Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #26801    
Old October 3rd, 2013 (09:36 PM). Edited October 3rd, 2013 by blackpikachu.
blackpikachu's Avatar
blackpikachu
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indonesia
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
First, use 1.92. 1.95 is an unstable, unfinished beta.

2nd, after you have inserted the map, go into the header and look in the first section. There will be a left and a right box that both say palette town. On the left, that is a drop down box. Use that to change it to sky pillar. Then, save. Now, go to a different map. Next, come back. That will reload the name and it should be good.
I used A.M 1.92 now. There is no SKY PILLAR name at the left box (drop down box) after the new map inserted. What should i do?

It's look like i have same problem like this thread.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=3958013

It's that problem can't be solved until now?
  #26802    
Old October 4th, 2013 (08:43 AM).
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
Hello!
Does anyone know what each variable of the 0x8000 are use for?
I've noticed that 0x800D changes at the end of every battle, apparently the value depends on the outcome ofthe battle: catched the pokémon, made it faint, ran away from it, ...
I want to use a couple of these variables for battle related stuff. If you know that any of the 0x8000 does not change during battle, that would be very helpful to me already!

Thanks in advance,
__________________
  #26803    
Old October 4th, 2013 (09:24 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by blackpikachu:
I used A.M 1.92 now. There is no SKY PILLAR name at the left box (drop down box) after the new map inserted. What should i do?

It's look like i have same problem like this thread.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?p=3958013

It's that problem can't be solved until now?
Are you using FR? Otherwise, it is there. I know, because I have used it.
__________________

Paired with Simba
  #26804    
Old October 4th, 2013 (09:36 AM).
PokéMew's Avatar
PokéMew
You Can Checkout Any Time You Like, But You Can Never Leave.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: The Endo Region
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
I know I have asked far too many questions on this thread, so this will be my last...
I am trying to make an underwater area in fire red, but I dont know how to make it purple like in r/s/e underwater areas. I know how to use underwater mist, in a-map, but I cant make it purple...
__________________

PokéMew
  #26805    
Old October 4th, 2013 (09:55 AM).
Kurapika's Avatar
Kurapika
Grudgebearer
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lavendar Town - Morocco
Gender: Male
Nature: Naughty
@Pokémew151, it would be easier to make purple tiles.
__________________
  #26806    
Old October 4th, 2013 (10:33 AM).
PokéMew's Avatar
PokéMew
You Can Checkout Any Time You Like, But You Can Never Leave.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: The Endo Region
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Modest
Quote originally posted by Kurapika:
@Pokémew151, it would be easier to make purple tiles.
And how do you make purple tiles on specific tiles and only on that map?
__________________

PokéMew
  #26807    
Old October 4th, 2013 (01:19 PM).
reshilegend's Avatar
reshilegend
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Probably not the same place as you
Gender: Male
Nature: Calm
Quote originally posted by PokéMew151:
And how do you make purple tiles on specific tiles and only on that map?
I think Kurapika means editing Tileset 2 of that map. That way you can add purple tiles only for that map (technically the tiles can also be on Tileset 1 but you obviously want to use Tileset 2 to save space for more important tiles). I don't know how to edit the color of the mist, sorry. :/

Question:
I read somewhere that it's possible to make the TMs in the GBA games reusable like in 5th gen. Would changing the TMs to HMs be enough or do you need ASM for that? Thanks in advance.
__________________

hi
  #26808    
Old October 4th, 2013 (01:22 PM). Edited October 4th, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by reshilegend:
I think Kurapika means editing Tileset 2 of that map. That way you can add purple tiles only for that map (technically the tiles can also be on Tileset 1 but you obviously want to use Tileset 2 to save space for more important tiles). I don't know how to edit the color of the mist, sorry. :/

Question:
I read somewhere that it's possible to make the TMs in the GBA games reusable like in 5th gen. Would changing the TMs to HMs be enough or do you need ASM for that? Thanks in advance.
You would need ASM to change a few bytes or repoint the routine, and make it so it doesn't deduct one on use. Also, you would need to make it so it doesn't count how many you have (example: TM 43 x1)

Quote originally posted by Kurapika:
Hello!
Does anyone know what each variable of the 0x8000 are use for?
I've noticed that 0x800D changes at the end of every battle, apparently the value depends on the outcome ofthe battle: catched the pokémon, made it faint, ran away from it, ...
I want to use a couple of these variables for battle related stuff. If you know that any of the 0x8000 does not change during battle, that would be very helpful to me already!

