Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #27351    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:25 PM).
Vladmir_Fox Vladmir_Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
I am almost completely new to ROM hacking but I was wondering how do I use unLZ-GBA or a similar program to insert a sprite of the GHOST pokemon that you can see without the silph scope in FR/LG and if possible I'd rather it not just overwrite a preexisting pokemon sprite but instead use one of the blank entries in between Celebi and Treeko? (yes to your unasked questions I'm trying to make a pokemon creepy black hack.)
  #27352    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:27 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Vladmir_Fox:
I am almost completely new to ROM hacking but I was wondering how do I use unLZ-GBA or a similar program to insert a sprite of the GHOST pokemon that you can see without the silph scope in FR/LG and if possible I'd rather it not just overwrite a preexisting pokemon sprite but instead use one of the blank entries in between Celebi and Treeko? (yes to your unasked questions I'm trying to make a pokemon creepy black hack.)
Those slots are solely for unown. They're glitch Pokemon. Using them would require ASM. Just replace something like Qwilfish.
Plus use advanced series, not unlz for the sprites
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27353    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:33 PM).
Vladmir_Fox Vladmir_Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Those slots are solely for unown. They're glitch Pokemon. Using them would require ASM. Just replace something like Qwilfish.
Plus use advanced series, not unlz for the sprites
So are you saying that is impossible to have both all 386 pokemon as well as add in/reuse the GHOST that is already in the FR/LG ROMs? From my looking around on various parts of this website and others I know that yes there are blank spaces in the pokedex for adding in new pokemon I'm just wondering how it is done and what I would need to know to do it.
  #27354    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:36 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Vladmir_Fox:
So are you saying that is impossible to have both all 386 pokemon as well as add in/reuse the GHOST that is already in the FR/LG ROMs? From my looking around on various parts of this website and others I know that yes there are blank spaces in the pokedex for adding in new pokemon I'm just wondering how it is done and what I would need to know to do it.
The ghost battle is a special command. Just look up its script.
And adding Pokemon is hard work (I'm doing it right now)
You need knowledge of:
ASM
GBA Hardware
The regions in the GBA
Offsets
Limiters
More
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27355    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:41 PM).
Vladmir_Fox Vladmir_Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
The ghost battle is a special command. Just look up its script.
And adding Pokemon is hard work (I'm doing it right now)
You need knowledge of:
ASM
GBA Hardware
The regions in the GBA
Offsets
Limiters
More
Ok thank you for your help. As an idea to achieve what I want (the GHOST as a usable pokemon) do you think it would be possible to replace maybe the shiny sprite of a pokemon with the GHOSTs needed sprites and then have a givepokemon script so that the player could then get the pokemon because using things like YAPE i can give the pokemon custom moves correct? Or am I just completely in over my head at this point in time?
  #27356    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:44 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Vladmir_Fox:
Ok thank you for your help. As an idea to achieve what I want (the GHOST as a usable pokemon) do you think it would be possible to replace maybe the shiny sprite of a pokemon with the GHOSTs needed sprites and then have a givepokemon script so that the player could then get the pokemon because using things like YAPE i can give the pokemon custom moves correct? Or am I just completely in over my head at this point in time?
You'd need to replace another pokemon so the ghost can be caught and usable etc
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27357    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:46 PM).
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer Teh Blazer is offline
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 691
How do I change what pokemon is traded for what in fire red?
__________________
Coming soon...
  #27358    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:47 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Teh Blazer:
How do I change what pokemon is traded for what in fire red?
I think the trade editor is in the toolbox
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27359    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:50 PM).
Vladmir_Fox Vladmir_Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
You'd need to replace another pokemon so the ghost can be caught and usable etc
If I have no other choice then to replace another pokemon is there any way to omit the GHOST pokemon I put into the game from the pokedex?
  #27360    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:52 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Vladmir_Fox:
If I have no other choice then to replace another pokemon is there any way to omit the GHOST pokemon I put into the game from the pokedex?
Since it's not a pokemon, it can't be added to the dex. It just has stats and a name
Plus since it's a special, it's not exactly stable with any data either
So replacing another mon is the way to go (unless you wanna go through the trouble of adding Pokemon)
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27361    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:55 PM).
Superjub's Avatar
Superjub Superjub is offline
Pokémon Aureolin
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hoenn
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 2,289
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
You didn't repoint the sprite's offset. The old data is not glitched because it's not free space
I don't like to admit it, but I'm still having a little trouble. xD I thought I knew what I was doing wrong but uuuh, still not fixed. :s
__________________
  #27362    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:56 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Retribution:
I don't like to admit it, but I'm still having a little trouble. xD I thought I knew what I was doing wrong but uuuh, still not fixed. :s
Specify the trouble please
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27363    
Old November 8th, 2013 (02:59 PM).
Vladmir_Fox Vladmir_Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Since it's not a pokemon, it can't be added to the dex. It just has stats and a name
Plus since it's a special, it's not exactly stable with any data either
So replacing another mon is the way to go (unless you wanna go through the trouble of adding Pokemon)
I understand that but if I replace a pokemon that means I would have to give the GHOST a pokedex entry seeing as all I'm doing is overwriting something previously in the pokedex and I was wondering if there was a way to avoid having to do that (mostly for sake of plot and because well GHOST isn't a real pokemon). I know I'm probably trying to do things that are way over my head but I came here with an idea in my head and a will to learn so if I can have help understanding exactly what all I'll have to do then I can start learning the things needed to complete my tasks.
  #27364    
Old November 8th, 2013 (03:00 PM).
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Vladmir_Fox:
I understand that but if I replace a pokemon that means I would have to give the GHOST a pokedex entry seeing as all I'm doing is overwriting something previously in the pokedex and I was wondering if there was a way to avoid having to do that (mostly for sake of plot and because well GHOST isn't a real pokemon). I know I'm probably trying to do things that are way over my head but I came here with an idea in my head and a will to learn so if I can have help understanding exactly what all I'll have to do then I can start learning the things needed to complete my tasks.
So go to Qwilfish
Replace all its data with GHOST's data
Then you'll have GHOST as a pokemon
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27365    
Old November 8th, 2013 (03:01 PM).
Vladmir_Fox Vladmir_Fox is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 26
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
So go to Qwilfish
Replace all its data with GHOST's data
Then you'll have GHOST as a pokemon
Yes, but what about the issue of then having to give GHOST a pokedex entry? Is there no way to avoid that?
  #27366    
Old November 8th, 2013 (03:03 PM).
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1 awipe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 194
I am using JPANs hack applier for my ROM and for setting a new healing place, I use this script


