Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #25926    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (04:08 PM). Edited July 22nd, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by MasterWarlord:
On this page and some other pages I've seen some token mentions of only being able to have 15 person events at once. . .But I've done a map with over 20 gym trainers before that worked perfectly normal. I'm assuming it's just they just can't all be close enough on the map to have more than 15 on screen at once (Which was the case in this map).

If you would like, I can point you to the NPC buffer in the ram that stores all of the data for every NPC. There are only 16 slots, and one is for the player. This is only for NPCs slightly off-screen and on-screen. I don't know what the exact distance off-screen it is, but yes, you can have a map with more, they just need to be spaced out. To test this, make a map and put 17 all real close to each other. 2 will disappear. I can promise that.

Quote originally posted by MasterWarlord:
Can the Pokemon Unown, Castform, and Spinda be overwritten with new ones? I worry about the alternate Unown/Castform forms, and if the changing spots from Spinda would "infect" whatever sprite I overwrite it with. I believe I just have to get rid of Castform's ability and only overwrite Unown A's sprite for those two, correct? For Spinda I have no idea.
Yes, change Castforms ability and it should work. Spinda will always infect your pokemon, so you have to be creative. Unowns are just weird, but you can nop the code in the sprites loaders that load them and then just make them a regular pokemon, but why would you want that?

Quote originally posted by pokefreake:
Does anyone have a tutorial for making the title screen animated? I already know how to make the background, but I don't know how to make the animation.
I do, but it requires custom ASM by Darthatron. I'll see if I can get the ASM open sourced. I used it for my hack and LinkandZelda used it for Liquid Crystal. You will have to know ASM first though, otherwise it will just be gibberish.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25927    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (04:46 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Pokefreake: Maybe a hex editor?

Master Warlord: The forme changes are stored within the Pokemon's PID, so just changing abilities will do NADA. In Pokemon Dark Rising, Spinda was overwritten with Tynamos, and the Tynamos had spots just like old Spinda. Changing an Unown would mean changing all of the formes to look like the normal one. Castform are based off of ability, so yeah, go ahead. But you could make use of it, like have 4 different Pokemon based on the same one? I don't know, get creative with it. All of the sprite changes can be accomplished through Advanced Series.

+Silverwing+: Eh, when I'm around, I'm as helpful as Karatekid.
__________________
  #25928    
Old July 22nd, 2013 (05:13 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Pokefreake: Maybe a hex editor?

Master Warlord: The forme changes are stored within the Pokemon's PID, so just changing abilities will do NADA. In Pokemon Dark Rising, Spinda was overwritten with Tynamos, and the Tynamos had spots just like old Spinda. Changing an Unown would mean changing all of the formes to look like the normal one. Castform are based off of ability, so yeah, go ahead. But you could make use of it, like have 4 different Pokemon based on the same one? I don't know, get creative with it. All of the sprite changes can be accomplished through Advanced Series.

+Silverwing+: Eh, when I'm around, I'm as helpful as Karatekid.
If I reply, check my replies first before posting.


I got permission from Darthatron to open source the code for the animated titlescreen. I will post a link here after I post it.


edit:
LINK---> http://www.pokecommunity.com/showpost.php?p=7748306&postcount=36
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #25929    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (12:12 PM). Edited July 23rd, 2013 by DrFuji.
+Silverwing+
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
still trying to download wine bottler to open the .exe I keep forgetting to leave my laptop open and its cancelled 2 times already because it takes 1h30 :(

this isn't working can someone please send me the .app of VBA-M plz.
  #25930    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (02:58 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Just google vba-m and you should get a load of websites, so just get a mac version.
__________________
  #25931    
Old July 23rd, 2013 (08:05 PM).
+Silverwing+
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Earth
Gender: Male
FINALLLYY thx for ur help anyways gogo
  #25932    
Old July 24th, 2013 (08:11 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Google is your friend, so always go there before you ask for help.
__________________
  #25933    
Old July 24th, 2013 (10:16 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
It is possible to control Wild Battle and Trainer Battle themes by Scripts? I want to know. And DO NOT SEND ME TO ASM. I do not understand how programing in ASM. Someone know script to control that?
__________________
- Thonsu Region will never die when Rejishan take care about them. Even the evilnesse of Team Mystic do not destroy land of Thonsu.

