Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26151    
Old August 9th, 2013 (03:02 PM).
XeroXen
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Okay, I think I have one more question for today.

How do I make a sprite invisible by default, similar to how Professor Oak's sprite is invisible in Pallet Town until you trigger the script making him visible. The way I'm doing it right now is tacky and doesn't really work.

Thanks in advance.
  #26152    
Old August 9th, 2013 (03:57 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by XeroXen:
Okay, I think I have one more question for today.

How do I make a sprite invisible by default, similar to how Professor Oak's sprite is invisible in Pallet Town until you trigger the script making him visible. The way I'm doing it right now is tacky and doesn't really work.

Thanks in advance.
Set the flag in the person ID of that Event in a 03 map script in the players bedroom. Then clear the flag and use showsprite when you want it to appear.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26153    
Old August 9th, 2013 (04:08 PM).
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode
Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Probably ASM hacking. You will have to see how that is loaded.
What is the offset of the script you found?

The A-text offset for the for the "water is dark..." is 1A556E (in hex)

For the script of the entire thing, is 1A6AC8.

'---------------
#org 0x1A6AC8
special 0x187
compare LASTRESULT 0x2
if 0x1 goto 0x81A6B0C
checkattack 0x39
compare LASTRESULT 0x6
if 0x1 goto 0x81A6B0C
bufferpartypokemon 0x0 LASTRESULT
setanimation 0x0 LASTRESULT
lockall
msgbox 0x81A556E MSG_YESNO '"The water is dyed a deep blue[.]\n..."
compare LASTRESULT 0x0
if 0x1 goto 0x81A6B0B
msgbox 0x81A55A5 MSG_KEEPOPEN '"[buffer1] used SURF!"
doanimation 0x9
releaseall
end

'---------------
#org 0x1A6B0C
end

'---------------
#org 0x1A6B0B
releaseall
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x1A556E
= The water is dyed a deep blue[.]\nWould you like to SURF?

#org 0x1A55A5
= [buffer1] used SURF!
  #26154    
Old August 9th, 2013 (04:29 PM). Edited August 9th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by rockmanmegaman:
The A-text offset for the for the "water is dark..." is 1A556E (in hex)

For the script of the entire thing, is 1A6AC8.

'---------------
#org 0x1A6AC8
special 0x187
compare LASTRESULT 0x2
if 0x1 goto 0x81A6B0C
checkattack 0x39
compare LASTRESULT 0x6
if 0x1 goto 0x81A6B0C
bufferpartypokemon 0x0 LASTRESULT
setanimation 0x0 LASTRESULT
lockall
msgbox 0x81A556E MSG_YESNO '"The water is dyed a deep blue[.]\n..."
compare LASTRESULT 0x0
if 0x1 goto 0x81A6B0B
msgbox 0x81A55A5 MSG_KEEPOPEN '"[buffer1] used SURF!"
doanimation 0x9
releaseall
end

'---------------
#org 0x1A6B0C
end

'---------------
#org 0x1A6B0B
releaseall
end


'---------
' Strings
'---------
#org 0x1A556E
= The water is dyed a deep blue[.]\nWould you like to SURF?

#org 0x1A55A5
= [buffer1] used SURF!
I think here, since no pokemon can surf naturally, the checkflag may be in the HM itself. Hmm, let me try some things.

Edit: there is an ASM routine just before the script that checks the flag. Let me find an easy way to negate it for you.

Okay, this will fix the overworld surfing, but you still won't be able to surf from the menu:

Go to 0x6D59C and paste-write "01 00 00 00" in a hex editor.
Then, jump up to 0x6D572 and paste-write "00 00 00 00".

That will enable surf on the overworld. A different routine checks from the menu that I haven't found.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26155    
Old August 9th, 2013 (04:30 PM). Edited August 9th, 2013 by Xcisor.
Xcisor's Avatar
Xcisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
Having some issues with advance map, when I goto edit a script tile and put in playsound 0x13B 0x0, after I compile the data and re-open the script, all of my playsound commands change to playsound 0x0 0x0 and will go silent during gameplay? Any reason they won't register when I compile the scripts?

