Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #25901    
Old July 19th, 2013 (10:26 PM).
NaughtyBeaver's Avatar
NaughtyBeaver NaughtyBeaver is offline
Pokemon Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: VA
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 16
Does anyone know how to get the colors correct with an emerald ROM while using unLZ-GBA. I personally do not think that this is possible.

What I mean by "correct colors" is to have the pokemon/other sprites in the correct color pallet. In Ruby ROM's all the pokemon look normal and not a pixel out of place. And when I load emerald into unLZ-GBA, the pokemon are in black and white and some even split in half. And everything else is just random colored pixels that resemble the sprites. Please help anyone?
__________________
GG
  #25902    
Old July 19th, 2013 (10:48 PM). Edited July 19th, 2013 by Wobbu.
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu Wobbu is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: With the Mooshroom
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,286
Quote originally posted by NaughtyBeaver:
Does anyone know how to get the colors correct with an emerald ROM while using unLZ-GBA. I personally do not think that this is possible.

What I mean by "correct colors" is to have the pokemon/other sprites in the correct color pallet. In Ruby ROM's all the pokemon look normal and not a pixel out of place. And when I load emerald into unLZ-GBA, the pokemon are in black and white and some even split in half. And everything else is just random colored pixels that resemble the sprites. Please help anyone?
I think Emerald sprites start at 1037, so make sure that's where you're looking. Also, your Emerald ROM may be corrupted, as in you either obtained a bad copy of the ROM or you accidentally changed the bytes of the images. Try using a clean, unedited ROM in unLZ-GBA.


Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Does anyone know how to make tiles that animate only when the player walks through them?
Also what was the number of sprites you can have on one map until they pretty much dont apply their scripts? Wasnt it like 15 or something?
Yes, you can have a max of 15 active person events simultaneously.
Unfortunately I know very little about animating tiles D:
But I know that other members here know a lot about animating tiles, so I'm sure you'll get help soon.
__________________
c
a
r
t
o
o
n

n
e
t
w
o
r
k

staff collab
april 2o15
  #25903    
Old July 19th, 2013 (11:26 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by jsziede:
I think Emerald sprites start at 1037, so make sure that's where you're looking. Also, your Emerald ROM may be corrupted, as in you either obtained a bad copy of the ROM or you accidentally changed the bytes of the images. Try using a clean, unedited ROM in unLZ-GBA.

No he didn't. He is seeing the shiny palettes. Use Wichu's Advance Sprite Editors to change pokemon sprites. They are 10X easier.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25904    
Old July 19th, 2013 (11:46 PM).
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu Wobbu is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: With the Mooshroom
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,286
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
No he didn't. He is seeing the shiny palettes. Use Wichu's Advance Sprite Editors to change pokemon sprites. They are 10X easier.
Wait, now I'm confused... All sprites appear fine when I use unLZ, whether they are front, back, regular, or shiny. Even the 'Gastrodon' sprites lol. Maybe I misunderstood something?
__________________
c
a
r
t
o
o
n

n
e
t
w
o
r
k

staff collab
april 2o15
  #25905    
Old July 20th, 2013 (06:54 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by jsziede:
Wait, now I'm confused... All sprites appear fine when I use unLZ, whether they are front, back, regular, or shiny. Even the 'Gastrodon' sprites lol. Maybe I misunderstood something?
Unlz can be weird. It was like 3am when I posted that, and all I saw was funny colors. This is usually people just seeing the shinies and not knowing what to do. But either way, he should open up the rom in Wichu's Sprite Editor. It is pointless to even look at pokemon sprites in unlz when we have that tool.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25906    
Old July 20th, 2013 (07:29 AM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote:
Yes, you can have a max of 15 active person events simultaneously.
Unfortunately I know very little about animating tiles D:
But I know that other members here know a lot about animating tiles, so I'm sure you'll get help soon.
Dang, so does that mean 15 person events with scripts? for example, if i wanted more than 15, could i put more but not give them any kind of script? or if i repeat the same script on multiple people, does it count as one space or anything? Im just trying to clear up all of the details.
And yeah, if anyone knows how to animate tiles when theyre moved through by the player, that would be awesome.
  #25907    
Old July 20th, 2013 (08:27 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
Dang, so does that mean 15 person events with scripts? for example, if i wanted more than 15, could i put more but not give them any kind of script? or if i repeat the same script on multiple people, does it count as one space or anything? Im just trying to clear up all of the details.
And yeah, if anyone knows how to animate tiles when theyre moved through by the player, that would be awesome.
I can animate tiles pretty well, but the issue is when the player steps on them. The only thing I can think of is stealing the broken long grass and fixing it. Hmmmm

15 NPCs. That is your max, on screen and just offscreen at once. You can add more sprites than this using the createsprite command, however, these sprites are almost useless. You can walk through them, you can't applymovement to them, and you can't attach a script to them. The only thing you can do is give them a specific behavior, like running in place. The only use I think of for them is hacking the routine to make them follow you around.:p
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25908    
Old July 20th, 2013 (01:41 PM). Edited July 20th, 2013 by Superjub.
Superjub's Avatar
Superjub Superjub is offline
Pokémon Aureolin
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hoenn
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 2,289
Hi, I seem to be experiencing a small graphical glitch. Nothing major, it's just that my sprite appears pink until I use an attack. Does anyone have any idea why this might be? :3 The sprites that it's happening with so far are custom sprites. I took some screenshots too if that helps (spoilered due to large size.)

