Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26426    
Old August 30th, 2013, 02:00 PM
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
SPOILER THOSE IMAGES. BOTH OF YOU. PLEASE.

Now, I know how to fix those sprites, you aren't the first to have that issue. However, it is quite complex. So, I will write a tut soon on how.
That would be awesome!
Thankyou!

My hack
  #26427    
Old August 30th, 2013, 05:35 PM
kearnseyboy6's Avatar
kearnseyboy6
Aussie's Toughest Mudder
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
The behavior scripts? Like the ones that display messages? Either way, just search for those bytes that are usually there in a normal rom and find them in your rom.
Not exactly, The ones like 6D Arrow down => warp under block. I would like to edit what they do.
  #26428    
Old August 30th, 2013, 05:37 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by kearnseyboy6 View Post
Not exactly, The ones like 6D Arrow down => warp under block. I would like to edit what they do.
Well like I said, in a normal rom copy the bytes that are there, and in your rom search for those bytes. if you have a match, then you have the table. Just share where they're at
  #26429    
Old August 30th, 2013, 06:50 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Try NSE classic. I think the bookmarks have both. Just REPOINT TO FREE SPACE AFTERWARDS SO YOU DON'T OVERWRITE.

EDIT: ^ ^ He beat me
well im having this issue.

Spoiler:



could this be that i accidentally overwrite the old offsets?

edit: just tried again without overwriting the old offsets... it just puts the sprite at the new offsets and carries on with birch offset.. only way to get this is if i overwrite the sprite offset but when i do, i get that blue picture.



Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here



Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokétch ROM Hacking Community Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery FB IRC Chat

Last edited by Le pug; August 30th, 2013 at 07:00 PM.
  #26430    
Old August 30th, 2013, 06:51 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
well im having this issue.

Spoiler:



could this be that i accidentally overwrite the old offsets?
The first color in the palette (and this goes for all sprites) is the transparent color. So that green color must be first so it will be transparent. The rest is because the palette in-game must be pointing FROM the original palette, TO the new one.
  #26431    
Old August 30th, 2013, 07:47 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
The first color in the palette (and this goes for all sprites) is the transparent color. So that green color must be first so it will be transparent. The rest is because the palette in-game must be pointing FROM the original palette, TO the new one.
I must be doing something wrong because I'm not doing this repointing gig. Could you explain it?



Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here



Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokétch ROM Hacking Community Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery FB IRC Chat
  #26432    
Old August 31st, 2013, 04:32 AM
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
I want to add the Jessie/James encounter music from Pokémon Yellow to my FireRed hack. How can I export it, or is there a site where I can legally download it?

Thanks to JPAN, Jambo51, Shiny Quagsire and knizz for teaching me almost everything I know about hacking, through tutorials or in person.
  #26433    
Old August 31st, 2013, 04:51 AM
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
I want to add the Jessie/James encounter music from Pokémon Yellow to my FireRed hack. How can I export it, or is there a site where I can legally download it?
For the music use Google.
and i think you mean import instead of export? :s

To import you can use Sappy
Tutorial here : http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=259264

Greets,

So now i need some help,

I have inserted 2 fakemon in my hack
and i want them to evolve into each other I think you know what i mean,

So i edited in YAPE that it evolves into the other fakemon on LVL 16
but when it goes in evolution it is about to do the quick change sprite thingy and then it doesnt change and it says : ...?

can someone help me?

My hack

Last edited by Rezordaxx; August 31st, 2013 at 04:58 AM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #26434    
Old August 31st, 2013, 05:07 AM
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rezordaxx View Post
For the music use Google.
and i think you mean import instead of export? :s

To import you can use Sappy
Tutorial here : (I can't quote this part because it contains a link)
No, I did mean export, because I need it in a format from which I can insert it into my hack (I know how), but I can't find it anywhere, so I was thinking that maybe it's possible to export it from a yellow rom like you do with sappy from gba roms.
  #26435    
Old August 31st, 2013, 05:17 AM
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
No, I did mean export, because I need it in a format from which I can insert it into my hack (I know how), but I can't find it anywhere, so I was thinking that maybe it's possible to export it from a yellow rom like you do with sappy from gba roms.
you need a .MIDI format,
you can make it a .MIDI file with audacity,

this video explains how : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DDUQ7...LkcizlFDOR8ixg

