Go Back   The PokéCommunity Forums > ROM Hacking > ROM Hacking Hub > Beginner’s Lounge
Reload this Page [ARCHIVE] Simple Questions (SEARCH BEFORE ASKING A QUESTION)

Notices
For all updates, view the main page.

Beginner’s Lounge Where all good (and bad) ideas start. This is the Beginner’s Lounge, where if you need a helping hand or want to develop your small ideas, you bring it here. We won't bite.



Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #5851    
Old August 1st, 2008 (02:10 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
Quote originally posted by ckk:
ok here it is
I've searched the forums and i cant find anything related to this
i want to find a scripting very good tutorial that explains stuff like making a sprite move to a certain area when u go on a certain block and other advance stuff like that
i dont care wat the compiler is btw
go to the documents and tutorials and you'll find a LOT of scripting tutorials, especially thethethethe's scripting tutorial.
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #5852    
Old August 1st, 2008 (02:10 PM).
Luck Luck is offline
☆「GANG-STAR」☆
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6,758
Stuff like that goes in the emulation section.
just look at the documents and tutorials and you will find out how to do it.
  #5853    
Old August 1st, 2008 (03:49 PM).
Quickster's Avatar
Quickster Quickster is offline
Dream or Drop?
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Gender: Male
Nature: Quiet
Posts: 350
Two questions about fire red,

1.How do you change the pokemon that appear iwhen you look at your party(ex.the ones that move thats right beside their name)?

2.How do you add more moves without replacing the old ones?
  #5854    
Old August 1st, 2008 (07:48 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
Quote originally posted by flah117:
Two questions about fire red,

1.How do you change the pokemon that appear iwhen you look at your party(ex.the ones that move thats right beside their name)?

2.How do you add more moves without replacing the old ones?
1. you need the hacking tool called IconEd to edit those icons. I have a tutorial on how to do so.

2. better ask thethethethe about that matter. you need to do so with hex.
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #5855    
Old August 2nd, 2008 (12:27 AM).
Cy-Chan's Avatar
Cy-Chan Cy-Chan is offline
GSC Hacker
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: UK, England.
Age: 24
Gender:
Nature: Timid
Posts: 152
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Cy-Chan
Quote originally posted by flah117:
Two questions about fire red,

1.How do you change the pokemon that appear iwhen you look at your party(ex.the ones that move thats right beside their name)?

2.How do you add more moves without replacing the old ones?
For two, you'd need to repoint all of the attack information. Then just append a new attack onto the end of the current data.

It's a pain in the ass to repoint though; so many pointers... I tried, but it screwed everything up. You should just replace all the awful moves, like I did (y'know, stuff like Wrap, Bubble, Mega Kick, Sky Attack... there's loads of horrible moves).

I've asked before, but how do create new item/ability/attack effects (mostly want to know about items). I know berries in particular have two bytes in their item data (byte 18 and 19) that tell them what effect they have.
  #5856    
Old August 2nd, 2008 (05:27 AM).
Shiny_Latios's Avatar
Shiny_Latios Shiny_Latios is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Age: 22
Nature: Bashful
Posts: 284
Send a message via Windows Live Messenger to Shiny_Latios
I am having a problem with a sand route in Fire Red. I would like to have wild pokemon but Grass will not work. How would I get wild pokemon into a sand route?
__________________
White~James~FC:2451-8499-5441
  #5857    
Old August 2nd, 2008 (01:26 PM).
poke freak 101's Avatar
poke freak 101 poke freak 101 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: B.C VANCOUVER
Gender:
Nature: Calm
Posts: 5
I haver a problem on my overworld changer when i click 32x32

and use the sprite nothing appears? all the other commands work except that one.
  #5858    
Old August 2nd, 2008 (05:35 PM).
lriley777's Avatar
lriley777 lriley777 is offline
Pokemon hacker lv.100
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Lukeland
Gender:
Nature: Jolly
Posts: 97
Send a message via Yahoo to lriley777 Send a message via Skype™ to lriley777
what I really need help with is, how do i change what the people are named as and how to change what they say. i also need to know what tool i need for it.
  #5859    
Old August 2nd, 2008 (05:52 PM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
Quote originally posted by lriley777:
what I really need help with is, how do i change what the people are named as and how to change what they say. i also need to know what tool i need for it.
To change trainer's names...
Use PET...

