offset]
That's right, i forgot that. The before text doesn't exist. This means that no pre-message is possible if you use it like a standard trainer, but it is good for script tiles and E4 battles and such.

Also, the trainers number doesn't need to be in hex if you don't out "0x" before it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25865    
Old July 13th, 2013 (01:34 PM).
Sky93's Avatar
Sky93 Sky93 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: GA, USA
Gender:
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 72
Quote originally posted by Sky93:
Also is there a way to disable the screen in firered that appears when you give a pokemon an item? It's really annoying and I feel like it's a simple hex change. In case you don't know what I'm talking about, heres a picture.

Attachment 68811
I hate to bump, but nobody seemed to acknowledge the second part of my question from the previous post so here it is again
__________________



ROMs I Support:
  #25866    
Old July 13th, 2013 (05:08 PM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
That's right, i forgot that. The before text doesn't exist. This means that no pre-message is possible if you use it like a standard trainer, but it is good for script tiles and E4 battles and such.

Also, the trainers number doesn't need to be in hex if you don't out "0x" before it.
So, this will be the script now?
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x3 0x[trainer's number in hex] 0x0 @[free space offset]
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!

#org @after
= Nooo!

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking

And to find a free space offset, you need a free space finder right?
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25867    
Old July 13th, 2013 (07:30 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by akihiko123:
So, this will be the script now?
Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x3 0x[trainer's number in hex] 0x0 @[free space offset]
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!

#org @after
= Nooo!

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking

And to find a free space offset, you need a free space finder right?
Nope, XSE does that for you.

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x3 0x[trainer's number in hex] 0x0 @Freespace
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!


#org @freespace
= Nooo!

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25868    
Old July 14th, 2013 (10:35 PM).
NaughtyBeaver's Avatar
NaughtyBeaver NaughtyBeaver is offline
Pokemon Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: VA
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 16
(Note: I am using PKSV as a script viewer, so please give me instructions for that).
I was wondering how (when you make a givepokemon script) you can make 3 choices. And if possible make them appear in pokeballs lying on the ground. (In this part, just the pokeballs that contain items. I would also like to know how to insert one of these in the games.

I know I have already asked a lot, but I would also like to know how to keep the player from taking any more. Thank you!
__________________
GG
  #25869    
Old July 15th, 2013 (02:09 PM).
Viva Spirit's Avatar
Viva Spirit Viva Spirit is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Female
Posts: 6
Okay, so my question isn't about scripting or coding or anything technical. It pertains to patching, how does one patch a ROM with a hack of said ROM, say I wanted to pay Pokemon ultra violet, and need to patch it onto FireRed or something..normally this would be no problem on a computer BUT here is the thing,I don't have a computer. I use my phone and the app I use to play gba roms is the My Boy Free Android app. I REALLY want to play the aforementioned game (U.V.) But I can't find it a a straight up ROM, only an ips. This isn't the only game I want to pay thete are many more but, continue to have this heart breaking Problem.. HELP please?
  #25870    
Old July 15th, 2013 (02:44 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,969
Well these hacking tools are only for the computer. There is no IPS patcher for any phone unless you're using a windows phone (Which should be able to open LIPS, I never used one)
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25871    
Old July 15th, 2013 (02:44 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Hey guys, how do you animate a tile with multiple blocks? By that I mean what number am i supposed to put in for the block/tile number in the tile animator program? Because i read the tut for using it, but i didnt happen to see them edit more than one block at a time. I can reword this if the question isnt perfectly clear.
__________________
  #25872    
Old July 15th, 2013 (04:55 PM). Edited July 15th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Hey guys, how do you animate a tile with multiple blocks? By that I mean what number am i supposed to put in for the block/tile number in the tile animator program? Because i read the tut for using it, but i didnt happen to see them edit more than one block at a time. I can reword this if the question isnt perfectly clear.
You animate tiles, not blocks.


Spoiler:


The tile will always be animated when you use it in a block.
Attached Images
File Type: png tiles.PNG‎ (128.9 KB, 53 views) (Save to Dropbox)
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25873    
Old July 15th, 2013 (06:44 PM).
ISNorden's Avatar
ISNorden ISNorden is offline
Teddiursa
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Gender: Female
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 126
Send a message via Yahoo to ISNorden
I am playing "straight" unhacked Emerald on Visual Boy Advance, but have no wi-fi connection available. Is it possible to trade Pokémon between games under these two circumstances?

