The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #27351    
Old November 8th, 2013, 01:55 PM
Superjub's Avatar
Superjub
Pokémon Aureolin
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hoenn
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
You didn't repoint the sprite's offset. The old data is not glitched because it's not free space
Ah, I see. Thanks (and that was a quick response! xD)
__________________


Pokémon Aureolin



  #27352    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:25 PM
Vladmir_Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
I am almost completely new to ROM hacking but I was wondering how do I use unLZ-GBA or a similar program to insert a sprite of the GHOST pokemon that you can see without the silph scope in FR/LG and if possible I'd rather it not just overwrite a preexisting pokemon sprite but instead use one of the blank entries in between Celebi and Treeko? (yes to your unasked questions I'm trying to make a pokemon creepy black hack.)
  #27353    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:27 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladmir_Fox View Post
I am almost completely new to ROM hacking but I was wondering how do I use unLZ-GBA or a similar program to insert a sprite of the GHOST pokemon that you can see without the silph scope in FR/LG and if possible I'd rather it not just overwrite a preexisting pokemon sprite but instead use one of the blank entries in between Celebi and Treeko? (yes to your unasked questions I'm trying to make a pokemon creepy black hack.)
Those slots are solely for unown. They're glitch Pokemon. Using them would require ASM. Just replace something like Qwilfish.
Plus use advanced series, not unlz for the sprites
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #27354    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:33 PM
Vladmir_Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Those slots are solely for unown. They're glitch Pokemon. Using them would require ASM. Just replace something like Qwilfish.
Plus use advanced series, not unlz for the sprites
So are you saying that is impossible to have both all 386 pokemon as well as add in/reuse the GHOST that is already in the FR/LG ROMs? From my looking around on various parts of this website and others I know that yes there are blank spaces in the pokedex for adding in new pokemon I'm just wondering how it is done and what I would need to know to do it.
  #27355    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:36 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladmir_Fox View Post
So are you saying that is impossible to have both all 386 pokemon as well as add in/reuse the GHOST that is already in the FR/LG ROMs? From my looking around on various parts of this website and others I know that yes there are blank spaces in the pokedex for adding in new pokemon I'm just wondering how it is done and what I would need to know to do it.
The ghost battle is a special command. Just look up its script.
And adding Pokemon is hard work (I'm doing it right now)
You need knowledge of:
ASM
GBA Hardware
The regions in the GBA
Offsets
Limiters
More
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #27356    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:41 PM
Vladmir_Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
The ghost battle is a special command. Just look up its script.
And adding Pokemon is hard work (I'm doing it right now)
You need knowledge of:
ASM
GBA Hardware
The regions in the GBA
Offsets
Limiters
More
Ok thank you for your help. As an idea to achieve what I want (the GHOST as a usable pokemon) do you think it would be possible to replace maybe the shiny sprite of a pokemon with the GHOSTs needed sprites and then have a givepokemon script so that the player could then get the pokemon because using things like YAPE i can give the pokemon custom moves correct? Or am I just completely in over my head at this point in time?
  #27357    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:44 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladmir_Fox View Post
Ok thank you for your help. As an idea to achieve what I want (the GHOST as a usable pokemon) do you think it would be possible to replace maybe the shiny sprite of a pokemon with the GHOSTs needed sprites and then have a givepokemon script so that the player could then get the pokemon because using things like YAPE i can give the pokemon custom moves correct? Or am I just completely in over my head at this point in time?
You'd need to replace another pokemon so the ghost can be caught and usable etc
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #27358    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:46 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
How do I change what pokemon is traded for what in fire red?
__________________
Coming soon...
  #27359    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:47 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
How do I change what pokemon is traded for what in fire red?
I think the trade editor is in the toolbox
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #27360    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:50 PM
Vladmir_Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
You'd need to replace another pokemon so the ghost can be caught and usable etc
If I have no other choice then to replace another pokemon is there any way to omit the GHOST pokemon I put into the game from the pokedex?
  #27361    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:52 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladmir_Fox View Post
If I have no other choice then to replace another pokemon is there any way to omit the GHOST pokemon I put into the game from the pokedex?
Since it's not a pokemon, it can't be added to the dex. It just has stats and a name
Plus since it's a special, it's not exactly stable with any data either
So replacing another mon is the way to go (unless you wanna go through the trouble of adding Pokemon)
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #27362    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:55 PM
Superjub's Avatar
Superjub
Pokémon Aureolin
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hoenn
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
You didn't repoint the sprite's offset. The old data is not glitched because it's not free space
I don't like to admit it, but I'm still having a little trouble. xD I thought I knew what I was doing wrong but uuuh, still not fixed. :s
__________________