If you watch from 2:44 he explains how to format to .MIDI

My hack
  #26436    
Old August 31st, 2013, 07:47 AM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
I can't seem to get this to work! The heroine backsprite and frontsprite are fine but when it comes to the hero frontsprite and backsprite, if one is working, the other one has a effed up palette. When I replace it, using unlz, it'll work in the game properly.. but then reset the other to have a effed up palette.



I don't see how the palette offsets would affect it since the heroine front and back sprite are working properly and have same palette offsets as the hero? I never change the palette offset, only the image offset and i use 90XXXX offsets.

I click write to rom > Export palette and auto abort if data is bigger checked > put in offset into image offset > ok
> write to rom > uncheck export palette and check auto fix pointers and export image > put in offset into image offset > ok


If someone could help in detail, thanks



Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here



Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokétch ROM Hacking Community Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery FB IRC Chat
  #26437    
Old August 31st, 2013, 08:28 AM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
I can't seem to get this to work! The heroine backsprite and frontsprite are fine but when it comes to the hero frontsprite and backsprite, if one is working, the other one has a effed up palette. When I replace it, using unlz, it'll work in the game properly.. but then reset the other to have a effed up palette.



I don't see how the palette offsets would affect it since the heroine front and back sprite are working properly and have same palette offsets as the hero? I never change the palette offset, only the image offset and i use 90XXXX offsets.

I click write to rom > Export palette and auto abort if data is bigger checked > put in offset into image offset > ok
> write to rom > uncheck export palette and check auto fix pointers and export image > put in offset into image offset > ok


If someone could help in detail, thanks
On Ruby, I think they share the same palette. Just make both exactly the same and it should work. FR is a completely different story, ugggh.

Edit: Make sure in GIMP or Photoshop or whatever, that both sprites are not only the same color, but use the exact same color order. After rereading your post, that is where I think you went wrong. The colors aren't in the same order in the indexed images.

Paired with Simba
  #26438    
Old August 31st, 2013, 08:54 AM
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rezordaxx View Post
you need a .MIDI format,
you can make it a .MIDI file with audacity,

this video explains how : still not allowed to quote links

If you watch from 2:44 he explains how to format to .MIDI
Well, the problem is that because this track is yellow-exclusive, the only thing I can find online are youtube videos with remixes or extended versions. But somebody should have been the first one to export the music, so it must be possible. I also have a .gbs file, is there a way I can convert that to some midis?
  #26439    
Old August 31st, 2013, 09:08 AM
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
Well, the problem is that because this track is yellow-exclusive, the only thing I can find online are youtube videos with remixes or extended versions. But somebody should have been the first one to export the music, so it must be possible. I also have a .gbs file, is there a way I can convert that to some midis?
Then i think you should get a pkmn yellow rom and rip the music yourself by playing the game
Till the music starts and open a gamerecorder or sound recorder, then record the music.
And save it as a mp3 then convert the mp3 to MIDI an put it in your rom,
Dont know about the gbs file try it with audacity.

Hope it helps.

My hack

Last edited by Rezordaxx; August 31st, 2013 at 09:25 AM.
  #26440    
Old August 31st, 2013, 10:39 AM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
I want to add the Jessie/James encounter music from Pokémon Yellow to my FireRed hack. How can I export it, or is there a site where I can legally download it?
Actually, my mega huge sappy tut explains how to do it un dreadfully. It's a simple process, and easy to follow
  #26441    
Old August 31st, 2013, 12:40 PM
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Actually, my mega huge sappy tut explains how to do it un dreadfully. It's a simple process, and easy to follow
Really? I looked through it, but couldn't find anything about gb music.
  #26442    
Old August 31st, 2013, 12:47 PM
ultiomos's Avatar
ultiomos
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: At Home
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to ultiomos
Is there any way to edit the palette for the world map in Fire Red? My world map won't work without it. Any help is appreciated!
  #26443    
Old August 31st, 2013, 12:57 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by daniilS View Post
Really? I looked through it, but couldn't find anything about gb music.
Well if you had GB music in MIDI form...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ultiomos View Post
Is there any way to edit the palette for the world map in Fire Red? My world map won't work without it. Any help is appreciated!
I changed it. It's located at offset 0x3EF3DC