POKEMON DIRTY SUN - Comming Soon.
POKEMON RUBY RENEV - http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=341964

In case of any Questions... Go HERE
  #25934    
Old July 24th, 2013 (02:01 PM). Edited July 24th, 2013 by Jambo51.
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
It is possible to control Wild Battle and Trainer Battle themes by Scripts? I want to know. And DO NOT SEND ME TO ASM. I do not understand how programing in ASM. Someone know script to control that?
No. There is no way to do it using only scripts.

See rather than point blank refusing to learn ASM, which will get you absolutely nowhere, try actually learning how to insert it. Not write it, not understand it, just assemble and insert it.

It's easy to assemble and insert ASM, and there's normally good documentation on how to use it along with the ASM.

Try reading these threads written by people who can explain it far better than I. It explains the basic concepts behind ASM. And I'll quote a basic step by step guide on how to actually assemble and insert ASM. I can't do anything more for you than that, I'm afraid.

This explains what ASM code actually does:
http://www.romhackersonline.com/showthread.php?t=14109-The-Concept-of-ASM

And this explains how to assemble a piece of ASM code and insert it into your ROM in a usable format:
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=233645

As you can see, (if you've read them) all ASM insertion actually amounts to is hex editing your ROM. You can't honestly tell me you've never done that, because that's what EVERYTHING that changes your ROM does (just in a very obfuscated manner).

If you continue to refuse to even try, all you'll do is draw ire and frustration. You have several posts in this thread which ask how to do something, and when someone answers that it needs ASM (and usually posts a link to a good tutorial explaining how to use the ASM), you basically have a hissy fit and say "Not good enough".

The scripting language is an exceedingly limited language, and many of the things you want to do simply aren't possible without delving into ASM, so I'd advise trying at the very least.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #25935    
Old July 24th, 2013 (05:24 PM).
123Shiner456
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Hello, I've got a quick question.
I have advance map, and I was wondering how to move the towns and cities in order to make a new region shape. any help is appreciated, Thanks
  #25936    
Old July 24th, 2013 (05:25 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
On the worldmap? Well if you want them to connect differently there's a map connections button on top.
__________________
  #25937    
Old July 24th, 2013 (10:33 PM).
DarkPsychic's Avatar
DarkPsychic
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Gender: Male
Question:
Is there any way to make it possible to have a pokemon ( Eevee ) have more than 5 evolutions?
In YAPE 5 seems to be the limit, so does that mean ASM is the only way to make this work?
&
Even if done will I be able to edit it in YAPE?
  #25938    
Old July 25th, 2013 (02:34 AM). Edited July 25th, 2013 by Jambo51.
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by DarkPsychic:
Question:
Is there any way to make it possible to have a pokemon ( Eevee ) have more than 5 evolutions?
In YAPE 5 seems to be the limit, so does that mean ASM is the only way to make this work?
&
Even if done will I be able to edit it in YAPE?
ASM is the only way, and no, YAPE could not support it even if you did insert the ASM. Best way to handle Eevee is simply to add a special case scenario to the code. You could even collapse a lot of the data by doing so, since no other Pokémon has more than 2 branches in evolution.

You would break compatibility with YAPE in doing so though.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #25939    
Old July 25th, 2013 (10:31 AM).
leogrecchi
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male


Help? Can't get mid2agb to work.Can't understand the error message either
This happens with any mid file...
  #25940    
Old July 25th, 2013 (11:39 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
JUST DRAG THE MIDI INTO MID2AGB.EXE
That will work. Read my mega-huge Sappy tutorial to understand
__________________
  #25941    
Old July 25th, 2013 (06:04 PM).
leogrecchi
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
JUST DRAG THE MIDI INTO MID2AGB.EXE
That will work. Read my mega-huge Sappy tutorial to understand
That DIDN'T work, or else I wouldn't be here asking. The window just closes a split second after I drag the mid into mid2agb.exe, and there's no .s file created (nor any file, for that matter)
I've even tested the example mid that came with it, and nothing.
  #25942    
Old July 25th, 2013 (06:08 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by leogrecchi:
That DIDN'T work, or else I wouldn't be here asking. The window just closes a split second after I drag the mid into mid2agb.exe, and there's no .s file created (nor any file, for that matter)
I've even tested the example mid that came with it, and nothing.
I've encountered that same problem with other midis before. Yeah, it means there's something in the midi that the tool can't convert, so there was no .s file created.
__________________
#495 Snivy
Supporter Collab January 2015