Pokémon Aureolin



  #27363    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:56 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retribution View Post
I don't like to admit it, but I'm still having a little trouble. xD I thought I knew what I was doing wrong but uuuh, still not fixed. :s
Specify the trouble please
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #27364    
Old November 8th, 2013, 02:59 PM
Vladmir_Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Since it's not a pokemon, it can't be added to the dex. It just has stats and a name
Plus since it's a special, it's not exactly stable with any data either
So replacing another mon is the way to go (unless you wanna go through the trouble of adding Pokemon)
I understand that but if I replace a pokemon that means I would have to give the GHOST a pokedex entry seeing as all I'm doing is overwriting something previously in the pokedex and I was wondering if there was a way to avoid having to do that (mostly for sake of plot and because well GHOST isn't a real pokemon). I know I'm probably trying to do things that are way over my head but I came here with an idea in my head and a will to learn so if I can have help understanding exactly what all I'll have to do then I can start learning the things needed to complete my tasks.
  #27365    
Old November 8th, 2013, 03:00 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladmir_Fox View Post
I understand that but if I replace a pokemon that means I would have to give the GHOST a pokedex entry seeing as all I'm doing is overwriting something previously in the pokedex and I was wondering if there was a way to avoid having to do that (mostly for sake of plot and because well GHOST isn't a real pokemon). I know I'm probably trying to do things that are way over my head but I came here with an idea in my head and a will to learn so if I can have help understanding exactly what all I'll have to do then I can start learning the things needed to complete my tasks.
So go to Qwilfish
Replace all its data with GHOST's data
Then you'll have GHOST as a pokemon
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo
  #27366    
Old November 8th, 2013, 03:01 PM
Vladmir_Fox
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
So go to Qwilfish
Replace all its data with GHOST's data
Then you'll have GHOST as a pokemon
Yes, but what about the issue of then having to give GHOST a pokedex entry? Is there no way to avoid that?
  #27367    
Old November 8th, 2013, 03:03 PM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
I am using JPANs hack applier for my ROM and for setting a new healing place, I use this script


setvar 0x405A 0x405
setvar 0x405B 0x7
setvar 0x405C 0x4


However, now I need to make a healing place that isn't a POKeMON center. Cause right now when I set my healing place to anything, it will show the pokeballs and nurse joy will say her thing, anyway I can change it so when I respawn no one says anything? Please let me know! Thanks!
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.
  #27368    
Old November 8th, 2013, 03:04 PM
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech
GoGo
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 15
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladmir_Fox View Post
Yes, but what about the issue of then having to give GHOST a pokedex entry? Is there no way to avoid that?
Nope sorry man. Type one of your own genius XD

Quote:
Originally Posted by awipe1 View Post
I am using JPANs hack applier for my ROM and for setting a new healing place, I use this script


setvar 0x405A 0x405
setvar 0x405B 0x7
setvar 0x405C 0x4


However, now I need to make a healing place that isn't a POKeMON center. Cause right now when I set my healing place to anything, it will show the pokeballs and nurse joy will say her thing, anyway I can change it so when I respawn no one says anything? Please let me know! Thanks!
Nope no way. It will go and read the location, but the script will happen. So you will need a Joy and a PC tv there somewhere to pull it off
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
Proof that I'm the third best Temple Run player in the Universe
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial - Time-Based Events - Yet Another Sprite Resource

Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue

Join me in the chat! Get help or just talk, I really don't care :D | Click here: http://chat.linkandzelda.com:9090/?c...omhacking,GoGo

Last edited by GoGoJJTech; November 8th, 2013 at 03:05 PM. Reason: Your double post has been automatically merged.
  #27369    
Old November 8th, 2013, 03:14 PM
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Nope no way. It will go and read the location, but the script will happen. So you will need a Joy and a PC tv there somewhere to pull it off
There isn't even some type of ASM thingy I can add (NOTE: I know nothing about ASM but i'm assuming with ASM, I would be able to add something along those lines)

If anyone knows how to add something like that via ASM please PM me!
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!


