The PokéCommunity Forums  

Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub
Sign Up Rules/FAQ Live Battle Blogs Mark Forums Read

Notices

ROM Hacking Hub General discussions about ROM Hacking and Emulation. Not sure where to start? This is the place for you.
Posting links to ROMs is illegal and is not tolerated anywhere on the forum.
New threads in this forum are to be approved by a moderator before they are displayed.


Advertise here

Closed Thread
Click here to go to the first staff post in this thread.  
Thread Tools
  #2976    
Old November 13th, 2007, 01:53 AM
Νιτραμ
Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007

Advertise here
Nope. Gold has really different script programming. I would advise you to ask Coolboyman, as he is hacking GSC series, you should ask him, he's really advanced in it.
__________________
If you remeber me, feel free to send me a PM ;-)
  #2977    
Old November 13th, 2007, 01:55 AM
thethethethe
Gym Leader
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by ♠εx View Post
What programs would I use to edit a Gold ROM.
I have goldmart, goldmap, tlp, a hex editor, and other small programs, but I need one to insert scripts. Is it the same with GB games as GBA Games? Can I use Pokescript?
Well the best way would probably be hex. You could download PkmGS(Pokescript for Gold Silver) if you can find a link to it. As you may know, Irish Witch's site is 'down' so it can't be downloaded from there. If you did find PkmGS, you'll need to remember some of the commands will differ; there will be lots of new ones, but I'd assume that some would have been removed or renamed.
__________________
Gone.
  #2978    
Old November 13th, 2007, 03:39 AM
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
The other way is with hex, using pointers to read the script from a certain point. Hmm...also I believe it is a safer way(tools can be glitchy) xD
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #2979    
Old November 13th, 2007, 07:25 AM
coin3's Avatar
coin3
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Nature: Adamant
OMG! I tried to open my hack in unlz.gba but there is nothing there! when I go back before the first one it says it can not find the spr file for my rom, but it is right there! What is wrong?

Edit: NVM, I figured out I forgot to delete the spr file for the ruby version of my game that i quit and deleted. Then I changed the new one to the same name so it used the ruby spr thing... So nvm.
__________________

Click here to feed me a Rare Candy!




My friends: DP Master, Spenceroone3, Hiidoran, Destinedjagold.
Spoiler:

My family. I am twins with Spenceroon3 .
Dad: Celebi_XD
Mom: Sea_Guardian
Best friend(S): ___________
Brother(s): Gotron228, Godot
Sister(s): ___________
Twin (Coin3 can get triplets though as well): Spenceroone3
Best enemy(s): Kid Nino
Girlfriend/Pair: _____________

Last edited by coin3; November 13th, 2007 at 08:02 AM.
  #2980    
Old November 13th, 2007, 03:10 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
@Blazichu: Can you share some of the scripting commands for Gold? You know like: Message, Applymovement, etc.

Also I do happen to have PkmGS.
__________________

  #2981    
Old November 13th, 2007, 03:42 PM
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooley
@Blazichu: Can you share some of the scripting commands for Gold? You know like: Message, Applymovement, etc.

Also I do happen to have PkmGS.
I do not use PkmGS for scripting and I don't intend to in the near future.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #2982    
Old November 13th, 2007, 04:09 PM
cooley's Avatar
cooley
///Keepin' it simple
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: United States
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Impish
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to cooley Send a message via Skype™ to cooley
Oh, the PkmnGS wasn't directed towards you, sorry.
__________________

  #2983    
Old November 13th, 2007, 07:57 PM
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.'s Avatar
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
ehsGweyisgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 7
Say you would want to insert a tree tile... What format would it have to be in? AND.... how would one go about doing this?
  #2984    
Old November 13th, 2007, 09:36 PM
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
Say you would want to insert a tree tile... What format would it have to be in? AND.... how would one go about doing this?
Hmm...with A-Map you can export the tileset and insert or paste one into the tileset using Paint(just make sure the colours are the default you have grass/tree colour to make it appear properly).
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #2985    
Old November 13th, 2007, 10:02 PM
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.'s Avatar
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
ehsGweyisgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazichu View Post
Hmm...with A-Map you can export the tileset and insert or paste one into the tileset using Paint(just make sure the colours are the default you have grass/tree colour to make it appear properly).
How do I export tilesets? I can't find a button anywhere.
  #2986    
Old November 13th, 2007, 10:05 PM
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM. View Post
How do I export tilesets? I can't find a button anywhere.
In A-Map, go Ctrl + B to get to the Tileset editor then go Picture > Save Tileset 1 or 2.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #2987    
Old November 13th, 2007, 10:17 PM
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.'s Avatar
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
ehsGweyisgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazichu View Post
In A-Map, go Ctrl + B to get to the Tileset editor then go Picture > Save Tileset 1 or 2.
Hmm.... sorry, i'm not understanding this very well. So I go to Block Editor, save tileset, open tileset in paint, then what? Paste the tree I want to use onto the tileset then save and load in A-Map? (it's PNG format by the way.)
  #2988    
Old November 13th, 2007, 11:44 PM
Soul.//Silver's Avatar
Soul.//Silver
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Age: 21
Gender: Male
Nature: Jolly
Where can I find a tile editor for Pokemon Gold, I found one that was simply called Tileset Editor but it was in German.
  #2989    
Old November 14th, 2007, 12:10 AM
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
Hmm.... sorry, i'm not understanding this very well. So I go to Block Editor, save tileset, open tileset in paint, then what? Paste the tree I want to use onto the tileset then save and load in A-Map? (it's PNG format by the way.)
Yes, that is what you do, load Tileset 1 or 2 should under Picture also. Make sure you new tile has the same colours as the previous tiles(ones there) or they won't work unless you pallete change it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SceptileHero
Where can I find a tile editor for Pokemon Gold, I found one that was simply called Tileset Editor but it was in German.
Try using a tile editing tool such as TLP, Tile Molester etc. Some tilesets you have to repoint to a new location the rom using hex.

