Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26626    
Old September 19th, 2013 (03:17 AM).
Gigabyyyte's Avatar
Gigabyyyte
Exploring the world of Kalos!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Yes, everything other than NPCs (OWs) have their own palettes.
Then why do Red's palette's mess up the overworlds' palettes when I edit them in NSE Classic? Sorry, noob here.
__________________


  #26627    
Old September 19th, 2013 (07:11 AM).
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by Gigabyyyte:
Then why do Red's palette's mess up the overworlds' palettes when I edit them in NSE Classic? :( Sorry, noob here.
Just as gogojjtech said, everything OTHER THAN NPCs (OWs) have their own palettes. That means that OWs don't have their own separate palettes, but rather have to share palettes with one another. That's why if you change Red's OW palette, you will change other OWs that share the same palette.
__________________
Coming soon...
  #26628    
Old September 19th, 2013 (07:44 AM).
Gigabyyyte's Avatar
Gigabyyyte
Exploring the world of Kalos!
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by Teh Blazer:
Just as gogojjtech said, everything OTHER THAN NPCs (OWs) have their own palettes. That means that OWs don't have their own separate palettes, but rather have to share palettes with one another. That's why if you change Red's OW palette, you will change other OWs that share the same palette.
I'm reeeally sorry; I didn't quite elaborate that. What I really meant was this:

I was editing Red's backsprites in NSE Classic. It messed up the palettes of the overworlds. Why?
__________________


  #26629    
Old September 19th, 2013 (10:51 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by Gigabyyyte:
I'm reeeally sorry; I didn't quite elaborate that. What I really meant was this:

I was editing Red's backsprites in NSE Classic. It messed up the palettes of the overworlds. Why?
Pointers. All of the sprite pallettes point to the same one. However, this is very easy to change. Just repoint it!
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26630    
Old September 19th, 2013 (04:09 PM).
spence909
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by daniilS:
The shortest answer is: everything is possible. However, you would need an infinite amount Of time, knowledge, and skills.
The first problem is that Emerald is a great base, but it isn't supported much, so you should find out stuff by yourself. Also, nobody has EVER completely inserted all Pokémon into a hack. Jambo51 has made progress, but he quite hacking.
With the maps comes the problem that gen 4&5 don't have maps like before, they have 3d models. This can especially be seen in the Distortion World, and a big part of gen5 maps.
Also, if you want al the regions, you would either have to reset progress at start of a new region which would make it like separate games, to alter the level cap, or make all Pokémon level up very slowly and edit the exp gain system. (Like Deoxys has with EV's). The last two are nearly impossible.
So then how difficult would it be to use FireRed as a base, and create it like a new ROM but just put in all of the pokemon?
  #26631    
Old September 19th, 2013 (09:15 PM).
Shadowmancreator's Avatar
Shadowmancreator
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Gender: Male
Hello, I'm making a ROM hack, and I was wondering how I edit the type advantage chart? I know it's possible, because I've seen it be done before... If anyone has the link for one?
  #26632    
Old September 19th, 2013 (09:24 PM).
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by spence909:
So then how difficult would it be to use FireRed as a base, and create it like a new ROM but just put in all of the pokemon?
You meam all 649? I think the hardest things are abilities, move effects, and formes. As I said, Jambo51 was working on a 649 patch (just search for it because I can't post links yet), so if you are an ASM genius, you could try to finish it. But I don't think something like that will be done in the near future.
  #26633    
Old September 20th, 2013 (02:46 AM).
VioletChaos's Avatar
VioletChaos
Aspiring Fanboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Gender: Male
The guide in XSE won't open for me. It says "navigation to the website was canceled".
What should I do?
  #26634    
Old September 20th, 2013 (04:12 AM).
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote originally posted by Shadowmancreator:
Hello, I'm making a ROM hack, and I was wondering how I edit the type advantage chart? I know it's possible, because I've seen it be done before... If anyone has the link for one?
If you're talking about changing the types for each Pokemon, you can do so in YAPE (Yet Another Pokemon Editor).

