Community

The PokéCommunity

We are still working on a better slogan!

Visit Index



Advertise here

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #27751    
Old December 11th, 2013, 02:33 PM
The3rdmariobrother1
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Gender: Male

Advertise here
In pokemon victory fire dark worker is not appearing in bronze town, do i need to update my game or?
  #27752    
Old December 11th, 2013, 03:44 PM
gameguru's Avatar
gameguru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Your Mind
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
In my game, the last slot of Box 2 is a bad egg. Even at the start of the game when you look at the PC the last slot of box 2 is a bad egg. What is going on? Is it fixable? Can I just ignore it?

Last edited by gameguru; December 11th, 2013 at 03:44 PM. Reason: Form of a question
  #27753    
Old December 11th, 2013, 03:45 PM
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode
Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
How come I can't ride bike in maps that was inserted? Even when I set the Type in Advance Map as "Route"?
I have moved to Pokemon Hacker Online
  #27754    
Old December 11th, 2013, 03:59 PM
Merak's Avatar
Merak
Because reasons.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Age: 18
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Merak View Post
Hi.
Does anybody know of any tool I could use to rip sounds from GBA pokemon games as soundfonts?(.SF2 files)
I tried a tool called gbaMusRiper but it didn't work. Apparently there's something different about FR/LG/RSE from other GBA games, and the difference prevents the tool from detecting the songtable.
Or if anybody could point me to a complete FR/LG/RSE soundfont that'd work too.


Thanks in advance.
Just bumping this up since I haven't seen it answered yet.
"it is nearly 11 pm and we're discussing an alien eating the personification of humanity's evil desires
help"


Credit for the userbar goes to xVaporeon; credit for the avatar goes to Snakeyem12.
MY WRITING
  #27755    
Old December 11th, 2013, 06:50 PM
dondon151
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by dondon151 View Post
I have 2 quick questions regarding the FR Pokedex that I've tried searching for to no avail.

1. I noticed in my hack that Pokemon with 2-word species names will only display the first word in their dex entry. Now, I thought that I had messed something up, but it turns out that this is the case in a clean FR ROM as well. Is there a delimiter somewhere that I need to change? (e.g., Squirtle's dex entry says "TINY POKeMON" instead of "TINY TURTLE POKeMON.")

2. Where is the information stored in the ROM for the order in the Pokedex search (i.e., A to Z, type, lightest, and smallest) modes?
Please disregard the first question. A more careful search has led me to the answer. I'm still curious about number 2, though.
  #27756    
Old December 12th, 2013, 12:50 AM
Flower's Avatar
Flower
ワイルドフラワー
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Flower
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
How come I can't ride bike in maps that was inserted? Even when I set the Type in Advance Map as "Route"?
That happens to me too. I guess you inserted a map?
The game thought as it's a inside place. I don't know how to fix it.
But running inside can be, just take the codes in tut via hex editor.
PM | Flower | VM
  #27757    
Old December 12th, 2013, 03:15 AM
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode
Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saturnus View Post
That happens to me too. I guess you inserted a map?
The game thought as it's a inside place. I don't know how to fix it.
But running inside can be, just take the codes in tut via hex editor.

Yeah, that's exactly what happened. It's kinda frustrating. I wonder is there a way to ride bike indoors.
I have moved to Pokemon Hacker Online
  #27758    
Old December 13th, 2013, 09:29 AM
tdjcharmander's Avatar
tdjcharmander
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Age: 20
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameguru View Post
In my game, the last slot of Box 2 is a bad egg. Even at the start of the game when you look at the PC the last slot of box 2 is a bad egg. What is going on? Is it fixable? Can I just ignore it?
I am having the same issue... Does anyone know if this is fixable or what could've caused it?
Ground Friend Safari:

3DS Friend Code: 2595-0113-8473
Trainer Shiny Value: 2259
  #27759    
Old December 13th, 2013, 02:17 PM
Konekodemon's Avatar
Konekodemon
The Master of Pokemon Breeding
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NC
Age: 30
Gender: Female
Nature: Jolly
Send a message via ICQ to Konekodemon Send a message via AIM to Konekodemon Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Konekodemon Send a message via Yahoo to Konekodemon Send a message via Skype™ to Konekodemon
I notice whenever I play the Doom GBA rom it always looks blurry. How do I fix this?