PS. That tool, Tileset Editor only works with German GS roms.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #2990    
Old November 14th, 2007, 01:20 AM
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.'s Avatar
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
ehsGweyisgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 7
Oh, wonderful. I load my hack and when I choose my starter, the game freezes. Is this a common problem and does anyone know how to fix this?
  #2991    
Old November 14th, 2007, 02:10 AM
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
Oh, wonderful. I load my hack and when I choose my starter, the game freezes. Is this a common problem and does anyone know how to fix this?
I have seen that happen in a few roms, could be an error from a tool or a rom problem.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #2992    
Old November 14th, 2007, 05:56 AM
light_trainer921's Avatar
light_trainer921
Flamethrower Helper
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Treasure Town at the human world
Age: 19
Gender:
Nature: Timid
How can I edit tilesets the other way? I tried using A-Map's Block Editor but it doesn't look it imports some tilesets.
__________________
  #2993    
Old November 14th, 2007, 02:22 PM
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.'s Avatar
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
ehsGweyisgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blazichu View Post
I have seen that happen in a few roms, could be an error from a tool or a rom problem.
Thanks for your help, it is greatly appreciated.
  #2994    
Old November 14th, 2007, 08:00 PM
Blazichu's Avatar
Blazichu
Bahhhh?
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: The ground?
Age: 23
Gender: Male
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Blazichu
Quote:
Originally Posted by light_trainer921
How can I edit tilesets the other way? I tried using A-Map's Block Editor but it doesn't look it imports some tilesets.
unLZ.GBA can import and export tilesets, they should be located towards the start of the rom.
__________________

←(left) the online world for life(MSN, PC etc.)~
  #2995    
Old November 15th, 2007, 04:17 PM
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.'s Avatar
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
ehsGweyisgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 7
Can anyone answer my question?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM. View Post
Oh, wonderful. I load my hack and when I choose my starter, the game freezes. Is this a common problem and does anyone know how to fix this?
  #2996    
Old November 15th, 2007, 11:11 PM
♠εx's Avatar
♠εx
Working on my hack, busy also.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Gender:
Nature: Adamant
If you've changed the starter script, then that may be the problem.
I don't know anything else about this.
__________________
Made A New Account - Crashink

Yes, this does mean Icy Blue will be locked down, but only for a short time while I fix my bugs.

- Crashink.
  #2997    
Old November 16th, 2007, 06:45 AM
Binary's Avatar
Binary
え?
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Age: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM. View Post
Can anyone answer my question?

Maybe(If youve used a script)Theres something wrong with it,
Or maybe theres somethin wrong with the rom
__________________
  #2998    
Old November 16th, 2007, 02:41 PM
thethethethe
Gym Leader
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Gender: Male
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM. View Post
Oh, wonderful. I load my hack and when I choose my starter, the game freezes. Is this a common problem and does anyone know how to fix this?
It depends what you did. You really haven't given enough info for there to be a definite answer. Did you change the starters with a program? Did you do it in hex? Did you make a new script? That might help you get a good answer. Otherwise, you might just get a lot of "maybe."
__________________
Gone.
  #2999    
Old November 16th, 2007, 06:28 PM
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.'s Avatar
MR. MR. MR. ATOM.
ehsGweyisgh
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Age: 7
I changed some sprites with UNLZ. I also changed some poke's stats using pokemon amplifier. I changed some poke's types and edited poke's movepools and evos. (I think changing pokemons evos might have messed it up.) EX: changed Hitmonlees sprite to Munchlax, then changed it so Hitmonlee (Munchlax) evolves into Snorlax.
  #3000    
Old November 16th, 2007, 06:37 PM
Shadow Byte's Avatar
Shadow Byte
Beginning Trainer
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Gender:
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR. MR. MR. ATOM. View Post
I changed some sprites with UNLZ. I also changed some poke's stats using pokemon amplifier. I changed some poke's types and edited poke's movepools and evos. (I think changing pokemons evos might have messed it up.) EX: changed Hitmonlees sprite to Munchlax, then changed it so Hitmonlee (Munchlax) evolves into Snorlax.
Sooo... what's the problem?
__________________



Spoiler:
PM me if you want to help.

Hack Name: Pokemon Carbon

Current Team: Just me (Recruiting)

Needed:
Someone to give this picture a pixel-over and to put it onto the title screen of my hack: http://www.alara.net/pics/mew2glare.gif

-TOOLZ-
Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links


Advertise here
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Minimum Characters Per Post: 25



All times are UTC -8. The time now is 02:36 PM.


Style by Nymphadora, artwork by Sa-Dui.
Like our Facebook Page Follow us on Twitter © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity™, pokecommunity.com.
Pokémon characters and images belong to The Pokémon Company International and Nintendo. This website is in no way affiliated with or endorsed by Nintendo, Creatures, GAMEFREAK, The Pokémon Company or The Pokémon Company International. We just love Pokémon.
All forum styles, their images (unless noted otherwise) and site designs are © 2002 - 2014 The PokéCommunity / PokéCommunity.com.
PokéCommunity™ is a trademark of The PokéCommunity. All rights reserved. Sponsor advertisements do not imply our endorsement of that product or service. User generated content remains the property of its creator.