To change what they say...
Use Advance Text...
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

  #5860    
Old August 2nd, 2008 (05:53 PM).
OutOfOrder's Avatar
OutOfOrder OutOfOrder is offline
Saving you from yourself...
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender:
Posts: 34
how do you upload new sprites onto the emerald rom?

well i know how to upload em... but i mean how do you fill in all the ? spaces? (25 of them)

i can only find one with UNLZ- GBA not all 25... how do i find all 25 so i can upload my pokemon pictures
__________________
Need Help in My EMERALD Hack:
Trainer Battle Script <---- Really need this one soon!
Applymovement Script <--- This one is also pretty important!

If you have any of these scripts for EMERALD VERSION then please pm me!

Thanks!
  #5861    
Old August 3rd, 2008 (02:50 PM).
SDODC13's Avatar
SDODC13 SDODC13 is offline
Champion Miki wants to {blank}
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Gender:
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 122
I've just got the new version of advance map and got a text editor (XSE) to try and change up some of the events and such but whenever I change them and asks if I want to save it saves to something else and doesnt edit it in the game. How can I get it to save in the game? (plus tried to use it w/o am and couldnt figure it out)
__________________




In Development. People Needed.
  #5862    
Old August 3rd, 2008 (07:26 PM). Edited August 3rd, 2008 by 0m3GA ARS3NAL.
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Does anyone know the unLZ.gba number (FireRed) to the Kanto mainland map. I have the tiles, I just need the tilemap, can anyone help?
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #5863    
Old August 3rd, 2008 (07:44 PM).
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by OutOfOrder:
how do you upload new sprites onto the emerald rom?

well i know how to upload em... but i mean how do you fill in all the ? spaces? (25 of them)

i can only find one with UNLZ- GBA not all 25... how do i find all 25 so i can upload my pokemon pictures
Dshayabusa answered this in the other topic you posted this question in

Quote originally posted by SDODC13:
I've just got the new version of advance map and got a text editor (XSE) to try and change up some of the events and such but whenever I change them and asks if I want to save it saves to something else and doesnt edit it in the game. How can I get it to save in the game? (plus tried to use it w/o am and couldnt figure it out)
you have to hit compile(the gears) and saving it only keeps a record of the script as an .rbc file so you can view it later. And XSE is a script editor not a text editor

Quote originally posted by 0m3GA AR$3NAL:
Does anyone know the unLZ.gba number (FireRed) to the Kanto mainland map. I have the tiles, I just need the tilemap, can anyone help?
Check the oodles and oodles of Fire Red worldmap tuts in the Docs and Tuts section, there are like 3-4 and one of them should have the numbers
__________________





  #5864    
Old August 3rd, 2008 (11:42 PM).
0m3GA ARS3NAL's Avatar
0m3GA ARS3NAL 0m3GA ARS3NAL is offline
Im comin' home...
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Superjail Penitentiary
Age: 22
Gender: Male
Nature: Gentle
Posts: 1,816
Quote originally posted by khaosknight1:
Check the oodles and oodles of Fire Red worldmap tuts in the Docs and Tuts section, there are like 3-4 and one of them should have the numbers
Hmm, I looked, and I saw a few, but they were either for Ruby version, or it was something you do in MS Paint, and it had no ROM hacking value at all. What I read in there was that it couldn't be done, and I don't believe outdated TUTS, if you could link me to a TUT with the unLZ.gba number for the Kanto mainland map tilemap, that would be great. Or if you could just tell me it, that would work too. All help is apreciated, thank you. (
__________________
>Boot Jailbot
>Pass *****
.
.
Jailbot OS Ver 1.1.2
Greetings Warden
of Superjail Penitentiary
Awaiting user input...