EDIT:

I figured this one out. When compiling a playsound in PKSV and Advancemap, type the identifier twice: playsound 0x13B 0x13B and it will prevent it from turning into 0x0's and should make the soundfile play in game!

Also: Shout out to karatekid552 for being such a dedicated haxtutor!
__________________
Pokémon Yellow Advanced Version Team:
  #26156    
Old August 9th, 2013 (04:41 PM).
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode
Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
I think here, since no pokemon can surf naturally, the checkflag may be in the HM itself. Hmm, let me try some things.

Edit: there is an ASM routine just before the script that checks the flag. Let me find an easy way to negate it for you.
Thank you, I really appreciate it.
  #26157    
Old August 9th, 2013 (05:18 PM). Edited August 9th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by rockmanmegaman:
Thank you, I really appreciate it.
As you can see, I fixed the overworld. I also just found the check for ALL badges in the menu, so let me find a fix for that.

ANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNND, to remove badge checks from ALL HMs on the POKEMON MENU:

Go to 0x124620 and paste-write "01 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00". And that is all.:D
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26158    
Old August 9th, 2013 (09:40 PM).
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode
Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
As you can see, I fixed the overworld. I also just found the check for ALL badges in the menu, so let me find a fix for that.

ANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNND, to remove badge checks from ALL HMs on the POKEMON MENU:

Go to 0x124620 and paste-write "01 20 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00". And that is all.:D
Thank you! Thank you!
You're a life saver!
  #26159    
Old August 10th, 2013 (06:37 AM).
SacredMurathJohn's Avatar
SacredMurathJohn
ROM Hacking
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Turkey
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Is there a way to use daily flags in Firered?
__________________
A progressing project - Hunters of the Ancient:



Play as a TEAM ROCKET GRUNT
Now BETA 0.3 available.
  #26160    
Old August 10th, 2013 (07:30 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by SacredMurathJohn:
Is there a way to use daily flags in Firered?
What do you mean by daily flags?
If you mean day events, then you need Day & Night System for that.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #26161    
Old August 10th, 2013 (07:34 AM).
SacredMurathJohn's Avatar
SacredMurathJohn
ROM Hacking
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Turkey
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Quote originally posted by Ash493:
What do you mean by daily flags?
If you mean day events, then you need Day & Night System for that.
I mean the events happening once-a-day like lottery in R/S/E.
__________________
A progressing project - Hunters of the Ancient:



Play as a TEAM ROCKET GRUNT
Now BETA 0.3 available.
  #26162    
Old August 10th, 2013 (08:03 AM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
hey guys, im trying to edit the background for my hack, and ive been following the tutorial, but when i get to the part where you have to load the two pallets into APE keeps saying theres a runtime error and then crashing every time i try to load my new pallet. How do i fix this?
__________________
  #26163    
Old August 10th, 2013 (08:11 AM). Edited August 10th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
hey guys, im trying to edit the background for my hack, and ive been following the tutorial, but when i get to the part where you have to load the two pallets into APE keeps saying theres a runtime error and then crashing every time i try to load my new pallet. How do i fix this?
The one that you save in VBA? Save it as a paintstop palette, not a windows palette. That will fix it.