Last edited by GoGoJJTech; August 31st, 2013 at 12:58 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #26444    
Old August 31st, 2013, 02:46 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
On Ruby, I think they share the same palette. Just make both exactly the same and it should work. FR is a completely different story, ugggh.

Edit: Make sure in GIMP or Photoshop or whatever, that both sprites are not only the same color, but use the exact same color order. After rereading your post, that is where I think you went wrong. The colors aren't in the same order in the indexed images.

I opened up the hero front sprite in irfanView and exported the palette, imported it into the hero back sprite and tried it again and it still doesn't work



Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here



Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokétch ROM Hacking Community Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery FB IRC Chat
  #26445    
Old August 31st, 2013, 04:12 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
I opened up the hero front sprite in irfanView and exported the palette, imported it into the hero back sprite and tried it again and it still doesn't work
Open up the sprite in GIMP. (The one whose palette is currently working.) And paste the broken image over it. This will force the palette. (Adjust the size if necessary, but DON'T touch anything else.) Now, export the image and import the new one back into the game. It should work then.

Paired with Simba
  #26446    
Old August 31st, 2013, 05:18 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
eh screw it, ruby sucks too many problems. > : (
i'm going to switch to firered and i'm trying to import the palettes and blocks from ruby into some of the fire red tilesets however do to size restrictions in fire red for max # of blocks for tileset 2 (i.e. ruby allows a max of 512 and fire red 384), if i try to insert the blockset of course it'll be off due to me having to resize the tileset 2 down. Is there a resource around where someone has already converted all the ruby tilesets into fire red block sets? i know besides that, fire red will be fine for hacking but there are some tilesets in ruby that i absolutely love



Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here



Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokétch ROM Hacking Community Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery FB IRC Chat
  #26447    
Old August 31st, 2013, 05:27 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
eh screw it, ruby sucks too many problems. > : (
i'm going to switch to firered and i'm trying to import the palettes and blocks from ruby into some of the fire red tilesets however do to size restrictions in fire red for max # of blocks for tileset 2 (i.e. ruby allows a max of 512 and fire red 384), if i try to insert the blockset of course it'll be off due to me having to resize the tileset 2 down. Is there a resource around where someone has already converted all the ruby tilesets into fire red block sets? i know besides that, fire red will be fine for hacking but there are some tilesets in ruby that i absolutely love
You could just import the tiles you need, and not the whole thing. Plus usually tileset 2s have free tiles.
  #26448    
Old September 1st, 2013, 01:49 AM
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
I have inserted 2 fakemon in my hack
and i want them to evolve into each other I think you know what i mean,

So i edited in YAPE that it evolves into the other fakemon on LVL 16
but when it goes in evolution it is about to do the quick change sprite thingy and then it doesnt change and it says : ...?

can someone help me?

My hack
  #26449    
Old September 1st, 2013, 04:11 AM
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rezordaxx View Post
I have inserted 2 fakemon in my hack
and i want them to evolve into each other I think you know what i mean,

So i edited in YAPE that it evolves into the other fakemon on LVL 16
but when it goes in evolution it is about to do the quick change sprite thingy and then it doesnt change and it says : ...?

can someone help me?
Are you hacking FireRed?
If you are, then I think you will first have to activate the National Dex for PKMN beyond 151 in the national dex number to evolve.
  #26450    
Old September 1st, 2013, 04:15 AM
Rezordaxx's Avatar
Rezordaxx
Asks many questions!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: The Netherlands
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by destinedjagold View Post
Are you hacking FireRed?
If you are, then I think you will first have to activate the National Dex for PKMN beyond 151 in the national dex number to evolve.
Yes I am hacking fire red.
Thankyou!

My hack
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:21 PM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.