Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #26226    
Old August 17th, 2013 (03:48 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
so ive been trying to expand some of my pokemon ows to 32x32, and in the tut i read it says it takes up a lot of memory to do that, so i was wondering how much memory it would take up if i made all of the pokemon sprites currently in FR to 32x32? People tell me not to but i cant help but always be paranoid that im going to run out of memory, haha.
__________________
  #26227    
Old August 17th, 2013 (03:51 PM). Edited August 17th, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,152
Quote originally posted by XeroXen:
Just a quick question. I've been searching for some kind of documentation on what all the different sounds/fanfares that exist in the game are with no success. I mean mostly small sounds such as opening doors and stuff. If anybody has a link to such a resource that would be such an amazing help.
I have a research thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=303340

Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
so ive been trying to expand some of my pokemon ows to 32x32, and in the tut i read it says it takes up a lot of memory to do that, so i was wondering how much memory it would take up if i made all of the pokemon sprites currently in FR to 32x32? People tell me not to but i cant help but always be paranoid that im going to run out of memory, haha.
My game is based off of DP OWs. It's not a big deal AT ALL. You can do it, it's not even twice the size of an original 16 x 32. It's like a fourth larger.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #26228    
Old August 17th, 2013 (04:41 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
I have a research thread: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=303340



My game is based off of DP OWs. It's not a big deal AT ALL. You can do it, it's not even twice the size of an original 16 x 32. It's like a fourth larger.
Actually, the way data is size is measured is:

( Length x Width ) / 2

So, actually, it takes up twice the space. Uncompressed data, like OWs, is stored a half-byte per pixel, or 4 bits. 32 x 32 = 1024 pixels so 512 bytes. 16 x 32 is 512 pixels so 256 bytes. 200% larger. Not 125%. Still, it is not that much data if you do it right. My title screen for Derpizard Contamination weighs in at roughly 1.3mbs. That is 1,300,000 bytes. So, don't worry.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26229    
Old August 17th, 2013 (06:55 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
So, I was wondering if anyone knew where i could find the pallets for the HGSS Ows? Because I want to have them in my hack, and i pretty much want to know what their layout was for those games. Like in FR how they have about 5 pallets that covers all of their sprites. Do the HGSS games have that? Or did they end up making seperate palleets for each OW?
__________________
  #26230    
Old August 17th, 2013 (09:28 PM).
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1 awipe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
So, I was wondering if anyone knew where i could find the pallets for the HGSS Ows? Because I want to have them in my hack, and i pretty much want to know what their layout was for those games. Like in FR how they have about 5 pallets that covers all of their sprites. Do the HGSS games have that? Or did they end up making seperate palleets for each OW?
Uhhh this is what I would do if I were you.

1) Look up the sprite/palette you need from HGSS.
2) Take that sprite to infraview or whatever it's called and decrease the color depth to 16.
3) Export the palette.

In FR it just worked out that they only need a certain number or palettes because a lot of things had the same colour schemes. I think for HGSS they might have had an individual palette for each pokemon, since they had A LOT more space than the gameboy advanced games.

Don't quote me on this information, I could be wrong.
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
  #26231    
Old August 17th, 2013 (09:52 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by awipe1:
Uhhh this is what I would do if I were you.

1) Look up the sprite/palette you need from HGSS.
2) Take that sprite to infraview or whatever it's called and decrease the color depth to 16.
3) Export the palette.

In FR it just worked out that they only need a certain number or palettes because a lot of things had the same colour schemes. I think for HGSS they might have had an individual palette for each pokemon, since they had A LOT more space than the gameboy advanced games.