Edit: Other info- the sprite starts pink at the start of EVERY battle, and opening menus (bag, Pokemon etc.) also removes it temporarily.
Edit 2: Just did some more testing- seems to be that only the backsprite has this glitch- the front sprites seem to be working fine.
Edit 3: Hmmm, this seems to affect all backsprites. o.o

Spoiler:

__________________
  #25909    
Old July 20th, 2013 (07:18 PM).
Vicktor Black's Avatar
Vicktor Black Vicktor Black is offline
Blaziken
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: A white room in "The Void"
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 48
How do I find certain palettes/offsets in advanced palette editor like for example the palette/offset of the world map?
__________________

Always keep an open mind!
  #25910    
Old July 20th, 2013 (08:02 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Vicktor Black:
How do I find certain palettes/offsets in advanced palette editor like for example the palette/offset of the world map?
Open up the image in VBA. Go "Tools" -> "Palette Viewer" and find the palette you are looking for. Save the palette map as a Paint Shop palette. Now, switch APE to searching mode with the button and click the button that becomes accessible after doing so. (It is in the Actual Palette section, the palette with the blue arrow pointing left on it.) Select the saved palette. Now, using the arrows, navigate through the indexes until you find the palette you think is the one for the image. Then click search. Remember to switch between Lz and Uncompressed if can't find it. If you can't find it at all, then this will be a little bit more difficult.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25911    
Old July 21st, 2013 (02:48 AM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123 akihiko123 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 56
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Nope, XSE does that for you.

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @start
trainerbattle 0x3 0x[trainer's number in hex] 0x0 @Freespace
msgbox @beaten 0x6
release
end

#org @before
= Sun Team, GO!


#org @freespace
= Nooo!

#org @beaten
= My Sunny Team can help me in Cooking
Thanks
Another question, how to change the TM that the gym leader will give it to you?
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #25912    
Old July 21st, 2013 (09:00 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by akihiko123:
Thanks
Another question, how to change the TM that the gym leader will give it to you?
Somewhere in their script, there will be a giveitem item command. Just change the item number to a different one.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25913    
Old July 21st, 2013 (01:55 PM).
YogiBerra YogiBerra is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 48
How would I go about adding dex entries for the 25 ??????? Pokémon?
  #25914    
Old July 21st, 2013 (02:15 PM). Edited July 21st, 2013 by pokefreake.
pokefreake's Avatar
pokefreake pokefreake is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 69
I figured it out what I did wrong.
  #25915    
Old July 21st, 2013 (06:56 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by YogiBerra:
How would I go about adding dex entries for the 25 ??????? Pokémon?
Having a lot of knowledge in ASM and how to apply it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25916    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (12:09 AM).
BenHawkes113 BenHawkes113 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
What are the tools you need to hack Pokemon Diamond & Pearl?
  #25917    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (06:38 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,969
There are some in the toolbox such as SDSME, and a few other ones.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25918    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (11:19 AM).
+Silverwing+ +Silverwing+ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
I have a problem with my VBA, I changed the setting to make the screen bigger but I accidentally made them to big and the VBA keeps crashing before I can change them back.

I have already tried deleting all the files of VBA and downloading it again but its not working :"(
  #25919    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (12:24 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,969
Well, deleting all the files will obviously ruin the program. It has nothing to run on!!!
Anyway, here's VBA-M. Don't screw around with the files again: https://www.dropbox.com/s/md8s7flrfwaecz9/Vba-m.7z
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25920    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (01:44 PM).
pokefreake's Avatar
pokefreake pokefreake is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 69
Does anyone have a tutorial for making the title screen animated? I already know how to make the background, but I don't know how to make the animation.
  #25921    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (02:23 PM).
+Silverwing+ +Silverwing+ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Thx for that but is it ok if you could send me a .zip file, i'm on a Mac.
  #25922    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (02:30 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,969
No prob bob: https://www.dropbox.com/s/av4yvbd55ujrj1l/VBA-M.zip
And pokefreake, it's not in a tutorial, sorry.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #25923    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (02:55 PM).
pokefreake's Avatar
pokefreake pokefreake is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 69
Do you know how I can do it or what programs I should use?
  #25924    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (02:57 PM).
MasterWarlord's Avatar
MasterWarlord MasterWarlord is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Gender: Male
Posts: 17
On this page and some other pages I've seen some token mentions of only being able to have 15 person events at once. . .But I've done a map with over 20 gym trainers before that worked perfectly normal. I'm assuming it's just they just can't all be close enough on the map to have more than 15 on screen at once (Which was the case in this map).

Can the Pokemon Unown, Castform, and Spinda be overwritten with new ones? I worry about the alternate Unown/Castform forms, and if the changing spots from Spinda would "infect" whatever sprite I overwrite it with. I believe I just have to get rid of Castform's ability and only overwrite Unown A's sprite for those two, correct? For Spinda I have no idea.
  #25925    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (03:11 PM).
+Silverwing+ +Silverwing+ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
Posts: 5
Your the best, gogojjtech
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 10:26 AM.