Quote originally posted by SacredMurathJohn:
I mean the events happening once-a-day like lottery in R/S/E.
FRLG don't have native RTC, so there aren't any daily flags. You have to create new one manually using ASM and an RTC for FR.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26164    
Old August 10th, 2013 (10:13 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
How fix broken Attack Table in Pokemon Ruby? I have strange failure. Some Attacks when I use them restaring my game. Someone can help me slove that problem?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #26165    
Old August 10th, 2013 (10:17 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
How fix broken Attack Table in Pokemon Ruby? I have strange failure. Some Attacks when I use them restaring my game. Someone can help me slove that problem?
Most likely broken attack images. Find an Unlz list and look through the attack animation sections and compare them to a clean rom.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26166    
Old August 10th, 2013 (10:20 AM).
AtecainCorp.'s Avatar
AtecainCorp.
Rejishan awake...
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Takoabe Town (Region Thonsu)
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Hardy
Ok. I have also Another Question. Somewhere here I heard about Program to changing TYPES <Effectivnese, Weaknese and also> Someone know they name?

1. One small.... Someone know where is located Prof.Birch sprite?
__________________
This signature has been disabled.
Exceeds the 600px width limit.
Please review and fix the issues by reading the signature rules.

You must edit it to meet the limits set by the rules before you may remove the [sig-reason] code from your signature. Removing this tag will re-enable it.

Do not remove the tag until you fix the issues in your signature. You may be infracted for removing this tag if you do not fix the specified issues. Do not use this tag for decoration purposes.
  #26167    
Old August 10th, 2013 (10:28 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Ksiazek Bartlomiej:
Ok. I have also Another Question. Somewhere here I heard about Program to changing TYPES <Effectivnese, Weaknese and also> Someone know they name?

1. One small.... Someone know where is located Prof.Birch sprite?
Type Resistances Editor

1. I told you HOW to find it, which is far more useful then its actual location.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26168    
Old August 10th, 2013 (10:28 AM).
SacredMurathJohn's Avatar
SacredMurathJohn
ROM Hacking
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Turkey
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Quote:
FRLG don't have native RTC, so there aren't any daily flags. You have to create new one manually using ASM and an RTC for FR.
I know nothing about ASM, any threads about Firered RTC in forum?
__________________
A progressing project - Hunters of the Ancient:



Play as a TEAM ROCKET GRUNT
Now BETA 0.3 available.
  #26169    
Old August 10th, 2013 (10:53 AM).
designmadman
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
So I have done quite a bit of work on a hack ive been playing around with...dreadfully worked with lots of music and then imported it, did asm routines, sprites, palettes; I did a lot of mapping and scripting yada yada a lot of time you know. Anyway I had someone test it out and it was all compliments until they tried to buy something at the mart. Every time they/I try to do a transaction but/sell once the clerk says here you go or something like that the game will freeze and at every mart. I must of overwritten some offset or something but I have no idea. Has anyone experienced this problem or has any suggestions? It would be greatly appreciated. PS I also have a back up of my game before I inserted a bunch of ASM routines and the mart worked at that point so my opinion is that those ASM routines might be where this all happened
  #26170    
Old August 10th, 2013 (11:01 AM). Edited August 10th, 2013 by A Sunny Moo.
A Sunny Moo's Avatar
A Sunny Moo
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Gender: Male
Hello, I'm sorry I was unable to find an answer to this question before. I feel like it's quite basic.

Right now, I'm trying to insert maps. However, before I insert the maps, I change the name of the maps. For example, the map I was trying to insert was NEW BARK TOWN. However, when I enter this as the name, then insert the map in bank 0 map 1, it changes the name of the PALLET TOWN maps to NEW BARK TOWN. I want to keep the PALLET TOWN maps intact, so how do I do so without naming the PALLET TOWN maps? I know it will probably require me adding in a new string somehow, or pointer.

Thanks in advance.

ALSO: I was working on my ROM and all of the sudden, Advance Map decided it could not read the rom or ANY of the past 6 backups that I had made that had worked before. However, they work in the emulator fine. Any reason why this would happen?
EDIT: It looks like my Advance Map suddenly decided not to recognize roms anymore, i re-downloaded it, now it's fine.
  #26171    
Old August 10th, 2013 (11:20 AM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
The one that you save in VBA? Save it as a paintstop palette, not a windows palette. That will fix it.
I dont think so, the one you save from ifran, the pallet of the background im inserting. Cause when i save the pallet from ifran it already saves as .pal
  #26172    
Old August 10th, 2013 (12:15 PM). Edited August 10th, 2013 by karatekid552.
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
I dont think so, the one you save from ifran, the pallet of the background im inserting. Cause when i save the pallet from ifran it already saves as .pal
There's the issue. APE can only import 256 color palettes, not 16. You have to increase color depth to 256 first, then save.