Also I'm currently looking for a spriter for my ROM. Someone who can make OWs and possibly trainer sprites (I might make those myself). Message me if you would like to be a part of Pokemon Battle Brown!
NOTE: You wouldn't be designing your own sprites, I would be telling you what I needed, and you would make it for me ... as appealing as that sounds. I know it doesn't sound like a fun task, but if you want to be a part of this ROM, then that's what will happen. Also I would like to see some stuff you have made before I accept your offer.
  #27370    
Old November 8th, 2013, 03:28 PM
Superjub's Avatar
Superjub
Pokémon Aureolin
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hoenn
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Quote:
Originally Posted by gogojjtech View Post
Specify the trouble please
Well, here are some screenshots that might help. I'm still having a bit of trouble seeing where I'm going wrong.

http://imgur.com/a/mTk9l

Also, my offsets:

New OW Table Offset - 900000 (screenshot 1)
New OW Offset - 910000 (screenshot 2)
Frame Data Pointer Offset - 920000 (screenshot 3)
Frame Data Offset - 930000 (screenshot 4)
__________________


Pokémon Aureolin




Last edited by Superjub; November 8th, 2013 at 05:55 PM.
  #27371    
Old November 8th, 2013, 11:53 PM
Lolman112's Avatar
Lolman112
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Hey guys,
Just 2 questions:
1) How to add new pokemon to firered without deleting old?
2) Is it possible to make 5 starters instead of 3.
__________________

I want a Gameboy color!!!
  #27372    
Old November 9th, 2013, 12:05 AM
GreyVirgo's Avatar
GreyVirgo
•=ØInfinityØ=•
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: With Miley...... Twerking!
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lolman112 View Post
Hey guys,
Just 2 questions:
1) How to add new pokemon to firered without deleting old?
2) Is it possible to make 5 starters instead of 3.
1. I don't have any Idea.

2. Yes it is.
__________________
Pair: Saturnus

Other Forums Im In:

EGC Account: Grey
PHO Account: XLR8
LV Account: Grey

Contact: PM or VM

"I love making out with lamps!" - Nigahiga
  #27373    
Old November 9th, 2013, 01:24 AM
Neti's Avatar
Neti
Follow @PokeNeti on Twitter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cologne, Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
I have another question about region maps. I managed to insert it and I am able to recolor it properly.
There's just one little thing that's bothering me:
When I open the freshly inserted region map, theres a blue rectangle at the bottom right where there should actually be tiles. also, just right of that there's the 2 normal grey border tile, which I actually inserted with a wrong color (compare the rest of the border at the screenshot) and didn't change yet.

Why is that happening and how can I fix it?
Here's the screenshot, don't worry about the colors they're gonna be changed. And the blurryness was added by me cause the map is still secret at the moment.
__________________
  #27374    
Old November 9th, 2013, 01:56 AM
VV's Avatar
VV
ブラック
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Beyond the Boundary
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to VV
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lolman112 View Post
Hey guys,
Just 2 questions:
1) How to add new pokemon to firered without deleting old?
2) Is it possible to make 5 starters instead of 3.
First question:
I think you can't since you need extra space, that's what I know.
Only way to add new sprites is by replacing them.

Second question:
Starters in FireRed was used with script.
But the feature in Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald was in a Bag so it's impossible to add 2 more.
Unless you don't use that script and make a new one. But I think you can add through I don't know, ASM?
__________________
V.V
  #27375    
Old November 9th, 2013, 02:14 AM
Neti's Avatar
Neti
Follow @PokeNeti on Twitter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cologne, Germany
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neti View Post
I have another question about region maps. I managed to insert it and I am able to recolor it properly.
There's just one little thing that's bothering me:
When I open the freshly inserted region map, theres a blue rectangle at the bottom right where there should actually be tiles. also, just right of that there's the 2 normal grey border tile, which I actually inserted with a wrong color (compare the rest of the border at the screenshot) and didn't change yet.

Why is that happening and how can I fix it?
Here's the screenshot, don't worry about the colors they're gonna be changed. And the blurryness was added by me cause the map is still secret at the moment.
I've got more info on my problem: its exactly 8 tiles that are wrong. 8 is always a number that gets my attention for a good reason... anybody got an idea?
__________________
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.