Thanks in advance,
There are a few temporary variables (by temporary I mean constantly used by the game engine) the 8000s are some. Just use the 4000s they left: http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=302347
__________________
  #26809    
Old October 4th, 2013 (09:14 PM).
Sliter's Avatar
Sliter
Gaijin Trainer
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Brazil
Nature: Timid
Send a message via Skype™ to Sliter
someone know where's the trainer card image on Pl rom? I looked over all the rom and internet but I can't find it on the US rom ...
the graphic/trainercard.narc are the DP files leftover, I can change there bt nothing will happen lol
  #26810    
Old October 5th, 2013 (12:11 AM).
blackpikachu's Avatar
blackpikachu
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Indonesia
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote originally posted by karatekid552:
Are you using FR? Otherwise, it is there. I know, because I have used it.
Yup, i'm using FR. Can you show me a screenshot if you don't mind? *feeling frustrated* Haha. Oh yes, how about the setting at A.M? that i must tick and untick, are there any problems?
  #26811    
Old October 5th, 2013 (04:34 AM).
exidia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
How can I add let's say Groudon, Rayquaza and Kyogre to pokemon firered?
  #26812    
Old October 5th, 2013 (07:04 AM).
Dark Sneasel's Avatar
Dark Sneasel
I like being a drone.
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 14
Gender: Male
Nature: Hasty
Quote originally posted by exidia:
How can I add let's say Groudon, Rayquaza and Kyogre to pokemon firered?
what do you mean? They're already there, unless you mean a Groudon/Rayquaza/Kyogre event? You would have to insert their sprites (if they're not in FR) and then make a script like this:
Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x8000000
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
cry 0x(pokemon cry in hex) 0x0
msgbox @pewpew 0x6
waitcry
wildbattle (pokemon in hex) (level of the pokemon in hex)0x03
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite (person event #)
fadescreen 0x1
setflag (your flag number if you only want it to happen once(and if you do put it on the Person ID in Amap)
release
end

__________________
Pokémon Fluorite Version (Beta 2 Released)


Join Poketch.com, a new ROM hacking community! Click on the image for more!
  #26813    
Old October 5th, 2013 (08:55 AM).
exidia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by Dark Sneasel:
what do you mean? They're already there, unless you mean a Groudon/Rayquaza/Kyogre event? You would have to insert their sprites (if they're not in FR) and then make a script like this:
Spoiler:

#dynamic 0x8000000
#org @start
lock
faceplayer
cry 0x(pokemon cry in hex) 0x0
msgbox @pewpew 0x6
waitcry
wildbattle (pokemon in hex) (level of the pokemon in hex)0x03
fadescreen 0x0
hidesprite (person event #)
fadescreen 0x1
setflag (your flag number if you only want it to happen once(and if you do put it on the Person ID in Amap)
release
end