  1. Between two unhacked Gen III games on the same emulator (e.g.. trading eggs to myself in a different game).
  2. Between Gen III and Gen IV on another emulator (e.g., having Emerald in the GBA slot of DeSmuME, and reading PC data from Emerald to send to Pal Park).
If either of these trade situations can be done without wi-fi, please give me instructions for setting them up. Thanks so much!
__________________
Ingeborg S. Nordén

" Coming this fall to Jubilife TV: Lost Beyond Space!"
  #25874    
Old July 15th, 2013 (06:52 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by ISNorden:
I am playing "straight" unhacked Emerald on Visual Boy Advance, but have no wi-fi connection available. Is it possible to trade Pokémon between games under these two circumstances?

  1. Between two unhacked Gen III games on the same emulator (e.g.. trading eggs to myself in a different game).
  2. Between Gen III and Gen IV on another emulator (e.g., having Emerald in the GBA slot of DeSmuME, and reading PC data from Emerald to send to Pal Park).
If either of these trade situations can be done without wi-fi, please give me instructions for setting them up. Thanks so much!
This is rom hacking. Not emulation help. However:


1) Yes, using VBA-Link.

2)Yes, I've done it.

WiFi is not at all needed. In fact, no emulators can use wifi connectivity yet.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25875    
Old July 15th, 2013 (09:34 PM).
designmadman designmadman is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 12
No matter what map I run this script on either the screen goes black upon entering the map or upon successfully entering the map and stepping on the script box the script will only run halfway through and then the script freezes and your stuck hearing the background music and seeing endless inactivity! I'm pretty lacking in knowledge of advance map but I'd say from personal experience certain maps only have a specific number of bytes available for all events etc, please someone correct me if I'm wrong, here's the script:

#org 0x880000
lockall
applymovement 0x4 0x8880245
waitmovement 0x4
checksound
cry 0xF4 0x0
playsong 0x14C 0x0
applymovement 0x2 0x888024B
waitmovement 0x2
msgbox 0x888012B MSG_NORMAL '
applymovement 0x3 0x888024F
waitmovement 0x3
hidesprite 0x4
setflag 0x1230
movesprite 0xB 0x9 0x5
setflag 0x1230
msgbox 0x888017E MSG_NORMAL
applymovement 0x3 0x8880257
waitmovement 0x3
trainerbattle 0x1 0xE 0x0 0x8880067 0x88800C5 0x88800E8
end

'---------------
#org 0x8800E8
msgbox 0x88801B2 MSG_NORMAL '"Oh, you, you, you! You make me so\..."
fadescreen 0x1
hidesprite 0x2
setflag 0x1231
fadescreen 0x0
movesprite 0x5 0xB 0xB
setvar 0x8004 0xF
setvar 0x8005 0xF
setvar 0x8006 0xF
setvar 0x8007 0xF
special 0x136
msgbox 0x8880210 MSG_NORMAL '"[player] you have to get out of he..."
warpmuted 0x1 0x97 0x9 0x0 0x0
release
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x88012B
= blah blah

#org 0x88017E
= blah blah

#org 0x880067
= blah blah


#org 0x8800C5
= blah blah
he tempo!

#org 0x8801B2
= blah blah


#org 0x880210
= [player] you have to get out of here\nheres my AERODACTYL


'-----------
' Movements
'-----------
#org 0x880245
#raw 0x14 'Jump2 Down
#raw 0x18 'Delay1
#raw 0x14 'Jump2 Down
#raw 0x18 'Delay1
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements

#org 0x88024B
#raw 0x3 'Face Right
#raw 0x18 'Delay1
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements

#org 0x88024F
#raw 0x2 'Face Left
#raw 0x18 'Delay1
#raw 0xA 'Step Left (Very Slow)
#raw 0x18 'Delay1
#raw 0x1 'Face Up
#raw 0x9 'Step Up (Very Slow)
#raw 0xFE 'End of Movements

#org 0x880257
#raw 0x0 'Face Down
#raw 0x18 'Delay1
#raw 0x65 'Double Exclamation Mark (!!)
#raw 0xC 'Step Down (Slow)
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:51 AM.