Don't quote me on this information, I could be wrong.
and what program do i use to look at the OWs? Ive looked into one of the DS OW editors but i couldnt get it to work right.
  #26232    
Old August 18th, 2013 (05:03 AM).
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1 awipe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
and what program do i use to look at the OWs? Ive looked into one of the DS OW editors but i couldnt get it to work right.
I just look mine up on google, for example. If I wanted to find alakazam, I would search "Heartgold alakazam overworld", and this is what popped up.

http://pldh.net/dex/sprites/alakazam

And you can see all the sprites there, and you just right click each individual sprite and 'Save image as'.
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
  #26233    
Old August 18th, 2013 (08:47 AM).
ballsmcgee ballsmcgee is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
So I'm trying to make several new maps, but when I create one where does it go? How can I add it to the map bank and be able to access it? I've heard I might need to expand the map bank, but how do I do that?
  #26234    
Old August 18th, 2013 (11:10 AM).
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu Wobbu is offline
ffet
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Betnikh
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,541
When you press the 'Create Map' button, you press the 'Insert Map' button after that, right? If so, then the window that pops up will tell you where your maps will go.
__________________
Wobbu - Khajiit DK
Aldmeri Dominion PC/Mac NA
Staff Antagonists Collab 2015
  #26235    
Old August 18th, 2013 (12:13 PM).
SevilitheArcanine's Avatar
SevilitheArcanine SevilitheArcanine is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: 'Murica
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 10
I'm trying to add sprites to my hack (using Advanced Pokemon Sprite Editor), but when I click "Synchronize Palettes" I get an unhanded exception error message saying "Index was outside the bounds of the array". Does anyone know how to fix this?
__________________
  #26236    
Old August 18th, 2013 (12:29 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,152
Its not a big deal. Just go back in and press import, but dont click synchronize pallettes again.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #26237    
Old August 18th, 2013 (12:55 PM).
SevilitheArcanine's Avatar
SevilitheArcanine SevilitheArcanine is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: 'Murica
Gender: Male
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 10
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Its not a big deal. Just go back in and press import, but dont click synchronize pallettes again.
I get the sprites to look normal on the top row, but on the bottom row they look all glitchy, and they look that way in the game as well. The video tutorial I watched clicked synchronize palettes to make them look the way they should.
__________________
  #26238    
Old August 18th, 2013 (01:15 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Gold Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 2,152
They need to be 16 colors for the game to use them.
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The HGSS Music Patch - The BW/2 Music Patch - ASM: Switch Music Based on Seasons
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #26239    
Old August 18th, 2013 (02:03 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
hey guys, so id hate to ask this, but ive never used a hex editor before and im trying to use a tut to add new pallets to my OWs, but I cant follow the tut, I get lost with how it works, and I wanted to know if anyone could help me out?

this is the tut im using.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=275160
__________________
  #26240    
Old August 18th, 2013 (03:31 PM).
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1 awipe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
hey guys, so id hate to ask this, but ive never used a hex editor before and im trying to use a tut to add new pallets to my OWs, but I cant follow the tut, I get lost with how it works, and I wanted to know if anyone could help me out?

this is the tut im using.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=275160
Well what do you need help with? Please try to be more specific on this thread. Where do you get lost?
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
  #26241    
Old August 18th, 2013 (04:27 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by awipe1:
Well what do you need help with? Please try to be more specific on this thread. Where do you get lost?
When it says to paste the offset into the hex editor, then it says to open the unmodified rom and copy 64 bytes. I dont get why it says to paste it in an modified rom, then save it, then copy 64 bytes out of the unmodified one.
Pretty much all of step 5
  #26242    
Old August 18th, 2013 (04:49 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by SpadeEdge16:
When it says to paste the offset into the hex editor, then it says to open the unmodified rom and copy 64 bytes. I dont get why it says to paste it in an modified rom, then save it, then copy 64 bytes out of the unmodified one.
Pretty much all of step 5
Okay, what you are pasting in the hex editor is [pointer- 00 00 80 08] before the 00000000 FF110000, which tells the game that the table has ended. So, you paste that in. A pointer is a neat little thing that tells the game where to go next. As you probably know, pointers are reversed. So, 00 00 80 08 is really pointing to offset (08 [tells us we are in the rom]) 80 00 00. In this case, it is telling the game where the palette is.