Here is the download for that: link
__________________







/// Pokémon: Discovery
/// Pokémon: Fat Kid
/// Tile Insertion Tutorial For AdvanceMap
/// Pokémon Emerald Specials Resource Thread
/// Pokémon Emerald Decapitalization Patch
/// Emerald Titlescreen Cloud Removal Tutorial
/// Tutorial For Fixing Any ROM-related Bug
  #26635    
Old September 20th, 2013 (06:00 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote originally posted by Shadowmancreator:
Hello, I'm making a ROM hack, and I was wondering how I edit the type advantage chart? I know it's possible, because I've seen it be done before... If anyone has the link for one?
Here's a link for a tutorial: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=83674
I am not certain if you can repoint it and add new type weaknesses/resistance though...
__________________

3DS FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)


  #26636    
Old September 20th, 2013 (10:46 AM).
Satoshi Ookami's Avatar
Satoshi Ookami
Memento Mori
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Abyss of Time, Great Seal
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by Le pug:
If you're talking about changing the types for each Pokemon, you can do so in YAPE (Yet Another Pokemon Editor).

Here is the download for that: link
Changing type advantage chart has nothing to do with Pokemon themselves...
It's the table that defines type advantages and disadvantages (like Fire is strong to Grass and weak to Water)

@DJG: I believe it works if it's repointed correctly.
__________________
ROM hacking FAQ - Read before asking how to play a hack. | Previous Sign 2 | Previous Sign

Anime List | PSN Trophy List
  #26637    
Old September 20th, 2013 (11:09 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by VioletChaos:
The guide in XSE won't open for me. It says "navigation to the website was canceled".
What should I do?
Dude, update: https://www.dropbox.com/s/0t2wylmh4juzvux/Unofficial_XSE.zip
__________________
  #26638    
Old September 20th, 2013 (02:03 PM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by daniilS:
You meam all 649? I think the hardest things are abilities, move effects, and formes. As I said, Jambo51 was working on a 649 patch (just search for it because I can't post links yet), so if you are an ASM genius, you could try to finish it. But I don't think something like that will be done in the near future.
When Jambo51 quit hacking, he turned the project over to me. As soon as I come off my hacking break, I will continue work on it and I will do my best to release a beta quickly. I just need to find an efficient way of reporting bugs, which there are a lot of at this stage. It is almost done, but there is still a lot of work left.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26639    
Old September 20th, 2013 (08:18 PM).
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Whenever I insert my title screen and check it in-game, before it becomes the background it slides from right to left just like in the original Fire Red before staying put as the background. How do I get it to not slide and just appear as the background without movement?
__________________
Coming soon...
  #26640    
Old September 20th, 2013 (08:24 PM).
Sliter's Avatar
Sliter
Gaijin Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Brazil
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Skype™ to Sliter
(I ddin't find it hre so I'm posting, sorry if someone already done )

-How to rip/change de pokemon platinum logo?
  #26641    
Old September 21st, 2013 (12:27 AM).
akihiko123's Avatar
akihiko123
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Hey~ is there's ant chance to make a new in-game trades in Pokémon Emerald?
__________________
Future ! Future ! I Can read your future !
I am Psychic-Type Specialist named Seishin !
I've been with my Pokemons for a very long time !
So if you want to battle? There's NO WAY i'm gonna lose !

So, give me what you got!