>Display User_Info
╠══User Info══╣
Username:
0m3GA ARS3NAL
Age: 18
Sex: Male ♂
Race: Caucasian
Quote:
"What is this
I don't even..."

M/O: Often acts out to get attention, but recently has changed that. Has been studying up on hacking information and hopes to participate in more advanced hacking discussion.
╠══End of File══╣
Awaiting user input...

>
  #5865    
Old August 4th, 2008 (12:34 AM).
Mario_Bones's Avatar
Mario_Bones Mario_Bones is offline
Lazuli Version Creator
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Australia
Gender:
Posts: 42
Quote originally posted by Cy-Chan:
For two, you'd need to repoint all of the attack information. Then just append a new attack onto the end of the current data.

It's a pain in the ass to repoint though; so many pointers... I tried, but it screwed everything up. You should just replace all the awful moves, like I did (y'know, stuff like Wrap, Bubble, Mega Kick, Sky Attack... there's loads of horrible moves).

I've asked before, but how do create new item/ability/attack effects (mostly want to know about items). I know berries in particular have two bytes in their item data (byte 18 and 19) that tell them what effect they have.
I'm pretty sure that if you use Item Editor, there's quite a lot of free spaces for new items, but creating new effects entirely, I don't know.
I'd also like to know how you add new abilities/attacks/types, as well as effects, without overriding old ones.
__________________


Current Projects:
Pokemon Lazuli Version: 1% Complete (Or something like that)
Editing various tiles into the same style: Around 15% Complete
  #5866    
Old August 4th, 2008 (07:21 AM). Edited August 4th, 2008 by Jack-s-b.
Jack-s-b Jack-s-b is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gender:
Posts: 21
Just a problem wioth pokescript,

I've followed the tutorial to the letter
But when i click on the new person i have made the script for, he doesnt talk instead the screen just goes bright red and doesnt change back, it just freezes on a red screen

Yeah, well thats the probalem help would be appreciated

(also, does anyone know how i can insert my own pokemon or D/P pokemon into the ruby rom) ive got a program which allows u to add them, but it dont let you add an image)
thanks,

oh yeah, and is there any way of expanding the map, to make new cities and stuff. ive got advanced map
  #5867    
Old August 4th, 2008 (08:12 AM).
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by Jack-s-b:
Just a problem wioth pokescript,

I've followed the tutorial to the letter
But when i click on the new person i have made the script for, he doesnt talk instead the screen just goes bright red and doesnt change back, it just freezes on a red screen

Yeah, well thats the probalem help would be appreciated
Post your script in the script help thread in the Scrapbox and see who can help you there

Quote originally posted by Jack-s-b:
(also, does anyone know how i can insert my own pokemon or D/P pokemon into the ruby rom) ive got a program which allows u to add them, but it dont let you add an image)
thanks,
There are plenty of tuts on this in the Docs and Tuts section

Quote originally posted by Jack-s-b:
oh yeah, and is there any way of expanding the map, to make new cities and stuff. ive got advanced map
Go to the header tab and at the bottom there should be two boxes that say height and width. Increase or Decrease the numbers to your liking.
__________________





  #5868    
Old August 4th, 2008 (08:25 AM).
Quilava's Master's Avatar
Quilava's Master Quilava's Master is offline
Shattered Dreams '13
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 694
does anyone know the offset for the picture behind the pokemon sprite on the title screen. If FR its fire...
__________________
The return of Pokemon Shattered Dreams! Click the screenshot to visit the thread, you know you want to.
  #5869    
Old August 4th, 2008 (09:20 AM).
Kasekopf Kasekopf is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Gender:
Posts: 17
Does anyone know the offset for the Prof. Oak sprite in the intro of FR?
Thanks
  #5870    
Old August 4th, 2008 (09:52 AM).
Shadows's Avatar
Shadows Shadows is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 20
Nature: Calm
Posts: 857
- Using Overworld Editor - Rebirth Edition -

Whenever I try to import a bitmap OW that hasn't been ripped from the firered rom, it gives the error: Runtime Error 6 overflow.