Now, we are going back into the unmodified rom to go to offset 35B968. This part, I don't understand. Palettes are 32 bytes long, not 64, but either way, you are copying the palette back to where you are pointing. TECHNICALLY, this palette should still be in the modified rom and we can still point to it, but here, Quickster is teaching you how to copy and move palettes. OW palettes are really only 32 bytes (2 bytes per color), so you copy that to the offset we pointed to earlier, which was 80 00 00.

I hope that wasn't too confusing? I usually insert my palettes directly from the image using NSE, but here is a strict, data manipulation way of doing it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26243    
Old August 18th, 2013 (05:10 PM).
Duffy1's Avatar
Duffy1 Duffy1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 1
Hey so I'm kindof a noob when it comes to scripting and ive been having some problems lately with XSE and A-Map. Whenever i compile a script with a msgbox command in it, for some reason it adds an 8 at the beginning of the header after the msgbox, but not when i declare the string later on in the script.
For example if i had:
...
msgbox @talk
...
#org @talk
= Hi
.

Then when i compile it id get something like:
...
msgbox 0x8800000
...
#org 0x800000
= Hi
.

and if i tried to fix the headers then the strings would come out as jibberish.

In the game, when you walk up to the sprite and press "A" the game freezes because the headers are mismatched and i can not get it to stop doing this and i have no idea why it does this. Ive reinstalled XSE several times and no help

Thanks in advance and any help is appreciated
  #26244    
Old August 18th, 2013 (05:19 PM).
domdomdommy's Avatar
domdomdommy domdomdommy is offline
US Navy
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 16
ive been trying to set a path for when you faint during battle and right now i have it to where you are on a beach and then you go to a forest and do a wild battle and when you faint, itll go to the upper left tile of the map. i have the flight script set to where i want it, i even added a level script to the map using

'---------------
#org 0x80F36A
sethealingplace 0x0
warpmuted 0x0 0x1 0xFF 0x1E 0x29
end

and i mean if you put it on the same map, itll constantly warp you forever. if you put it on the forest map like i did, as soon as you enter it warps you to the position. but i only want it to work when i faint. if i dont have the warpmuted, itll only take me to one of the old pokecenters which i dont want. anyone help?
  #26245    
Old August 18th, 2013 (05:20 PM).
SpadeEdge16's Avatar
SpadeEdge16 SpadeEdge16 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 154
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Okay, what you are pasting in the hex editor is [pointer- 00 00 80 08] before the 00000000 FF110000, which tells the game that the table has ended. So, you paste that in. A pointer is a neat little thing that tells the game where to go next. As you probably know, pointers are reversed. So, 00 00 80 08 is really pointing to offset (08 [tells us we are in the rom]) 80 00 00. In this case, it is telling the game where the palette is.

Now, we are going back into the unmodified rom to go to offset 35B968. This part, I don't understand. Palettes are 32 bytes long, not 64, but either way, you are copying the palette back to where you are pointing. TECHNICALLY, this palette should still be in the modified rom and we can still point to it, but here, Quickster is teaching you how to copy and move palettes. OW palettes are really only 32 bytes (2 bytes per color), so you copy that to the offset we pointed to earlier, which was 80 00 00.

I hope that wasn't too confusing? I usually insert my palettes directly from the image using NSE, but here is a strict, data manipulation way of doing it.
Okay, so let me see if i get this. Hes pretty much having us edit a pallet in an unmodified rom, copying the offset to it, finding free space for a pallet in the modified rom, then having us paste that pallet offset which we changed into that free space, allowing us to have a new pallet inserted into our rom?

If that is so, then how would we know which number that pallet is in NSE?
Also, I saw someone comment saying they already had made 70 new pallets? If the tut says to insert the offset before "ect", then how does he do it that many times?
And lastly, so is the way you do it easier? Haha.
  #26246    
Old August 18th, 2013 (07:23 PM).
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1 awipe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 210
Quote originally posted by Duffy1:
Hey so I'm kindof a noob when it comes to scripting and ive been having some problems lately with XSE and A-Map. Whenever i compile a script with a msgbox command in it, for some reason it adds an 8 at the beginning of the header after the msgbox, but not when i declare the string later on in the script.
For example if i had:
...
msgbox @talk
...
#org @talk
= Hi
.