  #25943    
Old July 25th, 2013 (06:17 PM).
leogrecchi
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Gender: Male
Thanks, that was... helpful?
Now, time to tamper some more with the mid files...
  #25944    
Old July 25th, 2013 (06:23 PM).
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu
Silt Sunrise
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Vvardenfell
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by leogrecchi:
Thanks, that was... helpful?
Now, time to tamper some more with the mid files...
Somewhere in the toolbar of Anvil Studio there is a 'Repair Midi' button (I think it's the 'File' one...). Click that and say yes to everything except the program change question. That should fix your Midi and allow for the creation of the S file.
__________________
  #25945    
Old July 26th, 2013 (05:15 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
But ASM scripting is very hard. And in all my attemps i crash game.

Also. What is this F***in adress of ASM controling Wild Battle and Trainer Themes?

It would be more simpler when someone told me where is this adress.
__________________
- Thonsu Region will never die when Rejishan take care about them. Even the evilnesse of Team Mystic do not destroy land of Thonsu.

POKEMON DIRTY SUN - Comming Soon.
POKEMON RUBY RENEV - http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=341964

In case of any Questions... Go HERE
  #25946    
Old July 26th, 2013 (06:12 AM).
Jambo51's Avatar
Jambo51
Glory To Arstotzka
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
But ASM scripting is very hard.
It is NOT scripting. It is programming. There's a massive difference.

Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
And in all my attemps i crash game.
Yeah, it's hard compared to XSE scripting, but it is NOT that hard. You're better to keep trying until you get it right rather than just give it up like you have.

Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
Also. What is this F***in adress of ASM controling Wild Battle and Trainer Themes?

It would be more simpler when someone told me where is this adress.
Unfortunately, I'm not a Ruby hacker and I don't know. And you will find there are, unfortunately, very few Ruby ASM hackers (probably none).

Most people hack FireRed and Emerald because the engine is vastly superior to Ruby's. I have a tutorial on how to do it for FireRed, and Emerald's fairly simple to extend, since it's already in a table-ised format.

At a guess, I'd say Ruby uses the same table format. Problem is, the table doesn't contain just the music data, it contains pointers to ASM. The ASM it points to loads the music ID.

Very basic ASM hacking skills are required to do it, but it's certainly not hard.
__________________
Hey guys, please check out my recreations of the gen 1 and 2 music on my custom engine at my SoundCloud! - Here!
  #25947    
Old July 26th, 2013 (08:10 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by leogrecchi:


Help? Can't get mid2agb to work.Can't understand the error message either
This happens with any mid file...
I understand the error. If you read my tutorial, you would know not to have spaces or numbers in your file name. That renders the instructions unreadable. It was most likely fine at first before putting in a number. Also, make sure in anvil studio to click export midi format-0, not save.
__________________
  #25948    
Old July 26th, 2013 (08:42 AM).
uliekztrollface?'s Avatar
uliekztrollface?
U MAD BRO?
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Hi, I was wondering where would be the best and safest places to get Advance-Trainer and PKSV (The scripting program)? I have checked the toolbox on here, but A-Trainer's mirror link is the same as one posted on Youtube where several people claimed it have a trojan...
Many people apparently use Whack A Hack, but I've heard many reports of it having viruses.
This is a rather vexing issue.

P.S-Is there any simple way to:
a) Access the coded sprites and soundtracks from R/S in Advance Map (I'm using FireRed)
b) Easily change the soundtrack of a battle? (e.g make your rival use the R/S rival theme)
Many thanks in advance
  #25949    
Old July 26th, 2013 (09:49 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
1. Use XSE as your script editor since it's more widely used.
2. A-Trainer from me here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pks5ynlqm3yr8e9/A-Trainer.zip
3. The themes and sprites from RS aren't all in FR. Only some.
4. Read my Mega-Huge Sappy tutorial on changing music.
__________________
  #25950    
Old July 26th, 2013 (10:08 AM).
uliekztrollface?'s Avatar
uliekztrollface?
U MAD BRO?
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Thanks for the link to get A-Trainer
However, with regards to XSE, I'm really not good at scripting at all, so I find the user-friendly interface of PKSV more convenient.
About music-Well, I'm not really bothered with Sappy, and sorry, I didn't
know that only a select few tracks from R/S were in the coding-my bad.
Thanks for responding quickly to my post
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:26 PM.