setvar 0x405A 0x405
setvar 0x405B 0x7
setvar 0x405C 0x4


However, now I need to make a healing place that isn't a POKeMON center. Cause right now when I set my healing place to anything, it will show the pokeballs and nurse joy will say her thing, anyway I can change it so when I respawn no one says anything? Please let me know! Thanks!
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
  #27367    
Old November 8th, 2013 (03:04 PM). Edited November 8th, 2013 by GoGoJJTech.
GoGoJJTech's Avatar
GoGoJJTech GoGoJJTech is offline
http://GoGoJJTech.com (WIP!)
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Earth
Age: 16
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,967
Quote originally posted by Vladmir_Fox:
Yes, but what about the issue of then having to give GHOST a pokedex entry? Is there no way to avoid that?
Nope sorry man. Type one of your own genius XD

Quote originally posted by awipe1:
I am using JPANs hack applier for my ROM and for setting a new healing place, I use this script


setvar 0x405A 0x405
setvar 0x405B 0x7
setvar 0x405C 0x4


However, now I need to make a healing place that isn't a POKeMON center. Cause right now when I set my healing place to anything, it will show the pokeballs and nurse joy will say her thing, anyway I can change it so when I respawn no one says anything? Please let me know! Thanks!
Nope no way. It will go and read the location, but the script will happen. So you will need a Joy and a PC tv there somewhere to pull it off
__________________
I believe in Jesus Christ my Savior. If you do too, and aren't scared to admit it, then copy and paste this into your signature.
The SoulSilver Music Patch - The Black Music Patch - Mega-Huge Sappy Tutorial
Romhack.me Profile - Pokecommunity Profile - Pokemonhackersonline Profile - Youtube Channel

Join us in the romhacking chat
Pokémon Platinum Red and Blue
  #27368    
Old November 8th, 2013 (03:14 PM).
awipe1's Avatar
awipe1 awipe1 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Gender: Male
Posts: 194
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Nope no way. It will go and read the location, but the script will happen. So you will need a Joy and a PC tv there somewhere to pull it off
There isn't even some type of ASM thingy I can add (NOTE: I know nothing about ASM but i'm assuming with ASM, I would be able to add something along those lines)

If anyone knows how to add something like that via ASM please PM me!
__________________
Check out my Pokemon Rom! Click the Image Below!
  #27369    
Old November 8th, 2013 (03:28 PM). Edited November 8th, 2013 by Superjub.
Superjub's Avatar
Superjub Superjub is offline
Pokémon Aureolin
Crystal Tier
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hoenn
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Timid
Posts: 2,289
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Specify the trouble please
Well, here are some screenshots that might help. I'm still having a bit of trouble seeing where I'm going wrong.

http://imgur.com/a/mTk9l

Also, my offsets:

New OW Table Offset - 900000 (screenshot 1)
New OW Offset - 910000 (screenshot 2)
Frame Data Pointer Offset - 920000 (screenshot 3)
Frame Data Offset - 930000 (screenshot 4)
__________________
  #27370    
Old November 8th, 2013 (11:53 PM).
Lolman112's Avatar
Lolman112 Lolman112 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
Posts: 12
Hey guys,
Just 2 questions:
1) How to add new pokemon to firered without deleting old?
2) Is it possible to make 5 starters instead of 3.
__________________

I want a Gameboy color!!!
  #27371    
Old November 9th, 2013 (12:05 AM).
GreyVirgo's Avatar
GreyVirgo GreyVirgo is offline
•=ØInfinityØ=•
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: With Miley...... Twerking!
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Posts: 237
Quote originally posted by Lolman112:
Hey guys,
Just 2 questions:
1) How to add new pokemon to firered without deleting old?
2) Is it possible to make 5 starters instead of 3.
1. I don't have any Idea.

2. Yes it is.
__________________
Pair: Saturnus

Other Forums Im In:

EGC Account: Grey
PHO Account: XLR8
LV Account: Grey

Contact: PM or VM

"I love making out with lamps!" - Nigahiga
  #27372    
Old November 9th, 2013 (01:24 AM).
Neti's Avatar
Neti Neti is offline
Follow @PokeNeti on Twitter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cologne, Germany
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,515
I have another question about region maps. I managed to insert it and I am able to recolor it properly.
There's just one little thing that's bothering me:
When I open the freshly inserted region map, theres a blue rectangle at the bottom right where there should actually be tiles. also, just right of that there's the 2 normal grey border tile, which I actually inserted with a wrong color (compare the rest of the border at the screenshot) and didn't change yet.

Why is that happening and how can I fix it?
Here's the screenshot, don't worry about the colors they're gonna be changed. And the blurryness was added by me cause the map is still secret at the moment.
__________________
  #27373    
Old November 9th, 2013 (01:56 AM).
Sniper's Avatar
Sniper Sniper is offline
ヘッド·ショット
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 1,296
Send a message via Skype™ to Sniper
Quote originally posted by Lolman112:
Hey guys,
Just 2 questions:
1) How to add new pokemon to firered without deleting old?
2) Is it possible to make 5 starters instead of 3.
First question:
I think you can't since you need extra space, that's what I know.
Only way to add new sprites is by replacing them.

Second question:
Starters in FireRed was used with script.
But the feature in Ruby/Sapphire/Emerald was in a Bag so it's impossible to add 2 more.
Unless you don't use that script and make a new one. But I think you can add through I don't know, ASM?
__________________
  #27374    
Old November 9th, 2013 (02:14 AM).
Neti's Avatar
Neti Neti is offline
Follow @PokeNeti on Twitter
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cologne, Germany
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 1,515
Quote originally posted by Neti:
I have another question about region maps. I managed to insert it and I am able to recolor it properly.
There's just one little thing that's bothering me:
When I open the freshly inserted region map, theres a blue rectangle at the bottom right where there should actually be tiles. also, just right of that there's the 2 normal grey border tile, which I actually inserted with a wrong color (compare the rest of the border at the screenshot) and didn't change yet.

Why is that happening and how can I fix it?
Here's the screenshot, don't worry about the colors they're gonna be changed. And the blurryness was added by me cause the map is still secret at the moment.
I've got more info on my problem: its exactly 8 tiles that are wrong. 8 is always a number that gets my attention for a good reason... anybody got an idea?
__________________
  #27375    
Old November 9th, 2013 (06:14 AM).
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552 karatekid552 is offline
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 1,767
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote originally posted by awipe1:
I am using JPANs hack applier for my ROM and for setting a new healing place, I use this script


setvar 0x405A 0x405
setvar 0x405B 0x7
setvar 0x405C 0x4


However, now I need to make a healing place that isn't a POKeMON center. Cause right now when I set my healing place to anything, it will show the pokeballs and nurse joy will say her thing, anyway I can change it so when I respawn no one says anything? Please let me know! Thanks!
Quote originally posted by gogojjtech:
Nope no way. It will go and read the location, but the script will happen. So you will need a Joy and a PC tv there somewhere to pull it off
Quote originally posted by awipe1:
There isn't even some type of ASM thingy I can add (NOTE: I know nothing about ASM but i'm assuming with ASM, I would be able to add something along those lines)

If anyone knows how to add something like that via ASM please PM me!
No. gogo, this is one of the times where you are wrong. Tell me, what happens when you go to your hometown, talk to your mom, then lose? You go back to her, and there isn't a pokeball animation. Don't you think this part was kind of important? Why would JPAN make a hack like this, but not include a way to not have to have it be a pokemon center?

Awipe1: Look at the documentation for sethealingplace in JPAN's hacked instruction manual.doc, which came with the engine. It explains how to do this.
__________________

Paired with Simba
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 04:21 PM.