Then when i compile it id get something like:
...
msgbox 0x8800000
...
#org 0x800000
= Hi
.

and if i tried to fix the headers then the strings would come out as jibberish.

In the game, when you walk up to the sprite and press "A" the game freezes because the headers are mismatched and i can not get it to stop doing this and i have no idea why it does this. Ive reinstalled XSE several times and no help

Thanks in advance and any help is appreciated
Well this is what your script should look like

Spoiler:
#dynamic 0x800000

#org @main
msgbox @talk 0x2
end

#org @talk
= Hi!


Let's say you started a new ROM, if you were to compile that script you should get an offset of 800000. Now let's say you were to do some modifications to that offset, you would open it up and you would see

0x8800000

The reason why you would see this is because I think the 0x8 is there to summon that perticular offset, it's nothing to worry about, whatever offset you complite will have an extra 8 in front of it!

I think the reason why your script didnt work was because you didn't add the '0x2' infront of your msgbox @talk

What this does is it decides what type of message box you would be using, since there are MANY different types of message boxes to use. Whenever you make a message box, you need to add sometype of 0x2, 0x3 0x4 ... or add MSG_NORMAL, MSG_YESNO ...

You can find all these different types of message boxes right here.

http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=164276

It seems like you are having trouble with scripting, I recommend you read that post. It will help you. If you don't want to read the WHOLE thing, atleast check that out first before you post here!

Also if you have any more questions, PM me and I can help you out!
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
  #26247    
Old August 18th, 2013 (10:46 PM). Edited August 18th, 2013 by Aruaruu.
Aruaruu Aruaruu is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 187
Hi. I am trying to find the script for the national dex upgrade in emerald that occurs once you leave your house after the credits as seen at about 1:00 in this video
->> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cX-eoMSw4dM

I have looked through the level scripts in the whole of littleroot town (player house, lab and the town map itself) and I can't find anything. I looked in a-text to search for the text and see if I could work backwards but nope.

uhh, hope this was the appropriate place to ask this...
  #26248    
Old August 19th, 2013 (12:49 AM).
Wobbu's Avatar
Wobbu Wobbu is offline
ffet
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Betnikh
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 2,541
Quote:
Hi. I am trying to find the script for the national dex upgrade in emerald that occurs once you leave your house after the credits as seen at about 1:00 in this video
->> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cX-eoMSw4dM

I have looked through the level scripts in the whole of littleroot town (player house, lab and the town map itself) and I can't find anything. I looked in a-text to search for the text and see if I could work backwards but nope.

uhh, hope this was the appropriate place to ask this...
Last I knew, there is a bug with XSE that prevents you from looking at multiple level scripts that use the same variable setting (or something like that). I think you can find the script by looking at Littleroot Town's map script header from the professional header view.
__________________
Wobbu - Khajiit DK
Aldmeri Dominion PC/Mac NA
Staff Antagonists Collab 2015
  #26249    
Old August 19th, 2013 (01:48 AM).
Aruaruu Aruaruu is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Gender: Male
Posts: 187
Quote originally posted by jsziede:
Last I knew, there is a bug with XSE that prevents you from looking at multiple level scripts that use the same variable setting (or something like that). I think you can find the script by looking at Littleroot Town's map script header from the professional header view.
So this is the professional header view of littleroot.
Spoiler:


I am not quite sure what to do with this. My plan was to view the script and remove it since I put the dex upgrade elsewhere.
  #26250    
Old August 19th, 2013 (07:06 AM).
OrangePokemon!'s Avatar
OrangePokemon! OrangePokemon! is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 3
Can someone good enough turn nintendo DS games into gba ? just asking
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 01:17 AM.