How do I obtain and insert the sprites? I know about the script part.
Also how would I add Arceus, Dialga, Palkia and Giratina?
  #26814    
Old October 5th, 2013 (09:10 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by exidia:
How do I obtain and insert the sprites? I know about the script part.
Also how would I add Arceus, Dialga, Palkia and Giratina?
FR has the first 386 pokemon... So what do you mean "add" them? They're already in there. If you traded a groudon from Rse->FR it would still be a groudon. It's in there already
To add Arceus, Dialga, Palkia and Giratina just insert their sprites into the ROM and change their data.
__________________
  #26815    
Old October 5th, 2013 (09:36 AM).
exidia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
FR has the first 386 pokemon... So what do you mean "add" them? They're already in there. If you traded a groudon from Rse->FR it would still be a groudon. It's in there already
To add Arceus, Dialga, Palkia and Giratina just insert their sprites into the ROM and change their data.
I mean add the overworld sprites for the groudon etc. and where to get it?
  #26816    
Old October 5th, 2013 (09:39 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by exidia:
I mean add the overworld sprites for the groudon etc. and where to get it?
There are resources all around. Plus FR has the groudon/kyogre OWs in there already for some reason. If you wanted HGSS ones here: http://www.spriters-resource.com/ds/pokeheartgoldsoulsilver/
Use NSE Classic: https://www.dropbox.com/s/wqy6hog3ardn2re/NSE%201.7.5.0.zip
__________________
  #26817    
Old October 5th, 2013 (09:41 AM).
Nelsyv's Avatar
Nelsyv
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
I've been working on making my title screen for my Emerald hack, but having quite some trouble with the mapping. I posted the following in KhaosKnight's Emerald Title Screen Hacking tutorial, but I think that the thread is quite stale so nobody bothers to read the new replies...

Quote originally posted by Nelsyv:
Anyone know why this is happening? I've yet to change the pallette so I know it's going to look funny color-wise, but why is it all off-center and shrunken? What did I do wrong, and how can I fix it?

Actual titlescreen:




What it should be:




EDIT: So now I tried using an image that fit the map perfectly (the one below) instead of a 128x128, and unLZ refuses to repoint even if I give it the offset for the free space needed. What is going on?!
__________________

I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this in your signature.
92% of teens moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% who listens to real music, copy and paste this into your signature.
  #26818    
Old October 5th, 2013 (09:44 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by Nelsyv:
I've been working on making my title screen for my Emerald hack, but having quite some trouble with the mapping. I posted the following in KhaosKnight's Emerald Title Screen Hacking tutorial, but I think that the thread is quite stale so nobody bothers to read the new replies...
First off- you forgot to import and repoint the palette so it's using the wrong colors.
Second- since you already repointed the OLD image no longer has a pointer. No pointer = impossible to repoint again. So to fix it find the pointer manually and change it manually.
Third- you forgot to move the RAW to the top left so it's in the middle right.
__________________
  #26819    
Old October 5th, 2013 (11:51 AM).
exidia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
So I got adding the pokemon done.
One problem, I only have the ability to have 439 pokemons :/
How do I extends this number?
  #26820    
Old October 5th, 2013 (11:52 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by exidia:
So I got adding the pokemon done.
One problem, I only have the ability to have 439 pokemons :/
How do I extends this number?
ASM lots of ASM
and knowledge of where to put it
Plus don't, add replace
__________________
  #26821    
Old October 5th, 2013 (11:56 AM).
exidia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
ASM lots of ASM
and knowledge of where to put it
Plus don't, add replace
Isn't there a patch or something for it?
If there is a tutorial of any kind, please give me a link
  #26822    
Old October 5th, 2013 (11:59 AM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by exidia:
Isn't there a patch or something for it?
If there is a tutorial of any kind, please give me a link
Nope this is a serious subject. Adding a single pokemon will be enough to make you quit hacking overall. Just the fact. 386 pokemon is clearly enough because I'm sure not everyone will use a farfetch'd in your hack or whatever.
__________________
  #26823    
Old October 5th, 2013 (12:02 PM).
exidia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Nope this is a serious subject. Adding a single pokemon will be enough to make you quit hacking overall. Just the fact. 386 pokemon is clearly enough because I'm sure not everyone will use a farfetch'd in your hack or whatever.
Well, I wanna use the ones currently added and more so I cant really just replace.
  #26824    
Old October 5th, 2013 (12:04 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote originally posted by exidia:
Well, I wanna use the ones currently added and more so I cant really just replace.
Well you must find out where to put your ASM and how to do it. I only got to 412 (burmy) and that was stressful enough
__________________
  #26825    
Old October 5th, 2013 (12:11 PM).
exidia
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Gender: Male
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Well you must find out where to put your ASM and how to do it. I only got to 412 (burmy) and that was stressful enough
Well, im like the biggest rom hacking noob, what is an ASM?
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 08:25 AM.