The Sprite I'm replacing is 16x32.
The Sprite I'm importing is 16x32.
__________________
  #5871    
Old August 4th, 2008 (05:37 PM).
Poryhack Poryhack is offline
March 14th
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Age: 23
Posts: 50
I'v read through the entire DP hacking thread (I'm not sure wether to be proud or angry about that) but there was one thing not quite clear to me. Is it possible to import sprites into DP roms? As in make your own and replace a regular pokemon sprite with it? I know PokeTEX could edit trainer sprites, but actual pokemon sprites were never mentioned.

This second part is more a request than a question, but it didn't really warrant its own thread. LoadingNOW/pika lost his site in a server crash (or something) and hasn't bothered uploading his tools PokeDSPic and PokeText back onto it yet. I'd like them but google failed to find any usefully mirrors. Can anyone here upload the latest versions onto rapidshare or something? I'd really appreciate it.
  #5872    
Old August 4th, 2008 (08:33 PM).
Chary's Avatar
Chary Chary is offline
Yeah-Hah!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GBAtemp
Age: 18
Gender: Female
Nature: Adamant
Posts: 200
HEY SORRY IF THIS HAS BEEN ASKED ALREADY BUT THERE ARE 200 PAGES
um i know in pokemon GBA hacks ive seen DP pokemon how do u insert dp pokes into a fire red ROM???
__________________
  #5873    
Old August 4th, 2008 (08:44 PM).
KhaosKnight's Avatar
KhaosKnight KhaosKnight is offline
The 1 and only Khaotic Hacker
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Nature: Relaxed
Posts: 355
Quote originally posted by Chary:
HEY SORRY IF THIS HAS BEEN ASKED ALREADY BUT THERE ARE 200 PAGES
um i know in pokemon GBA hacks ive seen DP pokemon how do u insert dp pokes into a fire red ROM???
Well it can be a sorta complicated process but here goes, first you must obtain the D/P/P sprite you want to insert. Then you must resize to the allowed size for GBA pokes(i think its 64x64 but i am not entirly sure), then you must index the sprite in 16 colors, then open UNLZ.gba and locate the 25 empty slots, do the importing and exporting procedure, open the rom to check to see if the sprite are done well. That is basicly the concept in a nutshell go to the Tuts section for more info as there are one or two on sprite inserting.
__________________





  #5874    
Old August 5th, 2008 (01:42 AM).
Ninja Caterpie's Avatar
Ninja Caterpie Ninja Caterpie is offline
Sitting by the back window
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Best City OCE
Age: 19
Gender: Male
Nature: Bold
Posts: 5,988
Quote originally posted by Chary:
HEY SORRY IF THIS HAS BEEN ASKED ALREADY BUT THERE ARE 200 PAGES
um i know in pokemon GBA hacks ive seen DP pokemon how do u insert dp pokes into a fire red ROM???
There's a thing that says "Search this Thread" near the top. Use that to search.

Also, use the search forum tool and search for "Insert D/P Pokemon Tutorial" and there should be a few.
__________________
Brony represent.
  #5875    
Old August 5th, 2008 (03:32 AM).
destinedjagold's Avatar
destinedjagold destinedjagold is offline
Oh Hai Thar~ 'ω'
Silver Tier
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Philippines
Gender: Male
Nature: Careful
Posts: 7,292
elow pipz. I got a question. :\
looking the ROM through a hex editor, we can see the offsets we have in there, right?
if I burned a script onto the ROM, but the script had an error, and I forgot to save some back-up, is it possible to erase the offsets the script used through a hex editor? :\

thankies~
__________________


FC: 0061-1111-6462
TSV: 1364(X), 0790(OR)

Closed Thread
Quick Reply

Sponsored Links

You may also like.. (Beta)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are UTC -8. The time now is 06:46 AM.