Please check out my InuYasha fanfiction and tell me what you think.
Sign up for Vizzard to play free Retro Games online: http://www.vizzed.com/boards/profile...1549&ref=61528
[/sig-reason]
  #27760    
Old December 13th, 2013, 02:29 PM
Teh Blazer's Avatar
Teh Blazer
Divider of Zero
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: 'MERICA
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Relaxed
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameguru View Post
In my game, the last slot of Box 2 is a bad egg. Even at the start of the game when you look at the PC the last slot of box 2 is a bad egg. What is going on? Is it fixable? Can I just ignore it?
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdjcharmander View Post
I am having the same issue... Does anyone know if this is fixable or what could've caused it?
Have you already edited the ROM? I've learned that changing the vars above 0x40FF can create bad eggs.

If you haven't modified the ROM yet, you may have just downloaded a bad ROM. Try redownloading from another site and see if it is still there?
Coming soon...
  #27761    
Old December 13th, 2013, 05:13 PM
gameguru's Avatar
gameguru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Your Mind
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teh Blazer View Post
Have you already edited the ROM? I've learned that changing the vars above 0x40FF can create bad eggs.

If you haven't modified the ROM yet, you may have just downloaded a bad ROM. Try redownloading from another site and see if it is still there?
I have edited the crap out of this rom. The clean unmodified version of this rom does not have this problem. Is there a list of variable ranges to avoid? I have used variables above 40FF.
  #27762    
Old December 13th, 2013, 05:40 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
FFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU I'm so sick of these tedious little bugs coming up.

I am using tileset 23 for Tileset 1 and tileset 24 for Tileset 2 for my pokemon ruby rom.
I have changed Palettes 0-6 to new palettes using AdvanceMap 1.92 since AdvanceMap 1.95 doesn't let you change the palettes at all if you put anything in Tileset 1 rather than tileset 0. So I spend like over 12 hours doing this new map and inserting a bunch of tiles into two custom tilesets and successfully changed the palettes and they look amazing. It's going to be a great map I say.
Then I open up the rom cus something was itching me to check.. and when I got to the city of course the blocks were all changed in tiles and colors... open up advancemap 1.95 and view the map.. all blocks still there but palettes messed up. It's only in 1.92 that everything looks fine and dandy. Talked to a fellow rom hacker and got this piece of advice

"Just copy and paste the raw data and throw some pointers around then reset the palette number in the tile editor tedious but easy"

Except I'm not exactly sure what he's saying and I don't know how to do that. EEEEEEK

If someone could me not lose 12+ hours of work it'd be nice! thanks in advance



Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here



Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokétch ROM Hacking Community Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery FB IRC Chat
  #27763    
Old December 13th, 2013, 05:49 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
FFFFFFFFFUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU I'm so sick of these tedious little bugs coming up.

I am using tileset 23 for Tileset 1 and tileset 24 for Tileset 2 for my pokemon ruby rom.
I have changed Palettes 0-6 to new palettes using AdvanceMap 1.92 since AdvanceMap 1.95 doesn't let you change the palettes at all if you put anything in Tileset 1 rather than tileset 0. So I spend like over 12 hours doing this new map and inserting a bunch of tiles into two custom tilesets and successfully changed the palettes and they look amazing. It's going to be a great map I say.
Then I open up the rom cus something was itching me to check.. and when I got to the city of course the blocks were all changed in tiles and colors... open up advancemap 1.95 and view the map.. all blocks still there but palettes messed up. It's only in 1.92 that everything looks fine and dandy. Talked to a fellow rom hacker and got this piece of advice

"Just copy and paste the raw data and throw some pointers around then reset the palette number in the tile editor tedious but easy"

Except I'm not exactly sure what he's saying and I don't know how to do that. EEEEEEK

If someone could me not lose 12+ hours of work it'd be nice! thanks in advance
Why do you care what it looks like in a buggy version of A-Map? Like seriously? That sounds like an A-Map bug to me, not an issue with the way you are doing things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Konekodemon View Post
I notice whenever I play the Doom GBA rom it always looks blurry. How do I fix this?
Change the filters in the options menu.