Also, windows palettes and paintshop palettes both use .pal. So, be careful when saving palettes in the palette viewer of VBA.

Quote originally posted by A Sunny Moo:
Hello, I'm sorry I was unable to find an answer to this question before. I feel like it's quite basic.

Right now, I'm trying to insert maps. However, before I insert the maps, I change the name of the maps. For example, the map I was trying to insert was NEW BARK TOWN. However, when I enter this as the name, then insert the map in bank 0 map 1, it changes the name of the PALLET TOWN maps to NEW BARK TOWN. I want to keep the PALLET TOWN maps intact, so how do I do so without naming the PALLET TOWN maps? I know it will probably require me adding in a new string somehow, or pointer.

Thanks in advance.

ALSO: I was working on my ROM and all of the sudden, Advance Map decided it could not read the rom or ANY of the past 6 backups that I had made that had worked before. However, they work in the emulator fine. Any reason why this would happen?
EDIT: It looks like my Advance Map suddenly decided not to recognize roms anymore, i re-downloaded it, now it's fine.
To add new names, read this thread: http://174.133.255.180/showthread.php?t=212492

You must have deleted the ini.

Quote originally posted by designmadman:
So I have done quite a bit of work on a hack ive been playing around with...dreadfully worked with lots of music and then imported it, did asm routines, sprites, palettes; I did a lot of mapping and scripting yada yada a lot of time you know. Anyway I had someone test it out and it was all compliments until they tried to buy something at the mart. Every time they/I try to do a transaction but/sell once the clerk says here you go or something like that the game will freeze and at every mart. I must of overwritten some offset or something but I have no idea. Has anyone experienced this problem or has any suggestions? It would be greatly appreciated. PS I also have a back up of my game before I inserted a bunch of ASM routines and the mart worked at that point so my opinion is that those ASM routines might be where this all happened
What were your ASM routines?

Quote originally posted by SacredMurathJohn:
I know nothing about ASM, any threads about Firered RTC in forum?
The RTC comes with Prime Dialga's DNS and why not try to learn ASM? Start here: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=299696
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26173    
Old August 10th, 2013 (05:42 PM).
designmadman
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: canada
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Well I only documented the offset of one of my asm routines; the trainer class based music one, in case I wanted to go back and add more music specific battles. That asm was at 0x850150. I had two other routines but I don't remember where I inserted them specifically. One was to make your player face the trainer before every battle like in liquid crystal, and the other was to show the face of both the player and the trainer he;s battling like when you battle the champ. Both were inserted in free space for sure though
  #26174    
Old August 10th, 2013 (06:05 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by designmadman:
Well I only documented the offset of one of my asm routines; the trainer class based music one, in case I wanted to go back and add more music specific battles. That asm was at 0x850150. I had two other routines but I don't remember where I inserted them specifically. One was to make your player face the trainer before every battle like in liquid crystal, and the other was to show the face of both the player and the trainer he;s battling like when you battle the champ. Both were inserted in free space for sure though
Surely they all had to have branches to them somewhere in the heart of the rom? I think that is where you went wrong. Did all of the routines work?
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26175    
Old August 10th, 2013 (07:39 PM).
Xcisor's Avatar
Xcisor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
How can I edit the trainer icon that appears on the world map:

Like the face seen here:

http://i1.ytimg.com/vi/X_bsHWZCEDI/hqdefault.jpg
__________________
Pokémon Yellow Advanced Version Team:
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:57 PM.