Like my page on Facebook : LINK
  #26642    
Old September 21st, 2013 (12:27 AM).
AntiRellik1's Avatar
AntiRellik1
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Hello, I didn't find anything about my question so here goes:
I'm starting out a hack and the last time I hacked a Pokemon Rom was when Emerald was released...
What Rom do you guys recommend me? Which one is more versatile? Pros & Cons?
I do want to keep Dive in my hack so... I was thinking Emerald since it has nice features and Dive. Some help is greatly appreciated!
  #26643    
Old September 21st, 2013 (02:56 AM).
chrunch's Avatar
chrunch
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by AntiRellik1:
Hello, I didn't find anything about my question so here goes:
I'm starting out a hack and the last time I hacked a Pokemon Rom was when Emerald was released...
What Rom do you guys recommend me? Which one is more versatile? Pros & Cons?
I do want to keep Dive in my hack so... I was thinking Emerald since it has nice features and Dive. Some help is greatly appreciated!
If you haven't hacked before (for a long time) I recommend you try Firered first. Emerald is a lot less supported and doesn't have that many tutorials for it.
__________________
  #26644    
Old September 21st, 2013 (03:14 AM).
AntiRellik1's Avatar
AntiRellik1
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by chrunch:
If you haven't hacked before (for a long time) I recommend you try Firered first. Emerald is a lot less supported and doesn't have that many tutorials for it.
Yeah, Emerald was the less supported when I was still hacking...I'm surprised it still is. Whats the cons with emerald nowadays? I've hacked FireRed before. I was making a Ruby hack which then I ported to FireRed and I had problems trying to find a workaround for Dive. I've still got all my notes, programs and everything. Memory is still pretty fresh.
In what sense is Emerald less supported? Has anyone ever been able to implement Dive in FireRed?
  #26645    
Old September 21st, 2013 (03:59 AM).
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by AntiRellik1:
Yeah, Emerald was the less supported when I was still hacking...I'm surprised it still is. Whats the cons with emerald nowadays? I've hacked FireRed before. I was making a Ruby hack which then I ported to FireRed and I had problems trying to find a workaround for Dive. I've still got all my notes, programs and everything. Memory is still pretty fresh.
In what sense is Emerald less supported? Has anyone ever been able to implement Dive in FireRed?
Emerald is undersupported with guides, resources, and some tools. Dive, however, can be easily ported by using a signpost event on the water, which checks for a party pokemon with dive, and then warps you. The only difference is that you'll have to press a again while looking at certain tiles to resurface, unless you use JPAN's hacked engine (see? Only for firered), and then you could completely recreate dive with scripts. It has been done several times already, but the only dive-including hack I can remember now is liquid crystal.
  #26646    
Old September 21st, 2013 (07:19 AM). Edited September 21st, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by Teh Blazer:
Whenever I insert my title screen and check it in-game, before it becomes the background it slides from right to left just like in the original Fire Red before staying put as the background. How do I get it to not slide and just appear as the background without movement?
What do you mean? The titlescreen is a simple tileset + raw...

Quote originally posted by akihiko123:
Hey~ is there's ant chance to make a new in-game trades in Pokémon Emerald?
There's a tool (I don't have it) that changes in-game trades. It's in the toolbox, but I can't look atm.

Quote originally posted by Sliter:
(I ddin't find it hre so I'm posting, sorry if someone already done )

-How to rip/change de pokemon platinum logo?
Try the spriter's resource (google it)
I have plenty of sheets and sprites. If you don't find it, just take a screenshot in desmume.
__________________
  #26647    
Old September 21st, 2013 (07:23 AM).
daniilS's Avatar
daniilS
busy trying to do stuff not done yet
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Age: 15
Gender: Male
I'm trying to edit the images of Mastermind_X's Ruins of Alph puzzle, but this is the result I get: romhack. me/file/pic/photo/2013/09/2938344b4c7011bae70b8890aa80edbc_1024.png?t=523db9b07b578
Can somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong?

(Remove the space, I can't post links yet)
__________________
  #26648    
Old September 21st, 2013 (07:52 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by daniilS:
I'm trying to edit the images of Mastermind_X's Ruins of Alph puzzle, but this is the result I get: romhack. me/file/pic/photo/2013/09/2938344b4c7011bae70b8890aa80edbc_1024.png?t=523db9b07b578
Can somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong?

(Remove the space, I can't post links yet)
When there are unused tiles in a tileset, they get corrupted (just like my earlier world map image)
Also, it could be that you need to repoint again.
__________________
  #26649    
Old September 21st, 2013 (08:21 AM).
Sliter's Avatar
Sliter
Gaijin Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Brazil
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Skype™ to Sliter
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Try the spriter's resource (google it)
I have plenty of sheets and sprites. If you don't find it, just take a screenshot in desmume.
Yeah... I mean, my problen is finding the logo in the Rom, so I could replace it, change the pallete and stufs
  #26650    
Old September 21st, 2013 (08:25 AM).
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
What do you mean? The titlescreen is a simple tileset + raw...
I've replaced the tileset and raw with my own, but when I try them out in-game they move just like the background did in fire red (the green would shift from left to right and the red border would go from right to left). It's weird because nobody else seems to have had this problem...
__________________
Coming soon...
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 09:02 AM.