Paired with Simba

Last edited by karatekid552; December 13th, 2013 at 06:06 PM.
  #27764    
Old December 13th, 2013, 05:56 PM
Le pug's Avatar
Le pug
Creator of Pokémon: Discovery
Community Supporter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Le bed
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Why do you care what it looks like in a buggy version of A-Map? Like seriously? That sounds like an A-Map bug to me, not an issue with the way you are doing things.
No I'll show you with images what I'm talking about.

I'm using AdvanceMap 1.92 for this map.

Here is the screenshot of what it looks like in the program:

Spoiler:


and here is what it looks like in the game:

Spoiler:


im saying that i know in advancemap 1.95 that it won't let you change palettes if you use anything else for tileset 1 besides tileset 0 and maybe somehow thats linked with why it isn't working in game? cus 1.92 and right now it looks like how i wanted. just not in game.



Check out some of my contributions:
• Check out my easy tile insertion tutorial, Inserting Tiles Into AdvanceMap For Dummies
Click here to find out how to remove clouds from the Emerald titlescreen
• Check out the most updated Emereld Decapitalization Patch around by clicking here
• Need help fixing a gross bug in your hack? Let me show you how by clicking here



Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Discovery.
Click here to view the PC thread of Pokémon: Fat Kid.

Pokétch ROM Hacking Community Pokémon: Discovery Discovery Twitter Discovery FB IRC Chat
  #27765    
Old December 13th, 2013, 06:32 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Le pug View Post
No I'll show you with images what I'm talking about.

I'm using AdvanceMap 1.92 for this map.

Here is the screenshot of what it looks like in the program:

Spoiler:


and here is what it looks like in the game:

Spoiler:


im saying that i know in advancemap 1.95 that it won't let you change palettes if you use anything else for tileset 1 besides tileset 0 and maybe somehow thats linked with why it isn't working in game? cus 1.92 and right now it looks like how i wanted. just not in game.
OHHHH. I got you. Hmmm, seems kind of like the pointers aren't synced up. What I want you to do, is find the pointer it is loading for the palette in game using the palette viewer and APE. Then, search for it in the rom. Find it, write down it's location(IMPORTANTE), change it, load the map in both versions, and share the results.

Paired with Simba
  #27766    
Old December 13th, 2013, 06:49 PM
dondon151
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameguru View Post
I have edited the crap out of this rom. The clean unmodified version of this rom does not have this problem. Is there a list of variable ranges to avoid? I have used variables above 40FF.
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=302347 is good documentation. Vars above 0x40FF are generally unsafe.
  #27767    
Old December 13th, 2013, 07:01 PM
gameguru's Avatar
gameguru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Your Mind
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by dondon151 View Post
http://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=302347 is good documentation. Vars above 0x40FF are generally unsafe.
That was very helpful, however, for testing purposes I edited the warp out of the players room to lead to a Pokemon Center. When I look at the box it already has a bad egg in it. I changed the variable numbers, so that isn't the problem. This bad egg exists before a pokemon is even given... it exists before the player leaves his/her house.
  #27768    
Old December 13th, 2013, 07:15 PM
karatekid552's Avatar
karatekid552
What happens if I push it?....
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Do you really want to know? Really?
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Send a message via AIM to karatekid552 Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to karatekid552 Send a message via Skype™ to karatekid552
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameguru View Post
That was very helpful, however, for testing purposes I edited the warp out of the players room to lead to a Pokemon Center. When I look at the box it already has a bad egg in it. I changed the variable numbers, so that isn't the problem. This bad egg exists before a pokemon is even given... it exists before the player leaves his/her house.
Oh boy, that means that something is copying data into the PC boxes when it shouldn't be. Most likely, there is a bad dma pointer. So, when you say "I have edited the crap out of this rom." What do you mean? What tools did you use, how did you deal with data, did you attempt any ASM or Hex editing?

Paired with Simba
  #27769    
Old December 13th, 2013, 08:20 PM
gameguru's Avatar
gameguru
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Your Mind
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Quote:
Originally Posted by karatekid552 View Post
Oh boy, that means that something is copying data into the PC boxes when it shouldn't be. Most likely, there is a bad dma pointer. So, when you say "I have edited the crap out of this rom." What do you mean? What tools did you use, how did you deal with data, did you attempt any ASM or Hex editing?
Well, I used jpan's firered hack, Advanced Map 1.95 and 1.92, advance trainer, icon editor, item manager, M4A build in Assembler (music assembly program), NSE, Overworld Editor Rebirth Edition, UNLZGBA, XSE. I use hex workshop. I have used a couple of Jpan's fixes, the run indoors, and one that I can't remember... but it is on the same page as the running indoors one.
  #27770    
Old December 13th, 2013, 09:25 PM
Flower's Avatar
Flower
ワイルドフラワー
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Flower
Hi. Can someone tell me how to fix my problem;
When I save my map and inserted it on other maps, I can't run or use bike.
I tried change it to route/city/caves but I still can't. The game knows that
the map is in a inside house. I tried changing the codes to run indoors, but
regardless because I can't use bike. How do I fix this? That's right.

We had the same problem.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
How come I can't ride bike in maps that was inserted? Even when I set the Type in Advance Map as "Route"?
PM | Flower | VM
  #27771    
Old December 13th, 2013, 09:44 PM
Sàm's Avatar
Sàm
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
How do I insert or edit a sprite? I know this question was probably already asked but I could not find how to get to the answered questions blog. I'm sorry if this is spamming you and I understand if you don't want to answer and delete this comment
SAM:
3DS Friend Code: 1607-2939-6549
Pokemon Black 2: 0949 5516 7181
  #27772    
Old December 13th, 2013, 09:54 PM
Flower's Avatar
Flower
ワイルドフラワー
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Void
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Send a message via Skype™ to Flower
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sàm View Post
How do I insert or edit a sprite? I know this question was probably already asked but I could not find how to get to the answered questions blog. I'm sorry if this is spamming you and I understand if you don't want to answer and delete this comment
Insert sprite using the programs like NSE/UNZL-GBA/Pokepic or any sprite editor for roms.
Editing the sprite using image editors like Paint or Photoshop. There are different kind
of sprites like OW's for the small npc's. Sprites for Pokemon is battle, trainers, etc..
As for my question above. Please answer it
PM | Flower | VM
  #27773    
Old December 14th, 2013, 12:19 AM
dondon151
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Gender: Male
How do I make PokeMart catalogs display prices with more than 4 digits? I could've swore that I saw a post on how to do this, but I can't seem to find it.

For reference, if an item costs more than $9999, its price is displayed as $????.
  #27774    
Old December 14th, 2013, 06:13 AM
Gorrioncillo
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Gender: Male
How can i show the nature of a wild pokemon during the battle, for example below the hp bar, is this possible?? maybe with ASM?? has somebody done this before? please help!
  #27775    
Old December 14th, 2013, 07:00 AM
Aethestode's Avatar
Aethestode
Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Gender: Male
Nature: Serious
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockmanmegaman View Post
How come I can't ride bike in maps that was inserted? Even when I set the Type in Advance Map as "Route"?
Just bumping my question.
I have moved to Pokemon Hacker Online
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 12:50 AM.

About Us
© 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com. Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.

Copyright
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com. PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator. Header artwork by Jordanice of deviantART.

Social Media
If you would like to stay up-to-date with us on the go, when we're down, or other such things, follow us on social media sites--most notibly Twitter, Facebook, and Google Plus--by clicking on the links provided.

Design presented by Peitharchia. Special thanks to Hiroshi Sotomura and Ausaudriel.